Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Savoy Hotel 4 stars

Av. Callao, 181, C1022AAB Buenos Aires, Argentina

#105 of 440 hotels in Buenos Aires

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 499 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel takes a 450 aust dollar deposit from my credit card account after a 3 day stay am charged 600 aust dollars ,on departure ,and 4 days later am still waiting for the initial deposit to be returned ,on this basis alone I will not be staying again ,as an ongoing traveler ,I need that money very poor effort social media should be told of this on travel forums ,!,

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well, I don't like the walls paint in black, doors in black and the lift a bit dark. I like art modern but maybe a bit brighter colours.

    I like the interior décorations of the hotel especially the crystal lamps at the lobby. The internet facilites and not forgetting the choice at breakfast. The personnel at the front desk was very helpful for directing us to a very good restaurant in the area as Buenos Aires is such a big city. Brian the concierge was very helpful with the bags ,internet facilities and calling a cab. Thank you again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is expensive for the service provided. I payed a lot of Money to have one queen bed and ended up with two single beds. I booked on line and it came without breakfast?

    Nice look at the entrance

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar restaurant was a bit disappointing, given the status of the hotel - the steak one of our party ordered was tough and difficult to eat.

    The hotel is in a very convenient location and the staff are very helpful and courteous. The room was tasteful and contained all we needed, and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and the breakfast had very limited options. We asked for an omelette at breakfast and was told that we had to pay extra. On arrival and departure, staff were very unhelpful and we had no assistance with carrying of our bags.

    Very good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An old facility but very well remodeled, a good choice for guests looking for an old era hotel which is nicely kept up. The reception was very courteous and accommodating. My problem was with the service at the restaurant and the staff. Few tables were cleaned during a crowded morning making for few choices for where to sit and enjoy a good food selection. Staff was inattentive a surly in their responses to several of the guests.

    Good breakfast choices, large rooms and a great bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was expensive compared to other places around.

    Could not fault anything. Staff at front desk were so friendly and helpful. The location was great for walking everywhere, room was nice, big bathroom. Loved it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The two extra beds in a "Premium quadruple room", were very uncomfortable.

    The breakfast was very good! The location is no the best in Buenos Aires but staying in this hotel is probably a good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    The bar area was very attractive inviting and the art decor was very unique and set the hotel apart from a regular hotel Very European style

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the streets in front of the hotel were repaired making the avenida callado look like a street in a war zone ... but that's not the hotel's fault after all :)

    Annalina and the whole team behind the reception and in front are very friendly and always willing to help.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    THe cost of my gin and tonic. About twenty nz dollars but it was probably about double the strength we would get here!

    THey allowed an early check in as I had just had an overnight flight. THe room was clean and the bed big and super comfortable and the sheets crisp and clean. THere was always access to someone who spoke English. THe Caesar salad was great. The gin and tonic very expensive but think that is the same in other places. I had stayed before so knew about the hotel (it is gorgeous)but booking this day last minute through this website came out considerably cheaper.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slight sense of staff snootiness from one member of staff only, which really is not justified in this place. Small room, in centre of building with a window view to nothing. Gate locked at night. Feels a bit like ringing the doorbell to ask your parents to let you in to the house. Would not pay full price in this place. I got a good price on Booking.com

    Nice big classical building you'd expect from savoy. Staff ok. Cleaners in and out, no issues. Room was small but sufficient. Gym with good options for a hotel gym. Good location. Allowed to be anonymous. I got it for a good price.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area itself a bit run down.

    Knowledgeable and helpful staff. Large room. Clean and quiet.Reasonable location a short cab ride from anywhere you'd need to be.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My breakfast was included in my rate & according to the hotel breakfast was served from 7-11am..I only got to enjoy breakfast one day & I arrived @ 10:30 & the hostess told me I only had 10 minutes to eat since they were closing the breakfast stations..I was not happy because I "thought" according to the information given to me I had half an hour to eat ...Also according to the room service menu dinner was "served " til midnite & after midnite u could only order a sandwich or pizza but when I called @ 11:50 pm...I was informed that NO food was available not even the after hour food...I was totally disappointed ...Hotel needs to clarify that on their menu..thxs

    The room was very nice & the bed was very comfortable..The staff was informative

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My husband would have like a few drawers for his clothing.

    A very spacious bathroom and the bed mattress was excellent, firm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing

    Great staff always helpful and very friendly and the Hotel is a great find - right in the heart of Buenos Aires

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A wonderful hotel with very helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good price.central and safe.sta ffc helpful and friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Professional, helpful staff who went out of their way.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Savoy hotel is situated in the city center.Easy acesss to congress.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very nice hotel in a central area (two blocks from the Congress and two blocks from the subway. Safe area of the city. Clean and modern.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dark indoor decor. Dark in rooms too. Comfortable sized room just dark.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Check-in took longer than most hotels.

    Classic restored building!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is pricey

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are to dark and feel very creepy.

    The artistic concept

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean.Extremly slow internet.Dark rooms almost like prison

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arquitectura

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner didn't work in our room, hence it was hot.

    Beautiful old world hotel. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!

    Wonderful experience, the staff were great, very helpful and always cheerful, room perfectly clean. Quiet room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security and general elegance of hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was smelly and dirty with lots of homeless

    I liked the lounge area. It was old and enchanting.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    all well

    great staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Falta spa

    Todo bien en general. La atencion de Analia. Excelente!!!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's was not facility for hot Beverage......... Other wise all good...

    Safe Welcoming

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room has a problem with the sour....it I.impregnated the hole room every time you use the toilet.

    Courtesy and work from the made!!! Very nice!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Su arquitectura

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi

    All these . I'm thinks is very good idea free wifi all hotel

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A/C broke and I had to change rooms. But the hotel knew about this and didn't inform me. Then I was put into a smaller room. Zero view in both rooms.

    Very nice breakfast. Very nice facility. Most staff were very accomodating and helped with an offbeat facility request - which I greatly appreciated. I'll stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room, basic facilities, value for money is not great - you're paying for the fact that Evita and Albert Einstein once stayed there.

    Grand hall

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely historic building, room was fine. The staff were a credit to the hotel, especially the reception team who were friendly, helpful and informative throughout the stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The locations and rooms were amazing!! The hotel staff is really nice and is has a mention "Notable" due to the importance in the History of Buenos Aires! I truly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Buenos Aires. First Class hotel

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our Room had a smell , don't know what, like plastic or rubber smell We had to wait over an hour at the port for the taxi we pre-ordered through Savoy. Email communications were not handled well I believe.

    Alejandra n Ricardo at the front desk were friendly n accommodating. Our room was pretty quiet although facing the street.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    quite basic room, little grubby, no attention to detail inside room, scuffed marks, dirty windows and balcony, not great value for money

    Nice Interior decor, Good breakfast, nice batroom, good staff and front desk

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not best location but did not feel unsafe and it is close to many subway stations, just need to be aware of this drawback.

    stunning hotel very comfortable clean and lovely friendly staff who would help you with a smile.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Had to pay for wifi in the room.

    Nice hotel in a good location. Highly recommended. The only downside is they charge for wifi in the room and local calls from the hotel room are expensive.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Gate was broken, they had to open it manually. So i was on the street with my luggage for 5 min waiting for someone to find the key.

    Incredible mix of modern and antique decorations.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Stair carpeting worn and needed cleaning,would have liked clean ex tissue dispenser, if you're looking for a room with a view forget it

    Art Deco old world charm ,very friendly accommodating staff,good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very slow bar service - they ran out of everything! Shower kept flooding and air con didn't work - both these faults were reported to reception who didn't seem overly interested.

    Bar and lobby were beautiful - so much history.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only down sidewas you had to pay for internet in your room.

    Fantastic room, good area awayfrom the bed to put luggage. Lovely staff, very helpful! Good value for money

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Booking.com said breakfast was 10$. Hotel wanted to charge 15$

    Good location, interesting historic building with modern facilities. Reception staff are exceptionally helpful.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Carpet to first floor is worn out. Hotwater was brown and could not be used. when you complain, they clearly knew about it but did not inform beforehand.

    The atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi is not free

    Friendly support from staff and artistic decorations

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor internet connection...

    Great breakfast and lunch!

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful old place unlike any new stere hoteks

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A little faded.

    Great location. Lots of character. The bar/lounge area is amazing in itself. Make sure you use the staircase at least once.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    rooms a little dark drinks and even water left in the rooms were insanely expensive (almost $10 for a large bottle of water)

    almost everything

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    extremely high cost of drinks and extras

    everything

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Impolite and un accommodating staff

    Location

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some of the reception staff were arrogant. Seems that the management does not want the hotel to live up to its great past.

    Breakfast was good

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very good hotel. Great room. Great Location. Very safe and quiet. Breakfast was fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Mix of antique and modern. Amazing!

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Servis is very bad! Stuff dont speak english, room servis takes 2hrs.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Coist of alcohol in the hotel is very expensive with a bottle of lager costing approx. £10?

    Very cheap high end hotel in an ideal location.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    The renovated bathroom with excellent shower

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Couple

    Its history, architecture and wonderful details.. a must see in Buenos Aires.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Browse Savoy Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: