Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Posta Carretas 4 stars

Esmeralda 726, C1007ABH Buenos Aires, Argentina

#197 of 436 hotels in Buenos Aires

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 897 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Super hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Super location. Very helpful staff (however the change of room due to technical problem in the bathroom took too much time). Good breakfast in South America style (domination of fruits , cakes and pastries, jam) but also ham, cheese and boiled eggs were available. Hot water available 24/24 in the restaurant are.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    5.4
    Sorry, but to be honest, I would chose another hotel the next time...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel certainly was a 4 star hotel some decades ago - it is that no more. It si simply worn down: Windows in the rooms do not close properly, and when it starts raining, the rain is coming through the glas roof of the breakfast room in various locations. Do you need to say more...

    The hotel is in a central downtown location of Buenis Aires and the staff is friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    6.3
    Swimming pool was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not a four star. We had suite but it wasn't even close to suite. Also Wi-fi didn't work and breakfast was only average.

    Swimming pool was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    5.8
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Place to have breakfast was too crowded and uncomfortable. In general the installations are very old and need some refurbishment. The photos showed a beautiful sauna and spa, but it seems you need to pay extra, and need to book in advance, and it can only used for a limited time. That was disappointing as we had chosen this hotel precisely for the sauna!

    Very good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    3.3
    Good location, but very poor service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel told me the checkout time is 10:00AM. I have been traveling a lot through America. This is the only hotel saying the checkout time is 10:00AM. It is a shame. In addition, the room by the street was rather noisy and I couldn't have a good rest. Breakfast is a bit poor.

    The only good point is the location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    Great Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was how hot my room was. The old aircon was not adequate to cool the room.

    The staff were very friendly . We had to leave at 3am and they made sure that breakfast was waiting for us at that time. This hotel is lovely and would recommend it , as very central to the shopping district.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    4.2
    The reception staff was unfriendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception staff was unfriendly. The Sauna was not included in the room rate and the swiming pool operation was only from 17:00-22:00. Lack of maintenaine in the room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing to say the least.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool was closed and then pool was cloudy to the point of not being able to see the bottom. We got charged for a towel that we used to clean up a stain in the room. We were told we should have complained and asked to change rooms. It's not something we would do and were super disappointed that a hotel (which builds in laundering linens and towels to the price) were charging us $15 for a crappy towel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    7.9
    Friendly personnel and fair value fir the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very dated - we booked a studio with living space etc on lower level and sleeping area on the upper level connected with an inside stairs and a double bed. When we arrived - 6:30-ish pm we were given a room with 2 single beds on a single level and not looking like a studio. The explanation was they did not have what we booked initially and then that the AC was not working in the part of the building with the studios. We checked online andvthe hotel was fully booked fir the night. While only for the brief night sleep we needed the room it worked out, it was not what we booked and all door locks were extremely damaged and indeed dangerous with metal parts sticking out of the door knobs, hanging latches and bases of the door knobs. -Also the folding shower glass door was with lower hinge detached and was simply hanging on the upper and middle one looking as if it would fall down any moment. Beds kind of ok. Fridge was broken and looked as if it had fallen from a height - pretty but up and with misting knob on the temp control (was turned off too). Not that we used it but looked awful.

    Awesome location; very good traditional Latin American breakfast with quite good diversity; friendly overall personnel especially Karina- such a nice lady who readily helped us call a taxi to EZE - taxi ezeiza- different than the one hotel uses. We were allowed to stay fir few ours in the lobby waiting for our taxi after we checked out 2 days earlier going to colonia Uruguay ( we did check in late and checked out earlier the day we stayed at La posta Carreras but it was still a nice gesture to accommodate us). Also they stored our luggage while we went to Uruguay with only day backpack-we were very glad about that. Overall the staff and location compensates fir the negatives. Nevertheless when we book on Booking we are usually upgraded then downgraded if our room not available.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    8.3
    Location, location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel has a bit of age, ceiling in our room showed signs of past leaks, bidet still attached to toilet was vintage, but did not work. Linens were clean, but average quality. Wifi reception is weak in some areas, and one night gone altogether; but returned the next morning.

    Location was terrific. Two blocks to the subway, easy walk to Florida Street Shopping and lots of dining in the area. Six blocks to the Milonga scene for evening Tango parties. Super Staff they have lots of information and are very helpful. Breakfast was a real variety of fresh fruits, yogurt, juices, coffee, tea, meats, cheese, breads, sweets. Dinner and Drinks available in house if you like. Staff speaks many languages (English, Spanish, Portugese). They also have a concierge who can help with airport transfers and tours.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    10
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly Ample rooms Good location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was rather dated. The pool was open only for a short period each day.

    The location was excellent. The staff were great. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    all great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    all great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Very nice staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Lovely Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint was my mattress my husband and daughter were fine

    Friendly staff Old building but very nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    4.6
    Stick to a big name hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a/c, terrible food, no wash cloths in bathroom

    Location was ok

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is dated. AC noisy. Terrible pillows. Safe did not work.

    Excellent location and breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.0
    Avoid this hotel unless you like old run down hotels that remind you of the good old days.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is very old, very little service (room service just snacks, no possibility to iron a shirt..).

    Old arcade games

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.5
    friendly and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    pool only open 4 hours

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.3
    - Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - wifi was fonctioning eradically

    - Location - Buffet Breakfast was copious and varied - staff very helpful - the studio was spacious

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    9.6
    personel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    personel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    8.8
    The room faced the street and was very loud.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room faced the street and was very loud. Even closing the window didn't help.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    10
    Great on location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms. .just enough for two suitcases .

    Very good location and very helpful staff..Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    7.5
    Good location, enjoyed the swimming pool, friendly helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only thing I didn't like was the unit was on two stories with a very narrow staircase up to the bedroom - difficult with suitcases. Get a unit on one level if you can.

    Good location, enjoyed the swimming pool, friendly helpful staff. Despite my other comment in the "Didn't like" column, I was pretty happy with it, good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    6.7
    Amazingly helpful stuff improved the overall impression of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel feels like staying on a 60s movie-set, which has in the meanwhile become entirely obsolete. It is a shame that Booking allows this property to be listed with 4 stars.

    Amazingly helpful stuff improved the overall impression of this hotel somewhat.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    TV in Spanish language only Pool for playing not swimming

    Location

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    7.9
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very bad soundproofing.

    Good location.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    8.3
    Very comfy bed, nice breakfast,good ac, good location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very comfy bed, nice breakfast,good ac, good location, everything you need from a hotel! Decor is a bit out dated...but did not bother me at all!

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    8.3
    Classic old style hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Classic old style hotel Excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    7.1
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    noise from the lobby and street

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    6.3
    Staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The facilities. Old. Rusty.

    Staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    8.8
    Very kind and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very kind and helpful staff. Great indoor pool. My daughter really enjoy it!

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    10
    Everything in the hotel is geared to the customer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    it was not nothing like that

    Everything in the hotel is geared to the customer. Service very helpful and friendly.Gorgeous pool

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2015

    8.8
    Being close to calle Florida was a plus and access to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Being close to calle Florida was a plus and access to the subway was good. The room had a slider door that separated the br from a small living room.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Browse Hotel Posta Carretas traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: