Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Xelena Hotel & Suites 5 stars

Dr. Rene Favaloro 3500, Z9405CBC El Calafate, Argentina

#8 of 70 hotels in El Calafate

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 411 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    9.2
    Good lagoon view but outside of downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Except for the staffs in the reception, the staffs are difficult to use English for communication. The hotel is outside of downtown. There is a shuttle bus to downtown and back but it cannot be available too late.

    The hotel is located in the waterfront of lagoon. The beautiful view is full of window. The staffs are nice and kindness. The restaurant's food is good. In general, it's a comfortable place for holiday.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    9.2
    Great resort to enjoy El Calafate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They should have a concierge suggesting tours and activities, also airport shuttle services can be helpful.

    Great hotel, located outside the center, but good shuttle services. The hotel is big and beautiful, huge rooms. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.6
    Great location next to the lake and promenade, with free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lateral View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Other than high season, last shuttle to the town is at 7 p.m.

    Great location next to the lake and promenade, with free shuttle to El Calafate, excellent spa with swimming pool and jacuzzi, good quality restaurant if you don't want to travel to the town for dinner. Spacious rooms. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    This property saved literally my life, sending me 3...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Just the wifi quite slow, but this is an issue everywhere present in Argentina.

    This property saved literally my life, sending me 3 attendands to mount the snow chains at the car I rented, a task which was impossible alone, due the weird set up of the car. All for free. Without them I would be now splashed at the bottom of the Paso Garibaldi since the heavy snowfall in Ushuaia and summer tyres crappy Hertz provided are not mutually friends. Besides this the hotel is amazing anyway, and would deserve a full 5 star review in any case. In low season and low Arg pesos comes also at a bargain. View from the rooms is to die for (pun intended). Breakfast is excellent and the dinner table personnel professional and kind.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.8
    This is not a five stars hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all this hotel is not a five stars, maybe three but not more than four. Swimming pool was closed, nobody informed us and I discovered it on the website. Bathroom are old, with no Kleenex and bathrobes suitable for children not for adults. The worst thing was the breakfast, always the same things of bad quality. The yoghurt was hot (not sealed)the water for drinking was hot, fruit most of the time was not fresh. Toasters were old and most of the time no waiters were available. Last but not least if you want an espresso coffee, a cappuccino or an omelette you have to pay and this is unacceptable for a five stars hotel.

    The view from my room for which I paid for and the dinner at the restaurant. Nice staff and good food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    We will definitely stay at Xelena if coming back to El Calafate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lateral View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was excelent, big and comfortable, very clean and the view is awsome!! We dined there everynight, very good relation price/quality. And the pool is great, specially with cold weather. The staff has genuine kindness.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    A very nice hotel in El Calafate !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My room had a splendid view on the lake. Very large bedroom and bathroom. I enjoyed the breakfast and as well the spa area with a huge swimming pool. Of course in door heated swimming pool, with an external part of it that is amazing !! A lot of activities organized through the hotel, with very pleasant personel. Not far from the city, with buses from the hotel every hour. A nice restaurant and bar in the hotel as well, in case you are too tired to go out after a full day of visit to the glaciars !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful city, excellent hotel. I am looking forward to visiting again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing I would have changed.

    The staff was amazing--very accommodating. When the chef learned, during dinner, that I was allergic to gluten, she prepared a freshly-baked gluten-free breakfast for me in the morning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    6.3
    spa with the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lateral View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    this hotel actually has very big potential but: very unprofessional staff terrible main restaurant with huge pretension to be very exclusive chef place with unic presentation of the plates ,but with very bad condition basic products (almost everything from the frizzer), that finally ruined everything and leave u with only one conclusion-not to be here

    spa with the view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Excellence
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and helpful even organising a glacier tour for me and my son. Another great idea the hotel had was the free shuttlebus that drops you off downtown. It runs every hour starting at 11 am until 10 pm. I would definately stay here again without hesitation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The restaurant (one which served dinner) wasn't very good.

    Everything was great. Nice hotel. Good breakfast. Comfy bed. It is the isolated place, but there are free shuttle buses every hour to the city center. It is not that far it's just that El Calafate is a really small place. You can walk from the hotel to the centre along lake, nice walk, takes 30-40min.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel with great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast, nice & professional staff, great views, free shuttle into town, nice pool (if you catch it without too many people in it). Food in the restaurant was awesome.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Good option in Calafate, a few minutes away from town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast buffet was a low point, it was very diverse but quality was not to the level; fruits did not look fresh, no option of ordering a good espresso, nothing too bad but certainly there is room for improvement.

    Very nice hotel around the area with a great inner restaurant and very kind and helpful staff, modern and very clean. There are plus/minus in some aspects: Nice view to the lake though the sun is very frontal so it can get annoying. Very nice pool area though it can get a bit crowded given its size. Free shuttle to the city just 5 minutes away, but with limited times specially at night. If taking the bus shuttle from airport, have in mind it will take 1 hour to get there (being just 10/15 km away) as it is one of the last hotels on the planned drop/pick-up path. I would recommend paying the direct taxi (25 usd more), and avoid suffering 1 hour in the bus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    Clean, tidy with nice view of the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was windy as i was allocated the corner of the hotel. The shuttle service to town centre was good but it would be better if it can be extended to 8pm

    Clean, tidy with nice view of the lake

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    8.8
    The hotel was great and the spa was excelente after a full...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 2 bad experiences that where annoying. The first one was that we found a used band aid in our shower one day and the second one was that a we found a hair in our food one day. At first they didn't do anything about our complains but after we talked to the front desk manager they gave us complementary massages for the inconvenience.

    The hotel was great and the spa was excelente after a full day of tours and walks. The massage service was great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    5.4
    Very noisy - in the room you hear everything, what happens...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very noisy - in the room you hear everything, what happens in other rooms and on the reception. Very far from city centre. Hotel staff doesn't want to help you in your questions. Breakfast is also very poor. The hotel should be rated for 3-4 stars maximum

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.2
    El Calafate Retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was a bit on the warm side.

    The food in the restaurant was delicious! The view from the room overlooking the lake was beautiful and peaceful. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.5
    Equally good and bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lateral View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls are absurdly thin. One can hear everything that happens in the neighboring rooms and in the corridors, and I mean EVERYTHING. I could only go to sleep after my neighbors went to sleep. Also, because this is considered to be a five-star hotel, I have to mention the shower, which was old and had no water pressure.

    The staff is excellent. They're all consistently kind, helpful and competent. Also the food was delicious.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    An excellent place for your stay in El Calafate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only problem was no internet cover for 24 hours. Turns out this was not a hotel problem, but all internet to the town of El Calafate was out.

    Excellent facilities, staff who actually cared for your needs. Great views of Lago Argentinos from our very large and comfortable room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Thé hôtel location view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service

    Thé hôtel location view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    muy comodo~
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing!

    muy comodo~

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Un break inolvidable en un hotel que superó expectativas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excelente experiencia ... altamente recomendable ... vamos a volver.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Nettes Personal, tolle Lage am See, Pay-TV & Bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lateral View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nettes Personal, tolle Lage am See, Pay-TV & Bar

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    The staff were exellent very helpful booking all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need renovation in the spa

    The staff were exellent very helpful booking all the excurcions. The restaurant was very good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable in every sense
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Large comfortable room with great view of Lago Argentino. Extremely helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Presidential Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection was a nightmare

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.3
    nice place in Calafate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very nice people at reception , not the case at the restaurant!!!!

    Nice breakfast, calm

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel but slightly overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lateral View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price, the night rate was a bit overpriced

    Great facilities, spa area is nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay in lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    location is great staff helpful view is great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Bar piscina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar piscina

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    7.5
    Spa area with great lake views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lateral View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my opinion Restaurant could offer more options on Argentinian dishes

    Spa area with great lake views

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    7.5
    Staff were friendly, check was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were a little dated and tired

    Staff were friendly, check was good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    6.3
    Not 4 star but adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was terrible rooms are dated

    Front desk lady who speaks English is fantastic!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    3.8
    Reception staff excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Reception staff excellent

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    8.8
    Location was ok, just in front of the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Interior design could be more charming and more region oriented. Its a bit like an ordinary city hotel.

    Location was ok, just in front of the lake. I would also prefer a hotel in the town center, beacuse its a small but lively charming center. A good bar and a restaurant in the hotel. The lunch boxes are also delicious.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    8.3
    The views from the rooms were awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The facilities and rooms were a bit dated and basic

    The views from the rooms were awesome Staff were extremely friendly and helpful The food in the restaurant was fantastic The facility to provide picnic lunches

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    8.8
    The hotel as a whole, its phantastic location, the view, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were two individual couples travelling with our rental car. Unfortunately we had no chance against a large bus group, occupying 95% of the hotel, leaving just two rooms on the ground floor for us and practically no space/service in the breakfast room for an early start. Bad luck!

    The hotel as a whole, its phantastic location, the view, the quietness, the restaurant and its crew

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    10
    The indoor pool is perfection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing about the hotel. We just ran out of cash (Argentinian Pesos) and couldn't get any in the city. That was scary. ATMs were a huge issue, so be prepared, is what we learned. We could do everything with credit cards through the hotel so that was great!!!

    The indoor pool is perfection. Very warm and you can birdwatch from the outside if you put your binoculars in a ziplock bag! Room service was absolutely delicious. We had cheeseburgers and they were perfectly prepared. We had been hiking and weary and this hotel definitely raised our spirits and energy right back up!

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    4.6
    View of lake from the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Shower was freezing/scalding and impossible to get to stay just warm, carpet torn and dirty, tons of noise between rooms and in hallway, mediocre breakfast and horrible coffee, pool with mildew and broken tiles which my daughter got cut on, and hotel was billed as a five star when it's really a 3 star. Very bad value (price paid for what was received).

    View of lake from the pool

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    9.6
    Fantastic area, convenient shuttle, nice gift shop, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Water temperature of shower changes abruptly

    Fantastic area, convenient shuttle, nice gift shop, friendly and helpful staff, very good breakfast, walk outside to a fantastic wetland/boardwalk

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly owner and staff, excellent room and social...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was not very good (the cook was very kind but had no idea how to prepare coffee or eggs).

    Very friendly owner and staff, excellent room and social spaces. Modern, clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Everything. Comfy bed and lovely big rooms. Great common areas. Friendly staff. Shuttle to and from town. Lake views. Not too big. the heated pool and spa area

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    7.1
    Cozy place with nice views and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very old gym and no machines, masseurs were not too professional, room was extremely hot, internet was not reliable, network kept coming and going, staff was a little bit rude at times

    Cozy place with nice views and good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    8.8
    The staff was very accommodating, the facility had good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The building maintenance is awful: closet doors that don't slide, chipped toilet seat, rust and rotted wood by the pool, wood decking that is warped and creates trip points, and handrails that do not inspire confidence. This is supposed to be a 5 star hotel, in service and amenities it earns that but in the overall condition of the facility it is barely a 3.

    The staff was very accommodating, the facility had good amenities. The pool was delightful and the maid service was unobtrusive and efficient. The hotel is a short way from downtown and has wonderful lake views. (Worth getting a lake view room)

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    9.2
    Staff was super helpful and the restaurant was awesome-...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff was super helpful and the restaurant was awesome- highly recommend eating there at least one night. We are food people and it was worth the price!

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2015

    8.8
    All the staff was very kind and helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    All the staff was very kind and helpfull. Wifi worked everywhere in the hotel, but it is not a fast connection. We took a room with lake view. Amazing! Very calm with no noise. The hotel is not close from center, but there is a free shutlle every hour. The restaurant is good but a little expensive if compared with the ones in the city.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    7.1
    Vista al lago, internet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    falta cafetera en la habitación, TV-Cable, ascensor

    Vista al lago, internet

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    4.6
    Location may be
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room, resturant, staff

    Location may be

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    7.1
    Helpful staff, nice views, shuttle bus to the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Far from town. Overpriced, even for expensive Calafate

    Helpful staff, nice views, shuttle bus to the center.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    9.6
    Nice room, very clean, perfect breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Higher price

    Nice room, very clean, perfect breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    5.4
    Location is beautiful, restaurant is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room is poorly maintained, walls are scratched and stained, attention to detail is lacking.

    Location is beautiful, restaurant is good

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    9.6
    Staff were really friendly and helpful, the spa was relaxing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were really friendly and helpful, the spa was relaxing, good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    3.0
    Nice lake view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cost for five stars, but the quality is not.

    Nice lake view.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    8.3
    Large clean room, friendly staff nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit far off from town and restaurants

    Large clean room, friendly staff nice view

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    10
    Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great place.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    9.2
    The view of the hotel location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The view of the hotel location

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2015

    8.3
    Lovely location overlooking Lago Argentina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely location overlooking Lago Argentina. 5 minute walk to see flamingos, swans, ibises etc.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    6.3
    It is not a 5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is not a 5 star hotel

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    10
    The breakfast was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast was really good. The staff spoke good English. The scheduled transfers from the hotel to Calafate and return is very convenient.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Guests also reviewed these properties: