Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Sofía Resort & Spa 4 stars

Av. de los Pioneros 200, R8400BIO San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina

#55 of 173 hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 514 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that we were woken up 2 nights by a neighbour on the second floor (our room was in the frist floor) in the middle of the night. The accoustic wasn't really good.

    The park inside the hotel permises, the spa free access and the variety of saunas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a late check out the day we checked in and were told it would be no problem to stay until 11am. At 10:30 the next morning we received a call from the front desk telling us we were supposed to check out at 10. It would have been nice if the message had been passed on.

    The bed was very comfortable! We stayed in an attic room and it was very different but we liked it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Booking system is antiquated. OTA bookings including Booking.com bookings are not automatically added. Someone does this manually and they don't work Sat afternoon or Sunday. So we booked Sat afternoon for Sunday and on arrival our booking had not been entered and the person on reception had to ask me for my booking details. Fortunately they had space. Seems very disorganized. WiFi is pretty much unuseable. I ended up using my 3G data as faster. It's slow in Bariloche but it's a lack of proper infraestructure and paying for a couple more connections and access points to spread the load. They could learn a lot from most hostels who run much faster setups. Fitness center, spa and gym is in major need of maintenance although the problem is it's been badly planned and built in the first place. Jacuzzi may or may not be hot, showers may be cold or hotter than the sun, safety hazard. Sauna is always to cold around 70c.. should be 80-100. Gym is effectively a conservatory/green house, wall to ceiling glass, hot and don't drop those weights or they'll smash the glass and fall on the people sitting next to the pool below.

    Apartments are rustic but nice and clean. Cleaning staff were great and friendly. Nice grounds and garden. Playground for kids. A good option for families

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Maisonette Apartments on the top floor are nice and perfect for families. Nice lake view, short walk to downtown, the spa and pool was okay but great for rainy days to entertain the kids, breakfast not great but more then enough. They could buy some new appliances like the wafflemaker and so on. @villasofia please invest 300 USD in that 😜 cleaning great, staff very helpful and price is good, I even got my tax refund

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa area was very disgusting, couldn't enter the steam room Staff was very unhelpful and rude, we were transferred to another hotel which was of lower quality for one night because of a maintenance problem on their side, and still had to pay the FULL price Restaurant was not good compared to restaurants 10 min away Beds were SUPER TINY VERY NOISY AT NIGHT

    Location Breakfast was ok Pool area was nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Villa Sofia is in a hill far from walking distance from the center of Bariloche. To get there you have to take a taxi. However, it is in a very nice and calm residential neighborhood.

    I really enjoyed Villa Sofia. Rooms are very spacious has an upper level which gives the room for space. Big bathroom. Surroundings are really nice in a tranquil residential neighborhood. Nice outdoor and indoor pool. Breakfast is very good. I would return and truly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken toilet, handle came off bathroom door, mold and chipped tub and sink, chipped paint and walls scuffed, old and torn upholstery on furniture, broken light bulbs, facilities on site were very worn down and not clean, restaurant food was bland.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi quality could be a bit faster.

    staff were very helpfull! inside and outside swimming pool, fitness, etc the location is very green. it's not in the city centre, therefor more peacefull! excellent for families.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here over Christmas and wanted somewhere special which is exactly what we got. Our room was big, clean and very comfortable. Laura, on reception was especially kind and very helpful when we had a problem with our bus tickets which we could not have sorted without her help. We would definitely recommend this hotel for your stay in Bariloche.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    WiFi was not working in the room. The breakfast was served with industrial products, not at the level the structure (and the price) would require.

    Higher level compared to other structures in Bariloche. Nice garden and sport center.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even after reporting it, the room never warmed and we slept cold in one room

    Like the quietness and lobby

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi need to be stronger. I was told they are working on it

    The garden, swiming pool, room, staff,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    .

    Met expectations. Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Far enough away from the town to be quiet. Nice grounds and lovely spacious rooms. Staff friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room, friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is REALLY good. The hotel is just a walk down the hill away from restaurants and cervezeria's (we recommend Bachmann).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa was unkept. Dirty Jacuzzi

    Excellent views. Nice rooms

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Gym a bit small, spa is a bit limited, laundry bag a bit small

    Helpfull staff, nice clean rooms, convenient price. Good spa and gym facilities. Laundry was fair priced and quick to be performed

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Phone in cabin never worked. Claimed 3 times Hotel bar is closed indefinitely. Mini refeigeratora in cabina and rooms do not.hold ice makers Hotel cannot even provide ice. Cabins and rooms do not even cater regular water glasses

    N/A

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    More friendly communication between facilities. More prominent signals around resort..

    Room, spa, service by spa and kiosks with goodies.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Todo super, un buen lugar para descansar y disfrutar de Bariloche. El desayuno buffet y el restaurante delicioso.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The 2 bed unit we had you can hear the upstairs moving and its quite loud.

    Beds were comfortable and the place is nicely laid out.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Guests also reviewed these properties: