Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Meulen Hosteria y Apart 3 stars

Calle 202 y 92, Z9405BWD El Calafate, Argentina

#51 of 65 hotels in El Calafate

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 97 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel with friendly, helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are very warm and only 2 very little windows (because of the strong winds I think) which can be opened but hardly help cooling the room a little (the floor heating in the room is to hot in summer time)

    Nice breakfast, friendly staff. The hotel stands on a beautiful spot. Away from the busy town centre. A car is handy to get around, and to the centre of the town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    Budget Price for family trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen facilities were not enough. Very small kitchen. If you want to cook much, maybe not satisfied.

    Budget Price for family trip. If you have a car, this could be good choice. Very calm and nice view. Attendances were very warm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    8.8
    Nice place, 20 minute walk to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is quite a way from the town center. About a 20 minute walk into town. They provide a shuttle several times a day, but we were very glad we had a car.

    This is a newer hotel, furnished with lovely vintage furniture and some eclectic items. The room was large and comfortable. A very friendly little dog greeted us outside the entrance.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    5.8
    Just meh. There are nicer options closer to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The boxed lunch is way overpriced. - The free shuttle is only available if it's booked hours in advance, otherwise the walk is 40 minutes - Their computer system/program is not up to date and so final bills had to be tallied with pen and paper for 3 different rooms which took a very long time. In addition they didn't know the price for each room since it had been done through Booking.com, they only had the total amount and didn't know how to sort it out. I had to pull up the prices in Booking.

    Staff were friendly and the rooms are a good size.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    5.0
    Meh.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -The price was doubled for the new year eve -The rooms need a serious remodeling -They put old furniture (that was thrown out by their neighbors) in the rooms that was dirty and nasty to put your clothes in. -I booked a lake view room and they told me the room was not ready. They asked if I would agree to take another room and I agreed. They didn't want to refund (the booking.com rep couldn't get a hold of them) so I requested to be moved to lake view room. They could have been more honest.

    -Breakfast -Free wifi

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    6.3
    CHEAP in price and quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty and dusty day blankets on the bed, underneath hair on the bed linen (obviously from the blankets). Bed linen inside were clean. Towels were stained, 2 out of 4 were dirty. Breakfast is very limited, coffee is bad, and very continental. Dinner was eatable, but way too expensive for what we got: 20 US$ for a tiny plate!

    The young receptionist was very nice, helpful and eager. It was cheap.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful & tranquil
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The situation of the hotel feels a little remote, but it is just half an hours walk away from the town centre, & the hotel provide a shuttle service in 4 times a day. The distance is compensated but the fabulous views of Lago Argentino. Wonderful! The hotel itself is quite quaint, with an almost Alpine feel. There are cosy little areas to sit & chill, or enjoy the view. The staff could not be more helpful & did everything they could to make my stay enjoyable...& succeeded!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The offer of the restaurant could be better or- there is many other possibilities to have a dinner in El Calafate.

    Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Good but location inconvenient for walkers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far away, walking there is rather unpleasant.

    City shuttle. Clean and good equipped.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Beatiful place and amazing staff, very helpful and with prompt service. Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our triple room was a bit tight in space.

    The decoration of the facilities and the view of the lake.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    8.3
    The view from terrace, the social places and the attention...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from terrace, the social places and the attention from the host.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    10
    The hosts were very accommodating, telling us the stories...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hosts were very accommodating, telling us the stories about the area and how the name of the hotel came about. We needed some quiet time for an important video conference call and they accommodated us. They have an option for putting together lunch boxes for long road trips. There is a lovely view of the Lake Argentina and the breakfast featured local parties that are to dies for!

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    7.1
    Helpful and friendly staff, quiet location outside center,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No airconditioning (but understandable due to temperature outside summer). No water heater (tea/coffee). Kitchen staff would not allow microwave to be used for rewarming meals, internet connection speed even in lobby was poor (perhaps since it did not require a password)

    Helpful and friendly staff, quiet location outside center, spacious room, shuttle service to center (never used since we had a rental car)

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    4.6
    View of the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location out of the centre, last 500 m of road require a Paris-Dakar style car and are not lighted, breakfast basic, you do not have the impression of a high standard cleanliness

    View of the lake

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    5.8
    the receptionist Vanessa was excellent and helping with her...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the ground floor rooms were badly sound proof as there were early excursionists waiting for their buses which also made a lot of noise with their constantly running engines in the very early morning. The dinner dish - beef and potatoes - was served cold and by no means acceptable and of very low standard. You need a private car as the hotel is very very far from the town centre, there are no street lights on the access, the road is not paved and rather difficult to drive. The breakfast was ok, however, the ham was artificial and of low quality.

    the receptionist Vanessa was excellent and helping with her information, excellent desk service, good views over to Lago Argentino.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    7.1
    10 out of 10 for the physical part inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The immediate area is bare and unattractive, and the site is totally exposed to the prevailing wind across the lake. Suggest don't do as I did and pay a little extra for a mountain view room. The 'mountain' view is actually a low brown ridge behind the town. The real mountain views of the Andes are from the cheaper Lake View rooms. And unfortunately my lasting impression is I felt that some of the staff would have preferred I wasn't there so I never felt comfortable. Not helped by the 'no food, no drink, don't dare use the minibar fridge' signs that others have mentioned. If not for that, my review would have been a whole lot more favourable.

    10 out of 10 for the physical part inside. My room was warm, clean, very comfortable and the dining and lounge areas, with their views over the lake were lovely. And special mention for the background music there which, if a bit bland, was tasteful and most importantly, at just the right volume.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    5.8
    Friendly staff, nice to talk with.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Restaurant only open for dinner, it was difficult with it being away from town plus strict rules of no outside food in fridge or in room. So you'd have to be out all day and back for dinner. Great for short stays.

    Friendly staff, nice to talk with. Restaurant was accommodating to cook vegetarian food for me and my son who don't eat meat.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    7.5
    Great landscape view from the rooms and restaurant area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I already knew this by reviews, but it really is far from downtown, a 40 mins walk minimum, with a still under construction area nearby (but there's no noise from it, so it's not a problem). A taxi from downtown to there costs you approximately 65 Argentine Pesos. WiFi is below expectation since connection dropped frequently, but you are there to explore and not to surf the web, right?

    Great landscape view from the rooms and restaurant area. Staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. When I had an early van pickup and would miss breakfast, I asked for a simple breakfast, and they packed for me way more than I asked, at no cost. Also very attentive and worried if transports for excursions arrive late, calling them to see if everything's okay. Breakfast is good for the region. Bathroom is good and clean even with the occasional old toilet seat, good shower!

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    10
    Absolutely everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Absolutely everything! WE LOVED IT! The tranquil out of town location next to Nimez Preserve and the Lake was perfect for walks and wildlife sightings. Our room was delightful with stunning day and night time views. All of the staff were amazing and went out of their way to make our stay special. The "lovin" from their dogs made our hearts smile even more.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    9.2
    The bed was uber comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi as bad as expected for Patagonia

    The bed was uber comfy Dinner is great Observatory room is a nice touch

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    6.7
    Clean room and bathroom, nice views from terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Walk into town was definitely longer than described (more like 30 mins at a good pace)

    Clean room and bathroom, nice views from terrace.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2015

    7.5
    beautiful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    beautiful views

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Guests also reviewed these properties: