Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Aktivhotel Alpendorf 4 stars

Alpendorf 9, 5600 Sankt Johann im Pongau, Austria

#2 of 16 hotels in Sankt Johann im Pongau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 88 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 21

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    We really enjoyed our stay and hope to visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Smell of smoke in the common areas from the bar and from people smoking just outside.

    Friendly staff, cozy atmosphere, great food. Comfortable beds and spacious rooms. Easy access to slopes (150m to either of the lifts). Nice pool and wellness area. Good wifi. Excellent massages.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice place even when it is not slowing, with good food & great facilities, saunas, and indoor pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a ski-resort and we were here before the snow. We could still enjoy the place: beautiful scenery, great breakfast, very good 5-course dinner. The indoor pool and saunas are great too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    We enjoyed our staying very much. Glad to chose this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very good restaurant. Excellent breakfast, and excellent dinner. The hotel is paradise for vegens and vegeterians. Nice Bar. Rooms are comfortable, the staff is very friendly, and the wellness is fine. It's a good starting point for visits all over the area - Hallstat, zell am See, jagersee, Konigsee

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    The view from the balcony was spectacular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from the balcony was spectacular. Very friendly and helpful staff. Playroom for children and nice pool area. Very comfortable sun terrace in the restaurant. Ski lift is only 100 meters from the hotel door.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    7.5
    Update the rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Uncomfortable beds, pillows, towels... a little update would do a lot.

    Everything outside the room. Friendly service, nice restaurant, awesome location for skiing (and views). Very good wifi.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    10
    Very cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in not very luxurious room and internet was slow but I didn't waste my time in the room rather enjoyed the grate, bar, sauna and pool was great.

    I like the stuff and all waitress. They are so kind and always willing to make you comfortable. The special dinner was amazingly tastty especially garlic soup and a beef with pure potato was amazing. The pool, sauna was perfect and very relaxing and really relaxed and enjoyed. They also picked me up that was also so kind. Thank you for very relaxing ski holiday :)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Great staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff. Clean room. Good view. Wonderful experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    the location was nice .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was up the resturant and they where cooking full food in the room we could not stay in the room .

    the location was nice .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.6
    Extremely enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    9.2
    Great breakfast, very good Restaurant (value for money),...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna Area is a bit old but okay

    Great breakfast, very good Restaurant (value for money), extra friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    9.6
    Lovely Xmas break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Every think and close to ski lift

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    9.6
    No bath in room and also no kingsize bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath in room and also no kingsize bed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    8.3
    Really good breakfast, cozy hotel interior, very authentic,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very small shower, if you are skiing the access to the ski stall is quite far around the hotel

    Really good breakfast, cozy hotel interior, very authentic, very friendly staff, close to ski lift, comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    9.6
    Proximity to either the ski gondola or ski lift was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Proximity to either the ski gondola or ski lift was fantastic. Just a short walk to either. Great view from the room, as shown below. The pool and sauna facility were great. Pay attention to the hours though, the sauna isn't open all day. the food in the restaurant was good and although we were right in the middle of town and could walk anywhere, we chose to eat at the restaurant. The prices were reasonable and the staff was very friendly and helpful. All spoke great English. We left a pillow and called them to ask if they would ship it to us and they did without hesitation. Overall, great experience. Can't wait to go back.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    10
    staff extremely friendly and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff extremely friendly and kind. Nothing was too much. The breakfast was incredible.There were free organised hikes. The hotel is in an area which has access to many possibilities. A very good place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    10
    Excellent welcome, staff very friendly, spot on breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent welcome, staff very friendly, spot on breakfast buffet, ideally located for getting around the area and up the Alpendorf Gondola and exploring the summer scenery and alms.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    8.8
    Everything else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Mattress was a little soft, only one pillow for your head. Two names for your hotel, Aktivhotel name is not on building just says Hotel Alpendorf. Confusing for travelers looking for your place - should choose one or the other and not both.

    Everything else.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    8.3
    Excellent hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air conditioning in room - we were there during a heatwave so it was a little uncomfortable. Staff has limited English - but that was good for testing out our limited German!

    Excellent hotel! Breakfast is amazing. A la carte menu in the evening is reasonably priced and would rival any 5* restaurant

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    9.6
    The staff was superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There is not much shopping facilities in the area around the hotel.

    The staff was superb! Extremely friendly and very professional. Great wine list and a la carte food.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    6.7
    If you are an American expect bad service and and an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    If you are an American expect bad service and and an attitude. We are far from picky travelers and have traveled extensively throughout the world to include multiple stays in Alpendorf, be it at another lodge, but we never felt welcome the whole time at the Hotel Alpendorf. My daughters, ages 12 and 9, even commented on the rudeness. Sad, could be a great place.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    9.6
    Toilet Ventilation is very bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Toilet Ventilation is very bad

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21

Guests also reviewed these properties: