Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Altwienerhof 3 stars

Herklotzgasse 6, 15. Rudolfsheim-Fünfhaus, 1150 Vienna, Austria

#135 of 316 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1252 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room need some cosmetic maintenance

    Spaceous room with lots of air. Peacefull and quiet. Old town can be reached by public transport easily. Very good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very far to downtown. Parking is 15€ per day and nobody informed me about it.

    Public transportation is very close. Had a suit room instead of a standart room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Located close to Westbanhof and next to a U-bahn station. So, traveling to city centre is easy. Spar, DM, and small eateries available nearby. Rooms were really spacious. Very big, actually!! Two beds, more than sufficient for family with child. Facade was being repainted. So, could not get a good view from the room. Coffee / tea and a kettle in the room would have been useful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ---

    The staff are very friendly and they put time to help us to discover the city. Saeid was very nice and also the man who checked us in that i forgot his name. The property is very close to Metro which is 100 meter away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bit different room then booked -seems misalignment between Booking and the Hotel. The price is quite high - no clue why as most of the furnitures are old before restoration (I mean worn not just rustic). The wall in the main room looks like having fungie from shower plced on second side of this wall. The price is not in correspond with hotel standard. We were in June and room was missing any AC then we opened the windows but Hotel is close to main street so it was noisy all the night. Breakfast is hotel standard but furniture covers in breakfast room were dirty - fully oposite to ultra clean rooms. We might consider that hotel next time if price will be fairly adjusted - we consider range of 100€ max even considering Wiena range.

    The room is very clean, the service made huge efforts so room and bathroom is almost cliniq clean. Also all the people are very kind and helpfull. Hotel is placed just in between old town and palace but not turist area. The connection to all interesting places is well set - Bus line 57A is just at the corner, also by foot is 2km to palace and 4 km to old town. Advisable is to take a bicycle as city is one of the best bike connected cities in EU. Hotel parking is not easy and cost 15€ but at the street there are a lot of space to stop the car but still you need to buy a ticket. Front wall was inder renovation so should be nice next time. Near to Hotel there is a lot of middle east kitchen fast food or food shops. Bad materace is very comfortable. We did spend nice time and I advice to try this hotel we will consider it next time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thanks to this hotel, we moved thought the times and could imagine ourselves as ladies and gentlemens of the 18-19th centuries. Everything was perfect and corresponded to the photos on the Booking. A great place to relax after exploring the beautiful Vein! Friendly and helpful staff speaks English perfectly. Check in and check out in 2 minutes. All documents are ready in advance. No problem with payment. All is clear. We arrived 2 hours earlier and we were settled without problems and additional payment. Accommodation for child was free, but in the room they did not forget to make a bed and towels. The rooms and the entire hotel are very clean. Excellent location – close to central areas. Near the metro (about 3 minutes walk) and railway station (about 10 minutes walk), there is a great choice of food and fast food (McDonald's etc.). Room was very spacious, comfortable and clean. Very comfortable beds, pillows and snow-white bed linen. New plumbing in the bathroom. The room has safe and air conditioning. WI-FI work very well. Nearby there is Arabian eateries, but at night it was quiet. We were given permission to park near the hotel (10 euro), and we saw our car from the window. Great breakfast (several types of slicing meat and cheese, yoghurts, muesli, eggs, sausages, croissants. Coffee and juice are delicious. We asked for a quiet room, and it seemed to us that there was no one around. Now, traveling in Austria, we will always have a desire to return to this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location wasnt the best especially to walk back to in the evening..

    The staff were really friendly and helpful and the hotel is full of character.. But when we arrived there was scaffolding at the front of the property because obviously they updating and probably improving the hotel .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the reception was helpful but one of them should not use a satire because I'm his guest.

    beautiful old fashioned style, unfortunately we could not open the curtain because outside of the hotel is on construction.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    -

    The breakfast was very tasty and the breakfast-facilities were splendid with a cosy atmosphere. The hotel-lobby is nice and there is an additional garden where you can anjoy a cup of coffee. The man serving the frontdesk is very helpfull, among other things he helped us to print a boardingpass for our flight.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Most of the nearby restaurants we would have liked to visit were closed that night which was unfortunate and the one we went to was disappointment.

    We were given a free upgrade and the suite was different from any room we have ever had before.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the room, it has a lot of space specially for my little baby who was crawling around, I like the toilet and the bathroom, they have a big bath, I like the garden view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very old and the window handle was even broken. It said shuttle to the airport but all that was available was to book a taxi to the airport which I could have done myself.

    The staff was really nice and helpfull.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not so good, rathe go to bakery 'Der Mann' close by for a cheaper and better breakfast

    Many PT options close by, large rooms and hotel was very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was a little bit tight and I particularly missed a table with a chair (one of the drawers is not really necessary in the room and could be replaced by a small table).

    Good value for money. The hotel has an excellent communication with the city center by public transport (brown metro line, several buses and tramways nearby, other major metro lines in 5 min walking distance). Despite being quite small, my room was nice and the bed was comfortable. The neighborhood was also OK, even at late night. The reception is not 24 h, but when we arrived late due to the strike of French air-traffic controllers, the hotel staff kindly called me and he waited for us at the front desk for about 2 hours beyond the official working hours (Thanks!).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The neighborhood is a bit unpleasant but the location is very reachable with the U-bahn very close and Westbahnhof within a walking distance..

    Friendly staff. The hotel probably has once been a very nice place. Now fairly warn out and desperately needs repairs. However, the atmosphere is kind of picturesque. Breakfast was good value of money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking is nearby but but at the property

    Breakfast Nearby metro station Spacious room Lovely bathroom with corner bath and shower Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room for 4 people was very big. The room interior reminded an opera. :) Breakfast was nice. The receptionist allowed us to leave the car in the parking place for some hours after check out. Quite close to the main shopping street.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neigbourhood is a bit odd. The crossroad of public transport and highway Is nothing nice.

    Big spacy room, that was great. Ask for room with windows in the yard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    A very nice building, good location just a few steps away from the Gumpendorfersstrasse underground and tram station, very helpful and friendly staff, spacious rooms - all in all, a great value for money!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very cold in Vienna when we were visiting the city and when entering the room, I've checked that 2 of 5 radiators in whole room are working. We said that at the reception and were immediately offered somebody to check the radiators and if they will not manage to fix them, we will get another room. When we came back in the evening everything was fixed, so it's actually not a negative comment :)

    It is very hard to explain with words the impression from this hotel. You enter and you are happen to be back in time - the times of Vienna balls, establishing of modernism in culture, art, real ladies and gentlemen :) you just miss to see people dressed appropriate for that times. It is an experience you must have - walk on the stairs with pictures of old Vienna, antique paintings, etc. The breakfast was absolutely fine - not too much with a lot of variety but for that you have other hotels. Try the awesome egg toast - inside with cheese and ham and on top with fry egg which was exactly like I love it - a little bit liquid :) This one is all about experience. The bed was not very new but really comfortable and huge. At the beginning we thought we got wrong room because it was sooo spacious - big entrance area, small room via which you get into the bedroom, bathroom and separate toilet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some of the hallways were very cold ,

    Classic older property . Excellent breakfast and excellent breakfast attendant. Hotel desk manager friendly yet very professional.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to be honest. Sure I will stay in this hotel again.

    I liked the location of the hotel just 10 minutes walk to the Mariahilf street and I adore jony the dog who was welcoming us everyday and special thanks to the staff members specially mr said he is a great guy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Unfortunately, the heating system in our bedroom was wonky. The room was rather big, so that we had three radiators in our bedroom, but only one was working for the whole week. We made the staff aware of that, and they provided us with extra blankets, but in the end they were unable to fix the problem, and this happened during one of the coldest weeks of winter. Result: a few minor health issues that made part of the vacation less pleasant than expected. Some elements in the room felt off: draining system of the shower was not efficient so that in the end the water was stagnating; there was some uncleaned dust in the drawers and on a lamp. The zone was rather noisy: at 1 AM there was still people laughing, and making a mess, cars honking and all the rest. This clearly is nothing the hotel could have done about, but it's important to keep this in mind in case you're looking for a tranquil place to stay. Breakfast was a bit meh (and absolutely not "fabulous" as advertised on the site). Most of the food available was industrial quality (and not top notch either, so, yes, you'll have the palm oil in the chocolate spread). For a fabulous breakfast, I'd expect some cake that's not bought at a supermarket, possibly a slice of something typical (Apfelstrudel, Sachertorte, something like that), a wider array of fresh fruit and a breakfast that could be in general be richer. Beware, I'm not saying it was a bad breakfast; I'm rather saying it was more an ordinary breakfast, with no highlights.

    Location of the hotel was awesome: it's a five-minute walk to the metro and to several tram lines; additionally, it's very close to Mariahilferstrasse, which means you have a ton of shops and places where to eat just around the corner. It's not that far from the city center too: you can walk 40 minutes and reach easily the Museumquartier. The whole staff of the hotel was absolutely top notch: the kindest of people, and we really appreciated their spirit and heart.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - lack of mini fridge, but no biggie for us - the old furniture and things in the rooms can be a problem for people with allergies

    - the guy from the reception is very helpful, he helped us check-in, get to the room, and with anything we needed - the parking spot is 15 euros/day, but it was worth it, the parking is heated and closed securely, you cannot park on the street during the week. - the decor is somewhat old, it is like stepping back in time, and for Vienna i believe it is a good thing - the breakfast is pretty good, all good quality produce - the eating area is very nice with classic music in the background, a very classy way to start a day - very close to subway and within walking distance to a shopping street.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some of the soft furnishings could do with replacing, and perhaps have a board or sign to indicate where the restaurant is, so staff don't have to keep telling people where to find breakfast.

    The bed was really comfortable. Despite having back problems we slept really well. The weather was very cold, but the room was lovely and warm, and the decor (clearly inspired by Vienna's palaces) just made it feel even more cosy. Good size TV.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms, outside of bathrooms, need modernization and paint. Pillows were horrible.

    Bathroom, breakfast was fairly good. Typical European breakfast. Good hours 7-10 Super easy to get to train.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all fine, no negatives

    All good, quiet and comfortable. I just stayed here for one night , I got an upgrade when I requested for a quiet room. The front desk staff and breakfast staff are friendly. Breakfast is good with some variety of choices. The location is perfect as it is really close to public transportation and you can reach the city center in minutes.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bottle of water was only once (first day), breakfast is good, but not various and the same every day, bed linen was no change for 5 days.

    Very nice place, really big and comfortable room, clean and big bathroom, very close to metro, nice staff. Good value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are not so many nice restaurants nearby. We got there on a evening night and the weather was terrible, so it's a little disappointed we couldn't have a nice dinner that night.

    The room is big and fine decorated, although the bath and the toilet is a little small. I like the furnitures there, they are elegant and historical (at least it seems like so). The location is good, if you want to visit schönbrunn, but it's a little far away from the city centre. Anyway, the public transportation in vienna is convenient, it's not a big problem.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some maintenance was overdue, particularly the shower. The wifi didn't work for the most part of our stay (!!!). And the busy road nearby.

    Breakfasts were great. Rooms luxurious and spacious. Location good, but close to an extremely busy road.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room got quite cold at night - but the temperature was -7 outside.

    Our room was very large, with a comfortable sofa and table. The room (305) was very quiet. The breakfast was very good - lots of choice, and comfortable dining room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Close to the metro, but a long walking distance from the Old Town.

    The rooms were small but really cute and cozy. The bathrooms were a good size. The breakfast was excellent, with baked eggs and individual carafes of coffee and pots of tea. Our rooms were very quiet, with a nice view of the courtyard. The hosts were very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location

    A classic Viennese house close to the metro station. Pleasant ambience, nice staff and good breakfast. Considering the perfect location, the hotel is ideal for both singles and families. The price is low for such a hotel in Vienna

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of

    The service of this hotel was above expectations the room was large comfortable with a big marble bathroom and separate toilet. Breakfast was one of the best I have experienced. The manager went out of his way to help with transport needs. It was an exceptionally experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing place, with the atmosphere of real old Vienna, very spacious room with nice old-style furniture. Everything was perfectly clean. The personnel is very friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast was very nice. The place is 1 minute away from subway and tram station, easy to reach and find.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely hotel with plenty of character and charm. It is great to stay somewhere with an authentic Viennese feel! Our rooms were lovely and extremely spacious, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Very quiet at night. Breakfast was great, staff were friendly. Don't believe the reviews saying this hotel is in a bad area - it is fine and extremely handy for the Metro.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was enormous and comfortable. We had 2 rooms and one big bathroom where there were bathtub and shower cabin separately and toilet. The room was cleaned and fixed every day. The restaurant was big enough for the guests. The breakfast was excellent. The staff was friendly and helpful. I recommend this hotel. If I go to Vienna again, I will stay again in that hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Situated in ugly and strange region, full with migrants. - At the lobby bewаre for a dog's bark to avoid the stress. - All the staff was serious and sad which struggle us. - The towels were worn out and the cleaness was "behind the corner"- the bath was enormous, but dirty enough. - Don't expect traditional vienna breakfast- sparingly and tasteless

    - near to the metro station - parking facilities - huge rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No real selection of Austrian restaurants in the area other than a small hot dog stand. At least 3 Turkish kebab/pizza places and 2 Chinese restaurants are within a very short walking distance.

    Staff was very helpful and the hotel was very clean and beautiful. Breakfast exceeded my expectations by including a very nice egg and bacon dish that is difficult to describe, but was very tasty.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing serious

    Solid hotel for that price in the very nice nice city. Very good location in between Schonbrunn and town centre. Excellent hotel staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room that we got for my family (my 10 year old brother, mom and me) was much better than on the pictures! So spacious, we couldnt even think that it would be so big! We got the one with sofa and it was perfect for 3 people. Breakfast was fresh and delicious every day and it was totally worth additional 7 EUR per person, and for kids its free. The area was great for us, just 1 min walk from metro and around 20 min walk from the shopping area. Definitely would stay again and very value for money!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'm not able to find one think I don't like. Just my stay was too short - but it is not fault of the hotel:)

    The room is simply fantastic. Huge, nice, great furniture. Really friendly stuff. All was great. Public transport just few minutes away and a lot of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing which is not good. However, AC or Fan is a must in Summers. One small fan was provided on request. Location around stephanplatz is considered better for tourists.

    Rooms size & decor. Friendly & helpful staff. Location in front of Metro & adjacent late night lively eating places.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Should be installed airco. The surroundings of the hotel is lumpenproletarian like type. Parking is street stochastic nearby. Some loafers groups nearby make wandering unpleasant at the evening.

    Big and comfortable apartment. National austrian climate of the hotel. Nice and competent reception. Friendly service. Beautiful patio (garden) inside. Bathroom of a palace class. Hotel is clean and safe. Resolution of parking fees.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The cheep rooms are small, but for the money I couldnt find anything better, so I cannot complain.

    It´s a very nice hotel (i.e. value for money), and the staff is very friendly and helpful. It´s also 20m away from the main street which makes it very quiet. It´s some 10 min away from MariaHilfeStrasse, and some 25min away (walking) from the city center. If you don´t like walking, the U3 line (directly to city center) is 10 min away so is U4 line to Schonbrunn. Several supermarkets and fast-foods around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location not the nicest area with strip clubs and dirty bars on the same road

    large room friendly staff attractive Austrian style property with nice breakfast room and good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man at the reception was exceptional and I would surely go and stay in this hotel again when I am in Vienna. It's got a serve your guest with all your heart kind of an attitude.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1) Far away from the city, with very little in the vicinity 2) Hotel was relatively much smaller than the pictures, and so were the rooms 3) Rooms were relatively smaller than expected with no heating/cooling options

    1) Staff was very helpful. Arranged veg breakfast for us at a short notice. 2) Very good connectivity - a minute's walk from metro, which makes it a good choice if you intend to use public transport 3) Proximity to Westbahn railway station and 2 stops from the major shopping area

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the location is a bit of a pain, in a dodgy area and a long walk from the city centre and the train station. But so long as you don't mind getting ubers, it's a really great hotel.

    The room was beautiful - huge and decadent - and the breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    The entire staff were beyond friendly and welcoming. Very helpful and kind. They accommodate to your needs. We don't eat pork, so they were kind enough to get us something new every day. Extremely close to public transport. Minutes away from good cheap restaurants. Minutes away the amazing shopping centre and 4 metro stops from the opera and the centre of Vienna.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't recommend it for single women. Groups of young men hang around during the day, covering the sidewalks, drinking beer and showing off. Women in hijabs have to walk around in the street, as did this old man. At night they seem to be gone, but they are a nuisance. All this is happening while all sorts of other people are going about their business, ignoring them. Given Austria's current flirtation with alt-right politics, these guys remind me of the 1930s unemployed who became Hitler's Brownshirts.

    Room looks like a 1930s Vienna hotel in a movie, deliberately removed from its time context (except for the modern bed with duvets and flat panel TV). Exception: very modern bathroom. There is an outdoor garden. Extensive breakfast, though without eggs. Parts of the public areas a little worn, such as the marble stair steps, but hey! Marble Stairs! Close to the fabulous 19th Century Gummerdorf Strasse U Bahn station, thus convenient to all Vienna. Go and pretend you are a spy!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom could use a face-lifting to be in line with a super room.

    Breakfast, the room and the hotel is very stylish and above my exception. I reserved a single room. At check-in asked for a quiet room due the fact that I will have an interview next day. The girl at reception check with a manager on the phone (Sunday evening!) and give me a double room at 3th floor witch was very quiet. 10+ for the staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The furniture in the rooms is a bit old… In our room WI-FI did not work at all, we told about it to the host but nothing changed unfortunatly. The lady who was cleaning the rooms always came after 1 pm when our son was sleeping and did not try any other time - so during 4 days our room was not cleaned at all:((

    The interior of the hotel is very good – with old feeling of Art Novo and A.Mucha paintings)) Breakfast is very good and the host is very friendly. Good location for the city sightseeing and shopping

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - warm floor would be better aspecially in winter months - old furniture in rooms

    - good location, close to the center and near the metro station - good staff ready to assist - nice room with modern bathroom - strong Wi Fi - not bad breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed in this hotel for a New Years Eve celebration in Vienna. Good location-close to u-bahn station. Hotel was very nice with a great guy at the reception (other staff also very nice). Room was clean and warm. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really large, coozy and comfortable. The owner is super kind, always at awailable for helping out with precious information on restaurant, exhibitions and other city's attractions.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of rooms are equiped with bathtub & shower cabin too or only one available it is much better if 2 options available for one room for a couple of young people i guess but is just for the future suggestion is not for a negative part i could not say any negative comments.

    Breakfast is perfect as the high ranked hotels more over the comfort feeling as much as you can imagine if you prefer that the simple things could be the best especially in Vienna.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Byla zima na pokoji

    1 pound lean ground beef 2 cups salsa 1 (16 ounce) can chili beans, drained 3 cups tortilla chips, crushed 2 cups sour cream 1 (2 ounce) can sliced black olives, drained 1/2 cup chopped green onion 1/2 cup chopped fresh tomato 2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not experience any unpleasant moment in those three days when I stayed to this hotel!

    The hotel is 5 minutes away from the subway station. The room has been clean, warm and nice furnitured. The breakfast was complex, containing various types of cheese, ham, jam, fruits. Everything was ok!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A few small repairs overlooked in an otherwise comfortable room.

    This Hotel is very special. Certainly the best one I have visited for several years. The decor is tasteful, the staff are friendly, the location was perfect for the places we needed to visit using the U bahn which is two minutes away. The breakfast offered a wide choice and was thoughtfully presented.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking during weekend is free an you can find around. During the week it is a bit expensive.

    Really feels like good old fashion comfort. Rather large rooms with vintage good furniture. Breakfast was good also. Staff was very nice and assertive

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excelent. It was more then expected. Location= relatively close to center and public transportatio is 50m away. Staff was really friendly. Breakfast was great. Overall it is a great hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - the neighborhood is not the best part of the town, but it was OK

    - staff - comfort - big, stylish room - very clean room and bath - easy access to public transportation, main attractions are within 30 min - flexibility /arriving and leave/

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-fi connection in the room(on the 3rd floor) wasn't good but good signal available in the recepsion area.

    Location wasn't bad like some people say. Very close to Metro and tram stop. From the airport, take train to Meidling(Train departs every 30mins), then change to Metro U6 to Gumpendorfer str. Casual Asian and some kebab restaurants, also a sausage stand were nearby. Breakfast was good. Hot dish(eggs, sausages,bacon), some vegetables and fruits ware available, and coffee was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very spacious room! Excellent location. The area is a slightly run down old area compared to the posh centre. But for a few nights' stay as a passer-by, it's perfect, with easy transport links/networks in the city, everywhere is just a few stops away. Very friendly hotel staff. Excellent though simple breakfast. Couldn't be happier.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel has parking spots in the nearby garage, but it's a bit pricey at 15 EUR per night. If staying for more than one night, P+R for 3.4 EUR per 24 hours might be a better option.

    Rooms were really spacious and the bathroom looked quite new and spotless. The breakfast was excellent - first time seeing Oeufs cocotte and girls in national clothes in Austrian hotel. The breakfast room itself is quite a sight. It's also quite close to the city center (~3.8 km) so it's within walking distance. WiFi worked without issues.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we had a suite very large but may be for this reason was less comfortable than a standard room the deloux room was cheeper but even more convenient , Vein was cold that night so was the suite .. the deloux room was as expected nice and eady to accomodate with

    the welcoming of staff and the welling to help and get a feedback for the stay

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not the spiffiest room, but, then, the price told me that. Main issue - location wasn't that great. You were a block from the subway (good), but then had to take two subways to get to the central city.

    Great price! Wonderful breakfast and nice people!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is next to a bar, making the walk to our hotel feel a little unsafe. The bar was also loud and you could hear this until 1-2:00 a.m. We thought breakfast was included in our stay. We were unaware it was an additional charge until we received our bill at check out. It was NOT worth the money. They did not restock the food. They had a few hot items but it was picked over by 8:30. You could find a better option.

    The night manager was extremely helpful and provided great recommendations. Very close to the metro station.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was kinda dark and murky (probably because the building is old). The wifi in the rooms didn't work.

    The rooms were big! It had a receiving area that led to the bedroom. The bathroom had a shower and a bath tub. The hotel is pretty old but it had a charm to it. It was close to a train station.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very diletant service on reception.Very slippery steps at first floor- I fall down and hit my hip. The girl on reception said to me that she can't help me, and her boss is not here to take care the accident. Also some stuff was gathering together on reception . and one of them even polished her nails in front of guests,and were talking loudly unknown language. Very unpleasant feeling.

    Good location,good breakfast,good looking hotel with viennaatmosphere,exellent hotel for good price

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no lounge area and bar but refreshments were available.

    The hotel was clean good breakfast staff efficient handy location.The single room was slightly small but functional.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - no air conditionning, and the desk fan was not working - there's a fixed shower head - old door locks, need to force it a bit to get it locked/unlocked - no minibar/fridge

    + clean + wifi and cable tv + large and comfortable bed + decent bathroom with shower + close to the subway line + private parking in a garage 50m away down the street + breakfast area ok

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room can get quite hot (it was around 26-30 degrees when we were there) but the fan provided helped.

    The hotel was lovely and very pretty, the staff extremely helpful and friendly and generally very clean. Overall great for the price.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location. Though it was very accessible to a metro station, the environment gives a negative score. You have to cross the main street and walk around 10 meters to reach the hotel. There are 2 pizza stores and 2 bars in the vicinity. The environment is a lower middle class and too eerie to walk at night . I was approached twice by 2 drunken guys asking for money.

    First snd foremost-The staff. They knew their work, very professional and friendly. Second, the breakfast served: lots of choice.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Altwienerhof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: