Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alpenhotel St.Christoph 4 stars

St.Christoph 34, 6580 Sankt Christoph am Arlberg, Austria

#4 of 6 hotels in Sankt Christoph am Arlberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 115 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    6.3
    Unfortunately, although offering so much promise our experience fell well below expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only after argument did they offer tap water and only one glass at a time. On the last day we discovered that they had lied about not having jugs. Ridiculous. Staff joking with other guests about our spat was unacceptable. The hotel below where our friends stayed eagerly offered fresh tap water in refillable bottles. The common areas (reception, bar, lounge etc) had automatic air freshener sprays everywhere (more than 10) polluting the fresh Austrian mountain air with an unpleasant aroma. Why? We would understand these in the boot room or toilet but not everywhere!

    The view from our window was fantastic (see picture), although it was a shame not to have a balcony and window tilt opening was limited.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    5.8
    disappointingly pretentious at an expensive tariff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The place was pretentious and expensive. They décor in the common areas was eclectic at best but at the very least bizarre. we felt uncomfortable and preferred to remain in our comfortable rooms. Bar prices at a ski resort are always expensive but the charge of E 4.50 for a cup of boiling water from the urn left us less than impressed. The request for an electric kettle in the bedroom suite was refused. The 5 course meals were advertised as restaurant quality but fell far short. the flavours were often bland and the only successful meals were the simple roasts on 'Kitchen party" nights. The breakfast was excellent. The blunt affect of the staff was discouraging. Would not rebook.

    The rooms were comfortable , large and had a good view. The staff at reception were helpful and welcoming. breakfast excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.8
    Big rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Big rooms. Very nice breakfast and dinner. The spa is very relaxing. Very good location, next to the slopes. Very helpful personnel. One of the hotel personnel even helped me removing the wheels chains of my car. I would recommend staying at this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    3.5
    Very disappointing . Felt we had been ripped off owners interested in profit instead of customer ser
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is not good value for money .Pillows disgraceful for a 4 star hotel tiny and flat. Asked for a 1 hr extension on check out . Told this would be 30 euros. Room sold as a double . 2 single beds pushed together not acceptable . Owner very abrupt . Drinks expensive and no offer of even tap water with meals . Cheap chemical perfume dispensers attached to the walls . Overpowering smell all over the hotel Ski in / out not the case .

    Food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Access to ski slopes directly from Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Access to ski slopes directly from Hotel. Very good dinners with a fun and excellent special evening on Friday with first part of the Buffet running through the Kitchen with cooks cooking for guests on the spot.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Really wonderful 4 day stay in this lovely Austrian family run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The Food is excellent. Staff are very very helpful. Fantastic location right next to the slopes and the St Christoph Chair lift. An added bonus is the tranquil and Spotless wellness area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    7.1
    Good but pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks a bit expensive We could not stay for dinner one eve as we had alternative arrangements and gave plenty of notice. Our son joined us for one eve it was a buffet and they charged us €65 we thought that was a bit unfair

    Location and staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    6.7
    Lovely Hotel, But No Refund When Injured on the Slopes
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Because of an injury on the ski slopes, we were forced to depart early and the hotel absolutely refused to give us any credit for the days that we could not stay. They forced us to pay the whole price claiming that the money would be refunded by booking.com - but when booking.com requested the refund on our behalf the hotel refused. Don't use this hotel unless you have separate ski insurance.

    Property was nice and the food was excellent, although no one really explained how the half board system worked.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    7.1
    Staff are warm and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was very good but the only option with half board is to have a full 6 course meal each night. A more casual bar food option some nights would have been great when staying for a skiing week.

    Staff are warm and friendly. Good on site spa facilities to wind down after a day on the slopes. Lovely comfy beds.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.6
    Young couple during New Year's Eve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi coverage could be a bit better in the rooms (but you should enjoy your holidays and stay away from the internet anyway!)

    One of the best hotels we've stayed in! The staff made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived: they were warm, polite and extremely professional. The 5-6 course dinners were in a "semi-gastro" class and the breakfast is equally good with a nice blend of warm "a la carte" and cold buffet. The spa facilities are also surprisingly good and the same goes for the ski/boots storing facilities. The ambience at the lobby/bar/restaurant cosy, tasty and warm. The slopes are just 100m away, so you can practically ski-out/ski-in (though it's a bit flat).

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel, great location to ski in/out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous hotel, great location to ski in/out. Staff coundlnt don enough for us and to top it off the food is excellent. Thoroughly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    great hotel in the middle of the mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    --

    Very friendly staff,spacious room with amazing view over the mountains.delicious meals.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    Good ski hotel, perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced

    Perfect ski location, friendly and helpful personnel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.5
    evening meals a bit overrated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    evening meals a bit overrated

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.5
    very nice convenient traditional Austrian hotel.could do with minor updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    food was a bit rich for me

    Great location next to a lift quiet village location Nice wellness centre big comfy room underground parking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    10
    Another great stay at Alpenhotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great, family run hotel with very helpful and friendly staff looking after you. Our second stay there,and probably not the last one.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    7.5
    The beds were very comfortable and rooms very spacious with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The whole place felt very "end of season" including the attitude and behaviour of one or two of the staff towards us. Indeed, the hotel closed the was closing the day we left. Others were charming however but they were clearly understaffed and stretched to accommodate our large group and made us feel that this was our fault! Things were being dismantled on a daily basis as our week's stay went on and we were denied the pleasure of a fondue/raclette evening even though we asked in advance for this they told us the location for this sort of supper, the wine cellar was now closed. The return to the hotel on skis at the end of the day was a very unpleasant uphill push of 200m, particularly with children!

    The beds were very comfortable and rooms very spacious with lots of storage room. Great breakfasts and fabulous spa facilities. Wonderful views and very close to the ski lift in the morning.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    9.6
    Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff... were all very smart, very friendly and very helpful. The kitchen walkthrough... great experience one night each week. We were invited into the kitchen where there was some fantastic finger food starters laid out. We could talk with the chefs who would make things for us as we watched, before heading in for mains... brilliant idea. Having stayed in St Anton on numerous occasions, I would have to add the following two points. Location... skiing back to St Christoph after a hard day skiing is so much more pleasant than the carnage you risk coming back into St Anton... If you fancy a night or two in St Anton, then it's only a short cab ride back. Peaceful, quiet nights... no screaming drunks walking down the street at 2,3 and 4am.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    8.8
    The staff provided great customer service, including...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff provided great customer service, including shipping some items we left behind back to the US! The food was also amazing - we can't rave about that enough.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    9.6
    The hotel and the staff are friendly and good, food is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The way back "ski in" is not a ski in, it's a 15 minute walk with the ski equipment on deep snow.

    The hotel and the staff are friendly and good, food is excellent and location is great for skiing.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Just a minor point: The restaurant staff could have been slightly more attentive. It was sometimes difficult to get their attention. This being said: They were very friendly!

    Great hotel location. Nice, spaceous rooms. The kitchen served very nice meals, with an absolutely sufficient selection, every day. Freshly baked bread to all meals. Very delicate and comfortable spa. We also truly enjoyed the light afternoon meal in the bar when coming back after a nice day in the slopes.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    6.7
    Good size rooms , nice decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Some members of staff were not very customer focused. Can't ski back to hotel , have to walk up a hill.

    Good size rooms , nice decor. Can ski from the hotel. Fresh homemade bread in evenings.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    8.3
    Good food, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel wanted to change our booking to a cheaper room, but could not tell how much cheaper. The outcome was not favourable to us, but it was told only at the check out. Next time will stick to the original reservation and not show any flexibility on my side. Owner was unpolite and wanted to control everything.

    Good food, good location.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    8.3
    The food and spa and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    You can ski out but You cannot ski in, was very annoyed at the end of the day a 100/200m cross country style trek, was one of the reasons we booked!

    The food and spa and views

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    7.9
    There was very little that I didn't like at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perhaps one of the "challenging" things about the Alpenhotel is that, from the "village" of St. Christoph below, it's a bit of effort to walk back to. It prominently overlooks the resort from above. But even this could be seen as a positive, because you can ski down to the lift in the morning and back to the Hotel at close of play, St Christoph is very much a skier's resort, there being few shops (none, that are non-ski-related). If you want to seek things, other than skiing, a bus or cab to St Anton (about 12mins,) or Lech (about 20 mins) is necessary.

    There was very little that I didn't like at the Alpenhotel. At the top of the list would be the excellent food and some very friendly and smartly dressed staff, all of whom had adequate English. The St Christoph Lift links you quickly to the whole of the St Anton ski complex and a bus will take you to Lech and Zurs for even more extensive skiing and the blue slopes that are rather lacking in St Anton.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    9.6
    My husband and I would definelty recommend this hotel to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing I could complain about is eatting too much delicious food.

    My husband and I would definelty recommend this hotel to anyone heading to St Christoph. The location was fantastic (ski straight to the lift), the food was incredible! Better then some top restaurants we have been too and the staff were fantastic and very welcoming and accommodating. It felt like home.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    8.8
    wonderful Austrian hospitality, real charm and style and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing.

    wonderful Austrian hospitality, real charm and style and perfect for adults. I loved taking afternoon tea outside with delicious cakes! The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever been in. It was sheer luxury.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    8.3
    Zeer comfortabel, fantastisch eten.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Let op: Als je met 3 personen 2 twee persoonskamers half pension boekt krijg je geen korting op de maaltijden. Je betaalt dan voor 4 personen ontbijt en diner. Note: If you are 3 people and booked 2 double rooms half pension you get no discount on meals. You then pay for 4 persons breakfast and dinner.

    Zeer comfortabel, fantastisch eten. Very comfortable, great food

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    9.6
    The hotel is run efficiently and with a warm welcome from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A small thing but to get back to the hotel after skiing required you to pole on the langlauf track for a while which was a bit exhausting!

    The hotel is run efficiently and with a warm welcome from all the staff. Our room was spacious and comfortable, reception areas and bar cosy, food inventive and delicious, excellent spa and skiing from the door.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    10
    Excellent service from staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Big effort getting back to hotel after the day's ski. Due to elevation of hotel, this requires a return uphill walk. Suggests a electric rope tow at the back of the hotel?

    Excellent service from staff. Excellent cuisine. Spacious room overlooking the gorgeous township.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    9.6
    The hotel is in a great location in St Christoph with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Only downside for us was that we found the bedroom a little too warm, even with heating off.

    The hotel is in a great location in St Christoph with the ability to ski to the lift. The breakfast buffet is great and evening meals interesting and varied. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. Tremendous value for money compared to other hotels I have stayed at.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Would like to have an option ie only breakfast, and not necessary half-board

    Location

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    3.8
    Ruoka
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Ruoka

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    9.2
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    They do not offer tap water. You have to buy bottled water

    Very clean. Lovely friendly staff. Food delicious

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    10
    great food, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    great food, great location

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    10
    Excellent staff and accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    N/a

    Excellent staff and accomodation. Helped tremendously after i was injured on piste.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    7.5
    Ski in ski out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ski in ski out

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    8.3
    Apres ski not as good as st st Anton
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Apres ski not as good as st st Anton

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    10
    Fantastic Hotel in excellent position with superb food and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was superb

    Fantastic Hotel in excellent position with superb food and very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    7.5
    Delicious food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Delicious food

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    7.9
    Close to St Christophe Lift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms a little tired but not offensive

    Close to St Christophe Lift. Very Austrian. Rooms spacious.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    9.6
    Almost a fairytale setting, easy access to the lift, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Almost a fairytale setting, easy access to the lift, good ski connection to St.Anton, great food and wine, a very friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    6.7
    CLOSE TO SLOPES
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    SMOKERS IN HOTEL THE PLACE SMELT OF SMOKE EVERY WERE , INTERNET TERRIBLE

    CLOSE TO SLOPES

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44