Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Brick Hotel Buenos Aires – MGallery by Sofitel 5 stars

Posadas, 1232, Retiro, C1011ABF Buenos Aires, Argentina

#36 of 440 hotels in Buenos Aires

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 291 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    Not the level of Sofitel Berlin but pretty good for Buenos Aires
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service - 45' at the bar without the barman (he was smoking somewhere and reeked of cigarette smoke when he came in) which means the waiters from the restaurant also have to take care of the bar. At breakfast, ordered poached eggs and cancelled the order 20' later - no eggs in sight!

    Mattress and bed in general very confortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.1
    Typical Brick (Sofitel) experience in the best neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is very limited and lacks imagination. Can we get beyond yogurt, cheese and salty meat? How about some nice vegetarian or vegan options for a change? I couldn't get anyone to wait on me during breakfast - was never offered tea/coffee or even greeted so that was disappointing. When it came time to check-out, I couldn't get anyone to answer the phone so lugged two very large suitcases to the elevator, etc. - and that doesn't work for me. This is an Accor Property and I do expect a level of service in exchange for staying. I'm not sure I would stay here again - I'd probably stay at the 4 Seasons, etc. OR at one of the many boutique hotels in the city - some of which offer a pool.

    The location - this neighborhood is gorgeous and it's a great spot to stay in while you discover the rest of Buenos Aires. The rooms are well appointed (but PLEASE add more outlets to the bedside stand and make them international outlets--and tell your other hotel friends in Argentina, too). This is a quintessential Brick/Sofitel so the ambiance is what you know and expect. No surprises and no real disappointments in terms of the hotel itself. The room service is VERY quick and the food was good--not great--but good. My stay was fine - it wasn't spectacular - just fine.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.3
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check in only 1 counter with 1 person. No security in using the elevators even non guests could go up to the floors. Bathroom could use a renovation some of the joints are black, tiles chipped and toilet tank seemed like it was falling off. TV: programs were poor quality no HD.

    Entrance hall and waiting area is very modern and comfy. Breakfast has a great choice. The room was spacious, bed comfy. Our room was next to the elevator but it was quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    Location, Location, Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The plumbing could use an update - the shower worked beautifully but looked a bit worse for wear. The housekeeping was excellent in general but the bathroom floor was not 'pristine' upon arrival.

    Location, Location, Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Walking Distance to the Major Museums and Attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Frankly, the Brick had no downside.

    The Brick staff was professional and very helpful. The location was within walking distance of most of the major museums and points of interest. The facilities and food were first rate. Good gym.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.6
    Excellent choice to stay. Great location. Super friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had a problem with hot water the last day we stayed . Public areas where extremely cold.

    Location. Super friendly staff. Spacious room. Very comfortable bed and pillows

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel and staff but could do better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was tired and especially the bathroom in need of an upgrade. WiFi could be faster. Towel rack must be replaced. Very dirty.

    Early check in was much appreciated Friendly, helpful staff Very nice breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    10
    Best accommodation I had in two months of travel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no disappointments. Will stay here again.

    Staff went out of their way to ensure my comfort. I arrived in tears at the hotel just having been robbed of my cell phone on the street. The staff calmly and expertly helped guide me through how and who to notify. The concierge was knowledgeable about my interests- art galleries and museums. The food was excellent at the Brick so I did not want to eat anywhere else . My room was spacious and very well equipped.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.5
    The location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need some remodeling They look old Lack of staff for checking-in. There was a big line and only one person taking care of that.

    The location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better

    Placed in the best spot of Recoleta

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    Excelent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    overall, it was a great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    service at bar a littkle slow

    reception and concierge very helpful including storing our luggage for 3 days before we formally checked in

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Glad we stayed at the brick hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything.

    Great place, people. Walking distance to a lot of things. Walk to restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.2
    Great location, within easy access to main attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Modern hotel, with lovely and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Will be back soon...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect for the weekend...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.0
    Good lobby, old rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old rooms

    Good lobby, old rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    Location is really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby is amazing, but room looks a little bit old.

    Location is really good. Staffs are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Comfortable room, lovely public area, interesting location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make decaffinated coffee more available.

    Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful art.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful art.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.6
    Bed was exceptional, toiletries Devine and concierge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was exceptional, toiletries Devine and concierge excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Ótima opção
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent bed and sheets Room very clean I always have problems with room with carpets, but this one had absolutely no smell

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    8.8
    Great Stay before Cruise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Trying to catch a Taxi to the ship. Should have added a day in order to tour the area.

    Very comfortable room, nice location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    10
    Left wallet behind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Left wallet behind. Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.6
    Location
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Gym is old

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.2
    Central, good value.
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Coffeemaker in the room (filter coffee, quite old stylish) Rooms have carpets.

    Location, central, clean rooms. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.6
    The pillows are the only thing that needs improvement.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The pillows are the only thing that needs improvement. Everything else is Excellent!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    10
    Perfect Argentina
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Location staff and facilities all perfect

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    9.2
    The lobby is an excellent synergy of art and design, the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms are not designed as cool as the lobby, it calls for a renovation of all the deco I would suggest a bit lower rate as it was disappointing to see the old style

    The lobby is an excellent synergy of art and design, the restaurant's chef prepared me 2 special vegan meals that I shall remark were delicious The rooms were not refurbished according to the new style of the hotel, my room was full of 80s furniture although the bathroom is fully equipped and I had a great rest Location is difficult to be beated, just across the street is Patio Bullrich mall with several trendy shops and a taxi station... Recoleta is in my opinion one of the best spots to be in Buenos Aires You may walk to so many places around and the area architecture invites you to enjoy it to the fullest Totally recommended although there are cheaper hotels in the neighborhood Enjoy it!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    10
    We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel! The lobby is very modern but the rooms are elegant and bathrooms very roomy with a separate rainhead shower all done in marble. The free breakfast buffet is lovely and very nice added touch especially when traveling with teenaged children. The staff and concierge were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    7.5
    fantastic breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I observed that the rather elderly carpet in the room was hoovered just 1 time in a week. Why did I found this out? Because I saw the same dirt on the carpet during my whole stay (some nuts fallen down). On the arrival I had to fight for a room with a table. Imagine: I booked for 1 whole week as a business man and was offered first a room which didn't even have a table. Then I got no. 1108 which was ok. THis thanks to a very nice lady at the reception (pregnant, don't remeber her name).

    fantastic breakfast! Congratulations.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    8.0
    Location, very nice hotel, staff reliable and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location, very nice hotel, staff reliable and nice.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    10
    perfect location it's was my fourth stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    perfect location it's was my fourth stay

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    8.8
    La excelente atencion del personal en general.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    La excelente atencion del personal en general.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    7.9
    Location - Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Big cocktail party in the entrance Foyer having to go thru crowds to get to the Elevators. Slow elevators(Long wait)

    Location - Friendly staff

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: