Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Esplendor El Calafate 4 stars

Pte Perón, 1143, 9405 El Calafate, Argentina

#24 of 65 hotels in El Calafate

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 741 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.1
    It was ok..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel looks great in pictures, but still not bad in real life. The water temperature and pressure in the shower was very inconsistent. There was a strong smell of chlorine, and we stayed on the top floor.

    Comfortable beds, modern style, fresh fruit for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Great value for its money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s same breakfast every day.. It has a good variety but there are no changes. Copy paste every day.

    Great value for its money. Good choice. I really liked the design and location of the hotel. Strongly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Great stay, would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the view to be that good the hotel has to be located on the top of the hill, which makes it slightly away from the main street, restaurants and all the shops. Reception Stuff didn't have the exact information of how to get to the touristic attractions. We had to confirm everything at the bus stop and at touristic centers.

    Really liked the design of the hotel. Everything inside was very clean and beautiful. The view from the window was great with an ability to see the lake! Compared to all the other hotel we stayed in Argentina this one was way better with all stuff at the reception being able to speak English, which was key for us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    splendind stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    wished i could stay longer

    beautifully designed hotel with nice view over El Calafate town and Argentina lake, spacious rooms, delicious food in restaurant, very kind and attentice staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Moden stylisch hotel a little away from the main street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The selection at breakfast was good but the staff was sloppy. They don’t change tablecloth between the seatings. Breakfast started at 6:30 and we came there at about 7:45, it took us 3 tables to find one that didn’t have obvious signed of usage (breadcrumbs and coffee/juice stains). If you don’t change the tablecloth for environmental reasons at least have the decency to remove the breadcrumbs before you set the table for the next guests!

    New and modern hotel, very stylish! Staff at the frontdesk was friendly and helpful. Room was gigantic and comfortable. Nice few on the lake. First room in Patagonia we stayed in that actually had a tv (we didn’t use it so I have no info about the quality of the channels). The hotel is a little away from the main street up the hill. It is an easy 10 min walk down to the main street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.0
    Pool is the only plus but there must be better options
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Snobbish staff, location to far from the centre to walk (or at least feel safe to walk). Somehow very uncomfortable. This hotel felt like the designer spend a lot of time in the looks, but not in comfort. The doors were cracking (imagine going to the bathroom at night and waking your partner and baby), shabby towels, broken knobs. Car park for the hotel is around a corner on a pebbles parking place, then you have to pull your suitcase through pebbles and short staircase, very inconvenient. Pool only open from 17:00-22:00

    Nice (but small) pool, was good I was with my 1 year old, she loved it. Well decorated. Good breakfast. Nice views.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.5
    Beautiful room and decorations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking the taxi through the front desk of the Hotel. It costs more than twice as much if you book through them as opposed to just finding a taxi by yourself.

    Beautiful room and decorations. Loved the tub!! Best hotel in the area, would stay again! Definitely choose this over any other in the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Looks like Esplendor is one of the best, or the best, hotel in El Calafate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi is slow and often not available. Remoteness is not the issue. Torres del Paine hotel in the wilderness has excellent wifi.

    Varied, fresh and abundant breakfast. Great location on a hill overlooking Calafate. Professional staff. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    Esplendor is a gorgeous hotel and an unbelievable value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lumpy pillows.

    Mod-rustic interior, beautifully designed and decorated. Very spacious room with a comfy bed. Excellent breakfast spread! My husband and I stayed one night after hiking in Torres del Paine and El Calafate and it was beyond wonderful, also an unbelievable value for $86 for the night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Calafate is magical. Sightings that I've never seen before.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is not a problem of the hotel but instead of the whole town. The internet service is provided by just one company and the service does not work. If you definitely need wifi please find another source like international roaming.

    All staff is very nice. They provided a great service and made our stay very pleasant. In addition, the food is delicious and the decoration of the hotel is rustic chic (beautiful). Thumbs up to this hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.8
    The view was amazing, the room was beautiful and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi didn't work while we were there which was frustrating. We also were under the impression that the total cost was less based on when we booked it at bookings.com, but it was more than we had expected.

    The view was amazing, the room was beautiful and the staff were helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Perfect honeymoon in Patagonia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in honeymoon and our room was upgraded; we had a large bath, and the room was decorated with design. We were surprised by the data sticking design of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No response on e-mail send before arrival with Some questions ahead

    - very Nice design of the hotel and lobby - staff was very helpfull and flexible with our wishes (they managed to book a last minute Moreno gletsier trip, it was never a problem to stay at the pool after officiel closing etc) - Nice music and atmosphere - room was Nice, comfortabel bed, good shower - best breakfast in Argentina

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    A spectacular hotel with much thought put into the many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have expected a coffee maker in our room for this level of hotel. The weather was unseasonably hot (gorgeous) but no air con or fans made it a little uncomfortable

    A spectacular hotel with much thought put into the many artefacts spread around the large seating areas. Staff were excellent and worked hard to make our stay the best experience possible. Amazing breakfasts and our one evening meal was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Very nice and chick hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Very nice and chick hotel. In walking distance to the town. they offer lunch packages when you go the next day on a trekking, which is very convenient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.8
    Our 2nd stay in a couple of days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our 2nd stay in a couple of days. Our reservation was not in the system but staff did the best they could to make us feel comfortable, allrjough it took over 2 hours. We got an upgrade to the suite, which was simply amazing. Dinner was very good as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.8
    Great boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk back from town is a bit steep.

    This was our first stay in a couple of days. The location was quite good, just a 10 minute walk to the main street and with views on the lake. The room was large and very comfortable, breakfast was very good. The main areas look amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel in the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are great but very hot. Pool is nice but small. Lots of noise from the street as it's located on the road to the glacier.

    You have to go inside to see the beauty of the inside. Really nice job folks. Luscious and beautiful design. Nice staff like everywhere in argentina. breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    6.7
    Overall the stay was fine — but not matching the stars of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personell at the reception/front desk not very helpful and a bit rough ( except Mario, who was very friendly!). The overall service could be better! Be aware of the noise around the hotel, both from the street and a nearby discotheque from where we heard really loud music until 5 a.m. one night/Saturday)

    The lobby, bar and restaurant area is really great and cosy! The rooms are fine (except the one we got for the first night (3rd floor under the roof), which was a shame; very small, dirty and not comfortable at all). Nice view!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel and spa facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast could do with some improvements.

    The rooms were beautiful, spacious, and very clean with modern styling. The spa facilities was definitely a nice surprise. A great hotel for relaxation, and not too far from the city center by walking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    8.8
    Great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows. :-( Very lumpy.

    Great breakfast!! Great staff. Hotel is positioned up on the hill about 10 mins walk down to the main avenue of town. Quite avant-garde decorations. The pool and sauna were blissfully amazing. Very spacious rooms, although no way to control the air conditioning and quite noisy if you left the window open with boy-racers tearing up and down the street in the late evening.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Great value for money and excellent staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to control temperate in room. Pool could have been cleaner.

    The hotel was very comfortable during our stay- bed particularly and rooms were a good size. The staff were fantastic and very accommodating assisting with late check out and even bringing us a free drink and cake to our room as a special surprise which was very much appreciated. Breakfast was also great quality and choice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.1
    Probably better in the winter months.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No AC, our room got very warm with the sun. Noisy! Our room faced the street and the trend in El Calafate is to have modified exhaust in the cars. Staff "forgot" to tell us we had to bring pesos to enter the Glacier Park even though we booked the excursion through them. This was bad because you can't pay in dollars and luckily some other people let us borrow money, otherwise we would have paid A LOT for nothing. Breakfast was EXACTLY THE SAME every single day, and not great.

    Location is within walking distance to the center, decor is nice and the bar area is lovely.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel in El Calafate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room is very low. Not so keen on the bathroom sink/vanity being outside of the bathroom itself which contains the bath/shower, toilet and bidet. Checkout and payment process seemed rather convoluted.

    We booked a concept room. Very large. Nice view from room towards the mountains. Lovely for sunrise. Breakfast buffet is ok. Packed lunches for excursions can be ordered the night before. Pool and sauna were nice to relax at the end of the day but they are small. Overall a very nice hotel. About a 10 min walk into the main part of town where restaurants are. I wouldn't really recommend the hotel restaurant - food was ok. It there are better choices.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.8
    I will comeback, really think it's a good price for a good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dinner wasn't special, Just normal stuff. The staff gives you attention but that's it. Don't expect to be treated like a king, get what you need and get out.

    The hotel is beautiful since you enter the hallway through the really high ceiling that you will be impressed with. Our room had a view of the lake and it was relaxing to wake up looking the Patagonian sky with all those colors. We enjoyed the pool every day after the hiking or trips that we did. The bar had good drinks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel from start to finish, very nice spacious rooms,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small walk uphill from the main street but definitely worth it !!

    Lovely hotel from start to finish, very nice spacious rooms, staff were brilliant, bar and lounge area also very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.1
    Hire more staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are poorly trained and there was simply a lack of staff making breakfast chaotic and meaning the rooms were not sufficiently clean on checking in.

    The hotel itself is lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    A great base For exploring el calafate
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a little further from Main Street than other options. Not an big issue for me, but be mindful it is a steep walk up the hill with minimal street lighting through quiet streets at night.

    Very modern furnishings, very clean. Beautiful pool/spa area Staff very helpful with booking last minute tours, ordering taxis Breakfast options were great, with 'healthy' options available too Bar /restaurant prices were reasonable price considering In a hotel , ambient area and good local options

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    more than you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was incredibly helpful, nice and polite. We had the nicest experience in the South of Argentina. The hotel feels like more than you paid for, which was a very pleasant surprise.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.6
    Location was awesome, only 10 mins walk into town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool is only open at night 5-10pm and there's nothing to really do at the hotel during the day if you want to relax. There is a bar where you can relax and have a drink but it would have been nice to have a swim and enjoy maybe a yoga class or something

    Location was awesome, only 10 mins walk into town. Beautiful Lobby and comfy room. It was very warm and if we felt too warm we just opened the window. Loved having a healthy option brekkie and scrambled eggs - being vegetarian it is hard to enjoy the breakfasts at hotels when there's just croissants and cakes. Service was good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    8.3
    Nice decoration, cosy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast - need more variety of healthy elements Too expensive for the service

    Nice decoration, cosy room. Great view of the lake. A few minutes walk to the centre - on a hill. They arrange transport from and to the airport if needed. You can book excursions from the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    10
    Luxury haven in el calafate!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did however have quite a few problems with making a change to our booking dates and were originally going to be double charged so very happy we managed to work something out!

    We were staying somewhere nice for my partners birthday and then were upgraded to a suite with a view of the lake. The room was absolutely beautiful!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better.

    The view from the hotel is amazing! Staff was friendly and helpful, room was clean and big enough. Breakfast was Argentinean so mostly sweet snacks, but there was also fresh fruits and coffee was ok.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    8.8
    A good option whilst in El Calafate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dodgy lifts - slow and rickety! I had to stop using it as it was terrifying! Massage was good value but fairly amateur. I don't think she had had any proper training and would stop midway through to drink water which would drip from the cup on to my back! Wifi also interrmittent. A 10 minute walk from the main strip which was full of dogs off their leashes which made us feel very uncomfortable. The pool was very busy, no robes, only one unisex changing room. Tiny sauna.

    Helpful staff. Good breakfast spread. Very grand foyer. Delicious restaurant food. Big bedroom, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    8.8
    Elegant hotel with great views and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was a bit of a walk out of the town, up a steep hill.

    Elegant boutique hotel with great views over Lago Argentino and the Andes. Friendly and helpful staff. Restaurant and bar were great, good to have on hand if you didn't want to wander into the town. Very good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    9.6
    Amazing room layout and very comfy bed, good breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly further away from Main Street, but having stayed at Hotel Quijote (v close to Main Street), I'd recommend this hotel and do the extra 5 minute walk!

    Amazing room layout and very comfy bed, good breakfast and evening meal. Clean and nice pool and sauna

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    5.8
    Average hotel for above average price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work at all! No robes, slippers for all guests...for what we paid, we expected it. Not great value. Calling front desk and no answer. Jets in the pool didn't work. Breakfast variety was small

    Comfy bed, nice decor, nice pool area

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow wifi in the evening in the room Slow wifi in the restaurant and bar area Very poor breakfasts - scrambled eggs from one pot! If you want to order fried eggs, need to pay extra!

    Beautiful designed interiors Comfortable clean big rooms Lobby and bar so nice decorated and comfortable with beautiful view Good value for money

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    7.9
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor towel and it happened instead of two, the staff just leave one towel in the rooms. Maintenance in the room

    Location. Room. The view. Welcome staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    5.8
    Not a boutique hotel and no wifi in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the room. Complained numerous times over our 6 night stay and nothing. You had to sit in the lobby to get wifi. For us this was inconvenient because we were having to change travel plans mid stream. And we are paying for it so we expect the service. Secondly, on a Sunday breakfast seemed to lack many of the elements it had the day before. No ham, no croissants, no fried cakes. When asked, the staff said they were coming and another said for the moment no more. The food tags were being put away so we never saw those items replenished and that was at 9:00am. They could at least been honest and apologized and offered something but the two women seemed almost irritated at the question. The techno music in the public areas was enough to drive a person crazy. The same repetitive techno sound over and over. Makes you want to scream. The hotel has no AC given that our room by late afternoon was very hot and bo way to cool it down. Overall the cleanliness each day was not great. Fir example wash bacon and sink was not cleaned. Also keep in mind the hotel is about 3-4 shirt blocks up a steep hill if you don't have a car.

    Ignacio at the front desk was very willing to help us with our change of travel plans. He was extremely helpful. Kudos to him! The other front desk staff were also very polite.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    Great place in El Calafate!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi-not that great even in public areas--really only worked well if you were sitting by elevators (near their computer area)

    This place is beautiful with an amazing view! Very centrally located to town and bus. Lobby and facilities are very beautifully decorated with rustic/contemporary decor-all very comfortable. Lounge/bar area nice too. Food good with friendly staff! El Calafate is great little town! All walking distance-it is up a hill-but not bad and why you get the gorgeous view!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    7.5
    Lovely hillside stay. Great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was ok, but I would have liked more savoury options. More meats or cheeses. Too centred on sweet cakes and pastries for my tastes. The freshly squeezed orange juice was delicious though.

    The spa area was small but a perfect space to unwind and warm up aching bones and muscles. The decor was modern and thoughtfully executed and the views were great. Loved the tent like feel of our bedroom. The zip up canvas 'curtains' was a great touch.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    8.8
    Stylish and spacious hotel overlooking the town and the lake with fabulous breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk from town is not far but uphill and a little dark.

    Lovely big room with view over Calafate and the lake. Stylish 'estancia' touches with knitted and woven accessories. Fabulous buffet breakfast with lots of choice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    9.6
    Would recommend for comfort and food, English speaking a bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint is the heating. It is too hot. Let guests set their own heat with the radiators and let others have cool to sleep. Please turn the general temperature down, it will save you costs too!

    Great location, comfortable bed, very good restaurant and bar. English speaking a bonus, would recommend.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    9.2
    Chick and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa facilities and treatments are a scam. WiFi was terrible. But that's a problem with the town, it's seems. We booked a massage, which wasn't cheap, and were very disappointed by the quality of the masseuse. She did not listen to what we asked her to focus on, because she's very poorly trained. It was a rub (a bad one) rather than a massage.

    The rooms was fantastic. Elegant and modern and very spacious and comfortable. We got an upgrade to a suite and we enjoyed it a lot. Service at the restaurant and bar was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    10
    Loved it here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, beautiful and clean facility, quiet area but walking distance into town. Pool and massage is great! Breakfast is delicious as is the restaurant. Definitely recommended!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    9.2
    Incredible service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Stayed in the concept room which was very modern and styled beautifully - Staff were incredibly helpful. I accidentally left my iPad in the room when I checked out and they went to all lengths to get it back to me in Chile, in just a couple of days! Absolutely amazing service!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    9.2
    The hotel was surprisingly modern, the rooms were spacious,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was surprisingly modern, the rooms were spacious, clean and nicely appointed and the services (spa, breakfast, laundry) were all above average. We expected less given the affordable rate (even though it's on the higher side for El Calafate), and our expectations were exceeded. It is much nicer than the sister Esplendor hotel we had just stayed at in Palermo Soho, Buenos Aires, which was surprising given the different clienteles.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    7.1
    Centrally located to glacier tours.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were small single beds. There was no Airconditioning or ceiling fans. We paid more for a lake view, had to leave windows open because it was so warm, unfortunately it was very noisy because of the road out front and a bar beside the hotel.

    We had a small bar fridge in the room. Walking distance to small town. Hotel breakfast was plentiful and varied.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    10
    I will definitively come back to this hotel when i visit El Calafate again!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cocktails: expensive (double than downtown) and not well done (the negroni on the menu is to be avoided). The fact that it is a bit far - not that much in reality but because it is hilly, you tend to stay at the hotel.

    The lobby was very cosy, spacious, and comfortable. Great views. Same with the room (We were at another hotel before recommended in the Lonely planet but the rooms need to be updated and so tiny, you could not move. The staff could not speak English and the price difference was only 10 euros). The breakfast was also decent for the region, nice fresh fruits and some choice. Also they do not kick you out at 10:30 and let you eat quietly...which is nice when you arrive at 10:25. The spa facilities even if not tested

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    6.7
    The breakfast is very good, the room is quiet, the lobby is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is very slow, the location is a little bit far from the city center, the circumstance outside is poor. The room is not very clean and is quite small to place the baggage and things.

    The breakfast is very good, the room is quiet, the lobby is very beautiful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    9.2
    A relaxing and beautiful base for explorations around El Calafate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The extreme niceness of the staff, vastness and comfort of the lounge area, good looks of the premisses, quality of the bedding.

    The breakfast could have a bit more options for this level of price (like your choice of eggs), the bed lacked extra cushions to read and the wi-fi connection was slow and unreliable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    8.3
    Good comfortable modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers generally good but every now and again ran v hot or v cold which was surprising! No air con in the room. When we were there we were lucky to have bright sunshine which made our room hot but with little way to relieve the heat as opening the window meant we couldn't close the curtain.

    Fabulous lounge /reception area. Easy walk into town (down a hill).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    7.1
    Pleasant hotel a short walk from town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool had an unpleasant film of dirt on the top of the water Breakfast was mediocre , not a lot of choice. No dressing gowns or pens /paper in the rooms.

    Very helpful Dario at the front desk arranged all our restaurant bookings

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    8.8
    Great hotel with nice views of El Calafate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is a bit smaller than we thought and Hotel staff, although very helpful and friendly, barely speak English...

    The rooms and the lobby are great and breakfast offered more options than we had experienced so far in Argentina.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.2
    Surprisingly chic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since the property sits on a hill, there's a nice view of the lake, but the telephone/power lines partially obstruct it. This of course isn't the fault of the property, but too bad those lines aren't underground.

    Unexpectedly chic. The rooms, main lobby, bar/restaurant were stylish and inviting.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    5.4
    Not very splendid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception Staff were consistently lazy and useless giving incorrect information and unable to carry out basic tasks. We stayed 3 nights and saw many guests with similar issues. The rooms were in poor maintenance repair .

    Funky decor

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    10
    4 star hotel that offers a 5 star experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    4 star hotel that offers a 5 star experience. The service is just extraordinary (and I'm a little picky). They really treat you like royalty! Dario at the front desk, Kevin with overall service, and Facu at the bar make your stay an exquisite mind blowing experience. They really go beyond their reach to make you feel welcome, to fulfill your every need; they even recommended the best tours and restaurants. The hotel is located at a perfect spot, near downtown; but in a private section on top of the rocks that has the best view of the city and the lake. I would change the hotel logo from Calafate on the Rocks to Calafate like a Rockstar!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    10
    Helpful stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    The stuff are soo nice and kind especially Maximiliano and Julio so helpful . Location is great 5 to 10 min walk to the main street the bartender was alsoo nice. People in el calafate are soo kind and helpful . My room has a beautiful view

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    8.3
    nice and cozy boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the link to the map showing the direction to the hotel is wrong. .upon entering Peron Road one should turn left, not right!

    a nice boutique hotel..got cozy feel about it.. nice decor.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    8.8
    Lovely hotel in a dump of a town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit of a dissapointment. Hotel is in a pretty basic part of town even so the whole town could be described as post apocalyptic with the power and water still connected! The wifi was pot luck and the maintenance could be better. The hotel is not 'tired' just many things slightly shabby and could be replaced or repaired but pretty typical of Argentina.

    The staff where very attentive and the hotel is very nice large open spaces lobby and hallways etc. Nice touches with furniture. The restaurant is good and reasonably priced for Argentina as value is hard to find. Great view if you get a room with a view.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.8
    To be recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Some of the staf, even at the reception don't speak English at all. Some days the water in our room was not warm enough to take a bath. Respons to request to do something about it took quite some time.

    The interior design is great; modern and warm; a pleasure to come 'home' to. Pleasant bar with great view, good food to order there too. Comfi sofa's. Attentive staff at breakfast. I had the impression we got a better room than ordered. Wonderfull views thanks to the fact that the hotel is looking out over El Calafate, up on the hill.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.8
    Lovely place to relax and connect to nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi connection was extremely weak. Would not recommend staying here if you need to do work or want to always have internet access.

    The space was relaxing and well designed. The staff was very attentive and friendly. When we arrived we were very hungry and even though the restaurant was closed they called the chef to make food for us.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.2
    Interesting architectural and interior design hotel which aims to please.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just to be a little picky....the common area furniture could do with a clean of cushions and seat upholstery. The pool and spa area could also extend its hours, perhaps from midday! A greater seating area is needed for dinner service...ie outside the bar area.

    Everything was very good at this hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    8.3
    Lovely different hotel just turn down the heating
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was so hot. They had the heating on high in all rooms and common areas. I had to sleep wth the windows open to cool down the room. You couldnt turn down the bathroom heaters or in the common areas. They would save alot of money if they turned down the heat.

    Food was great. Decor and room was lovely. Great view and a very nice hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Stylish hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surrroundings a bit desolate Poor food

    Spa. Spaciousness and decor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Excellent experience ! We will come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is little bit hard to access with some heavier luggage

    Friendly stuff, excellent facilities, good breakfast, excellent room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Perfect Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Hotel was beyond my expectations. Staff eas so friendly and helpful. The decoration of the hotel was awesome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable rooms and hotel, with and excellent restaurant and bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very, very comfortable. Great restaurant and bar. Wonderful lake views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    The swimming pool is pretty nice warmed, the temperature of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool is pretty nice warmed, the temperature of sauna can be chosen. The bedroom is big and very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful, relaxing great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Spa could open a bit earlier perhaps

    They upgraded us to a suite and were always very helpful in booking things for us, couldn't recommend enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.4
    Stay elsewhere, many great options in El Calafate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not friendly Buffet breakfast was horrible

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    The staff are very kind and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff are very kind and very helpful. Pool is very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Restaurant, hotel amenities, staff, interior deco

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel with great amenities and breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 'Concept' Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Checking out was a bit slow and wifi was very bad.

    Breakfast and service was amazing!

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: