Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Am Brillantengrund 3 stars

Bandgasse 4, 07. Neubau, 1070 Vienna, Austria

#164 of 316 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1311 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit difficult to sleep, because the room was hot (in july).

    Very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel’s own restaurant is good. Super clean place and stands out from the boring hotel chains.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    a very nice receptionists- very helpful
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged twice - I git the money back the moment I went to reception it was solved (pity the check in person did not check that the room was paid for) As it is patio all noises are very clearly delived to the room, first night we had to knock someone’s door as there was no receptionist (they have on-call night shift person)

    a very nice receptionists- very helpful nice patio bathroom was EXTREMELY clean good location, close to the tube stations and city center (I like walking so 30-40 mins walking distance was just great for me)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was not told that entire hotel had been booked for a wedding. We could not use the courtyard bar/restaurant & were outhoused to sleep. 4 floors and lift not working when we arrived. Feel short changed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    It’s location is good and staffs are friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room has no air conditioner and the inside yard is a restaurant. You can not open room windows because of the noise. This hotel should be good for winter time.

    It’s location is good and staffs are friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Great base-camp to visit an awesome city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have used a couple more plug sockets in the room. The curtains are built into the windows, so you can't have a window open without letting light in, which was odd. AC would have been nice, as we visited in a heatwave, but the fan provided was adequate. A mini-fridge would have been nice too, given the weather.

    Staff were really nice and helpful. View over the inner courtyard is very nice, and sitting in the courtyard is great in the sun. Design of the rooms and overall hotel is very cool. Rooms were clean and bed was comfy. Location was great for trendy bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    A good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing

    Did not take breakfast so cannot comment. Many supermarkets nearby and facilities in room to cook if required. Did eat at hotel two evenings and very good. Lovely courtyard and hotel well placed for most venues.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Gorgeous hotel with old but well maintained features.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only because it was so hot (high 30s) not having air con was noticable but a fan was provided and could have window open.

    Gorgeous hotel with old but well maintained features. Huge comfy bed and good shower. Great location and spacious room overlooking terrace. Friendly and helpful staff too!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    A unique experience
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing i didnt like, was the flat was facing a childrens park & there where alot of children there each day screaming. If you dont mind children, this is ok, but for me i had to close the window most times, but this wa sdifficult in the summer heat.

    I stayed in the apartments, which are joined on to the hotel. It was very spacious, with lots of light as it was facing the sun all day, which was nice. Really nice restaurant in the hotel, with cool 50s decor & a super nice garden to sit outside. The restaurant is family run, with young & friendly staff working there. I would come back for sure, as all in all it was a nice place to stay & in a great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Super
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There's a restaurant downstairs and it might get a bit noisy if you needed an early rest during your business trip. But it's all good after 11pm.

    I love the room design. It's super spacious. Bed is super comfy. Staffs are nice. Location is also super. Very close by to U-bahn. Though if you've not been to Wien yet, they use rolling curtains on the window. It felt over expose at first but we manage to figure that out on the 2nd day. Haha xD

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    The location was very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet was disconnecting and was very weak. The room was very old fashioned and was in some restoration phase. TV didn't work. We were situated on a ground floor, where people were dining walking in front of our windows.

    The location was very convenient. Close to the tram, metro and restaurants. The courtyard with the restaurant were very beautiful. We had a possibility to leave our luggage after check in and use the computer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable and retro style (decorated) hotel. The Neubau area is a great base location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They seemed to run out of croissants quite early in the day - but no big deal really.

    My daughter and I were upgraded to an apartment which was very spacious and comfortable. The staff were always super kind and helpful. Breakfast in the Mediterranean style courtyard was a fabulous way to start the day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    4.2
    Lovely location but don’t be tempted it’s not good value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given the wrong room and things got worse from there. Mean staff more worried about skimping than looking after their guests. Could have been great but this place is badly run... Avoid!

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.4
    rooms are really spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our key did not work and as the hotel front door was looked in the night, we could not get into the hotel. We tried to call the responsible person, but he did not pick up and did not call us back for 1 hour. For about 1 hour in the middle of the night we did not know if we could get into the hotel that night or where we should stay the night! It was a really bad experience and we were really disappointed about it.

    rooms are really spacious

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable bed, good breakfast for a very reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed, good breakfast for a very reasonable price. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Hotel is close to the train line which makes it easier to get around the city. Lots of great cafes and shopping around the corners. Way less touristy area compared to the centre of the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were initially put in an apartment next to the hotel. Which over looked a car park. It seemed like they were trying to save the nicer rooms for other people.

    Great location Really amazing courtyard and environment Enjoyed the area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Delightful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We should have been made aware that reservation for the evenings was recommended.

    The hotel was very a very convenient location, the staff very helpful printing off our boarding passes and arranging a night time taxi for us. We ate in as the food was very reasonable and tasty. Good atmosphere with locals using the restaurant for birthday parties. Liked the fact that all was quiet at 10 pm. Pretty courtyard to relax in in the evenings. Very happy with our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cost of breakfast increased from 7 Euro to 12 Euro between booking and arriving. 12 Euro is too pricey for the selection and espresso/cappuccino costs are in addition to the 12 Euro. Rooms have windows directly to the corridor that least to other rooms meaning other guests walk directly past your window. Perhaps not for very safety conscious guests or should ask for room going out to the front of the property

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Hello again :-)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    "hello again" - I am a regular already and finally could make use of the courtyard as the weather was very nice. Problem with the WiFi was swiftly solved and it goes without saying that the food was absolutely amazing, as always. Looking forward to the next stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    A hipster hotel with good coffee
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms are a little outdated but since they're not advertising themselves as a luxury hotel it wasn't a big surprise. The price/comfort ratio isn't great but the location is.

    The courtyard is nice and the coffee too. Staff are friendly. The rooms are tastefully decorated with nice little touches. Seems like a good place to come as non-hotel guests for dinner and drinks at the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    The room and the bed was comfortable and quite big ones.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We're looking for a small fridge in the room, but i wasn't. The bathroom with the toilet hasn't got window, just a vent.

    The room and the bed was comfortable and quite big ones.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay in Vienna!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to mention, everything was good!

    The design is amazing, I loved it. And the terrace also, very cosy place for all the sharing areas. The food at restaurant was delicious, I recommend it! The room design was simple, but still in the same style and great. The facilities were good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Super 4 days in Vienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mentioned above

    Friendly atmosphere in hotel. Apartment was lovely if a little sparsely furnished, no TV or safety deposit box as led to believe when booking. Close to underground as well as waking distance to city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for a young couple to explore Vienna, great location with just enough comforts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows could be a bit more substantial. There was quite a bit of noise from the courtyard restaurant below as well as other guests coming and going outside of our windows.

    Perfect location in walking distance to shops and the city center. Large comfy and clean room. Great mid-century styling cues.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Funky, vintage place in the best part of town with a good restaurant and a great courtyard. Special!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Awesome retro-chic place, in a perfect locale. The best part of town. The courtyard is beautiful, and I'd love to see it again in the summer. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and very funky. The restaurant was delicious and quite reasonable. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice VFM choice for Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -No mini fridge in the room.

    Nice location, excellent breakfast and very helpful staff. The room and the spaces of the hotel are very stylish decorated. They have a great restaurant also with very tasty Thai food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.3
    Location is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is a bit older than what it looks like in the picture but it was clean and comfy.

    Location is nice. Dinner at the hotel is also nice and staffs are very friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.2
    Rooms are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold and the bed next to the window was really cold during the night.

    Rooms are great. Have a very old fashioned vibe but they have a new touch. Love the homey feel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Cool place in a cool part of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are a bit thin, so you can hear outside noises pretty well and there was also a little red light going on and off on the ceiling during the night, but neither are too disturbing overall, just something to get used to.

    The hotel is located in a very good area in Neubau, close to the metro line, lots of cool bars and restaurants and the Wiener Stadthalle, if you're in town for a concert. The facilities are great, the room was very clean and nicely furbished and had all the amenities you need, plus a good selection of snacks and drinks in the minibar. The bed was comfortable as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel with atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    We liked everything, the room was clean and had everything we needed. The staff was also nice and helpful. We liked the mid century design and the atmosphere. Location was good. We will definitely come back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    8.3
    Comfy apartment in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was limited crockery and utensils, however we were able to make do with what was there.

    Excellent location. Very clean. Close to great restaurants and cafes. We walked everywhere, however it's close to the tram lines and only a 10 minute walk to the train station. We stayed in an apartment and it was very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice interior garden, very interesting positions of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After I made the reservation I wrote to the hotel having a request and one question but I received no answer back. Also, when we arrived the lady from the reception told us that, they made in their system reservation for only 1 room not for two as I have done. Luckily they had one room available for us.

    Nice interior garden, very interesting positions of the rooms, most of them having the entrance from the interior terrace. The rooms were clean and big.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.8
    A vey nice cozy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough facilities in the room Reception is not available 24/7

    Clean room The hotel terrace is very nice Staff are friendly Relatively good location with very easy access to buses and train (15 mins away by train from stephensplatz

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.1
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the double bed was actually 2 single beds together, pillows were ridiculously small and flat, water pressure was uncomfortably strong

    the location was very close to the shopping centre and underground. The Filipino restaurant downstairs was a fun way to meet other guests. The room also had a cabin feel which was quite nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, good size of the room, confortable bed, clean room&bathroom. Limited parking spots in the garage, but really helpful staff that helps to arrange parking if No spots avaliable. Cheap breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    As usual, very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Complicated scenario for connecting ti WIFI. If you need VPN, preare your mobile subscrition.

    As usual, very friendly staff. Clean and quiet. Excellent location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    We highly recommend this great value hotel, would book again should we return to beautiful Vienna!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although there was fruit for breakfast, would have liked fruit salad instead!

    General retro decor and feel of the hotel was very good - very clean room, spacious and well decorated. Attractive courtyard area. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    I would recommend this hotel for anyone who is concerned with budget and wants central location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was fine but nothing special. The TV didn't work and would have like access to English news stations (BBC, CNN).

    The location was excellent and it was a good value for the money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    It was comfortable small hotel, in very good location (~5min...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was comfortable small hotel, in very good location (~5min t biggest shopping street/metro). People were most helpful as we had very early flight arriving to Vienna and our child was super tired, the staff was able to check us in around noon, instead of 15 o' clock, we were super grateful!!! Breakfast was simple, but very good (fresh bread and good coffee!).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.9
    It’s the kind of hotel that attracts an ‘alternative’ and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s the kind of hotel that attracts an ‘alternative’ and ‘bio’ kind of client - I was surprised to see nothing in that respect done in the hotel (I.e. sustainable toiletry products, bio products at breakfast, etc)...??

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    5.4
    The room was extremely hot in november (~30 celcius), we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was extremely hot in november (~30 celcius), we couldn't turn off the heater, we had to sleep with opened window and still... On the other hand the room was full with mosquitos, we couldn't sleep. As we saw, it wasn't just our problem, because the walls were full with dead (and bloody) mosquitos.. It was disgusting... The value for money is extremely low..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    I will definitely be recommending the Brilliantergrund
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ethos, staff, facilities and individual aesthetics of the hotel. It is unique with an excellent vibe that also supports the arts and caters to creative types. A genuine, warm and hospitable atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Rooms are small/clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Neighborhood is ok, but 25 minute walk/15 minute train to old town

    Rooms are small/clean. Breakfast was nice. Hotel is brimming with personality

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Creative gem in a great area
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved everything about it. Creative, inspiring place, spacious rooms with authentic vibe, good breakfast. Great find in an up and coming area right in the center of Vienna. Truly brilliant. Hope to go back there one day:)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.3
    Rooms were very clean and comfy, breakfast was very nice,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They say hotel is very vintage, and it looks better with photos but in general it was just a nice hotel, nothing too fancy. Do not raise your expectations from pictures, it doesn't look that vintage. I didn't have enough money on my credit card so they cancelled my reservation within 1 attempt, it was not convenient.

    Rooms were very clean and comfy, breakfast was very nice, staff was friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    Almost perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I need slip. That's all.

    Almost perfect. 64Euro is very good price and feeling. Bed makes me comfortable. Very clean washroom. And a small kitchen place gave me big surprise due to i can drink hot water and eat Asian instant noodle....happy to cry~~~

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.3
    Basic accommodation in a cool location, very suitable for cheap short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Somewhat basic in terms of amenities but that is reflected in the price!

    A cute little place in a trendy neighbourhood, close to U-bahn and walkable to central attractions. Run by sweet group of people whose restaurant food reflects their spicy Phillipino approach

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Despite any downsides we would be happy to stay there again, and would recommend to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was stuffy, and it was disturbing when other guests walked past our rooms at night

    Great location, loved the decor, atmosphere was welcoming and laid-back

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful courtyard! Very clean and easy to get to city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything closed pretty early around the area.

    The room and bathroom were very clean and spacious. The sofa bed was surprisingly comfortable. If you're in a rush in the morning- they're buffet breakfast for an extra 7 euros is worth it- croissants, bread, jam, meats, scrambled eggs, cheese, etc. The metro was about a 10 min. walk and just a few stops from the city centre. They have a beautiful courtyard.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.9
    Good pricing/location, but no recommendation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expired chocolate in the minibar, broken shower head (unless you like a single ultra-powerful water jet), ironing only possible in a designated (store)room; quite loud due to the restaurant until 22pm as well as a close by club (or someone who loves to play loud music)

    Friendly stuff and quite a spacious room (single bedroom), great location next to Vienna's famous shopping street "Mariahilfer" as well as one of the main train stations (Westbahnhof); Pricing was awesome as most of Viennese hotels charged more than 100 EUR/night this week.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    Cozy and beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was quite old and would need some renovation but it was good enough for us. WiFi didn´t work so well at the room.

    The hotel was very cozy and beautiful. Location was perfect for us and there was lots of restaurants and cafes near by. There was also restaurant at the hotel but we didn´t have enough to time to spend our time there, which is shame. In addition MuseumsQuartier was quite close. I would be happy to stay there again, atmosphere and interior was great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.8
    Breakfest very rich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We ordered an appartement and got a flat in a next building. No TV, no wardrobe. beds very old, approx. 20 -80 years, bought somewhere on flea market = very small and creaking. We love this hotel but this flat never more !!!!!

    Breakfest very rich.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.5
    I like the style of the hotel and quiet neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first days if you come down to breakfast round 9.00 there was little left, or No bread, egg ect. You have to ask for it. Friday and saturday much better. Very thin walls at the rooms.

    I like the style of hotel and the yard to enjoy breakfast and the 50 look inside

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.9
    Cool hotel with a very good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there during a heat wave and there's no air conditioning. Also the pullout couch was not very comfortable (not surprising).

    Cool hotel with a very good restaurant. Staff were helpful. Close to Maria Hilfer Strasse.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Room decor great, Bed comfy, breakfast tasty!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi a little patchy and fiddley to get online initially. But to be fair we wanted to check out the city so this didn't bother us too much

    Room decor great, Bed comfy, breakfast tasty! Thank you for the great filipino meal as well! Great location to explore the city, we walked most days and borrowed a city bike on our final day to head swiftly to the nearby MuseumQuarter and the Klimt and Shiele exhibitions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    This hotel is a magical find in the heart of Vienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is a magical find in the heart of Vienna. It is quirky and delightful. The staff were exceptionally friendly and the food was great. We would readily book again to explore more of the city. This hotel is exceptional value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Exceeded our expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were clean and sufficient. The hotel courtyard area was gorgeous, and the breakfast was delicious and very well priced! The staff gave us some great recommendations for restaurants. Parking was easy - we parked at the hotel parking spot in a garage right across the street. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.1
    Outdated but nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are outdated and in need of urgent work. The carpet has seen better days also.

    The hotel is perfectly located. It is close enough from great restaurants, bars and shops, but in a quiet and charming area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    4.2
    Not as charming as pictures would suggest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and very stuffy rooms. Although the room was marked nonsmoking, it had a heavy odor of smoke. Dirty carpet. Hard mattress.

    The courtyard is pretty.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    A hotel with heaps of personality in a terrific neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    * Wifi access in the room (203) was sporadic. It only functioned if we were right next to the windows, and sometimes not even then. Most of the time, I had to stand in the doorway. The network is also open, not secured. * The room wasn't serviced the second day, so I had to ask for that. And I don't think the glasses were swapped for clean ones in the four days we stayed. * Not really a problem, but note that the only toiletries are a small soap dispenser on the sink and a small shampoo dispenser in the shower. * Recommend that guests check the floor around the shower after taking one, since our room had a pretty good-sized leak. * An in-room kettle would be a great addition (however the bathroom tap had water hot enough to make tea). Regardless of the above, though, I'm pleased we stayed here. The owners obviously have a great deal of pride in the premises.

    * Everyone comments on the courtyard...for great reason. There's plenty of room, it's ideal for meeting up or just lounging around, and food and drink are always available. * The staff enforces a quiet time on the courtyard at 10 p.m., which allows for a nice balance between those who want to socialize and guests who prefer quieter nights. * The individualized room decor. Rooms are visually interesting. The whole hotel has a hipster vibe without being obnoxious about it. * Fan in the room * Seating area with small table and two chairs * Tons of storage space, ideal for longer stays * Multiple devices can be logged onto wifi simultaneously * Bathroom has a magnifying mirror * Huge tea selection in the dining room * Fresh squeezed orange juice (DIY) * Efficient and helpful staff, especially attentive to anyone in the cafe area * About a 15-min. level walk from the Westbahnhof * The area - Neubaugasse - is terrific for cafes, restaurants, and funky little shops. The Museums Quartier is only about a 20-min. walk away (or the #49 tram can be caught at the end of the block).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Off beat pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowt

    Lovely courtyard with flower baskets, quirky and pleasant place to eat, but book early. Breakfast included was good standard with freshly pressed orange juice available . Handy for stadium and old town. Nice variety of eating places.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.3
    the room was very nice and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    slightly far from the city center, about 20 mins walk. we were hoping for something closer, but this was definitely not bad.

    the room was very nice and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Sweet and comfy place to enjoy Vienna!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is super nice, with an incredible backyard to have relaxed breakfasts and lo ely dinners. Super clean and confortable rooms to spend time resting after your journeys. The personal is 100% friendly and kind. 100% recommended!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    A charming and friendly hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel Wi-Fi was the only poor thing - it only worked in one corner of our room and the signal dropped out frequently.

    The staff at the Brillantegrund could not have been more helpful, even letting us leave our luggage in storage for a few days while we popped to Bratislava. The room was lovely and the hotel itself is charming, with a lovely courtyard for breakfast, and wondeful Filipino food for dinner. We would definitely book again next time we visit Vienna, especially as the Neubau district is so well situated and great for shopping.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.9
    Cheap but charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The free wi-fi is sometimes hard to connect, do not count on that. If you book a single room, expect a single bed. Curtains are a bit too light to block the sun in the morning.

    Every room is different, very charming patio and quiet setting in the city, yet very close to a main shopping street and 30-min walk to the center. Extremely well-cleaned rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    4.6
    Not so great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security lock didn't work, pillows were lumpy, could feel springs in bed, ridiculously warm, only one keycard available per room, Internet was spotty at best quickly ran out of coffee at breakfast, small shower

    Wasn't too expensive for Vienna, free printing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel, I highly recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent, we had a very pleasant stay at the hotel Am Brillantengrund. The room was very spacious and well equiped, the bathroom was spotless clean, breakfast very good and fresh. The personnel always kind and helpful. The hotel is placed in a good area, close to the center and there is also a playground in front of it, for the families with children. We also liked the possibility to park the car in a subterran parking across the street. Great choice, we'll definately come back again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.6
    Stylish place in a cool neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice and stylish hotel, room was comfortable and clean. Great neighborhood, more alternative and hipster, with great restaurants and bars nearby. Also the restaurant at the hotel was very good. Overall very good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.8
    Lovely family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You notice it at once this is a family hotel and they have amazing staff. You never have the feeling that you are a number but you are invited. The courtyard is very nice espec. with nice weather. The extra touch to put a fan in the room because it was warm, perfection. We loved the style in this hotel and around the corner are enough shops and bars.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.8
    Nice, well kept, and efficient property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It stayed a bit noisy until after midnight, with some music and the noise of working and cleaning penetrating to the first floor room. Price was a little high.

    Great, friendly, helpful staff. I rented a single room, and the pictures accurately portrayed it as being small...but it was perfectly adequate and very well laid out for comfort for one person. It was surprisingly well equipped for a tiny room. For example there was a hair dryer, drying rack, small desk, tv, small dresser, etc. very well maintained property with nice dining area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    5.4
    Nice in a quirky way, NOT for business travel and efficiency
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Do not stay here is you want efficiency and business travel facilities. The bathroom was minimal with the door taking up half of it (When open). If you want to iron a shirt (for a meeting for example) you will need to go down to the laundry facilities and hang out in a tiny little corner among piles of laundry. Different and interesting, OK, but not if you are in a hurry and want to get work done. This might be a vacation holiday with a different character, but not a business dito.

    Its a nice hideaway, with a pleasant coffee/diner downstairs and a nice yard if the weather is good. living room + bedroom, lot of space if you aim to hang out at the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.5
    Nice and clean hotel nearby the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Little bit noisy in the evening due to the restaurant in the courtyard.

    Very nice place overall, especially the courtyard. Stylish furniture. Friendly staff. Good parking place nearby for extra fee.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.1
    Nice stay but not very quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were in was quite noisy, we could hear what was going on in the hallway and hear kids early in the morning. So no real lie in for us in the morning, and we had earplugs. Shower was disappointing in room 107, the shower head was more like a garden hoose really, not very nice unfortunately.

    I liked the location, style of the hotel, fact that you can leave your luggage there after you have checked out if you don't want to carry it with you all day.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.3
    Cool hotel would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was windy and rainy for most of our 4 days there, and at night you could hear stuff flapping in the wind - might have been the plastic awnings. But unavoidable I reckon due to the original design of the hotel there needs to be shelter to get to your room (rooms have a shared balcony/walkway area that is otherwise unsheltered). This is not your standard hotel but it makes up for it as it has got lots of character and good vibes.

    Bed was very comfy and breakfast was sufficient. Staff were all very friendly especially the guys at the restaurant. We had dinner at the restaurant one night - food was very good. Cocktails were great worth the price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.5
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    out of 3 days of stay wi fi was not working for 2 days :(

    Location is great! just in 10' walking distance from Museum Quarter and 5' from metro station. Rooms are clean, staff are nice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little noisy in evenings if you are trying to sleep early (before 10pm) as the rooms face onto restaurant courtyard.

    Everything was clean and comfortable. Decor is cool. Staff very helpful. In great local area with loads of shopping and restaurants. Food at hotel restaurant was awesome.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Am Brillantengrund traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: