Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ultra Hotel Buenos Aires 4 stars

Gorriti, 4929, Palermo, C1414BJO Buenos Aires, Argentina

#358 of 440 hotels in Buenos Aires

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 562 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was cold and damp.

    The pool on the advert on Booking.com does not exist - it is empty with rotten wood surrounding it. There is no bar. There is nothing in this hotel that is actually advertised.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A pair of expensive headphones mysteriously went missing from our room... obviously picked up by housekeeping... and no one at reception seemed terribly concerned and there was no offer a solution. It ruined our time there.

    Cool hotel in an absolutely amazing location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This is a very basic and old hotel with bad and very limited services. In addition, everything is dark, very old and stinky, but the pictures shown in booking.com are as if it looked new. Posted comments in the booking.com web page are incorrect. We can not understand how can booking.com offer this hotel as a Boutique hotel when it is so far away from anything like that.

    The location is good but we were robbed a block away from the hotel. In our opinion, the hotel is not Boutique, is not Modern, is not Design, is not Luxury.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is run down-need an overhaul. The hotel says it has a restaurant and a bar. They have not! Some rooms did not have a minibar. The minibar in my room had 2 bottles of water and 2 sodas. Not good enough for a 4 star hotel. The breakfast was far below what you expect from a 4 star hotel.

    The group liked the location. Nothing else.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excelent and courteous staff. Maria and Luis went above and beyond to make you feel like if you at home. They provided excellent guides about the neighborhood, hotel, places to go, etc. They are wonderful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There sometimes are small matters of upkeep that could be done more promptly, such as replacing a lightbulb or faulty hairdryer in the room. However, experience learns that the staff will do so when it is pointed out. The Internet works perfectly fine downstairs in the lobby, as well as the library and adjacent garden but can be a bit slow in some of the rooms.

    I have been staying at this hotel for many years, as it is excellently located in Palermo Viejo, has lots of character and style, and the people are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are spacious. There might sometimes be a hairdryer not working or a lightbulb that needs replacing but the staff will do so when asked. The downstairs library with its high classical doors opening up onto the garden in the back make for an excellent place to relax, read, catch up on e-mail.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is rather old and not well maintained. Dark colours in the lobby which makes ir dark. It is expensive, there are other hotels for the same price and similar location

    Great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too basic, nothing like they advertise on the internet (no slippers, no bath robe). The mini bar was EMPTY (32 degrees C outside), so I asked them if they could put at least water in it and they told me they didn’t have!!! Very dissappointing.

    The lobby and the location. Is a very nice hotel! Breakfast could be a little bit better. The staff during the day is very kind.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room didn’t have safebox and the AC was broken and noisy, then I never got the slippers and bathrope as advertised in the site. After a few minutes they told me can’t change to other room due no availability, but magically after I went out to have some air, poof a room! Room was horrible and not clean (see pictures of the spiderwebs), mold in the bathroom, broken and stained curtains, the mini fridge was on the floor (like you can put a little table or something!!) they never brought me hand towels ( requested every day for 3 days) and towels were old. Toiletries were cheap. I booked as a luxury deal and no this hotel is not luxury. It’s a simple 3 stars with good location. I won’t recommend this hotel to anyone!! Breakfast is poor, no eggs no bacon.

    The location, that’s it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathtub was simply ridiculous.....impossible not to make a mess everytime we took a shower (and probably hard to clean for the cleaning staff...) all for style.....that was uncomfortable: to make a mess eveytime and have to wait for it to be cleaned before we could use the bathroom again. Except fruit (which was great) there are not many options for coeliacs, and the kitchen seemed closed. Maybe it was temporary I don't know.

    Very friendly staff. willing to help and in a good mood.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms looked like they had not been taken care of for a while... some cracks on the bathroom walls, little broken things here and there... Pictures look much better than what it actually is. Breakfast wasn't good either. No eggs option for example.

    The atmosphere is really nice, and the location is fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Andrea was amazing, while working front of house she made me a coffee while I was waiting for my friends to collect me before our Saturday night out. The hotel doesn't have a bar, so it was nice to have a perk me up while I was waiting. Ultra hotel really has a nice vibe, and a slick lounge area, such a shame it doesnt have a bar or service to enhance the comfort of the lounge.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is included but only fruit and toast. No eggs or warm foods. No room service or food available. No dressing gowns in bedroom. Wifi wasn't very good in the bedrooms or reception. Comes and goes. Very expensive considering the lack of service and experience you get.

    The bed was comfy and the sheets so clean. Beautiful bathroom and large bedroom. Nice rooftop pool.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There are actually no services at all... No one at the bar to serve you drinks, the restaurant is actually not open (only for a very very simple breakfast), and even at the first night there were no more bottles of water in the hotel!!! Definitly not a 4 stars hotel...

    Perfect location, and the decoration is quite nice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is rundown and dirty . The pillows were lumpy and synthetic, the cover was clean but moved away from the pillow easily , to reveal a completely stained and dirty pillow . The first room we had ,the air conditioning did not work ,it kept switching off and was ineffective . At 2am , after discovering there was nothing in the room to tell me how to call reception , I went to reception and asked for new pillows ,asking if they had feather pillows like most hotels, I was told no . The receptionist changed our room to another where the air con worked. The next morning we went down to breakfast and I was hoping for something good as I had read in the reviews . There was nothing out and so a waitress came and offered a very basic few items. I was so fed up I asked at reception if we could leave and so I could go to another hotel , I was told I would lose my money if I left as I had pre paid. he offered me an upgrade room ,but we didnt want to move again . At the pool (which looks much bigger in the photos ) there were no towels . The room was dirty , the hairdryer covered in dirt ,the tiling cracked ,the tap broken , there was no cold water at all . It was 32 degrees outside .We just wanted a cool shower . This hotel has the possibility of being good , It is in a great position , the downstairs is pretty . But there are so many things that need mending and replacing . It is awful.

    the staff were nice

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was nice but some details need renovation like f.e the door to the bathroom was impossible to close. Air condition could work better. But we were very happy to be here.

    Fantastic Hotel in the middel of Cool Palermo. Very Nice and friendly straff. Room was big and modern and Very clean. Best breakfast ever!!! Quite fast Internett. Very Nice rooftop with a small but nice sweemingpoll

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Shower leaked over back of Bathtub. Staff could have smiled more. Keys needed replacing every time they were used.

    Great Location. Large Comfortable Bed. Welcoming Reception Area.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom definitly needs a refection and is not in line with the price range of this hotel

    Excellent localization of the hotel Room (junior suite) OK

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the attention of the staff was awful. not only the reception also housekeeping awful. customer care was zero and.... the bathroom and other parts of the hotel were in pieces. .....truly a shame

    we really like the location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As per other people’s comments it needs a bit of a spruce up.

    Location and staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleasing, Breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited facilities. Breakfast OK, not great.

    Clean, basic B&B. Good location. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities, service, building maintenance, old sheets, older towels, awful pillows. Poorly decorated. Old furniture. Etc.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 day without cold water, couldn’t shower. Coffee and orange juice at breakfast of very poor quality

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The electricity kept cutting out on my floor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast stuff

    Design

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning

    Position

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check-in process

    The location and the beds

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    clining of linen

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The Hotel was a little tired

    Gorgeous hotel although a little tired but made up for it with the fantastic location and excellent staff!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very different to the pictures published. Bathroom poor flooring, building not well maintained. Unexpected extra charges.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location Palermo is the place to be. Great restaurants all around plus good club scene.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owner of the hotel was inhospitable and lives in the hotel.

    The front desk staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, lousy bed and toilet clothes.

    Nice Lobby

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breaskfast should be included in all rates.

    Excellent location and great professional staff who possess excellent knowledge of BA and the area.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty and run down

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lost water and electricity one day.

    Staff was knowledgeable and helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    I loved everything about this hotel, the beautiful rooms, exceptional service, the friendly and helpful staff and the wonderful location!

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a sewage smell and everything was a little too dark.

    Location and price

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place looks awsome. Relaxed. Great decor. In a great spot and the best for the money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dark reception and entrance, floor and corridors which appear lugubre.

    The very good location, near shops, bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Place is falling apart. Faucets broken in the bathroom, paint chipped and peeling on just about everything, elevator smells like death.

    Location is great.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotels location in trendy Palermo is incredible. We found awesome restaurants and were able to walk everywhere. The room was modern and clean and quiet for a good night rest.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent hotel, very well located - near Plaza Serrano, La Viruta, Plaza Armenia, etc... and all the restaurants and bars around it. Hotel was really clean, rooms had a lot of space, were well decorated and overall very relaxing atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Grumpy, unhelpful staff. Stupid door entry system in use all hours of the day. Unmarked wet paint. The decor initially seemed smart and quirky, but on closer inspection seemed more like an attempt to cover up the poor finish and/or lack of proper maintenance throughout the hotel.

    Location good, if that's the part of Palermo you want to be. Did have all the facilities required by this standard/type of hotel, including a safe big enough for my laptop. If I'd been paying full rate I'd have been asking for my money back.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    lack of attention to detail in the room. the hotel lobby and restaurant looked amazing but the room was pretty plain. the room didn't have a mini bar or mini fridge so the little selection of beverages available at the room were at room temperature (let me add that we were there in December and it was close to 100 degrees outside). they left only 1 towel in the bathroom so we had to ask for an extra one... towels were old and in a bad shape.

    location is great! and the staff is super friendly.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff is not welcoming at all and the breakfast is very disappointing. When we arrived there was not light in the whole neighborhood and the staff haven't been helpful at all. The Swimming pool area was VERY dirty

    Beautiful decoration, very nice location

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was excellent, delicious and diverse. The room was large enough, very comfortable and cozy. The service was excellent all along. I would definitely choose this establishment again!

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very nice and friendly place in a perfect location to enjoy Palermo.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The smallest thing! The floors are a little slippery but that's like the only fault

    The decor was really nice the rooms warm and inviting!

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dirty, stains at the headboard and all linens. Wifi not working in the third floor.

    Great location

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not right in the middle of the life but super close.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Group

    my friends and I really enjoyed staying here. Great breakfast and excellent service

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, food, service, and staff so friendly

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Desing, staff, food, beds and linen all fabulous

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    everything!!!

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My brother tell us about this place and we love it! great attention and great food

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was awesome

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I love it!

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed was totally comfortable as well as pillows and breakfast delicious

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Staff at reception were very professional, friendly and supportive. Great location, adequate size of rooms and comfortable beds.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Browse Ultra Hotel Buenos Aires traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: