Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Melia Iguazu 5 stars

Parque Nacional Iguazú S/N, 3370 Puerto Iguazú, Argentina

#38 of 100 hotels in Puerto Iguazú

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 681 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2018

    10
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Melia Room with Two Single Beds and Jungle View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel regulations concerning currency exchange. It is hard to believe and a great inconvenience that you are not allowed to convert foreign currency. That is a big minus when rating the hotel in general.

    Location, excellent staff service, spa, and pool. Above average restaurants and staff

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2018

    9.6
    Awesome Iguazu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Melia Room with Two Single Beds and Jungle View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner menu is a bit limited but very good. Hotel under renovation but doesn't affect the experience.

    Location wonderful, view of the falls terrific. Hotel is in the park so you can visit anytime especially before the crowds arrive. Great pool.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2018

    10
    One of the best locations in the world and personnel of the same quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Waterfall View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Took 4 local buses to get there from the Brazilian airport was difficult even when we speak the language will take taxi next time

    One of the best locations in the world and personnel of the same quality. Hugo,Carlos,InesMario,Jorge,Javer:-),

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    7.1
    Overall, we enjoyed our stay and the staff. Not worth it for longer a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once we booked last April, we were k formed that the hotel Was going through renovations. I had asked if the pool would be done by the time we arrived and was informed that the hotel would be a new hotel for us. When we arrived the pool had not been completed and it made for an unneseasary longer stay had we known. I understand that weather and other situations can cause delay. But it was one of the main reasons we stayed here as well. The weather ended up not cooperating during our stay and would have limited pool visits. Fortunately, they had a small indoor (very chlorinated) whirl pool, pool that the kids did enjoy. I will have to say that the hotel rate was not worth the stay. I’ve stayed at much more luxury hotels for less. They should have offered a discounted rate during the renovations. The noise of the construction made for a not so relaxing stay. The location to the falls was perfect and after the renovations are complete, it should be much better noise wise. The views from the room to the falls was beautiful but again, not worth the price we paid.

    The staff was the friendliest we’ve had in Argentina. We had a mix up during our booking and Jonathan and Marcos at the front desk helped accommodate us and for that we are very grateful! The location of the hotel is great and inside the park. This made it convienient with kids.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    10
    A perfect place to enjoy the falls, from our room and the dining area and just a short walk away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Waterfall View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful view! Being located in the Park was ideal. The hotel itself is extremely nice, many amenities. Not all were available, as construction was in progress.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    6.7
    Best and only one hotel in Iguazu Park/Argentina , great...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have given a higher grade , but the hotel is under renovation , so there are some working noises , and the pool is not usable; they should have offered discount or upgrade for guests. Oh, the new bathroom floor tiles are very slippery , they should rethink or install holders ; out side balcony is without full partition ,also very slippery when raining , children can run through all the other rooms making disturbances ; this is not good!

    Best and only one hotel in Iguazu Park/Argentina , great view , close by and easy access to the Upper/Lower trails to the Falls , and to the Tram to Garganta Diablo/Devil’Throat . All staff members are helpful and nice. Comfy and clean suite with great view of the Falls. Nice BF, and excellent bar and restaurant for dinner; no distractions.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location but improvements are required
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Melia Room with Two Single Beds and Waterfall View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is under renovations during my stay. The noise ruins the natural voice from the park. Also, several facilities cannot be used, e.g., swimming pool. As a luxury hotel, the breakfast is too simple. My room is waterfall view but there is a tree in front of the room balcony. When I checked in, the staff has asked me if I'd like to upgrade the room but didn't mentioned the tree would influence the view.

    The location of the hotel is very excellent. Water fall can be seen from room. Accessing water fall only needs few minutes by foot. The staffs are quite friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.6
    Recommended. If you want quick and easy access to Iguazu National Park, this is the place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Jungle View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. The only problem we had was prior to our arrival. While we were at the airport, we tried to contact the hotel by phone, but it just kept ringing and we could not get it to be answered (we did not ask about this at the time of our arrival, so we do not know why this happened)

    First of all , I will clarify that we stayed in this hotel while it was 40%- 50% ready (for what we were told, there is a lot of work going on there at the moment). We knew that the hotel was under renovation before booking (It could have been due to reviews that we read before, or that someone told us that before booking, but we were aware of the undergoing work) In spite of that, which sometime might put people off, the experience while we were there was excellent. Works are taking place (I think) between 9am - 5 or 6pm, times where we were normally out in the park, so there was no disruption or annoying noises during our stay. The staff is excellent, super helpful and friendly, yet professional in what they do. The food is absolutely delicious, you really don't need to try to go somewhere else for food. During one of the nights in our stay there, the restaurant did not offer the A La Carte Menu (We guess that it was to give a little bit of variety, as the menu is not long). We normally do not like Buffets, but the food offered during the Buffet night was scrumptious. The gym is opened 24/7, and the equipment and rooms are excellent. When you arrive to Iguazu National Park, you need to inform that you are staying in the Hotel before paying for the entrance fee. We can imagine that once all the work is finished, and they have the swimming-pool ready, there hotel will be spectacular.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    5.8
    after finishing the renovation, the best place and the best located hotel for visiting the Iguazu wa
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Melia Room with Two Single Beds and Jungle View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The total lack of information on the hotel site that the hotel is renovating the building halfway from 8.00 to 17.00. After arriving, it turned out that the hotel works for 9 hours pneumatic hammers, concrete saws, drills and other heavy equipment (replacement of windows, forging walls, repair of swimming pools and pavements). Nobody even apologized to me when I complained about the noise and I think that there should be adequate compensation. And it has to be a five-star hotel? Today, for sure not

    Practically, from anywhere in the hotel, even the bathroom view of the waterfalls, fantastic! Restaurant service great and very good food. Breakfasts with a lovely concert of the harp, unfortunately accompanied accompanied by pneumatic hammers, but with a breathtaking view of the Iguazu waterfalls.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    8.8
    Spectacular view of the falls , easy access to the national...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Waterfall View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool and parts of the hotel were still being renovated but are scheduled to complete in November 2018

    Spectacular view of the falls , easy access to the national park, and a very comfortable facility. The spa is very reasonably priced

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    5.0
    Melia managment are Crooked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jackhammers all day and outside pool under construction. Pool was pictured full and operating when we booked.

    Unfortunately major renovations made our stay unpleasant and disappointing. Hotels should advise customers in advance so they can choose elsewhere. Its a disgrace to take our money like this. Melia managment must be crooks.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    5.4
    It’s in the only hotel in the Argentina side of the park and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Jungle View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities of the hotel are not in good condition. The hotel was just painted two weeks ago so here is very strong smell in the room. We have tried 4 rooms but they are all the same. Many parts of the floor in the 3rd floor has protruded.

    It’s in the only hotel in the Argentina side of the park and have a good view of the fall.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.3
    Loved the hotel decor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Waterfall View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some parts of the hotel are still under construction so we couldn’t use the outdoor pool for example. But looking forward to seeing what’s coming in the future! Only reason it isn’t a 10/10 at the moment.

    Loved the hotel decor! Rooms are gorgeous and the whole place has been refurbished so well! Definitely recommend staying here if you’re going to visit the falls. It was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.2
    Definitely stay here for limited time at the falls. Location is unbeatable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Jungle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Rooms could have been bigger. - Toiletries(shampoo, conditioner, lotion etc) at the room weren’t great quality for a 5-star hotel. - Dirt and noise due to construction.

    - Location is superb. Staying here saves you tons of time to spend at the falls and you can avoid crowds. - Staff was beyond excellent and did everything to make our stay better. Super attentive. Loved the mate cocktail provided during check in. - Breakfast selection and quality were excellent. Loved the harp player in the room. - Overall decor at common areas, swings looking at the falls. - Ease of arranging transportation to Puerto Iguazu, Airport and Brazilian side of the falls

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.8
    Avoid at least until renovations are officially over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Jungle View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is undergoing renovations as it recently became Melià. I thought it wouldn’t be a problem but after our stay I will never stay at a Melià again. We did point out many of the following complaints during check out, but we were told we were lucky as at the time, the renovations were not as noisy as they had been and would be the week after. No courtesy or apology were extended after our complaints. 
Service is hit and miss: good downstairs, extremely slow at bar upstairs. Food and wine availability is lacking continuously with the excuse of the renovations/transition… It really shouldn’t be that difficult to update your menu and wine list with what is actually in stock. Also, menu at restaurant lacks variety (and imho dishes and cocktails lack quality). Talking about 5 star quality, the cockroach incident at the bar did not help. I know it’s the jungle, but I would expect the staff to handle cockroach situations better, instead of guests having to kill them. No apology or comment was given by the hotel staff after my husband had to kill a large one. RENOVATIONS. There are cracked windows on all around and on what should be tempered glass, definitely a safety risk! Our ROOM was renovated and had lots of issues: loud rattling A/C (we opted to turn it off), old WC with runny water valve, doors that don’t open/close properly, paint smell in the room, overused towels that were ripping off on all edges, water pressure & temperature fluctuating during all our showers. And the walls are so thin between rooms that we could hear neighboring guests perfectly as if they were talking to us, and knew what movie they were watching without any effort. And FYI, at the moment pool is closed for renovations.

    Location. The view. Common areas decor.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Melia Hotel is expensive but you paid of what you received ! It is not only to attract visitors. The
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Melia Room with Two Single Beds and Jungle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I don’t like at Melia Hotel

    It was really amazing 😉 my 2 days stayed at Melia q beautiful place for a wedding 👰🏻 Honeymoon at the heart ❤️ of the “Angel throat” I call it like that because it transmitted on me a positive energies.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Jungle View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and toilets need urgent repairs and upgradation but the same is under progress as construction is in full swing and there is certain restriction at all the place in the property till it is complete.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.3
    Fabulous location and property, very, very friendly staff. Will definitely stay there again.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Waterfall View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are being redone as they had mentioned, being fair to the management. It did not disturb me though. I suspect all the rooms have a waterfall view from the 1st to 3rd floors. There was no mirror in the bathroom !!!! There was no bottle opener for the corked glass water bottles !!! The safe wasn't working in the room. The smell of fresh paint was still present.

    Awesome location, within the forest reserve. Fabulous view of the Iguazu Falls. Serene environment. Very very friendly staff. Fabulous breakfast spread.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    hard to beat a clean room with balcony overlooking falls at sunset watching the mist roll in
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Melia Room with Two Single Beds and Jungle View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel is under construction so their was noise , but we were gone most of the day anyway so it wasn't an issue... the hotel warned us ahead of time, and gave us a discount for the inconvenience

    excellent location and views, with super easy access to the 3 trails, the boat ramp.... being hotel guest gives you extra time before the national park opens so, we pretty much had the trails to ourselves - we had the devils throat platforms to ourselves

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Professional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Melia Room with Two Single Beds and Waterfall View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During the day it was noisy fron the comstruction. Bed was worn out (lopsided) to sleep on . Price was high for what yoy got. You can not charge your phone/computer if you are not in the room

    Staff was great. Food was good. Location was great. Clean room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    I would like to stay again after renovation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Jungle View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wanted to have more vegetables at breakfast.

    The location, only hotel in the Iguazú national park Argentina, was super. Although it was under renovation, they gave me a discount so I am satisfied.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Awesome location/staff but intense remodeling construction
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Waterfall View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is in a COMPLETE state of disarray due to intensive remodeling… I’m talking the entire pool area looking over the falls has 40 construction workers working… jackhammers echoing throughout… The lobby is set up in a little side room… The restaurant is being operated in half of a large ball room…. But the staff was excellent, apologetic, understanding and views were spectacular. We sat out on our balcony overlooking the waterfalls when the construction crew had left, and watched the sun set. It’s just not the kind of resort you want to hang out in due to the noise, although inside the spa it was quite. In a year it will be fabulous! We b-lined for the train first thing in the morning and beat the crowds to the top of the falls- totally worth it. The breakfast was the best one we had had in two weeks in Argentina and Chile at fancy hotels. Had a great stay - did all three hikes in the park. So a great “one night” base for Iguazú falls.

    The staff was excellent and apologetic about the intense remodeling project underway. Location and view superb...and being able to walk to the Devils Throat waterfall train before other tourists was a huge plus!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Easy & convenient access to the Cataratas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Jungle View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old rooms, but they are undergoing rennovation so they’re addressing that.

    Easy & convenient access to the Cataratas. Most of the staff are very well trained in offering utmost respect & service to the guests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed it very much. Stay several days to see in detail this wonderful spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Melia Room with Two Single Beds and Waterfall View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are improving the infrastructure. This will remain until aug. 2018, but still it is a wonderful place.

    The hotel is in a spectacular position. Actually they are improving the infrastructure but taking care of the guests. The attendance was outstanding. Breakfast incredible, view overwhelming, All in all one of the best spots available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Location is unbeatable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Jungle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They're performing some updating which always kinda sucks, but still great

    Location is unbeatable. Facilities were great. Nice gym, spa, indoor pool, room was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    The staff at the hotel were so friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Jungle View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of building work going on at the hotel. It was being updated so looked very tired.

    The staff at the hotel were so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    It was a great experience. Staff was very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Melia Room with Two Single Beds and Jungle View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was under renovation. They did send an e-mail and informed about this. Obviously there were things we could not take advantage off - like to outdoor pool.

    Location of the hotel is great. Right in the park, you can see the waterfalls from the rooftop.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    An older hotel that is being renovated. Best to wait a few years until it is done before visiting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room with Falls View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is under going major renovations which while good for future guests spoils the bith the view and facilities for current guests and at not discount for the inconvenience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    The property was under renovation so the outdoor pool was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Melia Room with Two Single Beds and Waterfall View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was under renovation so the outdoor pool was closed. We had problems with the shower pressure and the water temperature in the shower would go from good to very hot and then very cold. The staff and service was very good. I am from the US and all the staff I spoke to also knew English.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    Amazing location, very expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Waterfall View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outdoor pool and grounds under construction so not available for use. Restaurant food very so-so.

    Amazing view of the falls from the room. Close proximity to the trails. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    Stay there if you can afford it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Waterfall View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going through renovations.

    In the park! So convienent it easily justifies the extra cost. And pay the extra to get a room with the view of the falls, it is worth it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.9
    Great localtion - Super Staff - Hotel currently under Renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Waterfall View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was under construction - No outside pool or spa under contruction - room are very clean but dated not 4 Stars

    View & Staff ver super friendly 10 Points Access to the falls und National park before the crowds - loved it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice for one night only to see Argentine side of the Falls
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Jungle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mold in hallways, truly awful food in restaurant - with the exception of the home made pasta with cherry tomatoes & shrimp-tasted just like being in Italy

    View of the Falls

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Totally worth it for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Melia Room with Two Single Beds and Waterfall View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They’re undergoing renovation and we weren’t notified of this until a few days before our arrival Dining room is not attractive. Dinner was average

    As others have stated the location cannot be best and ( if you have the $) it is worth the splurge. Glorious views of the falls Easy walk to Upper and Lower Circuit trails Breakfast buffet was exceptional

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.9
    Worth it for the location....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Waterfall View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Note you have to pay 500 pesos cash (per person) to get into the park... and so get to the hotel. Make sure you have it on you when you arrive. The food was inconsistent.... one time excellent, next time disappointing.

    Nice hotel, in a great location. One of only a couple of places within the park itself. Went out early (7:30ish) and was quite alone with the Falls for a full hour before the crowds arrived. Worth the extra money just for that experience.. as once the gates opened the place was like Piccadilly Circus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.8
    A perfectly located hotel to visit Iguazu waterfalls
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Melia Room with Two Single Beds and Waterfall View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not made aware that the hotel is undergoing renovation, planned to spend late afternoons by the pool but the hotel closed the pool for renovaction the day we arrived. Bathroom is rather small and outdated, hopefully will be more modern after remodeling. Coffeemaker in the room woukd’ve Been good.

    Perfectly situated hotel, the only property in the park, you are on the trail as soon as you get out of the building. View of waterfalls from the room and bar is great. Staff at the reception was very considerate to our requests. Food at the bar was actually very tasty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.3
    I like the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Melia Room with Two Single Beds and Jungle View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building and the rooms are old and even though they will reconstract it during this year, I hope it worth the investment...

    I like the location. It' s very important when the rain began (very common in Iguazu)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.6
    Splurge to stay in the park in this wonderful hotel. It's worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Jungle View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent hotel with great staff. Perfect location to explore the park on the Argentina side. Wonderful breakfast and good food for dinner. Pool was great. However, you pay a price for being at this location-expensive but worth it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.7
    Everything good but too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Waterfall View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too expensive, not value for money View of waterfalls not as impressive as expected No shuttle/public bus to and from the airport, you have to take taxi which costs 500 Peso one way =0=

    Location closes to the falls, good swimming pool and spa, good breakfast, free wifi in room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.3
    Terrific location! Definitely a wonder of the world!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Falls Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location! Location! Location! We had a room with a view of the Falls. Lots of birds! Beds were comfortable. Electricity went off for a few minutes. Overall the hotel needs maintenance. That did not impact our delight at being there. The mojitos are excellent! It poured rain, but the hotel had umbrellas we could borrow. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    an amazing place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Jungle View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    run down state of the overall building... but that will all soon change, when the new owners convert this into a 6* hotel. Bet the price won't be the same either

    Although the hotel is quite run down, and is abt to be shut down for a total makeover, the location of this hotel makes it 1000% worthwile staying here. The restaurant is by far the best one we have eaten food in our 2 week trip throughout Argentina (where food was generally very-very bad).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    The breakfast was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Melia Room with Two Single Beds and Waterfall View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't eneter the park before 8am. Don't cross any guard that says NO PASAR (don't pass). They will find you, park officials that is, and you WILL get a big fine. They do not play around.

    The breakfast was amazing. Staff was beyond nice. Everyone spoke a small amount of English. Location was unmatched, the falls were staring at you once you walked into the Hotel. If you want to do Iguazu right, come here. It's the only Hotel INSIDE the park on the Argentinian side. And yea, Brazil has a different view, but, the Argentinian side is way better.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.7
    Expensive hotel, little value to stay in park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Jungle Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No point in staying in this expensive hotel as all park trails are closed at 6pm, even for hotel guests. Better to stay in Puerto Iguazu town with diversity of activities, and get to park entrance at 8am by taxi.

    Close to waterfall.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.3
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Falls View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is a little cramped. There were no towels for the bidet. A rack in the room for hanging damp clothes would be nice; you can't hang them on your balcony and the falls get you a "bit" wet.

    The breakfast and dinner buffets were lovely. ( the pasta bar should have an order form for ingredients that you can complete while you are waiting in line.) The barbeque was spectacular. Perfect setting!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.5
    Really this is the only place to stay at Iguazu Falls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Jungle View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was weak and unstable. Given the room rate you would think that this could be attended to.

    Really this is the only place to stay at Iguazu Falls. It is right there where all the cation is.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location for the fall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Jungle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for the Falls. Captive market for night dinning. Restaurant below par and not value for money. Hotel a bit tired. But will still use this hotel due to its excellent location to the Falls.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.3
    Wish I could have stayed longer
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Melia Room with Two Single Beds and Waterfall View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ---

    The location in the natural park is excellent, only minutes from the trails through the jungle to fantastic views of the waterfalls. The room and the balcony are nice and clean with a view of the waterfalls. Super friendly and helpful staff. Nice big pool

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.4
    It’s all about the location when it comes to Melia Iguazu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Falls View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very outdated interior and the average food, which made me feel like in a 4 star hotel.

    The only thing I really liked about this hotel was the spectacular view from my room over the Iguazu Falls. The fact that it is the only hotel located on Argentina’s side of the National Park makes it worth the money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.0
    hotel is a bit tired but the views and location are phenomenal .the staff and facilities are great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Falls View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit tired with dated furniture .

    Amazing views and location .access to the park and the incredible walks. Food was very good and bedroom had an excellent view . Staff very helpful and courteous .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    5.4
    Excellent location and views, the hotel is somewhat rundown and in need of TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room with Falls View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel recently converted from Sheraton to Melia. The staff volunteered that the new owner intends to invest 23 million USD into upgrades, they are sorely needed. Our observations: roaches in the rooms, water seeped in from the balcony, mildew in grout lines, only two elevators for 210 rooms (one out of service most of the time). In addition the rooms are very small, not what I would expect for a "Premium Twin Room".

    The location is plainly excellent, the only hotel in the National Park and view at the falls. The staff was friendly and helpful but few and therefore very busy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    The only place to stay on Argentine side of Iguazu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Jungle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is soulless. Breakfast and snack lunches were very good but the dinner was very ordinary and disappointing. Food service was too slow. For a hotel of this standard, refurbishment is long overdue.

    The location and views are fabulous, room lovely, great balcony and lovely pool. The location is fantastic to enjoy the trails in the park.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    I had a memorable stay at this hotel where I celebrated my Birthday right next to the amazing falls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Melia Room with Two Single Beds and Waterfall View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price is a bit too high for the hotel room. I guess the price is due to the location more than anything else. The hotel should try and upgrade the rooms to justify the price as well.

    Location. You can see the falls from the hotel and since the hotel is inside the park, you get to access the falls much earlier than the day visitors from outside. I flew into Iguacu on Brazil side and took a taxi to the hotel on Argentina side. Initially, I thought that crossing the border and then checking in to the hotel will take a long time but thanks to the prompt service of staff, we are able to check in quick and enjoyed the falls on the first day as well (this allowed us to do more things on the second day of our stay).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful to wake up in the park, even if it is monopoly pricing and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Monopoly pricing. Restaurant was decent but nothing special. You're better off walking down to the Park food court for empanadas and a cold beer at lunch. No rooms for a family of 4, you have to book 2 rooms. Hotel is a bit tired, but I understand Melia is about to inject USD $10 million in renovations including adding a new floor.

    location location location. Nice pool, great mojitos, beautiful grounds. Although you are far from town, the taxis will take you there, hang around for up to 4 hours, then bring you back for the same price as a round trip.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    6.7
    Best location of any property in Iguazú but basically an airport hotel with many systemic issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite the breathtaking location and surrounding natural beauty, this property needs some work. It recently went from Sheraton ownership to Melia so they are still adjusting. Upon our arrival, they informed us that the suite we booked was unavailable without further explanation. They adjusted the rate to a lower one and put us into a smaller room (albeit with an amazing view of the falls from the top level) and also gave us a complimentary dinner buffet for two that evening as a gesture, which was appreciated. I hate being moved once I get to a hotel — it’s a relatively mild stressor but it could have impacted our activities planned for the next day so I requested that they leave us in the regular room to avoid a second disrupting packing/unpacking midday. They agreed. After this slight fiasco, I retired to the spa for a massage. I was greeted by a very nice attendant who politely informed me that the spa facilities aside from a large jacuzzi massage pool feature were all unavailable due to remodeling and he had no idea when massages/facials/scrubs would again be available. This compounded my frustration with this property that has “spa” in the actual name of the hotel. I think it’s reasoanble to expect a functioning spa facility or be alerted to this construction so I could have booked another property. I confronted the front desk lady who confirmed the remodeling closure. She said that it was posted on their site about the closure of their facilities and also all sites that offer their property were alerted. I’m not sure how they are communicating this info but it definitely wasn’t disclosed to me. I reviewed my booking.com confirmation and it listed several conditions (payment of park fee required, etc) and one peculiar one that said the pool area would be unavailable June 1-20 (no year given). I wasn’t sure what to make of the pool closure alert but it definitely was not a spa facility construction disclosure.

    Incredible view and location. Staying inside the park made it very convenient to get to the boat tour and all of the trails around the falls (lower, upper and train to top). The most magnificent views are from the very top which you need to ride the train to reach. The ticket you purchase to get into the park gets you free access to the train up to garganta de diablo (devils throat).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.7
    Memorable visit to Falls, great location very average hotel, particularly in view of price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room with Falls View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price rooms very basic, restaurant and bar areas very poor and food not great

    Location fabulous, staff very friendly but not always on top of things.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location! Helpful staff. Beautiful views. Infrastructure could use some updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium King Room with Falls View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is a bit older overall and could use some updating. For example, our air conditioner malfunctioned one day and stopped working. (It was fixed within a day.) By comparison, the Belmond Hotel on the Brazilian side of the park has been remodeled to feel much more luxurious. The glass partition in the shower isn't long enough to prevent water from splashing out onto the bathroom floor.

    Amazing location within the Argentinian side of the park. Extensive buffet breakfast. Great views of the falls from reception, the terrace, and the rooms facing that side of the park. Staff was very helpful in providing information about various trail options and how to see the Brazilian side of the falls.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    The location is INCREDIBLE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Waterfall View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish the confirmation had told me that I needed to bring Argentine cash to pay the national park entrance fee that's required to get into the hotel, since the hotel is inside the national park. If you're not careful to lock your balcony door the monkeys will break in and ransack your mini-bar and you have to pay a huge cleaning fee.

    The location is INCREDIBLE! The trails to the falls start on the property itself. Staff were super friendly and if you pay with a foreign credit card you get a refund on the 21% VAT, which is nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    5.8
    Views and proximity to the paths
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Waterfall View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced food at the restaurant with only dinner option being buffet. inferior breakfast, the property desperately needs upgrading

    Views and proximity to the paths

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    4.6
    phenomenal natural wonder, terrible hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Melia Room with Two Single Beds and Jungle View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was not a five star hotel as advertised but a three star max. So many things were in disrepair - the phone didn't work, I almost slipped on the ground floor bathroom floor because there was a pool of water, there were multiple power outtages with no warning...in the middle of a shower! the pool towel was stained, etc. we called the hotel the night prior to arrival to arrange an airport pickup, but no one picked up the phone!!! The lack of airport transportation is a major concern. The only option is a 500 peso taxi for a 10min ride whichnis a complete ripoff. This hotel is in a prime location and could do so much better in improving the customer's experience. We appreciates the apples at the check in however, to our horror, they were worm ridden and badly bruised so we could not eat them. I hope the hotel will improve soon. Otherwise, i would not recommend the hotel.

    The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    5.8
    I have chosen this hotel just for location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Jungle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs refurbishment because the facilities are very old. Rooms do not have slippers, bathrobes, shower cap or umbrellas.

    The location inside the park was the reason for choosing this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.2
    Location could not be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Jungle View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little expensive, especially the restaurant but you pay for the location which could not be better.

    Location, Location, Location ! Great Breakfasts, good balconies , big rooms with mini bar. Good pool

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.3
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Jungle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, although the price for the Evening Buffet seemed a little excessive, however there was a huge selection, maybe I just dont eat enough to justify the cost!

    The location is fantastic for visiting the falls, and worth the extra money in that sense. The rooms are slightly dated but very clean. It would be a shame if the new owners update the facilities to a standard that increases the current cost as it would put it out of reach for a lot of people visiting the falls.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.1
    Stay here if you can afford it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Jungle View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived just after Melia took over from Sheraton. Service was friendly but very slow. Could have been new system of course.

    Stay here if you can afford it. Being in the Park is worth it. Loved watching Toucans from my window. No need to pay extra for jungle view. You see it all from bar lobby etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    Incredible location early in park morning You need to take...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Waterfall View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room with mould on corners due to humidity but nothing too bad just has to be renovated for the price you pay Not much design/decoration

    Incredible location early in park morning You need to take room with view Great breakfast Great facilities Very comfy bed Made our honeymoon special

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.3
    Worth the money to be so close to the Falls, but don’t expect much more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Melia Room with King Bed and Waterfall View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With the exception of the breakfast, which was satisfactory, the food at the hotel restaurant was poor. Also, the water pressure was very weak.

    The location inside the National park is, by far, the biggest advantage of this property. The views are amazing and the pool area was quite nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Natures wonder from your balcony. Magnificent and unforgettable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium King Room with Falls View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No currency exchange.

    Iguazu Falls. Walking trails from hotel to all over National Park. Incredible gym and spa facilities. Poolside food and beverage service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    The hotel makes money off of it's location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Falls View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel makes money off of it's location. Hopefully the new owner will get it more up to date, but there is nothing like waking up in the morning and seeing the waterfalls!!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    The closest chance you will get to stay on the Argentinian side, a must do
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Falls View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The monkeys, you have to be careful to keep the balcony door locked when not in the room.

    Amazing views of the waterfall from our 3rd floor falls view room, it was outstanding as was the view from the lobby bar. Being so close to the start of the trail was really a huge advantage, allowing you go be on the walks at 8am before the bus tours arrive. Food was very good particularly the breakfast with good choices each day. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    Amazing location, good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Jungle Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel didn't coordinate with pick up to have a baby seat in the car despite me confirming with them twice. No offer of an upgrade to apologise but willing to give us 25% off- hardly worth the effort. Also, room 111 should not be used as the machinery behind the wall is far too noisy. Hotel could do with an upgrade

    Amazing location overlooking the falls! Very helpful reception staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    Stunning location, restaurant disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cocktails by the pool were rather ordinary quality. We had given advanced notice that one guest was vegan and we'd like to have dinner at the restaurant , the result was a bowl of steamed rice with some vegetables and no flavour at all- this from a five star hotel that we paid more than $750USD was very poor and disappointing to say the least.

    Clearly the view is the highlight- stunning! Great swimming pool perfect for a swim after exploring the walking trails. So convenient to be staying in the national park and literally walk out the door to begin your exploring of the falls.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    what a place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Falls Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    But please Mr (or Mrs) Sheraton. Please, please renovate the hotel and repaint it green so it blends in with the forest as much as possible. Looking at it from the Brazil side - it is quite an eyesore!!!

    It's overpriced and not great value for money as well as the rooms being a wee bit tired and old - BUT - oh my god - the location. It is superb. If you can as well - get a 3rd floor (top floor) room. You can see more of the falls from that level.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    No competition and it shows!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room with Falls View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food was poor - menus never changed wherever you ate. Food was more of the 'fast food' variety rather than good quality and the breakfast was the same everyday.

    Superb location with excellent access to the Iguazu National Park. Lots of local wildlife and quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.7
    Views of Iguazu Falls Make up for lack of service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Falls View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The views of Iguazu Falls were phenomenal and that made staying their worth it. I had stayed at Belmond de Cataratas and their dtandard was excellent and expected as much from the Sheraton but sadly apart from the reception and cleaning staff the service was poor, the food was not even a 3 star restaurant level and decor needs updating as well as significantly improved customer service training. There were only two breakfast waiters who were good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    A great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Falls View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view of the falls as we entered the hotel reception for the first time was breathtaking. The staff were helpful at all times, and Angelica went out of her way in this respect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    Great Location. Nice Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Jungle View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom may be too small for big persons. Water pressure in the shower was too low and shower floor was slippery.

    Location definitively, great staff and very helpful. Great breakfast and dinner was excellent too. Comfortable bed and well equipped unit. Room service fast and effective.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Melia Iguazu traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: