Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Small Luxury Hotel Altstadt Vienna 4 stars

Kirchengasse 41, 07. Neubau, 1070 Vienna, Austria

#6 of 316 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 677 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Missing a pool and an outdoor space.

    We loved the homey feeling of the place. Our suite was exquisitely designed. The beds were comfortable. The products good. Breakfast tasty. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 28 Vitra. You could hear all the noise from the staircase all night long plus it was just a bit too minimal with tired decor too

    Staff were great. Breakfasts and tea time were delicious and the communal areas were comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which was a quite dark. I would try to get a more airy and better lit one next time.

    Amazing location. The breakfast is great. The staff is great. Very special hotel. Will come back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from our room; it was quite noisy as the doors were heavy (loud banging when other guests entered or left their rooms) and the hallway floors were wood, also there was construction both inside and outside (starting before 7 am) the building

    Room size (high ceilings); wonderful breakfast choices including local foods; comfortable beds with quality linens; nice towels

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there four days. The room had no view, windows did not open, and had black walls, felt like a very comfortable cave. Great for sleeping but not an extended stay. We should have asked to change room to one more airy. Benefit was it was very quiet.

    Staff was very friendly, helpful, room and entire hotel was super clean. Breakfast was varied and good selection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful hotel. Feels like you are in your own apartment in the heart of Vienna. The rooms have a good size, no carpet on the floor, only floor boards. Amazing view. Very central, at walking distance from the museums and the centre of the city. Modern and stylish.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t like

    The staff were very friendly & helpful - the location was great but also quiet & we loved the complimentary homemade cake & tea in the afternoon

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All this doesn't come cheap, but its worth it. And if its just for remembering what the internationalisation through anonymous hotel chains has taken away from the joy of staying in a truly civilised place.

    Bearing in mind that all rooms are different, this is one of the rare finds of a hotel with genuine character, class and style. The old Central Europe at it's best. From the quality of fittings or tailor made furniture that aren't the usual flimsly Chinese copies of European brands but the real solid heavy thing, to the extraordinary breakfast buffet (hand-made Semmeln, which even in Vienna are disappearing...) and the generally soothing atmosphere of the grand building in which the hotel is located, there is little to complain about.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service during breakfast was inconsistent -- good one day (Friday morning) and then frantic the next (Saturday).

    Great location at the 7th district of Vienna which is the funky district with independent boutiques and hipster cafes while within stone's throw of the Museum Quartier.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Main entrance confusing

    Good espresso for breakfast! The scrambled eggs were fluffy! Staff very helpful and with sense of humour. Ambience quirky in best way.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall we expected a cozier atmosphere and more uctualized and luxurious finish. It looked a bit worned out

    Breakfast was good and service as well. The staff was extremely helpful and kind

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing I can think of.

    The staff is extremely helpful: trust them for recommendations and reservations. The quality and layout of the room was exceptional.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was a little small—much smaller than last time I stayed. So that was a little surprising.

    Location amazing and the building is gorgeous. Breakfast is wonderful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A home away from home with welcoming and attentive staff, beautifully decorated room, a perfect breakfast and stylish bar. The location in the heart of Spittelberg is perfect, lots of restaurants and bars in the immediate surroundings. It's within walking distance from the city centre and MuseumsQuartier. In short: book your stay ... you won't regret it!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing couldn’t have asked for a better experience

    Everything it was so comfortable and we felt really at home. Staff are fantastic so helpful and friendly. Design and art make it a real pleasure to stay their and food was just great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Superb small hotel. Real character and individuality. For example, different Art works in each room. Comfortable lounge with afternoon cake and coffee. Staff all extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!!! Except that I had to leave.

    the entire package of the hotel, staff , design, beds, comfort, atmosphere location, service were beyond expectation. I would like to plan a holiday never to leave the hotel!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My daughter's bed was against the door that connects to the neighboring room. That was very unpleasant because she could hear their late phone calls, and they tried to open the door the first evening.

    The accomodation was lovely and spacious. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is THE concept of how every hotel should be! The owners started this hotel to make you realy feel at home - and they succeeded - 10 out of 10. Every room has a personal touch, nicely and warmly decorated. Great breakfast - luxurious buffet and eggs made on demand. Excellent service by the staff - with a truly meant smile. In the afternoon cake of the day and all kinds of fresh tea on the house. Centrally located in the Neubau district, just a 5 minute walk from the Museumquartier and the U-bahn subwaystation, with nice restaurants in the direct neighborhood. I wish every hotel would be like this ...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowhere to hang your towels in the bathroom. Nowhere really to put your luggage in the room. There was construction work going on in the building and it was exceptionally noisy. We also got woken up at 7:00 am with very loud drilling. Clearer and larger signage is required outside and inside the building to guide you to Reception. Afternoon tea, as lovely as it was, lacked any variety to choose from - only one cakeon offer and it wasn’t that nice. No tea making facilities in the room.

    The hotel is located on the 1st floor of an apartment block so a little unusual but it had a lot of character. It’s a 30 minute walk to the heart of town so you get to see lots on the way. All the staff were excellent - extremely friendly and helpful. Our room on the fifth floor overlooked the rooftops which was lovely. It was comfortable and quaint. Coffee machine in the room. Afternoon tea was offered with a large variety of teas. After a day spent walking around Vienna it was great to be able to come back and order a glass of wine and relax before heading off to dinner. Lots of restaurants around to choose from within walking distance. Breakfast was enjoyable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing apart from the having a last drink at the bar in the evening seemed to be a little bit on an imposition.

    Good breakfast Good service Extremely helpful staff Really good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It took a while to figure out how to get to our room, which wasn't a problem really, just a few hallways.

    Spacious room, and bathroom. Quiet. Breakfast was amazing. Staff recommendations for dinner excellent. Wifi worked well. Fabulous location, only 8 minute walk to museum area. In a lovely old townhouse. Area has many lovely shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is indeed in the city centre; however, the closest metro station- Volkstheatre still took you 10 mins. walk from the hotel.

    The staff were very helping, informative and welcoming. The room was modern with a good design.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They offerred us coffee upon checkin and then charged us for it saying it was past breakfast. They should have explained that.

    The breakfast was great and the staff were very helpful. The room was also very large.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not much

    the staff was exceptional and my whole family loved it........we stayed at other 5 star hotels in Germany and this was the best......great location for Vienna

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is so friendly and helped us figure out how to maneauver the city. They provided lots of great information and quickly found us an available room when we arrived earlier than check in. The hotel was very nice, and the breakfast was awesome!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel said they'd booked an airport transfer, sent me an email to confirm it and then failed to book the car. Left high and dry at the airport and had to pay extra for a taxi

    Excellent location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In old buildings lifts aren't as spacious or fast, to be expected.

    Amazing art collection throughout the hotel, staff cheerful and exemplary, rooms of palatial proportions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mirror in the bathroom in Vitra Room too dark for applying makeup and no other mirror in the room.

    Quirky designs for the rooms, location, professionalism of staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Presence of flies on the fruit at breakfast. Waitress at breakfast does not say hello nor reply to ours!

    Good location, Large and comfortable room and well proportioned, Sunny room, Confortable beds, Friendly staff at the reception,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately I could hear everything going on in the corridors the room doors didn't keep the noise out.

    The staff were so friendly it was a different stay to what I'm used to, it felt like I was staying at their home. It was a quarkey hotel very arty and a interesting find at each corner. I would definitely recommend it to all my friends!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing!

    the staff was so friendly and helpful, they really made me feel very pampered. there were dozens of great restaurants and shops close by but I almost didn't want to leave the hotel. it was simply put one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be great if the hotel had a restaurant.

    This is one of the best hotels I've stayed in. We had a very spacious, comfortable room. The staff were all delightful - friendly & helpful & the Neubau district is very interesting with many artisan shops & cafes. The attention to detail made this a very special stay & we began to regard it as home during our 7 nights there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really liked this place, there is nothing particular that I didn't like. The only things I can even think to say here seem like minutiae.

    The breakfast was amazing. I looked forward to it each day. Also the location was outstanding- close enough to major sites of interest to walk, but in a neighborhood with a lot of artsy and interesting shops; lively little restaurants- a beautiful old church just around the corner (with view from our window) Our room was very comfortable and also beautiful. The hotel is in an historic building and the decor is in keeping with that, yet it's completely up-to-date and somehow felt modern. Also loved the Malin & Goetz products in the bathrooms. We needed to make a change in our plans to add nights to our original booking of 2 nights- extended to 4. and were really glad we did.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good hotel, breakfast excellent and staff very helpful. Covered Parking is available at a location nearby, about 5 minutes walk, at a cost of 25 euros. If this is important to you make sure you book the car parking with your reservation. From the old city centre this hotel is about 15 minutes away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perfect location for visiting Vienna, in a nice area with plenty of local restaurants. An easy walk to the museums, trams and U-bahn. Very comfortable, quiet (and stylish) room with an excellent breakfast. Also enjoyed the cakes and tea in the afternoon! The staff were very pleasant, helpful and welcoming. It couldn't have been a better place to stay for a special birthday treat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we thoroughly hated were the bathrooms -- no doors between overall bed and bathing areas and only a clear glass door to shower and separate toilet. That is, zero privacy. If this were different we would definitely recommend this hotel and come back again. In the end, however, and for the price we paid, sorry -- it's a dealbreaker.

    Almost everything was excellent here -- the staff were wonderful, the breakfast buffet was outstanding - right down to gluten free bread and prosecco!, and the location was great for us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable. The breakfast was amazing and the tea and cakes were great! We loved everything about this hotel and would highly recommend to anyone! We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go or hop on a bus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely, quirky boutique hotel in one of our favourite areas of the city. Surrounded by great bars and restaurants but away from the hustle and bustle of the more touristic areas. The staff was exceptionally friendly and welcoming - from the girls at reception and in the breakfast salon to the cleaning ladies. It will be hard to stay anywhere else but the Hotel Altstadt Wien when returning to Vienna!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to a terrace would have been nice.

    Basic room category equally includes a very well designed room. Going up a category is only worth it for the view and more space to move around in the room. (We tried a night in each.) Very friendly staff, felt more genuine than in some other hotels in that category. Great breakfast buffet, caters abundantly for lactose-free guests. The breakfast room (which is the bar at night) is beautiful, like a very nice cafe.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very nice hotel very well located at walking distance from the Museums and the Hofburg. Staff was very pleasant and caring. Overall very nice experience and would recommend the Altstadt hotel to family and friends

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet (Jr. Suite No.67) had somehow the smell of cigarette smoke. The hotel is entirely non-smoking, so it was very odd. One drawer instead of flat shelf would have been convenient for the same room.

    Every time I stay here, I'm quite impressed by friendly and personal touch of services offered. It has not changed since my first stay for more than 15 years ago and despite changes of personnel. You can feel every staff does enjoy working for the hotel and guests. Truly amazing. The breakfast rooms were temporarily located on the ground level until the end of March due to renovation. Having buffet breakfast at Altstadt Vienna is definitely one of many reasons why I keep coming back to this beautiful city. Its comfortable and relaxing atmosphere, great variety of tea leaves (I prefer tea to coffee for breakfast), bread, jams and cold cuts always made me late for setting out to the day's first destination. This time I particularly enjoyed pear juice ! In the late afternoon you can enjoy delicious cake and tea at the same place. At least I had five different homemade cakes during my stay and they were all really tasty. Speaking of the rooms, I stayed at one of Jr. Suite which is 3 month old after renovation and one classic double room. I loved its high ceiling, warm colours of curtains and cushions contrasting bright blue sofa of the Jr. Suite. From the past experiences I was a bit skeptic about waterproof function of glass door of the separate shower booth, but it was needless fear. One might feel uncomfortable as the outside of closet and bathroom doors are all covered with mirrors. You can look away though. In a classic double room a large painting was hung on the wall. It was a nice change from a colourful interior to a subdued one. It is as comfortable as in your own room, yet with much more sophistication. That's what I really love about this hotel. I'd really love to get back there like yesterday !

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing - all perfect

    Everything about the Hotel Altstadt was excellent - staff, food, room, information, advice about local places to eat in the evening (all wonderful). Over the last 30 years I have travelled a lot and have stayed in some great hotels, but the Hotel Altstadt is the best!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all the breakfast is very poor, We arrived and they told us that they upgraded our suit, the room was scary and old fashioned, we asked to change the suit, they offered an upgrade on 20€ / night and said it's a competitive price , looks like their system didn't accept that and charged us on 30€ per night, not a big deal on the 10€ but that what happened ... this hotel is over expensive

    Well a couple of cool stuff there like free tea and water with mint ... staff did a wonderful job .. not bad cleaning too

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room structure: bathroom door in front of window: it makes you feeling you are outside. Difficult to be two adults in this bedroom. Bed in front of windows: you still feel outside... not enough light near mirror in bathroom. Windows Stores far from your arms. No light nearby mirror to make up or shaving even next to the closet. Bed too hard. But we asked for solution and they found one. Stairs are not heated: you feel cold and outside before arriving to the lift. Very cold each morning to pass through the way in to go to the breakfast room!

    The sightseeing from the bedroom. Nespresso in bedroom. The hall. The location near museum quartier. Kindness of staff. Everything looks brand new.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful service from the staff. The hotel has lots of fun and quirky touches and breakfast was amazing! It's located in the heart of the gallery district in downtown Vienna.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints! We had a fantastic stay at the Hotel Altstadt!

    The bed was amazingly comfortable, the comfort floor heating in the bathroom added that wonderful extra touch. Our breakfast and evening drinks in the lounge were simply perfect.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The property itself is unique and beautiful. The staff were fantastic and always available to help. The location of the property is perfect, only a 5 minute walk to the museum district and 10mins to the City Hall and Opera.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a coffee maker in the room but a kettle to make tea would have been preferred.

    Super helpful staff, great breakfasts, reasonably priced bar drinks and snacks, yummy cakes and tea every afternoon, quiet hotel yet close to centre, cool decor.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely wonderful hotel. We were there for our honeymoon but right from the moment we stepped into reception - before they'd even established who we were - we were made to feel special. The room was incredible and the breakfasts were excellent, with different special dishes cooked to order every day and a huge array of breads, meats, cheeses and cereals to choose from. The cake and tea available every afternoon was the icing on top, if you'll forgive the pun.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our last morning we were unable to take a shower ....no hot water+no heating ! Not good!

    Incrediblt good breakfast, and the offer of "cake time "between 4pm and 6 pm each day . Very comfortable bed + large bottles of Malin and Goettz toiletries .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was too hard for us. The staff did try to help by providing a mattress topper, but it was still hard

    The breakfast was A1 excellent, healthy, and very generous. We liked that it was included in the price as was the afternoon tea with a new cake every day.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loved it all - maybe a bit pricey.

    Large comfortable room. Large bathroom with big bath and separate shower. Superb breakfast. Interesting artwork, Lovely helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really comfortable rooms, immaculately kept. The staff went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. As we were on our honeymoon we had complimentary drinks, a Polaroid taken for us to keep, a congratulatory card in the room. Taxis, restaurants - anything we needed was booked for us. The location was walking distance to all the main attractions, yet had a really local non-tourist feel to it. Everything was so relaxed and comfortable. We felt like we were amongst friends. The breakfast was amazing with carefully selected ingredients - there was a choice of a different local menu each day as well as a continental breakfast and prosecco (And of course tea coffee and juices) In the afternoon there was free tea and cake in the salon. By far the best hotel breakfast offered. We will definitely be returning one day!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing could have been improved, perfect stay.

    We were 4 friends in the XL suite, a 2 bed apartment style room with large lounge, very comfortable and spacious, staff were absolutely brilliant in every respect, breakfasts were great and it is only a 15 min stroll to the Hofburg. It's in a nice area with a variety of different and unusual shops and restaurants. I cannot recommend the Altstadt highly enough.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and staff were exceptionally warm and welcome. The interesting contemporary art and individualized decor was an added plus. Breakfast was delicious, as was afternoon cake and coffee. The hotel is well located near the historic center of Vienna. Truly an exceptional hotel!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we had a very large bathroom, the tub had a hand held shower which was difficult to use. It was the only minor drawback in our stay.

    Great location, very friendly and helpful staff. We had a very large, well decorated room. The breakfast was wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connections could have been better.

    One of my favorite hotels anywhere in the world. Would come back to Vienna just to stay here again. The staff, location, service, elegance of the furnishings, and overall ambience are all 5 stars. It just gets better and better as the years go by like a fine wine.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glass doors in the bathroom, I know it's quirky, but I would have liked more privacy.

    Everything, the attention to detail, making you feel welcome from the moment you set foot in this hotel, breakfast is beautiful and such a great service!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was perfect.

    The location was perfect for walking into the center of the city. The breakfast was amazing. Loved the vitamin shot you received with breakfast. The free afternoon tea with cake was heaven.Helpful staff arranged airport taxis and ran out our boarding cards. We could not have chosen better.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though small, he hotel has a bit of an odd and sprawing layout. Our rooms were far down a series of labyrinthine halls separated by heavy fire doors. While our suite was large, bright and pleasant, the extra double room we booked was quite dark (opening onto a lite shaft with no other window) and so small it barely accommodated more than our bed.

    Pleasant little hotel with friendly and welcoming staff. Some interesting and eclectic pieces of art here and there. Wonderful breakfast in a lovely salon. Terrific location in a lively and interesting part of town. Reasonable value. Suggest booking one of the suites, which are large and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no gym- but that is uber picky :)

    I thought the staff was extremely friendly. they made me a breakfast sandwich at 4:30 AM to make sure I had breakfast for my flight-- The area was super hip and you are not far away from the key sites

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a/c! It was warm!

    Welcoming staff, happy to help. The location in the trendy 7th district is a good 25 minute walk from the major attractions, but has some great restaurants and shopping near by. Grewt breakfast. Loved the Malin and Goetz beauty products!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the beginning, the staff went out of their way to help with maps, suggestions and reservations. On several occasions, we had to be ready before the breakfast was open, but they accommodated our needs and served is earlier. The hotel is close to most museums and public transportation areas.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is beautifully furnished. Near underground station, fairly centrally located. Staff very friendly. Breakfast was amazing. Afternoon tea and cake a bonus.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    location is a bit far from the center and so is the U-bahn elevators are old and slow

    Very unique hotel Staff is very helpful and friendly the hotel is a very old building that was renovated very nicely preserving the original atmosphere. each bed and piece of furniture is a work of art

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's difficult to be critical, but if I have to be picky, the orange juice wasn't fresh squeezed.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. A quiet location. Delicious breakfast cereals. The bed was very comfy. All the local recommended restaurants were good and the Wiener was particularly good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a construction noise this time in the next apartment (:

    Everything. It is a perfect hotel. We have been here a couple times and enjoyed it very much.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect Place. Wonderful Staff

    We loved our stay at the Altstadt. Beautiful Place with incredibly kind and helpful staff. Highly recommend this wonderful hotel which is centrally located and very close walk to museum square.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Never seen anything like that. The "Altstadt" combines excellent architecture, artwork, and cuisine (breakfast, afternoon tea) with a friendly atmosphere and open-minded staff. A symphony of hospitality and style

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was walking distance to so many places. Art galleries, museums, palaces. Loved the hotel and would definitely stay again. Also loved the salon

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was truly nothing, the people running this hotel have taken the time to make sure every aspect of your visit is perfection.

    Lovely building, lovely rooms, excellent bedding, excellent breakfast. Very proffessional and friendly staff. Location was good, ten minute walk to mant restaurants, shopping and some sites.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was excellent with wide variety of choices and some food was available for those with early flights. Staff was very attentive and helpful. Rooms were modern and large. Historic hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I can't think of anything we could find fault with.

    The room was great and the breakfast was beyond our expectation. Everyone we dealt with at the front desk or restaurant couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. One of the best hotel experiences we have ever had.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very quirky art hotel within walking distance of the centre but in an interesting area.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Small Luxury Hotel Altstadt Vienna traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: