Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires by Tay Hotels 4 stars

Moreno 376, Monserrat, C1091AAH Buenos Aires, Argentina

Review score

Based on 808 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.3
    Very good hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet went down for some time, but it still worked when connecting to other room's router

    All previous reviews pointing at magnificent space were right! The room was simply huge, very comfortable, very old building but perfectly refurbished from the inside. Great value for the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Stylish Stay in the Heart of BA
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    I think Hotel Moreno is wonderful. Huge rooms - try and get a 'loft' room. Stylishly decorated. Friendly, English-speaking staff. Perfect location for the Sunday markets along Calle Defensa in San Telmo. Close to Plaza de Mayo. It's an 'aparthotel' so no breakfast. Plenty of cafes around!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location to the main historical sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Loft
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a little far from the bars and restaurants in Palermo and traffic is a nightmare

    Perfect location to the main historical sites. Beautiful old building with high ceilings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location but so-so neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much. There was a small flood near the bathroom. Just don’t know what causes it.

    Great location but so-so neighborhood. Staffs are great. Most of the restaurants in the neighborhood are closed on weekend. You may need to walk 1/2 mile for food. But the vendor market is just around the corner. Good place to stay. I would recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    I would stay a the Moreno Hotel again for the location and staff. Loved the hotel's old elevator as
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Moreno Hotel has a beautiful roof top which at one time had a garden and functioning restaurant. I hope one day they will bring it back to life again. There is a restaurant next to the hotel called Aldos which you can receive 10% off through the hotel and the food is so good. For breakfast Brun is a block up and so good too. It would be nice if Moreno Hotel gave a coupon for a coffee and bagel at a local restaurant since they don't have breakfast included with your stay.

    Location was amazing. We saw all the sights walking from the hotel. Staff was helpful in suggesting things to see in the city. They booked our cabs to and from the airports and booked performances for us. Loved Bueno Aires.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little dark. Also, staying over a public holiday - not a lot of shops were open - room needs a kettle and tea bags / coffee for mornings. But they are minor things!

    Helpful staff, nice large rooms. Easy location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Charming place, great value in great neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have liked to be able to check in early after our long flight, but had to wait till check-in time. Also, really wished there was coffee pot in the room, as there is no restaurant onsite. Took me a few days to figure out how to get my morning coffee easily before heading out for the day.

    The hotel is in a great location. Completely fell in love with San Telmo. Easy walking to great restaurants and shops. Our room was comfortable and very spacious. Bathroom was big too and water pressure was great. Staff was capable. Even though there is no restaurant, Aldo's Vinoteca next door was fantastic -- ate there twice and loved it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.1
    A clean, safe, comfortable place. Excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You have to get a manger involved for any special request: we had asked for an early arrival when we booked the room. When we arrived: "Sorry, no. Check-in at 3:0 PM." Manager overheard and quickly got us into a room that had been prepped and cleaned. We requested a late departure and got the same "No. Not possible." Not even one hour? "No. Not possible." We sat in the lobby with our luggage -- not exactly comfortable. One other issue: there is no restaurant or cafe on site. If you want anything in the morning, you have to go out. One mornig it was really inconvenient to do so.

    Character of the hotel -- it was cool to be in an older building that had been updated. Loved the huge size of the room and the tall ceilings. Bed was comfortable. AC worked fine and we had a thermostat that actually worked. Front Desk was very helpful and friendly. San Telmo area is a great location to walk to nearby neighborhoods. NO problem finding restaurants and cafes nearby. We never felt threatened or in danger -- on a few streets there were crowds of students day and night, but they were not bothering anybody.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable and centrally located
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If breakfast could be provided it could be great Although there are plenty of cafeterias that open early in the neighbourhood

    Nice big rooms, fully equipped Very comfortable centrally located Just next to a great Jazz Club !!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.5
    Good overall for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had coffee and tea facilities plus the rooms were quite bland and had no character to it a mirror would have helped. For what they are intending they are still quite far short off the luxury they intend to sell. Could have provided breakfast but they don’t have the facilities.

    Location was excellent and the rooms were grand for the price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Perfect location, gorgeous huge rooms at very reasonable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perfect location, gorgeous huge rooms at very reasonable prices. The concierge was helpful and the bathroom is great. Nothing to complain about really, great place to see all the sites of Buenos Aires

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    7.1
    Okay for step night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little day light. The lift with manual doors. The personnel from the morning: did not help at all with the luggage to take downstairs, he walked ahead instead.

    The location, the spacious room with sofa and big bar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    Excellent location, from there is easy enough to go to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, from there is easy enough to go to the main areas (Boca, Revoletta, Palermo are all about 15-20 min taxi ride away. Puerto Madero is walking distance). The room is very spacious, clean and comfortable. Great internet and great service!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.2
    This hotel is a vintage hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Kleenex in the room and they wouldn't give us more than 2 bath towels and 1 hand towel.

    The location of this hotel for seeing Buenos Aires is ideal.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night porter could have been a bit friendlier. But if i had to work at 2am I don’t suppose I’d be overly happy either

    Room was one of the largest I’ve ever stayed in. Location was fabulous close to the city and close to many great restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    Right at vibrant san Telmo and walking distance to puerto...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maintenance could be improved

    Right at vibrant san Telmo and walking distance to puerto Madero. Art decó style building. Very spacious room . Nice decoration.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    8.8
    Location - close to the Centre and San Telmo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location - close to the Centre and San Telmo Strong internet Staff very friendly, let us check in early when we arrived to drop our bags in the deposit

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    5.0
    I enjoyed Buenos Aires but tehre is certainly room for improvement in this accommodation facility
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bad organisation of transfer from the airport to the hotel, big but dirty room, medium strength wifi, not speedy services, noise from the hotel (the room was located at the reception level - no soundproof walls)

    Location was nice. Close to the centre and Puerto Madero.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little noisy there is a lot of building and work going on Oddly the noise went on all night the first two nights we stayed here but not the last two

    The room was huge and location fabulous

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    6.3
    I would not stay here again or recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel was in downtown Buenos Aires which has very few restaurants that stay open in the evening. Those that do are VERY expensive. Breakfast was at McDonalds a 20 minute walk away since nothing was open or very expensive. The hotel is also a long walk from the subway stations. The water heater in the room worked only intermittently and so cold showers in the AM.

    The room was clean and very modern.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.9
    Absolutly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We were very happy of choosing Moreno Hotel. The room 38 was about ca. 4x10 qm, divided into a sleeping area a lounge area with a little „kitchen“/fridge and a bathroom. The bed was comfortable for us and the staff very friendly and helpfull. Only the street was a bit noisy so dont forget your noise-reductions. Greetings Chris+Katy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    4.2
    Horrible....simply horrible
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drain stench and the very poorly maintained rooms....basically there is nothing to like about this hotel

    This place is an absolute dump. It is filthy, filthy, filthy and rooms are not cleaned properly.....things were biting my colleague whilst she was sleeping...... The stench from the drains rises up through the sink and toilet pot and hangs in the rooms... We tried to change rooms but its the same in all rooms. Lock all your things up when you leave the room ...some cosmetics disappeared from the room, but we decide to rather lock things away instead of complaining. The only good thing about this hotel is the friendly reception staff and its central location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.9
    The location was good being close to number of famous sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was huge but was too cold.

    The location was good being close to number of famous sights. There was also a famous Sunday market just outside of the hotel. A mini supermarket was only a minute walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    A most enjoyable stay and I would recommend this hotel to my friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could find no fault with any aspect considering the age of the hotel

    The room was large and comfortable. The shower was fantastic and the staff were very helpful. I loved the traditional quality of the hotel and found the lift charming. The room was cleaned only when I asked so I think that is great. Didn't need to clean every day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Spacious and trendy stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle or coffee/tea making facilities in the room

    Trendy/historic ambiance, spacious room, great location, comfortable bed, fast elevators, fantastic restaurant next door that delivers room service to the hotel. Travel cot for our baby was set up in the room prior to arrival.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    Loved our stay here - sorry to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lobby was dreary and dark but we didn't spend much time there.

    Building was old. Right downtown about a half block from the Sunday Market. Good restaurants nearby. The restaurant affiliated with the hotel was fabulous! The room was spacious with a view of an old church across the street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    4.6
    If I go back to Buenos Aires, I sure won't stay in the same hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The wifi didn't work half of the time, even though it says they have internet everywhere. And I needed an adapter for my laptop, but they weren't very helpful, to say the least. The rooms were supposed to be non-smoking but my room smelled of smoke, and I found out after a few days that there were ashes on a rug, so the cleaning really hadn't been thorough!

    It's well situated, and the staff were rather friendly. My room was quite spacious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful old world charm and character
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was really sad that the hotel had recently closed the gorgeous rooftop bar where you could have breakfast looking over the rooftops. Just a comment and I hope that the hotel survives and reinstate this.

    This hotel is a real treasure in Buenos Aires. It has charm, and represents a world that has almost gone - lost to a beige hotel globe where every place has the same decor and ambience. The location is great, and the rooms huge (mine also had a lovely balcony with a view of the city and was very quiet).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.1
    large rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    i am quite sure i made a reservation with breakfast included, and once there it was not included, and booking didnt help , wi fi very unstable

    spacy room,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    Classic Boutique with Wear around the Edges
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were two couples with two separate rooms. One couple had to change rooms after the first night because of excessive noise from the street or some machines we couldn't identify. There was no problem changing rooms, but the noise issue remained. Furnishing in all rooms was quite a bit worn down, and some floor boards were missing in one of the rooms.

    We enjoyed the classic tile entryway and the old fashioned elevator. We also liked the size of the rooms and comfort of the beds. The staff was very helpful with everything we wanted.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    I had a problem with the wifi connection in the floor where...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Loft
    • Stayed 17 nights

    I had a problem with the wifi connection in the floor where I was staying. It was the 2nd Floor. In all the other floors the internet connection was good. That is the only problem I faced.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    5.4
    too expensive for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we couldn't open the door of our room after coming home late at night. The night staff was trying hard but didn't manage to open the door. Finally, after abiut an hour of working, my husband! opend the door with severals screwdrivers an much patience. We were given another room the next day - but there was no compensation at all, we even had to pay the water out of the mini bar. Paying 100 US$ per night I exspect better.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    3.3
    With great sadness I'm writing this review do not...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Everything I have mentioned above My friend paid 200 us dollars less than what I have paid and they have stayed in 4 stars hotel which was amazing, better location, friendly staff, 24 hours reception, spacious lounge in the main foyer, great and delicious breakfast, restaurant the whole day, room services available And their hotel was in the main street 120 metres from Moreno (nh Hotel) They have booked their hotel in the same day and they paid less and got much more

    With great sadness I'm writing this review do not believe what you see and pay for This hotel is marketed as four stars but it should be 3 or less. Old rooms, old styles, the worse breakfast that you may pay for. Breakfast is served cold scrambles eggs is half burned and cold and it looks like it was kept over night No other facilities, no laundry or washing facilities No coffee making facilities No restaurant inside the property so you either eat early or stay starved until the morning The outside restaurant that can serve dinner is usually closed on public holiday, so make sure you eat earlier Staff in the morning were reluctant to help however I found the evening staff are more helpful and listen to you more (specially Luciano) Be careful when you walk around at night The hotel rooms are marketed as spacious rooms, however it is a lounge attached to your room You are not sure if the whole room is cleaned or not Poor Wi Fi reception, a lot of interruption all the time day and night My experience was disgraceful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    5.4
    The room was huge.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was not clean, the mug was broken, the kettle was dirty, and moreover the coffee, tea n sugar were not replaced and the containers are dirty.

    The room was huge. The staff were great n friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.2
    Under rated hotel in Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are good quality and large (with hand basin/mirror area separate from toilet/shower which you learn to appreciate when sharing a room), the staff were excellent, location is great in San Telmo but so close to Plaza de Mayo. It was my second time staying here and will be very happy to stay again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.2
    A good place to stay and explore Buenos Aries
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Difficult to say.

    The front desk staff were excellent. The information sheet provide was good and the recommended restaurants first class. Rooms a good size and well maintained.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    7.1
    A great location BUT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Overall the hotel is tired. In our room one of the units was badly scratched and there were very few toiletries, no bathrobes or slippers and the bathroom tiles had seen better days. The breakfast was poor, processed ham and plastic cheese and some fresh fruit along with bowls of tinned fruit. Breakfast ran from 7am - 11am and one morning we arrived at 9 30 and there was no scrambled egg left so we asked for some and were told no it was finished. this was poor

    The location of the hotel is perfect and the staff were very helpful. The loft room was large and airy and adequate always masses of hot water and clean towels

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    9.6
    Incredible place to stay with old world charm and loft views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The recommended restaurant, Aldo's is terrible. The setting is great but the food is very disappointing. The menu is poorly executed and the steak is below average. Being next door to the hotel is the only redeeming feature. When there are so many nice restaurants in San Telmo take Uber to one of them.

    The room was amazing. IT WAS HUGE!! The windows looked out over the street and gave an amazing view of Buenos Aires. The San Telmo markets were around the corner giving easy access. The hotel is charming with the an amazing elevator that is older that may have been used in Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. Everything about this building is amazing including the roof top area. The only risk with this place is you enjoy being in the hotel so much you don't get out and explore!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.6
    A great value friendly hotel in an excellent location in Central Buenos Aires.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the 2nd time my wife and I stayed for a few days at the Moreno Hotel in the past 2 months and it continued to impress as much as when I wrote a complimentary review at the end of January. Praise in particular for the wonderfully pleasant and helpful staff, from reception to breakfast to room cleaning. Thanks again!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.2
    Best option for the price at good central location in BA.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from my window on first floor was not great. The room was not ready until 3pm however I was ready for that as had been prewarned during booking.

    You feel well in a spacious room with high ceilings. Staff are very friendly.I left my T-shirts in the hotel and staff informed me immediately by email to come and collect.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    Moreno provided an excellent location and service in a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I enjoyed everything except your choice of breakfast tea! I'm not a fan of herbal tea.

    The hotel had an excellent location, with friendly and helpful staff, who were willing to help organize whatever services were needed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    10
    Great location and comfortable stay!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!!!

    The front desk staff were friendly and helpful...always willing to give directions or book events...we loved the location ...within walking distance to many sights...San Telmo Market, on Sundays, is literally around the corner....Lovely breakfast every morning with great hours...loved the late checkout, too!!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    10
    A hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located on a side street and might be difficult to find. But GPS helps.

    Central location, spacious room and comfortable bed. There is a wine bar and restaurant right on the ground floor of hotel, which was a total pleasant surprise. Food was good and they got a very fine selection of wine and chic ambiance. There's also a music club at the basement of the restaurant which plays live music every night except Monday. Too bad that I didn't go as I booked tickets for a tango show. Would definitely go if I ever come to B.A. again!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    9.6
    A great value money city centre hotel in fine location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We are going back next month!

    We were very satisfied with the well-appointed, spacious room and the bathroom suite. Good air-conditioning. Very good breakfasts on asuperb roof-top terrace with great views and pleasant service. All the receptionists were wonderfully friendly and helpful and took their time to give us recommendations about activities and sight-seeing, suggestions for restaurants and help in planning things. Quite an old style feel to the hotel but we liked this atmosphere

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    7.5
    Art deco style in center of BA
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough light in the room. Huge room but quite empty. Breakfast was very basic.

    Vary spacious room in a "art deco" style building Location is central and close to major tourist attractions. We did not have hot water but after reporting they came to fix it immediately. Good quality price value

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    3.8
    I don't recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Loft
    • Stayed 14 nights

    I had a leaking shower day one and had to be transferred. On days 12 and 13 I had no water and the staff left me waiting for hours on the 12th day to resolve. They just basically didn't care. On the 13th day just prior to a long haul flight back to Australia the staff left me waiting for an hour and a half (totalling 2 and a half hours by the time I had reported no water) before offering to move me to another room so I could get a shower. Reluctant to move on the morning of check out because of disruption I decided to wait it out for another 30 minutes until they assured the water would be running and hot. It wasn't and so I was moved. They still charged me full price for two days of no water and the inconvenience of moving me. Horrible service for what I was paying. I recommended people stay way clear of this hotel. The staff also had no idea of services regarding the city (such as subway passes and where to purchase them) and tours to the Casa Rosada. The breakfast was not great and was not ready on two occasions. When it was meant to be at 07.00 am it wasn't ready. There were two occasions I was there at 07.00 and the guy setting up was ill prepared. He asked (in a not nice way, rather accusatively) which room I was in. Why? Presumably to take the heat of him not having breakfast ready. All in all not good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    10
    Old town charm with a modern touch!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only constructive feedback would be that there were no complimentary soaps/shampoos etc. We had just arrived in the city and wanted a shower but didn't have our own stuff with us, so that would have been nice just to wash the airplane off us.

    The location was by far the most perfect thing we could have asked for. San Telmo has a certain amount of charm that cannot be surpassed, and it was close enough to Centro as well as La Boca. We were literally walking distance to pretty much everything. The streets were cobblestone which added a certain level of charm. The facility took us by surprise, in a good way. The old school elevators (with the sliding cage doors) made it feel like we were stepping back in time, which was so quaint. The stained glass windows around the staircase, was also another touch which made this place very visually appealing. When we opened to door to our room, we were shocked at how big the rooms were. From the street, you would assume the boutique hotel would have tiny rooms, but these rooms were massive, with a separate bedroom, lounge room, bathroom, hall and foyer. I seriously could not have asked for more. This is by far the best find you will get in Buenos Aires. The staff spoke great English and were always willing to go above and beyond in ensuring everything about our stay was amazing, including getting us a discount on the Tango Show at El Querandi - another thing you cannot miss! If, no... when we come back to Argentina, we will hands down, stay here!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    9.6
    Great design and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room, beautiful design, comfy bed, great location in San Telmo, close to nice streets with plenty of options to eat or stroll. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.6
    The room was massive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was massive. Beautifully furnished, with great air conditioning and comfy bed. The hotel decor overall is awesome - modern touches complimenting the historical elements. Service is unfaultable. Breakfast offering is not extraordinary, but is sufficient. Location is great. Walking distance to great bars and restaurants, shops and transport.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    9.6
    A special hotel in the heart of the tango barrio S. Telmo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The boys and girls at the reception were really helpful but they seemed to know just the essentials and we gave them some clues about where to find on the internet what we needed. Just too young maybe....

    I loved the forniture and the room, which was really big and confortable. Breakfast was served on the top floor surrounded by a fantastic view. Just gorgeous!!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    10
    Spacious Art Deco Hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No complaints - but coffee could be better at breakfast - but that's normal in BA !

    Very spacious room (enormous) with good bathroom, very friendly and helpful staff, good location close to San Telmo market on Defensa street and close to Plaza de Mayo, Florida St etc. Loved the old lift and having breakfast on the roof.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful old building, big modern rooms, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely varied breakfast (ham, cheese, cereal, fresh juice, pastries, dulce de leche). Big spacious room. Lovely old features (old style lifts). Great info sheet provided at check in with restaurant recommendations, and reception booked dinners for us. Great location too - walking distance to most sights.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    6.3
    Poor service, below average breakfast- not a terrible stay but I wouldn't recommend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No proper cover on the duvet, it was just sandwiched between 2 sheets which would come off. The staff were careless/not attentive on my first night- the lights over the bed in the main room weren't working, I asked for something to be done- after half an hour of waiting I called reception, they came and looked at the lights said there was nothing they could do- so I asked to be moved to another room. The male receptionist said he'd go check then never got back to me- i gave up asking that day... complained to a different receptionist next morning who apologised profusely but that didn't fix my problem. Poor service. The hotel is as previous reviews described it- fit to be dubbed 4 star 15 years ago. If i didnt have the problem with the lights in my room I'd have said it was a good stay but given the poor service that followed, i recommend people stay in a more modern 3 star hotel (if you're looking to not spend too much money). Breakfast was ok - not terrible but not what you'd expect at a 4 star hotel

    The double room with huge.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    10
    great location - friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    under all circumstance, avoid the restaurant next door - just awful food and way, way over priced - expect to pay at least US dollars 50.- pp

    fantastic location - most places of interest within easy walking distance, most helpful and friendly staff, clean and very spacious rooms, a hotel with character

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    9.6
    Well situated, huge room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street around a little bit desertic at night

    Well situated, huge room. Lift and reception :vintage but room modern. A few minutes walk from touristic center. Breakfast room with view. Good restsurant downstairs

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    9.2
    Met all my needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The view from the back rooms and lower floors was uninviting.

    Rooms were large, the hotel was positioned well in the city for my needs, the staff were friendly and helpful at all times. The breakfast was basic but sufficient for my needs.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    7.5
    Great service at the reception desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast can definitely be improved. The coffee did not taste of coffee. No variety, every day the same menu. It could have been cleaner too. It does not really require that much to make the breakfast delicious.

    Great service at the reception desk. The hotel is in authentic and charming style of San Telmo. Fantastic view over the roof tops and church of Hermanos Menores.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    Very average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast option, tired facility, not best location, shambles with taxi they organised as a shuttle

    Large room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Very cool place
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Brekfast available

    Very cool place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    worth the price, nice staff but nothing special
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outdated equipment

    Friendly staff, great location, right price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Great room in San Thelmo
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A great room in a stunning building

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.9
    Good value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to ask for the room to be serviced - it hadn’t been done by 5 pm.

    Huge rooms, very reasonable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Awsome....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location and thé staff helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator not handy.

    Confortable and clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    location excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no breakfast , but many restaurants nearby

    location excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    The position, the large bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise insidie the room, the wifi, towels

    The position, the large bedroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Everything was ok, very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    Everything was ok, very helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Awesome stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was spacious, the bed was comfortable, good airconditioning, huge room, very helpful and eager staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Fabulous, fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    The rooms were huge, and the hotel itself was amazing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    Central and comfortable hotel in Buenos Aires
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy

    The room size. Very big and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant stay. Nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of coffee in the room or hotel. I like to enjoy s cup early morning. Closest place a couple of blocks away

    The location and size of the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    5.0
    The room was fine. Price was good. The facility needs major renovations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance lobby don't recommend coming in late at night

    Room size is generous

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    5.4
    Very average stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast. Room was clean, but walls and other are rather worn and scratched.

    Good WiFi

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Old charm done right
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This hotel is amazing. It feels more like an apartment building. The elevators are incredible along with everything else. I love it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    The location, the helpfulness of the staff, the spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location, the helpfulness of the staff, the spacious rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires by Tay Hotels traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: