Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Argentina hotel reviews
  3. Buenos Aires hotel reviews
  4. Reviews of Serena Hotel Buenos Aires

Reviews of Serena Hotel Buenos Aires This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Libertad 1617, Retiro, 1016 Buenos Aires, Argentina

#92 of 444 hotels in Buenos Aires

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 334 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    9.2
    Very good location in Recoleta, near Patio Bulrich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Spa didn’t work and the water of the inside pool was too cold

    Everything but the so called “Spa”. Big rooms with comfy beds. Breakfast was abundant and variate.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    6.7
    Stylish, well situated, good food, BUT.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stylish, well situated, good food, BUT... terrible soundproofing. You can hear EVERYTHING from the room next door. If your idea of an upscale hotel includes privacy and being able to sleep quietly, move on.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    7.9
    Bar waiter filled the glass wine I ordered with the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar waiter filled the glass wine I ordered with the remaining of two bottles. Need better attention at the bar. could have at least some basic dinner service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    5.0
    Location and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Linens not changed even once in 3 nights stay, number of amenities and towels in the room seems to be decided by cleaning attendant, half used amenities upon check in, humid room, no A/C in a gym Arrogant and unprofessional staff

    Location and good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    9.6
    Modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1 iron/ironing board in the whole building, no hair dryer at room, no tourist info available (maps, tips, etc), receptionist didn't discuss facilities (pool, gym, etc)

    Modern. Beautiful pool area and gym.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    9.6
    Serena, you have done me proud. Initially a difficult decision to stay at a non brand hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was not American. No sausages or eggs. Continental breakfast didnt suit me.

    Attention to detail provided by the staff, efficient snd courteous. Urge fellow South Africans to try this facility.You will feel like home in this leafy suburb.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    6.7
    Location of the hotel was very good (for our needs) and the...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) Only 1 x ironing board + iron in the entire hotel 2) Breakfast items were the same every single day. Every single day. 3) Although it says "back on the same day", expect at least 24 hours for laundry, be it pressing or washing.

    Location of the hotel was very good (for our needs) and the little garden at the back was nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    5.8
    The breakfast was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Front desk and management a little too rigid. Forgot to ask for accommodation receipt, wasn't issued any when I requested through email I didn't get any feedback.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    9.6
    Elegant small hotel, a welcome retreat from busy Buenos Aires.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location, and quietly comfortable small hotel. It was a relaxing retreat from the clamor of Buenos Aires. Staff were helpful. Breakfasts were very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2017

    6.7
    Rooms, location and breakfast are good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel does not offer a lunch and diner menu, except for some sandwiches. The hotel was also refurbishing the hotel lobby and terras, so these were not usable during several days, including the main entrance. This was very uncomfortable.

    Rooms, location and breakfast are good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2016

    8.8
    Highly recommend this cozy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is useful to have a bed and an iron in the room

    Very cozy, modern, romantic and clean hotel. Safe location, and nice & helping staff. Good breakfast. Room was large and very clean. There was a safe in the room, so I was happy to leave my valuables there.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    8.3
    Central and quite.
    • Solo traveler
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not many toiletries provided for a 5 star hotel. Very small fitness club.

    Central and quite. Nice breakfast. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    5.4
    Not worth the money. Stayed in better for cheaper, and more expensive for better service and accomm.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Arrogant staff. Unhelpful. Small room.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    9.2
    best location of BsAs
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bar

    the location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    7.1
    Towels were fluffy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The GYM was / is a JOKE, Breakfast ? extra charge for EGGS !!!

    Towels were fluffy. location is excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    6.3
    Localization is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Localization is great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.0
    Always stay at Serena when in BA - so tranquil and relaxing after taking in tango shows and sights
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pool and spa area very well set up for total relaxation

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    10
    Our third time here; never disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast (included). Prime location. Friendly staff throughout. Clean and quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    9.2
    Serena has always been my favourite hotel for its relaxing,tranquil location and attentive staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    POOL AND SPA AREA SPOTLESS Helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    8.8
    Still good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Awfull hair dryer

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2017

    7.5
    4 star hotel , wouldn't stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good breakfast , big room comfy bed

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2017

    10
    Told us breakfast was til 11 am - we went down 10:30 they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Told us breakfast was til 11 am - we went down 10:30 they said no longer available!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2016

    10
    Clean feeling, nearly all staff are very welcoming and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Clean feeling, nearly all staff are very welcoming and helpful. Pillows were super comfy I used the gym - it is small, but never crowded. Very clean and good quality. Internet is very good. I felt at "home" - Alessandro at breakfast and during the day at the bar was especially helpful, polite and highly professional. The room cleaning staff is very efficient and proper. I felt I had all I needed and not a bit more than I wanted. I will definitely return to Serena in the future and recommend it to anyone who wants a very pleasant stay in Buenos Aires.

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2016

    7.1
    We like the location of the Serena, the staff is helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We actually had 2 rooms (306 and 406) May 14 through 19 for 406 and May 14 through 20 for 306. During our stay we were out late a couple of evenings and did not participate in breakfast at least 3 to 4 times between the two rooms - a savings to the Serena. Yet, at the end of our stay, we were charged $1850 pesos for breakfast, according to the desk clerk, on the day of our arrival, Saturday, May 14th in spite of the fact that we were given immediate access to our rooms when we arrived at approximately 9:30am - before the breakfast end-time. This charge can only be described as excessive and unjustified. The breakfast buffet is a good one, but under no circumstances can it be worth $1850 pesos! We never asked for a hot cooked special breakfast item during our entire stay. We did have a couple of glasses of wine one evening, but it is hard to understand how the total for a breakfast and a couple of glasses of wine could add up to such an amount. In the future, I would suggest that if you are going to charge a customer for additional items, that the customer be presented with the bill at the time the service is performed so that the amount can be acknowledged, accepted, and understood. Your system forces the customer to accept your bill without being able to question it as there is no documentation except what is relied on by the Serena at the end.This was our second time staying at the Serena, however, we have been traveling to BA for over 40 years. This is the very first time that I can say I was disappointed in what I was charged for something as inconsequential as breakfast. Today, breakfast is considered "a cost of doing business" and the Serena needs to provide it happily and without strings attached.

    We like the location of the Serena, the staff is helpful, the lobby decore is inviting, the music nice, and the rooms are well sized and comfortable. Although the weather was not conducive to using the outdoor patio during our May trip, it is very welcoming and we have had the pleasure of using it on a previous visit.

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2016

    9.6
    some of the staff spoke english and they were helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were not told that we could order eggs at breakfast - other tables had them and perhaps it was a language barrier. Coffee that did not come out of the machine was poor.

    some of the staff spoke english and they were helpful.

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2016

    8.3
    Location is great for exploring the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Towels could use to be replaced. Some were tattered on the edges and not very soft.

    Location is great for exploring the city. Within blocks to Recoleta, but not the prices you would pay there. Plenty of good restaurants in walking distance.

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2016

    10
    We were upgraded to a larger suite for no charge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were upgraded to a larger suite for no charge. When we had difficulty [pick-pocketed on the street], the staff assisted with our trip to the police and were there to help us report to them in Spanish. I call that above and beyond the call.

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2015

    10
    The free breakfast included either fried or scrambled eggs,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The free breakfast included either fried or scrambled eggs, if you asked. The bar served light fair until 10 pm which was priced fairly and at least 6 out of 10. The king size bed was firm and comfortable; room was great. Tipping was not expected.

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2015

    10
    This is a fantastic value with impeccable decor, only six...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a fantastic value with impeccable decor, only six rooms per floor (so very quiet) and affable staff who are mostly fluent in English. We had so much privacy at dinner and in the spa that it felt very intimate and romantic for our vacation stay.

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2015

    8.8
    Very good location, the staff was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was too small, breakfast was okish, we only had breakfast once, there were nice cafes with better choices close by. The Hotel description says there is a bar, but I would not qualify it as a hotel bar

    Very good location, the staff was excellent!

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2015

    9.2
    Confortável, bem decorado, ambiente acolhedor, staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Confortável, bem decorado, ambiente acolhedor, staff atencioso, hotel somente para adultos, transmite tranquilidade. Área de spa e piscina é pequena, mas relaxante. Ótima localização! Recomendo!

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2015

    9.2
    Perfect location, great interior design, cozy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I had a missunderstanding at the check out. I chossed to pay at the hotel, and I was charged through Booking.

    Perfect location, great interior design, cozy hotel.

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2015

    8.3
    We loved the comfortable bed and the great shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The free WiFi didn't work in the rooms

    We loved the comfortable bed and the great shower. Breakfast was also fantastic. The hotel's location is ideal to explore Recoleta, and we really recommend Mancini restaurant next door!

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2015

    8.8
    The location can't be beat, safe, good shopping, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No iron when requested. I am one of those people that need to iron her clothes before putting them on - they said the owners don't want irons in the room. The leather placemats in the dining room were stained and made the whole table set up look dirty.

    The location can't be beat, safe, good shopping, good restaurants. The staff is excellent, they are very helpful and nice. The rooms are small but with enough space for two people and their luggage.

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2015

    8.8
    Good staff attentiveness and an excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    the terrace area was enclosed by a very high wall and overlooked by very high blocks of flats immediately outside the walls, making the terrace feel claustrophobic

    Good staff attentiveness and an excellent breakfast. Room and bed were comfortable

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2015

    10
    Staff were extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were extremely helpful. They seemed to be expecting us when we arrived, gave us a beautiful room, called taxis, gave directions, and generally were the best possible. The hotel itself seems to have been decorated by an art collector--it's very refined and comforting after the busy streets of Buenos Aires. When we return to this exciting city, this is the hotel where we will stay--highly recommended!

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2015

    10
    We enjoyed our 6 night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We enjoyed our 6 night stay. Great location only 5-10 minutes stroll in upscale Recoleta to the Nuestra Señora de Pilar Church and the Recoleta Cemetary. Room (711) was spacious and well appointed. Boutique hotel with friendly and attentive staff. Lovely pool, patio, and lobby are places to relax.

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2015

    8.3
    Very nice hotel design, beautiful pool & garden terrace,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Housekeeping didn't renew supplies. Needed to ask for soap & toilet paper!

    Very nice hotel design, beautiful pool & garden terrace, comfortable beds.

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2015

    9.6
    It was a small boutique hotel which suited us very well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a small boutique hotel which suited us very well. It was more like staying in a private apartment. Very quiet and unlike the big noisy big name hotels. It was great and the guys at reception were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2016

    8.8
    The hotel is very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    The young new staff could be more attentious to clients in general.

    The hotel is very nice.

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2016

    8.8
    Spa, gym, rooms, location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Poor frigobar and menu at restaurant by night limited

    Spa, gym, rooms, location

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2016

    6.7
    Good location, extremely convenient, easy access
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Cleanliness

    Good location, extremely convenient, easy access

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2016

    8.8
    Ambience and decor, a small boutique hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Ambience and decor, a small boutique hotel

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2016

    10
    Great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great service

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2016

    10
    The staff was great as was the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    At times they ran out of hot water.

    The staff was great as was the location. Very modern and comfortable boutique hotel. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2015

    8.8
    friendly staff, good location in Recoleta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    friendly staff, good location in Recoleta

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2015

    9.2
    Excelent, welcoming staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wholegrain baguette bread at breakfast was stale.

    Excelent, welcoming staff! Great rooms. The spa is amazing

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2015

    9.4
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom had bad smell

    Staff

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2015

    8.8
    Design, breakfast, size
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Design, breakfast, size

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2015

    6.7
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Good location.

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2015

    4.6
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Personal. Poor brekfast.Add eggs - 10 usd.

    Location.

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2015

    10
    lokation is very nice, breakfast is perfect, the bed super...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    lokation is very nice, breakfast is perfect, the bed super comfy and the room spaceious.

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2015

    7.9
    Comfort stay, good location - close to 9th july avenue, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Comfort stay, good location - close to 9th july avenue, good interior, lovely breakfast.

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2015

    3.8
    would not honor canceletion refound
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    would not honor canceletion refound cheap

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2015

    10
    Location, facilities, quality of the staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, facilities, quality of the staff,

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2015

    9.6
    the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing i thought it was all great.

    the food the spa the staff great location for recoletta atmosphere calm & relaxing lovely garden area

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2015

    8.8
    perfect location for tourist stay;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bathroom could be bigger; shower head cannot be removed;

    perfect location for tourist stay; friendly staff; overall very nice hotel; inviting patio;

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2015

    10
    Location, securtiy, value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, securtiy, value

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2015

    10
    Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike

    Helpful staff. Big bathroom. Clean.

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2015

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location Outdoor area

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: