Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alpen.Adria.Stadthotel 3 stars

Waidmannsdorfer Straße 57, 9020 Klagenfurt, Austria

#23 of 26 hotels in Klagenfurt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 568 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.1
    Very friendly staff.
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very uncomfortable, bed quality pillows!!! Simply breakfast. We stayed 3 nights and were asked to move to another room for the last night. It was much bigger. It was a pitty that only for one night.

    Very friendly staff. Good parking space. Friendly to dogs. At the same building on the back yard there is take away restaurant. The menu is huge. It is really great on Sundays when most restaurans are closed. We oferred food to the room and enjoyed it on the balcony! The food was deliciouse!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.0
    Basic.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very basic. This B&B was probably built in the 60-70es and remained to be the same brown/yello colour. All is old, everithing is OK, but not more. View from balcony is more to the parkinglot. Grown trees will prevent you from seeing most of mountaines in the fare. Right below my room/balcony there was a pizza-delivery kitchen so when I kept my balcony door open, I had massive garlic smell and all the talks and arguings of the family operating their business below. For some reason the owner really wanted to know the purpose of my stay - she asked me at least 3 times. If breakfast is important to you: please note that it is very simple and very basic with little choice and cheap stuff.

    quite residential area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    It was correct and the staff was really kind!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a special hotel but literally correct and good in everything. :)

    It's a really correct hotel with a truly kind staff, we felt ourself so good in there. The bed was very comfortable (the pillow was a little bit strange, so if you are sensitive to your pillow things, than bring one with you :)). The room was nice, and there are a beautiful, own café near the hotel. They were really flexible about are arrive and departure and it was really helpful for us. We can recommend you this hotel with good heart. :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Good choice for Klagenfurt
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although a bike rental was announced, there was not such an option. Some not German language channels on TV would be a good idea.

    Very clean and comfortable rooms. The breakfast is just excellent although not variety but enough. The staff tried to be as helpful as they could. I would like to say special THANK YOU that charming cleaning lady :) I booked a single room and I was accommodated in a big room with 2 beds. I loved that terraces. Excellent for smokers or just for people who like to rest in the evening with a drink. There is a pizza delivery facility just bellow the terraces where you can buy pizzas or salads or soups and desserts - very comfortable in a town like Klagenfurt where shops closes at 20:00 and most of the restaurants too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    5.4
    Avoid if possible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel smelt of cigarette smoke, was drab and uninviting. There was no internet access on the night I was there and the staff were not interested in helping me resolve the problem. The pillows were horrible, big and bulky. The breakfast was pretty basic and cost an expensive 10 Euros a person.

    Didn't like this hotel at all.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    3.3
    Smoky and old hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not turn on heating in the night and it was very cold. The hotel is also very smoky. Rooms have not been renovated for a decade at least.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    2.5
    Worst choice ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    - old furniture - musty smell in the room - small bed & uncomfortable mattress - very poor breakfast selection for the price (10 Euros/person) - stuff didn't speak English. We had a hard time communicating with them. Also, the stuff was talking to each other in German in front of us...

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    Everything is very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The center is close but at night the streets are empty, so it is better to go by car at night. It has nothing to do with the hotel, but it's better to know.

    Everything is very clean. The staff is kind. Breakfast was comprehensive, for every bit. Each guest has his own Internet code.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Excellent, friendly, helpful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly could make no improvements to our stay

    The included breakfast was lovely, staff were VERY helpful and professional and went the extra mile. Rooms were well presented, comfortable and had all we need. Wi-fi was reliable also, as a plus!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    Good Comfortable Accomodation
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing we didn't like

    This is a pleasant hotel towards the centre roughly between Klagenfurt centre and the Worthersee. Convenient to the exhibition centre as well as we were there for the dog shows. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the onsite delivery pizza business not too intrusive. Staff very friendly and dogs very welcome here. Even provided snacks for them. A popular place for locals to relax and have a drink and the outside beer garden comfortable. No restaurant, but some light meals available. Stair access only so maybe not not suitable for elderly people. We stayed four nights and thought it good value for money. A good Italian restaurant a short walk away, but that is that is the only nearby option. A regular bus service goes to the centre for those who do not want to drive. We found the hotel excellent and very good value for money. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable big room, with clean bathroom, good breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was about halfway between the city center and the lake, meaning a bit far from both in a rather residental area. You either walk 20-30 mins per direction or take public transport. Unless you came by car which I didn't. It worth walking, nice area. Wifi was a bit slow but ok. Compared to other options, for the price they charge, this place is a very good deal and it comes with a breakfast.

    Comfortable big room, with clean bathroom, good breakfast and very nice and friendly staff. The owner lady is from Budapest originally, while her husband is Austrian. I could leave my luggage with them until the departure of my train, which was really kind from them. I also got a free orange juice while waiting for departure. Danke! :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.6
    Friendly staff, large clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only small minus was that the bathroom was a bit old, however looking at the price they charge for each room this hotel is still a bargain.

    Friendly staff, large clean room. It is located on the outskirts of the town, but there are both restaurants and other stores quite nearby. Quick and reliable wifi. I would definitly come back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.1
    Nice on site parking lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a bar/café run by the same staff which is on the ground floor. Despite their best efforts all the smoking in this section allows smoke into the hotel area which left a very strong odor in the hallways and in our room on the second floor.

    Nice on site parking lot. Walk into town was not short but very doable. Nice staff and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    5.8
    It was really clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of the train it is impossible to sleep, there were also other noises in a building. Staff was so nice, but they dont speak english. Wifi was not working properly, bad signal.

    It was really clean. Staff was so nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    10
    They were very helpful and they will always find a solution...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi why only for one equipment that not practical when you have laptop and phone. But it's just a detail

    They were very helpful and they will always find a solution for you. The breakfast was huge and very good and God knows how I love breakfast :)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    4.6
    Cheap, but poor quality
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff at the reception is composed for most of the time by a single woman who only speaks German. The door of my bathroom could't be locked. The wifi didn't work on my phone. I noticed no cleaning in my room at all except the new towels; the bed sheets were never once changed and the room didn't smell good. I found big insects in my room on more than one occasion, among which spiders, a cricket and a huge vesp (not to mention the many mosquitos and flies). The balcony of my room was located above a delivery pizzeria and a restaurant and overall it was quite loud until late (11-12 pm).

    The breakfast was decent. The position is quite good and linked to the city centre, especially through the 60 bus. The bed and the pillows were comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    3.3
    Bed sheets dirty , shower broken and shower gel dried up and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed sheets dirty , shower broken and shower gel dried up and blocked in dispenser. lots of passing traffic noise from 05:45 onwards if your room is at front of hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    6.3
    Get what you want for the price, but would get a hostel if I wouldn't have been late
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff called us before Check-out time to hurry up, ashtray was full when we checked in, would definitely favour a hostel instead if I wouldn't be late in booking,

    Quite nice for that price, pizza restaurant downstairs so you don't have to get out so far when it's rainy,

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    6.7
    Nice but not good standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No covered parking for a motorbike. Wifi not working properly (most of time not working at all). No A/C. Cigaret smoking smell in the corridor. Furniture need renovation (some are broken up). Receptionist not speaking English.

    The position is perfect for visiting the town. The staff was smiling and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Cool to stay overnight or for few days.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It is standard hotel with fine location, would like to stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.5
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator Smoke from cigarettes on floor corridor Too old-fashioned hotel for 90 EUR

    Breakfast Room itself

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    good value for money!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    good value for money! best beds every so far on a business trip....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    It was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everething

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.3
    Only one night. Everything according our expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from town center. Needs to use the car.

    Staff are very kind and friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    smell in the rooms, poor breakfast for a 3 stars

    welcoming staff, balcony

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    Friendly staff, clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The duvet on the bed was quite thin and small - wasn't very warm at night.

    Friendly staff, clean rooms. Has a cafe downstairs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    In the hotel was very cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the hotel was very cold.They didnt heat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    Reasonable prices, kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very kind.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice balcony, bath
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Poor wifi on the third floor

    Nice balcony, bath

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Turquoise Lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very flexible, accommodation, friendly owner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.1
    The hotel is a 25 minute walk into town, but it is easy Ro...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The train line was close by and caused some noise.

    The hotel is a 25 minute walk into town, but it is easy Ro drive out to visit other sights.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Great Klagenfurt hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and hospitable. Great value. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.8
    Strategic location and very helpful staf
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strategic location and very helpful staf

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    7.9
    Good size room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    20mins walk from railway station

    Good size room. Breakfast was OK

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    4.6
    Everything
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Almost nothing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    10
    Very Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of train

    Great staff and Great place

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    10
    Fabulous
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place and great staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    5.0
    - close to railway
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    - close to railway

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    3.3
    Kind and friendly staff.
    • Couple

    There was no one at the reception for 15minutes when we arrived. The interior, as well as bed sheets and curtains is really really old. Towels looked pretty old as well, were not soft and did not smell very nice...Basic breakfast. Staff's english was really poor. They didn't even know that you can pay at booking.com using credit card...

    Kind and friendly staff. Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    8.3
    Super nice staff, always ready to help you.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Maybe a bit of the smoke odor from downstairs' bar.

    Super nice staff, always ready to help you. They lent me a bicycle for my whole stay and that was awesome for a bike-friendly city like Klagenfurt. Not far from the old city, university and the wonderful Wortherrsee lake. Peter, the manager, is very kind.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    9.2
    walking distance to old city/historic center, Worter...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    walking distance to old city/historic center, Worter Lake and train/bus station; very nice, friendly and kind staff; free wifi, nice balanced and diverse buffet breakfast offer; comfortable and clean room with comfortable bed; later check-out at no extra cost; even got small present on departure :)

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    9.2
    Basin is in the room - beside the bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Basin is in the room - beside the bed. WHY? It's like to sleep in the bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    4.5
    no internet as promised but only after asking it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no internet as promised but only after asking it.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    3.3
    Bad !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bad !!

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    7.1
    There was tar in the bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There was tar in the bed. The bathroom was a bit ugly.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: