Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sarmiento Palace Hotel 3 stars

Sarmiento 1953, Balvanera, C1044AAC Buenos Aires, Argentina

#220 of 435 hotels in Buenos Aires

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1191 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    5.0
    fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel everything was old, my phone in the room was not working. I had to go to the front desk three times!!! for service. Finally, a nice gentleman came to fix it. Also, the room smelled like mildew and linen were very disappointing

    location, staff and the restaurant food at the premises

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.0
    Overestimated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It doesn't respect the booking description. The room was really old poorly cleaned, we received a two single bed instead of a matrimonial bed. There is no garden in the structure. The staff does not speak English. It was not possible to pay with credit card (that would exonerate you, by an Argentinian law, from paying IVA), ONLY CASH.

    Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is abundant and offers a nice variety of pastries. Close to Callao metro station, it's easy to reach and visit Buenos Aires.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    3.8
    Disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty, broken heater, toilet door didn't close properly. Got the booking wrong...booked two rooms but were given one room...corrected later. Language was a pain....they don't speak English!

    Location was ok

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.1
    Very good breakfast, better than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi signal, an announced disaster, since routers are enclosed in aluminum boxes (a big fat no-no). Also, showers with half doors soak all the entire bathroom wet; a cheap curtain can do a better job.

    Very good breakfast, better than expected.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even though I booked the cheaper room, I somehow expected more because it wasn't the cheapest hotel. The room was fine but as it was located in the first floor the window view was just awful; you could only see a poorly maintained patio with trash all over. Plus, the room was so noisy you could literally hear someone else snoring at night or passing by the door. I cannot begin to describe my discontent about the shower! It was simply impossible to use without flooding the whole bathroom - and you have to wait for 5 minutes or more for the hot water to come. On top of all, the staff was not the friendliest I've dealt with: I had to present my passport twice before they did the tax exemption and wait for ages before doing the check out.

    Breakfast was OK, but given the size of the restaurant and the amount of guests, you'll have to wait for a seat. Location was great, with lots of cafes and touristic attractions nearby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    7.9
    I realise I should have left review for this reservation instead, so I replicate what I wrote below
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 25 nights

    The staff had difficulty giving me a satisfactory room in the first 2-3 days (but they did later); the rooms they offered initially were either too small, not well ventilated, too old/unclean, too noisy or with broken A/C. The staff speak very limited English and it can be very difficult to communicate with them. Facilities in the room are basic. The lift is extremely small.

    I stayed for 25 nights - generally comfortable, great location and excellent breakfast. Despite many of the previous reviews, I actually find it quite clean and cozy (at least my room was).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    7.9
    I stayed for 25 nights - generally comfortable, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff had difficulty giving me a satisfactory room in the first 2-3 days (but they did later); the rooms they offered initially were either too small, not well ventilated, too old/unclean, too noisy or with broken A/C. The staff speak very limited English and it can be very difficult to communicate with them. Facilities in the room are basic. The lift is extremely small.

    I stayed for 25 nights - generally comfortable, great location and excellent breakfast. Despite many of the previous reviews, I actually find it quite clean and cozy (at least my room was).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    5.0
    I expected more and better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, the door of the washroom didn't work properly. I woke up my partner every morning when i used the washroom. The bribe of the "taxi" driver to the receptionist when he picked us up (someone charged us more for to go to the airport)

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    Confortable, un hotel agradable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Confortable, un hotel agradable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.8
    Location close to the city centre and metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Location close to the city centre and metro.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell and AA wasn't cold enough

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Todo fue muy bien.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Todo fue muy bien.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    5.4
    The ubication and the breakfast
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet there was broken and the shower was flooding

    The ubication and the breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Elevator i too small
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator i too small

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    10
    Every things id like
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every things id like

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    5.8
    Loaction
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleaning and poor staff attitude

    Loaction

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    5.0
    The elevator it's too small .
    • Family with young children

    The elevator it's too small . The staff it's no Service oriented. I was with my baby and I have to close the stroller to go in the elevator. I ask for a coffe in my room and the waiting time was 45 minutes. I came at 10 pm from a 16 hours trip with my 1 one year old baby . I call to reception to ask for a knife and they answer: IF YOU WANT A KNIFE , YOU HAVE TO COME AND ASK IN THE KITCHEN ... Really?

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    3.3
    just the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    very poor wi-fi and internet, head of reception staff very rud and disrespectfull, should be more clean and learn how to treat guest, we are paying for good service and that did not happen.

    just the breakfast

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    8.3
    Wi Fi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small elevator

    Wi Fi

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    10
    Location comfort breakfast etc
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Liked everything

    Location comfort breakfast etc

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Browse Sarmiento Palace Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: