Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rochester Hotel Classic 4 stars

Esmeralda, 542, C1007ABB Buenos Aires, Argentina

#236 of 440 hotels in Buenos Aires

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 440 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 21

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    there is no iron in the rooms - you have to pay for clothes to be ironed As a business trip - there wasn't really a good space to work in the bedroom the internet was a little intermittent The corridor to my room as musty smelling The wardrobe that I used to put my clothing was musty too, and left some of my clothes smelling

    location was good, breakfast was basic but good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cramped and old rooms, bathrooms. Full size bed which was hard. WiFi sporadic. Cleaning service extremely poor. Breakfast buffet mediocre. Window did not latch and kept sliding open. Noisy area of city.

    Helpful Staff. Location was good for walking to nearby stores and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The WiFi was pretty awful. Sometimes it worked, sometimes not. Always very slow. For business travel this was extremely inconvenient. Apparently there is another wing of the hotel for "executives," and perhaps the electronics are better on that side.

    The room was small, but had most everything needed, including a bidet which is one of the benefits for women traveling to Argentina.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small elevators. The hotel has two parts, a renovated one and a non-renovated one, our room was in the non-renovated part.

    Good location, helpful staff, good breakfast buffet. Near shopping, subway and downtown entertainment district as well as Puerto Madero ferry terminal. The hotel seems to be popular with South American groups.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were not pleasant. They spoke so fast in Spanish and there was confusion when we checked out and paying our bill. One receptionist wanted to charge us 300 pesos more than the other one! The male receptionist was very stern looking, never smiled and couldn't even manage a chao as we left!

    Breakfast is very good. Freshly cooked omelette or crepe and other buffet style food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early hours of the morning I could hear noises like someone using a dyna drill a couple of rooms away from us. It kept us up. The aircon is noisey as well but bearable.

    Great room! Shower was like a warm rain bath. You have to experience it to see what I'm talking about. Hotel staff are great! English speaking.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee

    Bed was great,breakfast ok

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator scary. Wore down.

    Cheap.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, booking.com rated this a 4 star property but it was no 4 star hotel, breakfast is not very good

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is not great, the area is not very nice at night.

    Breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were smaller than they appear in photos.

    The location was perfect.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    small room. noisy AC. No safe in room

    location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    BEDBUGS! WE GOT BEDBUGS!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    great location and excellent value, nice breakfast and helpful staff. very nice hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff, location was fantastic for walking to sights, catching the underground,good wifi & excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No points

    The breakfast ia very good , specialy the medialunas

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    size of bedrooms

    The breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were staying at the hotel for five nights and on the first day we called to have someone come and open the safe in the room for us so we could use it. That didn't happen. We called back the next day, and still they didn't come. We received an excuse on the third day that the safe key wasn't working and they wouldn't be able to open it for us.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Previously I'd used the Rochester Concept in Calle Maipu and on several occasions I'd found both room and service acceptable. I was expecting that the upmarket four star Classic would offer slightly more comfort. I was horrified at the run down state of the room. The laminated floor was peeling, bathroom tiles broken and tap fittings loose. The air conditioning unit, which I didn't use, looked as if it belonged on an antique movie set. After a non stop flight from Europe to Buenos Aires the only thing which sprang directly to mind was sleep...the bed was comfortable but the overall aspect was shabby and depressing. Reception and other staff were professional helpful and couldn't be faulted, the common areas well presented and the appearance cheerful. The guest accommodation I occupied was stretched to make two star...and I've been in this industry for thirty years. A minuscule bottle of cheap shampoo and a cake of soap doesn't warrant four stars...get your maintenance team on the job. Thumbs down.

    The location...the friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have stayed here before and have told many people about this place it is great for shopping safe clean and very helpful and kind to us

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21

Browse Rochester Hotel Classic traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: