Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Argentina hotel reviews
  3. Tierra del Fuego hotel reviews
  4. Ushuaia hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Tierra del Fuego

Reviews of Hotel Tierra del Fuego This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Gobernador Deloqui 198, 9410 Ushuaia, Argentina

#11 of 53 hotels in Ushuaia

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 304 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    7.1
    I would stay again if in Ushuaia proper.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    However they did not replenish any of the bathroom amenities (soap, tissue pack, ...) and I was there 3 -4 nights. If your room in on the Gdor. Deloqui side ("mountain view") there is a night club nearby that bumps until the sun comes up on the weekend so maybe not great for a light sleeper.

    nice, helpful staff, clean, hot shower, good location for walking to just about everywhere in town including most excursion departures from the harbor.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    10
    Beautiful ocean view and staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I wish there were take away coffee cups with breakfast.

    Beautiful ocean view and staff was very helpful. We enjoyed the continental breakfast and the opportunity to have laundry washed.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    7.5
    They had probelems processing visa payments so we had to pay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They had probelems processing visa payments so we had to pay on mastercard . It would have been best if booking.com processed the payment for this hotel and not left it to the hotel it took over 30 minutes to osrt out the payment .

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    7.9
    Front desk Mikaela was amazingly friendly and helpful with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms need an upgrade

    Front desk Mikaela was amazingly friendly and helpful with suggestions on what to do and how to go about in Ushuaia. Thanks Mikaela

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    9.2
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was rather dry and not much variety.

    Super spacious comfortable room. Very helpful staff who gave us several delicious dinner recommendations, as well as where to go and what to do. When entering the room, we were presented with a bottle of Champagne(!) for our honeymoon (had left a small not on our booking). Hotel is just two streets away from the waterside.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    10
    Unexpected treat at the end of 8 weeks travelling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is no criticism of the hotel which is double glazed. There are several locals who think it fun to drive around at night with open throated exhausts or loud music. This is usually between 03:30 and 05:30. However their antisocial behaviour effects every hotel or hostel in the town so TDF hotel is blameless. The police must know who they are but ignore the problem.

    Very good location just behind the main busy street. Well appointed rooms spotlessly clean. Breakfast is good but very Argentinian with no scrambled eggs. Staff were very helpful with plenty of information available, if asked. Hotel is very close to good restaurants and the back rooms overlook the harbour. Ushuaia is well worth two or three days to explore coast and Beagle Channel. There are many operators after your business but most trips amalgamate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous view of the water. Good value. In downtown but up a steep hill from the main street.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    -- Because we were in Ushuaia for a family emergency and rooms were scarce during high season, we had to move around and ending up staying at 3 different hotels and sometimes had to change rooms within the same hotel. We were booking last minute, so may not have gotten the best possible prices. The staff at all 3 hotels were incredibly accommodating and kind about our situation. -- All 3 hotels are clean and comfortable and the included breakfasts are about the same (coffee, juice, cold cereal, ham & cheese, and many types of bread, most of them very sweet). All have triples available (one queen bed plus one or two twin beds) that can really bring the cost down, though they will charge more for 3 people in a triple than for 2 people in a triple. Of the 3, I'd choose Hotel Tierra del Fuego first if I could get a room with a view of the water, Hotel Cap Polonio second for the price, and then Hotel Lennox. I'm pretty easy to please; others might prefer a more upscale place like the Lennox. Hotel Tierra del Fuego - on the next street parallel to San Martin but up a steep hill. (Taxis are pretty cheap.) The street is more deserted than San Martin. It might feel a little dodgy at night for some people, but crime rates in Ushuaia are low and I (I'm a tall woman) felt quite safe when walking alone. We had a room facing the water with a fantastic view. Our triple had 2 bedrooms, one with a queen bed and one with 2 twin beds, with a door between rooms. The wifi in the rooms wasn't great; we didn't try it in the lobby. Room prices were between Cap Polonio's and the Lennox's. Hotel Lennox - Nice place, perfect location. (It's on San Martin, the busy main street full of restaurants and shops.). The breakfast room has big windows and a beautiful view. Most expensive of the 3 but definitely a step up from Cap Polonio: nicer decor, quieter feel, 2 large elevators vs. 1 small one, and more reliable wifi in the rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2017

    7.1
    Nice location, but you better know Spanish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was quite limited. Staff spoke little English. Room accessories were few. Overpriced for what it is.

    The location was very good. Staff was nice and polite.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    4.2
    Completely disappointing: dirty and poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This Hotel might have four stars, but it‘s far from being a four Star-Hotel. Dirty rooms, we had blood stains on thr handle of the heater, just disgusting. Poor Service, used the glases on the room for a glas of wine. The next Day the staff simply let the glases dry and turned them upside down to make it seem like we received clean ones. Too bad they still smelled like wine and had stains in it. Our spare blankets in the cupboard were full of hairs and stains. When we arrived at breakfast every single table was completely dirty with piled up used dishes. We had to clean one up ourselves. Just one big disappointment this hotel.

    Nice view from the rooms overlooking the Bay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    10
    I liked everything about the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!

    I liked everything about the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was so warm, big and very comfortable. Great choices for breakfast in a cosy room, with an informal atmosphere. Great location a two minute walk to the shops.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2017

    9.2
    A delightful stay with a great view- most enjoyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Other than at breakfast time we could not get anything to drink except Tuareg from the tap. We were advised not to drink the tap water by other tourists. Not sure if this was accurate but there was not local information provided about the water quality.

    Location with the view to the harbour was great. We could open the windows on th hot days when the room tendered to be overheated. On the freezing days it was very cosy. We had it all! And we were very comfortable!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2016

    6.7
    We were not made welcome by the gentleman who was at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor welcome.

    We were not made welcome by the gentleman who was at reception when we arrived at 10pm on Saturday 26th November. In fact, we seemed an inconvenience for him! Apart from signing us in, he never pointed out stairs/lifts/dining room, etc. We'd an extra person with us and asked about accommodation for him, but no rooms available, which we understood. When we then asked if he could let us know where there were other hotels, he reluctantly took a map and marked at a further 2 locations. We asked if he could give us contact nos so our friend could call them to check availability, but he said he couldn't, even though he'd a PC with internet in front of him! Unfortunate that this was our experience on arrival as it impacted our view of this hotel. The same couldn't be said for the young lady who covered reception the day of our departure, nor for the cleaner we met. Both were very pleasant and helpful. Hotel location is good, but bedrooms too warm.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    8.3
    Been there before and Sydney disappoint however room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel a bit tired , no facilities other than breakfast but there were many restaurants and bars nearby

    Staff friendliness and were very helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    7.5
    Spacious and comfortable accommodation.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Few breakfast items.

    Spacious and comfortable accommodation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    10
    All was just fine (hotel, staff, location, etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All was just fine (hotel, staff, location, etc...).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay with very helpful enthusiastic staff (thanks, Mikaela)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    would have loved to have had tea and coffee making facilities, preferably in our room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    8.3
    The service of thé personel at the réception
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service of thé personel at the réception The localisation of thé hôtel in the City center close to all facilities

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2017

    8.8
    great staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More choice for breakfast, particularly fruit.

    great staff, and comfortable hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2017

    3.8
    No excellent wifi as it was announced.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No excellent wifi as it was announced. Just no wifi or a so bad one. Noisy room. Bad and poor breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    8.3
    Great location with Extremely accommodating and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was uncomfortably warm!!

    Reception staff were very accommodating and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2017

    10
    Very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very nice. Clean, spacious and comfortable room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2017

    7.1
    Basic breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Basic breakfast. Over priced.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2017

    9.2
    We had a view of the harbor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is minimal.

    We had a view of the harbor.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2016

    9.6
    The staff was absolutely wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Honestly, it was a near-perfect hotel experience. In general, this type of hotel would be cheaper in other parts of Argentina, but this is not due to the hotel overcharging, but rather the high cost of almost everything in isolated Ushuaia, where nearly everything has to be shipped in on a boat or truck.

    The staff was absolutely wonderful! All were extraordinarily friendly, helpful, and pleasant throughout our stay, and went out of their way on multiple occasions to help us out. They lent us plates, cups, utensils, and a bottle opener from the kitchen a few evenings when we wanted to share a bottle of wine and some snacks; they also let us leave our things at the hotel on our last day after checking out since our flight was not until 8pm, and even allowed us to shower and change at the hotel before leaving for the airport! The rooms were clean, comfortable, modern, and everything worked (and one of the rooms we booked had an AMAZING view across the bay, the other of the mountains!). The breakfast was a lovely spread of croissants, pastries, ham, cheese, yogurt, corn flakes, toast, coffee, tea, etc. We didn't want to leave! Would highly, highly recommend.

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2016

    8.8
    Comfortable room near to the main street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room is too hot.

    Comfortable room near to the main street. The staffs has been very friendly and helpful to help. This is one of the reasonable value hotel near the city.

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2015

    7.9
    Location is awesome to take a walk throw downtown and across...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi service so hard to reach. Fridge in room noisy and poor cold provide.

    Location is awesome to take a walk throw downtown and across the coast. Spacious and comfortable rooms.

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2016

    7.5
    Staff were helpful and it was a comfortable clean property...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were helpful and it was a comfortable clean property in a good location

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2016

    9.6
    Very helpful & friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast

    Very helpful & friendly staff

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2015

    7.1
    location staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast, four star??? much better breakfasts in hostels

    location staff

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly staff, comfortable room, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Poor wifi

    Very friendly staff, comfortable room, excellent location

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: