Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alter Telegraf 3 stars

Grabenstraße 12, Geidorf, 8010 Graz, Austria

#41 of 46 hotels in Graz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 564 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value, great staff, comfortable & quaint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really, was really good & easy to deal with owner & staff. Nothing was a problem.

    Older hotel but very quaint. Staff beautiful, breaky good, bed really comfy, had a Faulty Towers feel about it, very good though, no negatives. Excellent location too, short walk to Schlossberg, perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    This hotel is very close to the city centre, the staff was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is very close to the city centre, the staff was very flexible to adjust my need for an extra bed, and we were assigned a very spacious double room for a little increase in the price. I was very satisfied by this booking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom for the single bed room is very small, even for 1 person. No hot meal for breakfast.

    Cleanliness, comfy bed, convenient location for visiting the Old town and Schlossberg by walk. Kind and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    5.0
    Low price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got a room towards the road and the window was not very insulated so the traffic woke me up in the night. There was no ventilation in the room so i had to open the window for air.

    Low price. Good wifi.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    4.6
    Near Schloßberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is awful. Only black coffee, cold milk, croissants without butter and no staff to be seen. Cheapest bread possible. Very noisy room.

    Near Schloßberg

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.5
    Liked about everything, in walking distance to the city...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cannot think of anything

    Liked about everything, in walking distance to the city centre, very nice staff, nice comfy room and bed, good breakfast. Beautiful enclosed garden/court to sit out in good weather.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    Comfy apartment-like rooms with delicious continental breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Smoking in the restaurant. Wi-fi signal was weak and kept disappearing at times.

    Excellent location, nice and various breakfast. Cosy and spacious room .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    A comfortable small hotel with a friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A comfortable small hotel with a friendly staff. My room was spotless clean and quiet and did sleep very well. There is a restaurant on the ground floor, and I have heard their chicken is very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    soap and shampoo were not available in bathroom.

    Close to centre of town, friendly and clean. Room was small - a single, luckily cool nights - pillow bad and bedding too hot for summer but friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    Family stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was in the street so need to watch for timed parking though it served to make sure the day got started in a timely way.

    Within easy walking distance to Graz main sights. The courtyard provides a comfortable area to wind down with a drink or meal. We arrived as a couple and were met by family and child the 2nd night, Staff were very accomodating and we were pleased to have joining ground floor rooms. Staff made us feel welcome and spoke reasonably good English.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    6.7
    Stay in a stable for Christmas
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a hotel, right? But our room was not IN the hotel. We were ushered out the back door, and into a strip of rooms--rather like a mini American motel--in what must once have been either the garage or the stables. A ground floor room, with a door and window opening at ground level in a dark back yard was not what I had in mind. They call this spot the "parterre." Quiet--perhaps a bit too quiet.

    Very friendly staff, good breakfast. Go for the boiled eggs. You know they're fresh because the egg-boiler sits on the counter and beeps wildly whenever a batch is ready. Hotel is close to public transport and is just a couple of stops from the Hauptplatz.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    10
    A perfect hotel to visit Graz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nothing. If there was a problem I know that a mention to the staff would have it sorted immediately

    Our room was wonderful and the bed really comfortable. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and the evening meals were delicious with a varied menu. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made our stay fun.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    9.2
    good attractive hotel highly recommended close to all amenities superb staff very welcoming
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    hair shampoo and shower gel were not provided not a big issue

    breakfast good selection coffee a bit iffy all round a good service good staff would defiently book this hotel for next year

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    kinda small bathroom

    Clean room. Comfy bed. Perfect Wi-Fi connection. Good breakfast. Good location - 10 minutes walk to Old Town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    friendly staff, assisted with super late check-in.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    friendly staff, assisted with super late check-in. room basic but comfortable. excellent value for money!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.8
    Very big, clean and well equiped room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not wery good. Quite a lot noise from the street in our room. But bearable with closed windows.

    Very big, clean and well equiped room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Great option for a comfy stay in Graz
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very big and the bed comfortable. I also very enjoyed their breakfast and the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.3
    good location, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    car parking area is not so close the hotel, you need to walk 5 mins , room is small

    good location, helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Relax and beautiful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast starts from 7:30

    Beautiful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff, big room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, big room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    4.2
    The staff are not always present and place is to small
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are not always present and place is to small

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Location, cleaning service and stuff are perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms on the first floor have a door outside. But in summer, it should be nice feature!

    Location, cleaning service and stuff are perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    It was lovely. When I go to Graz again, I'll denitely stay at the same place.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The friedly staff, the clean room, the good location, the size of the hotel (makes it cosier than its bigger counterparts).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Good hotel with nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big and clean room. Nice staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    I would stay there every time I go to Graz
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking

    I liked everything, with the exception of the parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    People were kind and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    enough and complete

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    Hotel at reasonable price in a convenient location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was so so.

    Restaurant conveniently located in the hotel and makes excellent food at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Everything it's very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything it's very nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    We enjoyed our stay in Graz which is a lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place and good was delicious. Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    The room was clean and the staff very helpful!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean and the staff very helpful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    They didn't have any

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.1
    Good meals ,nice staff, inexpensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not Avery nice area and no air conditioning

    Good meals ,nice staff, inexpensive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.7
    it is OK
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Small room

    lovely staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Good place for access to University
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in was simple and the owner was very helpful and attending.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel .service also good .
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel near downtown...we have dinner in this hotel ,The restaurant food was very good .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    Very poor breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Very poor breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    7.9
    it was very friendly staff and nice food
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no 24 hours reception service

    location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    6.3
    Good values
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was bad. Poor selection of dishes and not very fresh. No vegetables.

    The room was large and clean

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    9.2
    Big room with a comfort bed and zofa.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big room with a comfort bed and zofa. Breakfast was good. Staff is very friendly. 10minutes walking distance to the centre.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    6.7
    good price Hotel
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not very good smell in hotel, its smoking area

    very good location, its near to old town, also to Schlossberg, by walking

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    8.3
    Very helpful friendly professional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful friendly professional staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    7.1
    Good location, especially if you are visiting the University.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    TV didn't work, the room was noisy. Choose the garden view rooms if you want to get some rest.

    Good location, especially if you are visiting the University. Despite relatively old furnishing, the place is clean and tidy. The garden is great.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    3.8
    Breakfast in the morning included
    • Family with older children

    Staff was unfriendly and unhelpful. I was locked out 3 times during the night because they lock their front doors at night and the additional key they gave me didn't actually work! Very frightening experience!

    Breakfast in the morning included

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    7.1
    Room was clean and location convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room was in the back garden, which iwas lovely during the day. My only complaint was that there was little or no light back there at night. The sensor lights eventually came on, but I was well into the garden before they did. It would have been nice to have a light on from the moment the door to the garden opened.

    Room was clean and location convenient. Abundant hot water!!

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    7.1
    Clean room and breakfast is included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room I stayed was a bit small. There were two beds, but almost no space for relaxing. For that space, the number of bed should be one.

    Clean room and breakfast is included.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    4.2
    The only positive thing about this accomodation was its...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The double rooms might be somewhat better, but the single rooms, located along the 'Biergarthen' look & feel very cheap, like noone touched them since the late 70s. They are clean and tidy, but in dire need of renovation. The single rooms are ridiculously small and the bathroom relatively OK. Breakfast is very simple. My old student dorm looked quite better, but for a lower price than 57 Euros. Better get a normal hotel in the range of 60-75 Euros...

    The only positive thing about this accomodation was its location near the Uni Graz, if you have a meeting, or something to do there. Well, it's also cheap, but for a few euros more, you can get a much better deal.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    5.4
    the position was very good
    • Couple

    at first we were given a small, dirty, noisy, smelly room. Then we complained and the staff was kind enough to change it. interiors were old anyway. Breakfast good but nothing special. Quite expensive.

    the position was very good

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    3.8
    I liked the relatively central position of the property, a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No air conditioning, poor wifi quality, poor breakfast choice, sooooo whatever!

    I liked the relatively central position of the property, a 15-minute walk from the city centre.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    9.6
    The hotel staff went out of their way to help the guests...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel staff went out of their way to help the guests (not only me, but I witnessed their patience with other guests). The breakfast is very good. The architecture of the building is interesting. It is clearly an older building, that has been renovated. There is an inner courtyard with the single rooms around the courtyard, where people are served meals. The second floor has the bigger rooms. I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    6.9
    Mitarbeiter für Rezeption und Restaurant sehr freundlich
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dusche - Warmwasser "Problem" - einmal kalt, einmal warm, es hielt die Temperatur nicht

    Mitarbeiter für Rezeption und Restaurant sehr freundlich

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    6.3
    Location near the old town and the university.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cleanliness of the room is fair, but under the heating an behind the shower the dust has gathered since the opening of the hotel. I had to change rooms during my stay because of emergency repair work in my original room. The free upgrade was organized swift and harmonious. The wifi did not function on 1 evening of my 7nights stay.

    Location near the old town and the university. Helpful staff. Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    10
    The staff are very friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    6.7
    Very quiet place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very quiet place.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    5.8
    Close to the university
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Basic room, glass door and window with window curtains.

    Close to the university

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    10
    spacious room, carpeted floor,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    spacious room, carpeted floor,

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    7.5
    Prime location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Car parking was very expensive even with a small discount. Breakfast is also not in the hotel but next door cafe...

    Prime location

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    7.1
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Smell of food everywhere

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    8.3
    Location in Graz for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was not working during our stay.

    Location in Graz for us.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    8.3
    The Restaurant serves good chicken.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Wifi did not work very well in the upper floor.

    The Restaurant serves good chicken. The Prices are very fair.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    6.3
    Good location, in walking distance to the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleaness of the room and bathroom needs to be improved.

    Good location, in walking distance to the old town. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    7.5
    Quiet place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was very poor.

    Quiet place.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    10
    Great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great experience. Would and will recommend to everyone

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Browse Hotel Alter Telegraf traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: