Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Design Suites Salta 4 stars

Pasaje Castro 215, A4400ELA Salta, Argentina

#19 of 90 hotels in Salta

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 476 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No dislikes or negatives at all.

    Upscale room with wonderful views and topnotch amenities. The breakfast was first rate with lots of selection between protein and pastries. The staff was all extremely friendly and eager to assist in any way required.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Facilities in the room: toilet flushing button worked only half, bathroom door was splintered on the bottom due to water ingress, no electrical outlets near bed, window shades didn't close enough to prevent sunlight coming in (the shades were smaller than the windows itself). the decoration of the room itself was OK though and the bed was great to sleep in.

    Breakfast was great, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a 4 star hotel. They should have tea kettle or courtesy coffee. They should supply 2 sets of towels. They should have better parking service. A usual problem in all hotels is availability of plugs.

    The bed was wonderful, the room and bathroom huge, nice BKF chairs. Good dinner and ambiance in the old building corner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are super comfortable but the pillows not so much. They’re a bit outdated and smelly. They should have pillow protectors and better pillow covers.

    The hotel is well placed in the city center, right in front of a public square.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was okay but would be good if there were eggs.

    Location was fantastic, just 2 blocks from the main 9 de Julio square and 6 blocks from Balcarce street where the famous peñas are. Area was safe for solo travellers and had good restaurants in the vicinity. The rooftop pool was great and had wonderful views of the city though size of pool was slightly small. Great room size with nice big bathroom and well designed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic accommodation, tired and not necessarily clean (eg bathroom). Staff is absolutely clueless - don’t expect any guest services.

    Central location (walking distance to the few attractions of the small city centre)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff copies credit cards and the CVs no.

    The rooms are European standard concerning style and furniture. Not like the other hotels which seem to be from the 60ties. We had room Nr 901 and a gorgeous view. The room was very clean, nice style. There were shampoo and showering gel available. The breakfast was good, not like some others write: perfect. There was toast, cake, fruit salad (which I loved), juices and fruit. There was no egg/ ham/ cheese available. The rooftop pool is a bit outdated but nice. The view is just perfect. The water is warm and towels are available. Highly recommendable for younger travelers with a bit of a budget because its the style you expect from a nice hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the air conditioner was not working well,they have to change our room to another room at the corner," with better view" but it was cover by limited curtains that made the room very hot, despite the aircond

    the location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    During my stay one elevator was in maintenance. This took at least four days, so only one elevator remained. I suspect that this was only temporary.

    This is one of the better hotels in Salta. Very ample rooms on the ninth floor with a good bed and space to move around in your room. The swimming pool on the rooftop is a little bit dated and not really used in July. Breakfast is excellent and location is good and safe, near the center of Salta.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities inside the bedroom are poor. You can't wash ur face at the sink without dispersing the water everywhere. Moreover, I'm a foreigner and I used my foreign credit card to pay at the property. They insisted that I still had to pay 21% tax as they claimed that my partner is Argentine. But I checked the law and nothing said anything about both had to be foreigners in order to exempt the tax. I do not have this problem with the hotel I stay in Buenos Aires tho. So I would like to warn every foreigner about this. My recommendation is you should choose other hotels.

    At first glance on the website, the property looks really nice and classy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was not an electric kettle to borrow in order to boil water for the baby´s bottle so you have to go downstairs to the restaurant to prepare the baby´s milk, even during the night. Futhermore there was not diaper changing table in the public toilettes of the hotel. Definately not baby friendly at all.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was very unreliable and we couldn't connect at all for a whole day. We told them it was our honeymoon and my birthday but they didn't acknowledge this at all - I expect more from a 5 start hotel. Even a note to welcome us would have been a nice touch.

    The room was very large and the view was amazing. Breakfast was very varied - surprisingly lots of sweets including brownies and cupcakes which was perfect since we were there for my birthday

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bring earplugs, because the walls seem as thin as paper. Breakfast needs improvement, the buffet was nearly empty half of the time.

    Nice size room, nice design, good bed. Good views over town, option of a (heated) swimming pool and gym

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The style of the suite was very good. The gym and massage service onsite was great and the location right on the plaza was great for a green view and people watching.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    Location was perfect. The staff was very attentive and helpful. Breakfast was a highlight.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very central location. Comfortable hotel with good breakfast and excellent facilities ( pool, gym &c)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows could not be opened and the airco did not function properly the 2nd night!

    Great design and views!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevator was a little slow and a bit scary.

    Good breakfast, nice pool at the top.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sleek contemporary hotel that was well-priced and a cut above other similarly-priced hotels in Salta; also had a very good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fittings is some dated

    The view from the forth floor above

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was not in operation

    Lage rooms with great modern design. Super friendly stuff and great roof top terasse with pool and jacuzzi

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge nicely designed room, good views, helpful staff who spoke good English. Good WiFi. Nice breakfast with lots of lovely cakes!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price ... expensive even with discount

    Swimming pool on the roof Location downtown

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location, friendly and helpful staff and nice rooftop pool!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good Location Nice rooms

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    May be , clean better the bathroom

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The doors to our rooms were difficult to open with the keycard.

    Great location on a lovely square near the centre of Salta's historic district.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable, modern hotel located close to the main plaza. Bedroom was spacious and the bed comfortable. We had a minor medical issue and the front staff were extremely helpful.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi on the first floor was not very fast.

    Very friendly staff, let us keep our bags at the hotel and use the facilities while we waited for our late night bus.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Build quality - lift particularly felt like it was going to collapse at any moment. Had to move rooms as water pouring out of air conditioning. Also leaking in second room (although not so much we had to move again).

    Fantastic view from the room over the city and hill. Large room with comfortable modern furniture. A few steps away from the main square, a lot of restaurants nearby.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Feels like they tried way to hard to make this a modern design hotel and totally missed the mark. The hotel just seemed odd and not as nice as they were probably hoping for in a modern hotel. There are plenty of charming boutique hotels in town that would be a much better value for the money and a nicer stay.

    Location was great, right near the main square and easily walkable to restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints.

    If you like contemporary design, this is good, and very comfortable. Big rooms and bathrooms. Pool on the roof with great view. The restaurant is excellent, with very friendly staff, and exceptional food in a minimalist setting.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed at this hotel on 3 seperate nights during our recent stay in Argentina. The location is excellent just 5-10 minute walk from the main square and you can always manage to park your car on the square outside of the hotel. The rooftop pool although small is adequate with great views. The breakfast selection is excellent. Staff are friendly and helpful and were kind enough to store some of our luggage whilst we were visiting other places.

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed very lumpy and uncomfortable. Breakfast very basic, even for Argentinian standards.

    Beautiful good sized room with an excellent view. Nice pool area. Attractive breakfast room.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were put in the room on the first floor facing a road. In spite of design, the rooms are really badly isolated. I am usually a good sleeper, but that night could not sleep even a minute, the traffic did not stop at any time. The hotel can be stylish as this, but if one cannot sleep - it does not serve its purpose. The stuff was not very responsive to this, the breakfast was average.

    The hotel justifies its name and has modern design. The hotel has very central location in a nice part of Salta.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I felt the breakfast could be improved by providing more savoury and healthier options. There were a lot of sweets, even the cereals were sugary. The coffee was dreadful. The coffee boil over for hours in one of those big electric containers. We hardly saw any staff attending the buffet. Not enough blankets were provided.

    The rooms were spacious, very clean. The view from our room. Close and central to everything. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The reservation requested 2 twin beds and the confirmation noted that if beds weren't available we could get additional bed for a fee. They did not honor the option for an additional role away, did not provide additional room options, and during my stay did not provide me the opportunity to speak to a manager. There are plenty of other places in Salta to stay which will honor their commitments.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel should make sure that they pay attention to minor issues in te rooms (broken tile / loose grip next to the bath ect, as said minor) but in order to stay at te top range of hotels, should be fixed!

    The pool, small but good for a quick cool down

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were leaving and needed a taxi but the heavens had opened and the water in the street was up to 18ins Hotel very unhelpful in getting a taxi Had to stand out in the pouring rain myself

    The room was ok but the staff are not helpful,nobody even says good morning not a welcoming atmosphere Would not recommend

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    see above comments re bathroom noise there was no hot option for breakfast on four of the five nights stayed. concrete jungle would be a way of describing as floors and ceilings are unfinished concrete very depressing it is near town square which useful

    the bathroom was ridiculous the basin was outside and a very low height. no soap dish. the bathroom door barely scrapped past the toilet and no room to get out of shower as bidet in line with shower ony the bath access the noise from the traffic makes it impossible to get sleep

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was not great, but fine for checking emails etc. The jacuzzi was under construction and the pool really needs a good clean and facelift. Gym was quite limited (cardio area only features two home trainers).

    We loved the staff of this hotel; all very friendly and helpful and they all spoke English very well. They definitely made our stay more enjoyable. The jacuzzi in the bathtub in our room was a nice surprise. Sauna facilities on the 4th are good.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location was great for the musems we wanted to see and downtown shopping resturant was excellent also location to airport was good lunch packed by front desk was very much appreciated moien bien

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I carelessly handed over my Visa card as a deposit (something I never do, as a precaution) and noticed how they wrote down the 3 digit security code. I have not noticed any suspicious activity, but I would have prefered that they simply reserved a sum instead. It left me with an uncomfortable feeling. The breakfast was OK, but I missed eggs, whole grain bread or larger cereal bowls, i.e. something that fills your stomache.

    We stayed here one night after 24 hours of flights. The beds were flat and comportable, neither hard or too soft. Room service was great, we asked for a custom order that was off the menu and this was no problem at all.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    • Couple

    Tiny pool on roof .. Really small are with 3 loungers ans two umbrellas for shade . Chairs and seating areas .. Very modern but very uncomfortable ..staff short in breakfast room .. And very sad looking no one came near us to see if we wanted cooked breakfast had to knock on kitchen door after a while .. Location great .

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The organization of my massage by the reception staff and the massage itself should be smoother/better at such a hotel and we missed hangers for all our towels...

    Very nice design hotel in a central location with good breakfast! We loved our spacious and comfy room with the view over the city to the mountains. We would definitely go there again!

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room charged in our credit card when checking in, when it as only for guarantee. Paid in cash when checking out and then I saw a charge in my Amex. They say it's a pre-block, but it was debited in my account.

    Nice design, spacious rooms and perfect location.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Comfort and very soft bed linen. very spacious room. Amazing views from the pool. Great staff who speaks a few languages. Breakfast was delicious. Restaurant, breakfast rooms and lounge are so beautiful and arty rooms. Excellent hotel and services, my luggage was lost and the staff delivered my suitcase one day late to my room, excellent service.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Great location. Clean, smart, well appointed rooms. Nice modern bathroom. WiFi available everywhere. Courteous staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Boring! Could have been anywhere in the world. We also stayed in the Hotel Balcón which was so much nicer and had style!

    Fine for one night stay

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor wi-fi coverage in our room

    Hot-tub jacuzzi in the room, top class comfort

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Couple

    We like everything, all the personnel at the hotel were very diligent, respectfully people in every sense of the words

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    One not nice front desk staff at Checkin The rest of them average

    Location Very good food at the restaurant and very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We loved the whole stay. Great location, wonderful staff, beautiful property, rooftop pool, all in all great vacation!

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very welcoming & modern. Great views of the city & mountains surrounding Salta. Central position .

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great friendly staff. Very clean rooms.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    more options on breakfast.

    kindess of all employees

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent on all room appointments and services. Location perfect.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is excellent. Modern design, plenty of space. Excellent breakfast . The staff is very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi connection on the 9th floor wasn't great

    Location The jacuzzi bath was amazing Rooftop pool Modern feel of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    100% unflexible. Terribel attitude!!

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    merchandising with prices

    location, rooms and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Goede service, luxe, alles op loopafstand.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff, thé location

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Nicely designed room Comfortable bed Close to central plaza Short walk to all attractions

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Browse Design Suites Salta traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: