Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of El Portal Suites 4 stars

Necochea, 661, 5500 Mendoza, Argentina

#16 of 92 hotels in Mendoza

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 345 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit on the expansive side for what it was - but we stayed during public holidays which probably impacted this

    Clean property, good sized rooms, strong wifi and friendly staff that spoke English

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    A wanna be high class hotel that tries hard but could be less pretensious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way too expensive. It was the only room available on those dates and possibly that pushed the price up. The rate would be appropriate for a 5 star hotel, but room size, view from the room and the toilet don't qualify for that. Plus, the "jacuzzi" on the terrace wasn't working and no effort was made during our stay to get it repaired. It's the beginning of autumn, but there were 30 degrees outside and the jacuzzi would have been a great plus. Another thing that left us baffled: the shift of the security guy. He was always there! It looked like he had been there for more than 12 hours, which is definitely against what should be basic workers' rights. Plus, his job is extremely alienating (because the area seems extremely safe especially during the day) and looked more as something that elevated the status of the hotel rather than something useful.

    Everything was very clean and the decor was quite nice and modern. The staff was very nice. Especially the cleaners were very accommodating with our needs. The breakfast buffet was average but it never left us hungry. The location is very central, just few minutes walk away from many restaurants and plaza De indipendencia.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice location and room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We originally requested two beds since it was my dad and I staying. They put us in a room with one bed but they changed the room to accommodate our request. However, the second bed was a single bed in the living room but it wasn't very comfortable. Breakfast was typical for Argentina, breads and sweets, no protein. Eggs would have been nice. Staff didn't seem too friendly.

    The place was like a mini apartment and had a small kitchen which was nice. Very clean and area was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.3
    Good apartment in great location with nice and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Kitchen was very poorly equipped. We asked for pots and pans and were given some but most basic things needed were missing,

    Excellent location with easy walk to all attractions. Apartment was nice and wifi was good. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.9
    Nice 2 room suite.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The A/C in the bedroom was not working too well. Breakfast was minimal.

    The room was 2 room suite... which made it very roomy. Walking distant to cafes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.9
    Staff was nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not good. AC leaked but they let us stay in another room. Pillows/mattress were uncomfortable.

    Staff was nice and helpful. Location was good. Inexpensive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    4.6
    Very disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room I booked was the Executive Double Room and I was delighted when I saw the photos of the room on the website, with all the trees, space and whatnot. However when I arrived the room I was given was very different. It was clearly smaller than what the photos showed, I had the misfortune of overlooking the parking area of the hotel and since I was on the first floor I could always hear when cars arrived and staff when they were on their breaks. All the rooms in the photos seem to be renovated and I asked the front desk what was the difference between the room I booked and the one I had been given, they only told me there were three rooms that had an internal view (lucky me) and that my room was one of the ones that were renovated. Having paint peel off from the ceiling does not reflect a renewed room. This hotel is *definitely not* a four star hotel. No way. We received a towel that had holes in it. The pillowcases had pilling on them. Another thing that really disappointed me was the hotel staff. There was only ONE woman who worked at the front desk that was nice and helpful. All other staff were either unhelpful, were on the phones every single time we passed them (and this at the front desk) or just seemed that they were doing us a favor when we asked them something. It was weird because whenever a native Spanish speaker was talking to them they seemed to be super nice. So, on the overall I am very disappointed with my booking choice. The location was good, but Mendoza is a small city with MANY hotels. I could have just chosen another one. As it is, I do not recommend them. I am attaching photos of the room I was given, which show the cracked ceiling in the bathroom, the dust on the telephone, etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.9
    Good localization, medium hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No locks in the bathroom Staff wasn't very warming, and the day we arrived told us the wrong time of the breakfast, and we had to eat it very fast because the staff started to clean the table Breakfast was very simple and everyday the same, with little options of healthy food The bed was divided in half, wich was a bit unconfortable

    Size of the rooms and the bed. It has a kitchen and air conditioning Well sized bathroom Good room service Localization was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.2
    OVERALL, GREAT PLACE TO STAY!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I WISH BREAKFAST HAD SOME EGGS... ALSO, A SMALL GYM WITH AN ELLIPTICAL WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE.

    EXCELLENT ROOMS FOR THE MONEY AND IMPECABLE STAFF, VERY ACCOMODATING.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    7.1
    Good value and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A/C window systems are loud and barely efficient. Breakfast seemed disorganized, coffee urchin was always empty and more fruit is needed. The toaster had a broken handle.

    Good location and secure.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Dont get the room next to the school yard
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dont get the room next to the school yard

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    The parking lots is a little small
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking lots is a little small

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely amazing. In this small little town, this was probably the best experience I had. Wonderful staff and big, comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable room, good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room, good location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    Very helpful staff and were mindful of my needs.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very helpful staff and were mindful of my needs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.9
    Location very good, staff welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi did t work in the room, breakfast could be better

    Location very good, staff welcoming

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Good value hotel. Great position. Lovely balcony with our own BBQ
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better quality . Maybe that’s just a personal 5hing.

    Cracking g wee hotel. Good rooms and right on a lovely park.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    Super nice experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Super nice experience! They let us have a late check in, staff was great. Breakfast was abundant and good quality. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The stuff was absolutely amazing!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.7
    Location was great
    • Couple
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning was not functioning The level of noise made it difficult to sleep.

    Location was great Staff were friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.8
    Biggest room we've had in 2 months of South America
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was good to begin with but then was very slow Limited breakfast options

    Biggest room we've had in 2 months of South America Good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    8.3
    Location good - close to most everything but out if bustle.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms were a little in need of upkeep and deep cleaning - e.g. Around base of walls and floor boards. Also - website said gymnasium but none.

    Location good - close to most everything but out if bustle. Fourth floor deck

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    6.7
    Location, size of the room, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast too simple, bed to soft and with bad quality matress, pillow too hard, the small pool in the terrace was dirty and impossible to use,

    Location, size of the room, staff

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    3.3
    While checking out two lovely receptionists helped us greatly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    this greedy hotel, rudely charge more than 100 us$ while it is under construction The drill has been working all day on the head of guests Besides, when we arrived at the hotel at night, my wife dropped the suitcase. three staff members stand and watch, and no one came to help Room lights did not work, the toilet was flooding, no hot water while washing the face, the window could not be locked

    While checking out two lovely receptionists helped us greatly

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    10
    We booked this property without looking at any reviews and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing it was fantastic thank you.

    We booked this property without looking at any reviews and to be completely honest it was an exceptional property in every aspect we would recommend it to all.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    8.8
    The staff, without exception were excellent and most helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The temperature and water pressure of the shower was erratic and the sitting room badly needs better lighting to enable reading.

    The staff, without exception were excellent and most helpful.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    9.2
    The pool and terrasse overlooking the mountains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was in dear need of painting and a new, or no carpet! Needs a bit renovation/upkeeping.

    The pool and terrasse overlooking the mountains. The staff is very helpful. Good breakfast. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    6.7
    Location and room size
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Carpets were a bit old. The corridor had a very musty smell. The accommodation requires a bit of modernising - wooden or ceramic floors would be an improvement

    Location and room size

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    8.8
    Staff was great, most spoke good English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Silly half-door for the shower, chairs scraping against wood floor above our room, air con unit shuts off in middle of night.

    Staff was great, most spoke good English. Public areas modern and nice, as was our bathroom. Plenty of hot water. Standard European-style continental breakfast in nice dining room. Gorgeous park across the street, large grocery just two blocks away.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    10
    Large, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Large, comfortable room. Really helpful staff. Happy place !!

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    10
    Promptness,Professionalism and smooth dealing with a major...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Promptness,Professionalism and smooth dealing with a major problem by the reception staff. Placing and accessibility of breakfast,

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Browse El Portal Suites traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: