Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand King Hotel 4 stars

Lavalle, 560, C1047AAL Buenos Aires, Argentina

#303 of 440 hotels in Buenos Aires

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1726 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you come to Buenos Aires in the summer do not stay here. We tried moving to three different rooms because of a terrible air conditioning system. I ended up sleeping in the lobby along with several other guests!

    The location was pretty good. Close to subway and walking distance to puerto madero.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A smiling face at reception in the morning , breakfast just ok

    I thought the place could do with painting tthe A.c was not very good the room was a bit pokey. The staff at day time reception were not helpful at all ,in fact they led us astray with some of the things we asked them for guidance on ,very sour and serious.The cleaning could not have donenough for us ,and the night reception jolly happy men .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s so old and dark. You feel like you are in a 1980’s movie. It’s like they haven’t upgraded anything since it was built. I reduced my reservation because the room was so stuffy. They just need to put a little money into the building and it could be better. You can definitely find better in the same area.

    The location is ideal

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They are too strict on check in- out times, on this issue even the desk personnel is not that cooperative and friendly! This is frustrating when coming from a 13 hours flight and in bad need of a hot shower.

    It is in the middle of downtown, perfect for business connections. Good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFI connection was unstable. Also no introduction of password by reception staff. Many other guests have asked at front desk after settle in the room. Only lobby connection was stable.

    location is very good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was uncoperative, lifts kept getting stuck, rooms were damp . Reaching the hotel in a pedestrisn street. We were not informed by booking . Com that difficulty, and hotel did mot help.

    Food average. Beding lumpy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy at times especially as my room was onto the main street. No air con in rooms or fan. Breakfast was very sugary. TV had no English channels. Needs updated.

    Excellent location in the microcentre. Close to everything. The bed was very comfy. Shower powerful and warm. Breakfast provided easy access.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility is a bit old, maybe I expected more for a 4-stars hotel. Quite noisy on the street side but then I changed to a inner side. No noise and no sun too, just can't have both.

    Good location for city centre, walking distance from sightseeings. Near the metro station. The staffs are friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little dishonesty from the staff when I checked out. Seems that a cleaner stole some items from the fridge and I was almost held accountable for it.

    I like the tranquility of the place while it is in the city center.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not very healthy. Too many sweets and most fruit was canned. Air conditioning was just about ok, very slow. We were moved rooms to sort problem.

    Staff very friendly. Location was good except for street living noisy people.facilities very good too.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our friends loss their luggage in the airport, the receptionist helped us to made many phone calls with Spanish and got their luggage back eventually.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think they can improve their breakfast with more options and variety.

    Staff kindness and attention. My parents have mobility problems and they were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet did not work during the entire stay. Staff were suddenly changing mood when we declined an offer to get to Aeroparque for more than double the regular taxi fare..

    The location is great if you want to stay in the microcentro

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad hotel!!! Not a 4 star hotel for sure. The rooms weren't clean and you could hear all the rooms in your floor which was terrible when you try to get some rest. The staff don't speak English and in general not friendly. I will never go back there.

    Only and only the location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The bath tub leaked some water in the bathroom. Some maintenance is needed here. - I could hear the steps of the guests in the room right above us.

    - While the "microcentro" isn't what it used to be, it's still well connected to go anywhere in the city. - The staff was friendly, the breakfast was ok, the room was clean enough. WiFi was ok too.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no restaurant or bar as advertised, our room smelt of bad odour, when they changed our room the second night we then realised (too late) that the towels were not clean. If the towels were clean they were threadbare, it was just awful. The air conditioning was off because it was winter - I have never known a 4* hotel like it. Stay away.

    The location is the only good thing about this hotel. I have never once felt more inclined to write a review than this one and I am usually really easy to please.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nada en paricular

    Todo en general

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have had a better range of cereals, fruit and nuts for breakfast.

    The location and facilities were generally very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    4 doors away from Florida shopping street

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big construction side in nearly every floor, paint smell everywhere, noise during the day

    City center

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Day staff on reception could be more helpful they could try and smile very sour.very convenient to all places in the city

    BreMcasf

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have been better.

    It was really nice. The bathroom was also very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor

    Didnt like

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    rooms few care

    excellent localization

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personal are very friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff did not want to help with anything, sightseeing tours mor transport to airport

    Only the surrounding area , restaurants, and shopping

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ni coperation or help from hotel staff

    Only the location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible bathroom and ancient furniture + vintage TV

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is aged and the room in great need of an overall renovation.

    It was located close to my needs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaking tap in the bathroom.

    Good location. Close to shopping street Florida. Room could be improved since it is a 4-star hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower and breakfast should have more options

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room internet has a lot of troubles! It didn't work! And the hitting turned on late at night, we had to ask for blankets.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Breakfast is delicious and varied.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The problem was with language, all personal, I mean in reception knows only Spanish. Just one man was able to speak English.

    Almost all was OK

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room when I reserved it was non refundable. The next day the same room was refundable. My plans changed and they wouldn't give me a refund.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small rooms, poor breakfast (No toaster), no hot water for Coffee at night. Need to improve more

    The location, close to everything

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great for all

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The reception staff did not speak English. Room was very simple and old - single bed was made out of two simple mattresses one over the other which caused the upper one to slip from the lower one.

    The location was nice

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We're not picky and sleep often in hostels but this was the worst hotel in our 1 month trip through Argentina. First room (level 6) was not acceptable, had blood stains and hairs on the bed sheets and bathroom. Very dirty and worn out. After our complaint we were allowed to change the room (level 5) which was better but still had stains and hairs on the bed. After a second complaint we were shown a room on the 4th level which looked in general much nicer. Apparently the hotel was not fully booked and I can't understand why we got such a bad room in the first place when better rooms were available. We can not recommend this hotel as it was far too dirty (another example - hairs on the breakfast buffet).

    The night shift allowed us to change rooms twice without any discussions. Because they are used to complaints ???

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    This Hotel need a big time renovation,too old everything rundown from the Wall to the floor and bathroom to the mini bar. Mini bar refrigerator weather rubber strips around the door was covered with black moldings.Weird name snacks were half open (probably by previous guest). I reported the front desk but it was never replaced. I drunk couple of Beer and water...very expensive. The Beer cans,water bottle never were removed from my room, can's was siting on the table for 5 days. the Hotel is operating by Older senior citizens. I didn't see any young employees. however front desk people were nice.

    Its in Downtown next to the Florida street,where could be great shopping of leather jackets,Money change,souvenirs or great Restaurants. Galeria de Pacifico (Mall) was short three blocks from the Hotel. This streets has no entrance of public vehicles,unless residential or apartment owners with special permits. Very nice to walk around and see the busy bustling Buenos Aires. Front desk people are helpful even not everyone speak English.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    For the first 3 days WiFi was down and staff did not care. Everyday I asked the staff, and the answer was : yes the technician is working on it !

    the location

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    So old and low quality furniture, bath tabs got back their brass color and shower nozzle was rusty. Floor gully was open and smelly. Very noisy room you can hear the wisper in the next rooms upper and lower. Few staff speak english. Old elevators.

    WiFi was okay-ish. Location is great at the junction between Florida and Lavalle.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A couple of friends came over at night to pick me up and they weren't allowed to come up with me. I was told that they would have to register and I would have to pay extra!!!???

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Too hot, the system Is communal, they choose in winter only work heater and the air aconditioner on summer time. so you cannot choose. i have travelled on winter time, those rooms were extremaly hot even with heater off. Very poor WIFI signal.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hotel sold out. at first they put me in an inferior room. Had to complain the next day. Then I got moved to a better place.

    I liked the price, the location and the wi-fi.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2015

    • Couple

    I made the reservation through booking.com with breakfast included. It turned out that I had to pay breakfast on top of paying the room. I also had to pay for the garage, this should have been included with the price of the room.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the room very much.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was free throughout the hotel despite what it says on booking...however while we were there the connection dropped several times for hours at a time. When it was working it was good enough to use skype.

    The breakfast buffet was good Super location close to restaurants and just off the main shopping area. Subway was only 2 blocks away. Staff at reception were really nice and helpful. Hotel was really clean and rooms serviced everyday.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    lift is kinda small

    everything

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location. Staff is very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast

    Location

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Proximity to 2 subway lines

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    All ok

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    all ok

    nice plce

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect Location Good Staff Breakfast and room is good

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff were wonderful and so helpful . Thank you to all the staff in hotel . Helpful friendly and made me feel at home . Great location

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lack pf English speaking staff and breakfast. Too much starch and not protein

    Location and upkeep of facility

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Central location, high standard of cleanliness. Eduardo on the front desk was particularly helpful.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    rooms

    location

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Problems with wi-fi from time to time

    Very friendly and helpful staff, very comfortable rooms, hotel&room warm (travelled in winter)

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The woman at the reception is not friendly, she charged me for 4 hours parking one stay, rather than 1/2 stay as they usually do

    breakfast

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The woman on front desk was rude

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to mention.

    The staff were very friendly, room good, breakfast good, Quiet in the evenings.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Browse Grand King Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: