Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Esplendor Buenos Aires 4 stars

San Martín, 780, C1004AAP Buenos Aires, Argentina

#225 of 440 hotels in Buenos Aires

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 334 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I was really hungry at night and I order a sandwich, they have room service, well, it took 1 hour to get a sandwich and when I called the front desk they were rude just saying it will be soon. Horrible experience when you are hungry and people is not helping. So if you stay there my recommendation is don't use the room service food. :) just go out.

    It's close to the office, internet works good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many choices for breakfast. There is no iron in the room!

    Rooms are comfortable, great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ac in the room was very noisy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy air conditioning and a very piir breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The restaurant was closed all the time except for breakfast

    The art on the walls is amazing... The building and interior decoration is a highlight!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception.

    Location is great and the room spacious as an apartment.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Climate control.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Café regular e cama regular.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing splendid about Esplendor .Once you pass through the dimly lit reception and make your own way to your room you are confronted with dirty corridors .As you open the door to your room you are greeted by an overpowering ,sickly sweet smell reminiscent of a hotel I mistakenly once booked where they also booked rooms by the hour.The smell infused every corner including the threadbare and torn sheets.The toilet seat is made of lacquered wood.The problem is the lacquer has come off leaving bare wood .There is mould in the bathroom .Peeling paint in rooms.Safe that would fall out of the wall without much provocation .Door to balcony that would not lock.Breakfast horrible.Combine all of the above with the indifferent and non smiling morning reception make for an unpleasant stay

    Location

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location was great. Right in the town centre and in evenings, close to a few good bars and restaurants. There's a restaurant opposite the hotel, which serves good food and conveniently close! Modern, Arty decor! Beds were very comfy! Booked a full body massage, which the therapist comes directly to your room. Must say, one of the best massages I've ever had! That good, I booked another the next day! Cleanliness is good, overall, will come back again.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wasn't fond of the moth balls smell on the bedding.

    Beautiful hotel and the views were amazing. A bit out from the centre but we deliberately choose this hotel for the scenery, peace and quiet from the centre. Patagonia isn't cheap but worth every penny. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast small, simple selection but was enough for us. Did a horse trek at the hotel, was fun!

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel COULD BE very good and it obviously has been in the past. The rooms were dirty and there are holes in walls and poor painting work everywhere. There looks as if a plant is growing in the shower vent. We pointed these out to the hotel. The breakfast was very limited but adequate.There was a stain on the mattress which is never nice.

    The staff at reception were very helpful and the location was good for seeing the main sites. They also let us check in really early.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The WC doesn't work properly, some parts inside was broken and was fixed only with glue or silicon and this Type of products its too flexible you have to change the parts.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel should not claim to offer airport shuttle, they simply book a taxi for you and overcharge. Even so, my booked taxi never showed up.

    location, style

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bathrooms could do with an up grade, as everywhere in South America, the breakfast wasn't great! But included in the room price!

    Mateo's welcome and professionalism on the reception, his English knowledge and humor! The art work in the hallways, the spacious rooms and modern interior. We couldn't hear the traffic, brilliant insulation!

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel looked modern but many things were not finished well or maintained well. Hot water took minutes to access. Some light fittings didn't work. No tea or coffee was available w breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience, but it seemed like some details of the renovation that they did could use a second hand.

    Location was great. Staff was very friendly and helpful, we were given a promotional upgrade to an awesome room, also they helped us order take out, since we arrived rather late at night. The suite were upgraded to was huge, and had a jacuzzi. The hotel had a lot of beautiful art

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Water in the bathroom floor everytime the shower was on, one bath towel was a little dirty, a little far from "subte".

    Good Location, comfy bed.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Few staff, heating not working in room, weak and unstable wi fi connection, during 9 nights only once the housekeeper did a proper job

    Location is excellent

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Yes, and that was really bad: the hotel doesn't have an iron. And laundry during weekend may take 2 days. This is a show stopper for a business traveller.

    Location, staff, interior, comfort, price. It's probably the best area to stay in BA full of restaurants and shopping. It's a good boutique hotel (but with a caveat).

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast could be improved

    Central location in city center, walking distance to obelisk, puerto madero, recoleta. Modern hotel, nice designs and excellent value. We stayed 5 nights at the beginning of our trip and came back for another night at the end.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One staff who always works in the evening was terribly lazy. He didn't prepare breakfast boxes for us so we had no breakfast even though it was included in the price. Also we ran outta toilet paper so we called him to ask for more. Waited for more than one hour and still they didn't bring any. Had to call him again and it seemed he totally forgot about it. In the next morning, we asked for a taxi but they forgot to call for one and we ended up waiting for a taxi for thirty minutes. Not organised hotel staffs disappointed us a lot. Also, the hotel is located one street next to an unsafe Florida street. I heard a couple got robbed only 20m away from the hotel. Area wise, not recommended to stay here.

    How the hotel and our room are designed is nice. The room was clean and had a huge space for our suitcase.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Tables and floors of breakfast areas very sticky, need more care and attention - Need some refurbishment, especially in the bathrooms (toilet flusher, hand-wash basin taps)

    - Proximity to tourist attractions, large bedroom - Friendly and helpful concierge (especially Esteban)

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bathroom could use a refurbishment. However, what a deal this hotel was!

    Turns out it's a true boutique hotel with gorgeous & slick modern design... Og and very very high ceilings! In a European Capital, a room of this standard & design would cost 500 € per night... Or 400 GB £ straight up

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Requested a quiet room online but first room overlooking main street and very noisy with buses all night. We were changed to a quieter room on the second night which was blissful! One person on reception when it is a busy hotel means delays in service.

    Reception spoke English. Easy to walk around the city streets during the day.Close to cafes for a beer and snacks.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Horrible air condition! Cannot be regulated in the room. It runs all the time, making it impossible to sleep without earplugs! The breakfast was not very exciting.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beware of being mugged in the city centre. They ripped a gold chain from my wifes neck. The authorities ought to deal with this and should be ashamed they allow this to happen.

    Very clean and comfortable, nice location.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Cold milk was sour at breakfast! Just stick to 'Continental' style breakfast and you will be fine! Use the HOT milk in your tea or coffee.

    Great hotel with friendly and helpful reception staff - especially Felix and Estéban! Good value. Short taxi ride to Ferry terminal (to Uruguay). Great restaurants nearby on the same street (El Establo, Dada)

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Fomos cobrados indevidamente no cartão de crédito. Pagamos antecipadamente a estadia, porém nos cobraram no cartão no momento do check in a garantia no valor em dobro do que pagamos e não nos estornaram. Ou seja, a conta ficou 3 vezes mais cara por motivo de erro do hotel. Estamos aguardando o Booking resolver este problema. We were wrongly charged in our credit card. We prepaid our stay, but charged at check in due to guarantee security. The amount was double in comparison to what we paid for the night. The hotel did not reversal the payment. That is, the bill was 3 times more expensive by a hotel error. We are waiting for Booking solve this problem.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception desk was a little understaffed, one person answering questions, handling checkins and checkouts at busy times

    Clean boutique hotel Nice staff Good breakfast Location allows walking to many of Buenos Aires's attractions

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was not that great, ingredients were somehow not the best, but it was ok. Aside from that everything perfect.

    The hotel itself is very well located. It's just next to Galerías Pacífico, a great place to go shopping (but a bit expensive). The staff is really good. They give really good advices and are always willing to help you. Our room had an AC malfunction and they gave us another room right away. Aside from that our stay was perfect. Breakfast is fair, not the greatest dishes but ok. We walked all over Buenos Aires downtown without ever riding a taxi. It's location may be one of the best thing this hotel has to offer. Excellent quality overall.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There´s a window in front of the toilet, and there´s no blackout, if you want to sleep longer, the clarity will disturb you. In the same window, in the outside, there´s a spider with its net that seems to be living there for a long time.....Don´t open that window or the spider might enter.... Only ONE hanger - just ONE hanger in the wardrobe....

    Excellent location, just beside Galerias Pacifico on San Martin Street.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First night we had to move temporarely to another hotel two blocks nearby, because of an electricity problem (storm condition?), which could be fixed next day.

    Location; Hotel building was very unique; Room was very nice and comfortable; Staff was friendly and helpfull

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The "double" bed in the room was actually just two twin beds pushed together. I like to sleep with my wife, not just next to her. Also, the release to switch the shower water to the faucet to fill the bathtub did not work.

    Staff was nice, room was clean.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    All facilities should be improved.

    Not good for staying.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent location. Lovely hotel. Very helpful staff. In room massage was great. Very comfortable room. No complaints.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Some misunderstandings with staff. No big issue, though.

    Attractive design, very central location, professional staff.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Air conditioning was not adequate

    Good location friendly staff nice room

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioner, hot water and room cleaning.

    Location and breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing.

    Great location, great rooms. Nothing to complain!

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No internet service at the bedroom. Very poor signal

    Nice place to stay. Great location

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had no wifi in my room (111), very poor.

    Good location, lots of shops and cafes very close.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    breakfast

    location and space

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    None

    Staff are very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location is excellente, room of a good size

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good location and modern hotel. Equipment is new and is set an air bubble bus.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Location, value por price, size of the room.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Forgot the wake-up call for the flight to Trelew!!

    Nice location and building

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That at least would have served our claims concerning the performance of the bath. Claimed 2 times.

    Place

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor breakfast, staff could have been more friendly. Not able to control room temperature.

    The WiFi worked great and great location.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's time for the bathrooms to be refurbished

    Its a design boutique hotel with VERY high ceilings & spacious rooms.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Serenity in the center of chaos.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Somehow in the middle of bustling everything Esplendour is still quiet and a great escape.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    lack of parking, possibility to load on/off bags

    Big, comfortable room, kind stuff

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lovely big bedroom and bathroom. Friendly and helpful staff. Spacious and clean.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    early check-out

    Clean

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    vepoor insulated rooms(noisy0

    great location

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor breakfast, slow staff and service.

    Location, clean, good bed.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air Conditioning not effective, Wi Fi very weak in rooms.

    Location and security

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom plumbing leaked, but not a big problem.

    Location Location Location. Also, quality staff and comfort, a nice oasis in Microcentro.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing in particular

    Location Large room

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no staff - the person from the reception is doing everything . The room was not clean including the toilet seat.

    location

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The WIFI was terrible the breakfast was Ok, but the same thing every day no variety.

    Like the location the size of our room the service staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Internet didn't work so well.

    Very comfortable and well designed rooms. Great breakfast. English speaking staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location, huge nice rooms with nice decor, free wifi

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very good location, confort, good value, attencious staff, large room, silent.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I didn't like the access to the shower.

    The breakfast are simple but sufficient. The room are modern and comfortable.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Browse Esplendor Buenos Aires traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: