Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel am Dom 4 stars

Goldgasse 17, Altstadt, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

#5 of 110 hotels in Salzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 589 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Outstanding. Would definitely return!
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was slow to drain.

    Staff was friendly and helpful (arranged taxis for us twice and printed a bus schedule for getting to Schladming). Room was quiet, clean and very comfortable. Location was amazing... in the heart of old town, where restaurants, shopping, museums and attractions were literally outside the door!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Sensational stay in Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road near the hotel isn’t open most of the time to cars. We had to park outside the restricted area and get a pass to drive up near the hotel. Honestly, the parking lots aren’t far from the hotel, so parking and carrying luggage is another option. This was a small inconvenience.

    The location is absolutely perfect. We were able to go out exploring and stop by the hotel for a break because the hotel is close to all of the major attractions and shopping! The room was very nice and quiet even though we were close to lots of activity. The staff members at the desk were always very polite and helpful. This is our 3rd trip to Salzburg, but our first stay at Hotel am Dom. We plan to return and we wouldn’t stay anywhere else!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    We had an excellent stay at Hotel am Dom however comparably it was not great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room layout and lack of privacy with toilet.

    Location and staff were excellent as was the included breakfast. However the layout of the room was disappponting. It felt very small and the toilet was not very private.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.3
    overshadowed by bad problem handling
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower was not providing warm water when i first wanted to use it, after an intense day of meetings - i had to use very cold water to remove the soap already applied... when i addressed myself to the reception, there was no immediate help, instead i learned later in the evening that i should let the water run for 5 min. which i obviously had done before, trying to get warm water. after that, i was referenced to 'the manager' who would be available the next morning - i then decided to give up and see whether the issue would be mentioned during checkout. which was not the case. not my idea of professionally handling a problem.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Well-designed and comfortable boutique hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Water pressure in the shower was not great. However, my friends who stayed in another room did not have the same problem.

    Although a single room, very cleverly designed with a roomy feel. Very nice bathroom. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    3.8
    Non-working wifi, poor management
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Management here is terrible and indifferent. Don't count on wifi working in your room! We politely spoke to the front desk many times over our 3-night stay about it not working. It was clear the woman didn't really care or simply didn't believe us. I told them the hotspot with the strongest signal didn't accept the password they gave us like the weaker ones did, but they made no effort to fix it despite saying she'd call the manager. After we checked out, we ran into the manager, who had the worst attitude about the situation, making no apologies, and giving no indication he ever planned to fix the issue. Also, be aware they have no coffee or hot water maker in the rooms or the hallway. There's no shampoo or conditioner in the rooms (only a bottle that is your shampoo, conditioner, and body soap). There's no microwave in the hotel. Also, be aware there's a 15-minute walk to the parking. These last things are forgivable, but their bad attitude and not wanting to fix the wifi is not. And it's not that it's an old building where they can't get a signal to the room. I have a BA in computer science and trust me, they could fix it if they cared too.

    Excellent location and eclectic decor was rather fun.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    Cozy hotel with a great location right in the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a great experience at the hotel, up until check-out. Upon check-in the girl at the front desk made it sound as though breakfast was included with the room. When we went to check-out we were informed that this was not in fact the case and were billed for the breakfast. The breakfast was good and we did eat it, so we were fine to pay for it. However, when I tried to pay with my VISA, the man at the front desk said no and took ~1.5 euros off the price and told me that he was giving me a discount so he wanted cash. We were near the end of our trip and were trying to ration our cash at that point, so I said that I would rather not have the discount and pay with my credit card (which I know that they have the facilities to accept, as they just ran the room charges through on my VISA). The man then said that cash was the only thing he wanted and we were forced to pay cash. I wish that 1) we hadn't of been mislead to believe that breakfast was included, and 2) that we were not forced to pay cash for something when there were credit card capabilities on the premises. It was a bit of a shame to end our stay on this note, as our stay had been great until that point. Additionally, the room was a little on the small side and the shower door hit against the bathroom vanity sometimes when opening and closing, which made us a little nervous that the glass would break. Lastly, there was no hair conditioner in the shower, though, some of our other hotels in Austria also didn't have hair conditioner, so that might just be standard there.

    Two of us stayed at Hotel Am Dom for one night. It was in a fantastic area of Salzburg, just steps away from some of the main sights and right in the charm of the old city. The hotel was cozy, charming and clean. The staff was friendly during check-in and throughout most of our stay. They assisted us in making a phone call and offered to store our luggage for us after check-out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I really would have loved was a kettle / tea and coffee making facilities in the room for my early morning cuppa

    Saima at fro by desk was super friendly and helpful. Shower was great and room clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.1
    Suitable for a one night stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi hardly worked at all. I identified myself as a solo traveler and got a room of the size of a night train compartment. If I was there for pleasure, no offense. But when you are there on business, after a long and stressful day you want to come back to a spacious room with a double bed. The room I was given has never appeared on the photos, so there was no way to even imagine one can end up with that. Not even close to an international 4* standard. 3* would be a fair certification rating. But unfortunately it’s a common thing for Salzburg hotels - they have their own standards of certification.

    Very well located just a few steps away from the House of Festivals. Recently renovated. Very friendly and welcoming staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    modern comfort and style in the old part of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Synthetic duvet and pillows, goose down would have been much better. No tea/coffee making facilities in room.

    The perfect location. Lovely helpful staff. Great breakfast. Tip: book direct with the hotel and the breakfast’s included.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Great staff, huge comfortable room , tasty breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of separate room for bathroom wouldn't suit everyone although there is a partial wall, privacy glass etc

    Great staff, huge comfortable room , tasty breakfast and perfect location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    OK
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was too simple for my taste, not enough coffee :/ 12 € was too much for it. The room was nice, in the 3rd floor. Very peaceful, I slept very well. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. I´ll be back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.6
    PERFECT Adorable Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a little bit of a walk from the train station (15+ min) but there are a few buses or you can take a taxi. The rooms were a bit cold, but the staff turned the heat on when asked.

    Was pleasantly surprised at the PERFECT location of this hotel. It could not have been on a prettier street. Right in the middle of everything and surrounded by so many perfect shops and cafes. The room was quite big and had all the amenities you could need as well as beautifully decorated. The staff was helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Perfect Christmas getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The proximity to the Christmas markets was awesome.The owner and staff were very kind and helpful. Architecture was a combination of old and new which made it all the more interesting and cool.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.8
    The hotel is located in the old town on a narrow pedestrian...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would've liked an electric kettle in the room, as all 5 other properties from this trip had them. And the minibar fridge had barely enough room in it to add a chunk of cheese.

    The hotel is located in the old town on a narrow pedestrian street. It's very convenient for exploring the historic part of the town. The hotel staff was very helpful. Though reception is not staffed 24/7, the hotel receptionist did help arrange taxi service for departure prior to their arrival in the morning. (My flight was at 7:10 am.) My reservation didn't include breakfast, and I found a bakery half a block away that had coffee and opened daily at 6:30 am.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Amazing stay as always!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Repeat visitors to this amazing hotel. Always friendly and welcoming and perfect for visiting the Christmas market and the rest of this wonderful town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    I would return. Also recommend Bob's Special Tours for a great time in and around the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little hot since they had just turned off the AC and there was no way to cool the room down except to open the windows.

    Rooms were very cozy and the breakfasts were great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.8
    A great city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast room is a little cramped

    The location is excellent and the staff are very friendly with excellent English. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast is good and competitive with local cafe's

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you love boutique hotels with a lot of character, this is the place for you! The room, bed, bathrooms are excellent! We will definitely go back to Hotel AM Dom. The staff is so friendly and the location is fun. The one negative is that the area was a little noisy at night. Next time we will just remember to take earplugs!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    This hotel is in a good location in the old town of Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room could have been larger. Hotel is Art Deco which really didn’t fit into the Historic location.

    The best part of this hotel was the location. It is within walking distance of cafes, restaurants, shopping, churches and historic attractions. It is in the old town of Salzburg. The room size was okay but there wasn’t room to store two suitcases. There was one chair to sit on. I should have booked a deluxe room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Location, location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic location centered in the heart of old town. Easy walking to all of the major sites and across the river to new town. Bed was very comfortable. Enjoyed the waterfall walk-in shower. Traditional breakfast with selection of breads, meats, cheese, fruits, and made to order eggs. Coffee was outstanding.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Absolutely beautiful, could not be in a better spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely beautiful, could not be in a better spot. Stepped out into old town right in front of fountains and gorgeous buildings. The decor was stunning and my single room was very comfortable. The man at the front was very polite and helpful, dressed in his lederhosen.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Quaint Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since the property is right in town with narrow roads, you had to park under the mountain in the large parking garage (I think 99% of people have to park here). It was not a bad walk but was raining.

    The room was beautiful. Everything looked updated; however, the tub was just off the entryway. It is perfect for a couple but I would not recommend that specific room if friends were sharing it (and one wanted to use the tub). Overall, loved the hotel, ambiance, quaintness, majority of the staff (one of the women working should probably find another type of job - customer service was not at the top of her list). The room did not come with breakfast but we found a nice restaurant around the corner. All in all, I would stay here again; it's very close to everything!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    A superb four nights in Salzburg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I doubt if the Sacher has a better hotelier than Josef Klingler. He was fantastic. Incredibly helpful, extraordinarily friendly. We cannot say enough about him. His hotel is a boutique hotel not more than 50 meters from Dom Platz, the best landmark for orienting yourself in Old Town Salzburg. Breakfast was excellent, room was comfortable, and everything is in order and spic and span. We don't need a lot of hand-holding when we travel, but if you do I don't think there is a better place to stay in Old Town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Very nice design hotel in the heart of Salzburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi could be a bit better, sometimes the connection was lost (room 308)

    Has a very good location, in the heart of Salzburg. Very beautiful designed rooms, next time I will book here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    Salzburg suprised us a lot!!! The trip to the salt mine at Bertechsgaden was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pleasant and very helpfu staff. Location in the centre of EVERYTHING. Everything was within walking distance. The OLD TOWN of Salzburg is closed for traffic but you are given a code to enter the zone to unload and load your luggage. Super!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel in the heart of Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful hotel in fantastic location, right in the heart of the pedestrian area of the old town. The staff and owner Josef were very kind and the service was perfect. The breakfasts were superb with many delicious options and even made-to-order eggs. The rooms were lovely, stylish, very clean and nicely appointed with all the modern amenities. We were so happy that we chose this hotel and will be back on our next visit to Salzburg.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Absolutely lovely!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As above, the lack of tea/coffee-making facilities in the rooms!! That was a big disappointment and inconvenience.

    Everything EXCEPT the lack of tea/coffee-making facilities in the rooms!! That was a big disappointment and inconvenience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice staff and convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room decor would appeal to some, but I am not fond of shag carpet (purple) or the lights which were decorative but uncomfortably bright.

    The staff was extraordinarily thoughtful, including preparing a full breakfast for us even when we overslept the appointed time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Charming boutique hotel in great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We love the Hotel am Dom. This was our second time to stay and would stay there again. We love Salzburg and this hotel is in the perfect location, right on the old square, minutes from all of the sights. It is a small boutique hotel and the decor reflects just that. It is modern, a bit quirky (with not too serious Mozart art), but fun. The bathroom was clean and well equipped and the room was sufficiently generous. Our room was quiet and the AC worked well (it was very hot while we were there). The only drawback is the breakfast. It is not included and the selection is limited. They will prepare eggs for you, but our friends were not aware of this and were disappointed. (But if you go around the corner, Cafe Tomaselli has an incredible breakfast for about the same cost). Salzburg has the claim to the oldest restaurant in the world, St. Peter Stiftskeller. We ate there for lunch, it was charming and delicious, don't miss out on that, make a reservation ahead.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    A little gem in Saltzberg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike. It is expensive but we were happy to pay for great location for 1 night.

    I loved everything about this hotel. Very modern, clean and fresh decor. Location is amazing - you are right in the centre of everything. Lovely like touches in bedroom like a proper hairdryer AND a hand mirror so you can see the back of your head. Unfortunately ours was a flying visit and we left far too early to try out their breakfast, so cannot comment on that.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location, design and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of noise from other rooms. Parking is difficult to find, but that is not the hotel's fault, we are talking about Salzburg! Rooms beautiful but smallish

    Location, staff, design, excellent air conditioning and wifi.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Loved Hotel am Dom and Salzburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    They were fabulous! Fresh omelettes, fresh bread, fruit every morning. The staff and owner went out of their way to make you feel welcome. Church bells ringing. Loved every minute. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    A great little stylish hotel staff and management with first...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    May be the shower should have more power....but because me I lvestrong shower...9/10!! Otherwise nothing wrong keep that way small smart and sweet like people who run especially the young Jan (.?) lovely soft and gentle attitude with positive attitude like everybody else!

    A great little stylish hotel staff and management with first class people skills beautiful room nice and cosy and comfortable just excellent!Danke segr!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    Would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room lacked any windows to look out of (just sky lights), and the elevator stopped 1 floor short of ours so we had to hoist our bags up/down when checking on/out.

    This is a really small, cute hotel in an ideal location for exploring the old town and finding restaurants. It's on the 'street of gold' that runs parallel to and connects to the main shopping street. The young women at the front desk (particularly Agnieszka) were very friendly and helpful. Our room was nice, with a large jetted tub, and the bed was comfortable. AC and Wi-Fi worked well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.3
    Great location, very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to hotel via private car is tricky.

    Excellent location but getting your car to the hotel to unload luggage is a bit tricky with bollards and codes to be navigated through the pedestrian mall. Hotel will give you the single use code on request. I suggest you obtain this code before your arrival if possible. Staff are helpful but some have a better command of English than others. There is an elevator but does not reach the top floor which is accessible by a flight of stairs. Public parking station is about 500m from hotel. Room very comfortable and well appointed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Amazing boutique hotel experience in the heart of old town Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was exceptional, very friendly and helpful. We were spoiled by the wonderful breakfasts with a variety of choices. The location was ideal for visiting the sights, restaurants, and enjoying the ambiance of Salzburg. Our room was comfortable and modern, a safe was provided, and we loved being In a boutique hotel where there were fewer guests. The staff all spoke very good English and we enjoyed visiting with them. They made every effort to be helpful with directions, get us taxis, and we highly recommend Am Dom to everyone wanting to visit this beautiful city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Friendly and centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Receptionist was excellent: really friendly and helpful. The hotel is very central but on a quiet side street. We had a standard room which was absolutely fine: decent size room and bathroom (shower)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful boutique hotel in heart of Old CIty
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As expected, no parking on site, was a little difficult getting into it since it is in a car restricted area, had to call hotel, punch in several codes for barrier to allow you though, but would definitely go there again

    In the heart of Salzburg's Old Town, great location to travel the city, unique building, especially the breakfast area

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.9
    Right in the heart of Salzburg~ a doe~ a deer~ a female deer~♪
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    May seem a bit pricey as breakfast was not included, but it is expensive to stay in Salzburg in general. The bathroom door is somewhat transparent (it's foggy) and does not have a lock...and stays ajar for about 3 cm... just FYI. The shower has foggy glass but you can see the silhouette of the person taking shower...also another FYI =)

    The location is fantastic! Walk out of the hotel and you will see some of the major tourist sights, and there are plenty of cafes and shops around. It was also easy to get from the train station to the hotel by public transportation (a short bus ride just across the bridge). Hotel is close to the Rathaus bus stop so that made getting around by bus quite easy. Hotel staff was very nice, we checked in earlier so the rooms were not made up yet, but they let us in to put our luggages in our room and had the room cleaned impeccably when we got back from our day excursion. The hotel room and the bathroom are huge! and i liked the big TV. Also, there is an extra bathroom on the first floor, which was right outside our room so it felt like my friend and i did not even have to share a bathroom

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Best boutique hotel in Salzburg !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is awesome, could better if there is coffee corner in the room. :)

    Everything is just awesome at this hotel. The room is well cleaned every day and very spaces. Really thanks a lot for all the attraction information. One of lady staff who from Germany keep checking whether the attraction is open on Easter Day, thank you for being helpful. Also, the manager (should be) gave us austria's calendar. Like it so much !! Definitely will go back again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Love the deluxe room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the deluxe room! Big , clean and lots of cupboard to store our things. Staffs At reception are all friendly and attentive. Location is the best. Easy access to many area of attractions . There are lots of cafes and restaurants around . Supermarket is not very far from the hotel too. We like our 4 days stays ....would come back to stay at this boutique hotel when we come visiting next

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    The location in Old Town Salzburg was perfect, so close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location in Old Town Salzburg was perfect, so close to everything we wanted to see and do. The staff was very helpful and informative as to giving good directions to help us find locations in Salzburg, good restaurants etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.6
    Great Place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, but we did not spend much time there; and the shower leaked. Not a problem for us, but maybe for the cleaning staff?

    The location was perfect, the staff super helpful and gracious!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful hotel in centre of main town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warning: the bathrooms are not closed off from the bedrooms. Just 2 openings. Therefore everything can be heard and seen... if you know what I mean. All fine if you are suitably acquainted with your yellow traveller, but can pose some challenges if you are a little shy.

    Wonderful hotel with kind and helpful staff. Breakfast was nice but pricey (it is a hotel...) Room was beautifully maintained Bathroom facilities were well maintained and very nicely presented Location was incredible

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    9.6
    See Salzburg and stay in this lovely boutique hotel. Comfy, friendly and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would have been good to have tea or coffee making facilities in the bedroom. As the hotel is situated in a very narrow alleyway it is not great for views from your window. But that is a small point.

    The bed was really comfy and the staff really helpful and friendly. We didn't have breakfast as we wanted to try local cafes. The location is superb as walking anywhere to visit sights is so easy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    8.8
    Excellent hotel in an excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been good for the hotel to email the instructions and pin code to get into the square prior to arrival. The intercom on the security gate was very difficult to hear. (the poor intercom was not the hotel's fault)

    The staff was very helpful and pleasant!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location (unless you're driving)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking situation is VERY confusing. Make sure you know where to park before you get there, as this is a pedestrian area with no vehicle access. It was over 40 Euro to park for two nights in a nearby garage. Also, our room was VERY warm, and there was no way to adjust the heat. Fortunately the street is very quiet so we slept with the window open, but it was 25 degrees in our room the first night!

    Maybe the best location you could find in Salzburg! Everything is nearby, and the street is quiet enough that we slept with the window open. Nicely refurbished.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.2
    A very beautiful hotel in the heart of Salzburg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bit pricey since breakfast is a plus. Could have been excellent if the breakfast was included in the price.

    Excellent decoration! Colors of the room with combination of the light from windows (on our 3rd floor room) = positive energy room! Spacious room and cozy bathroom. Central location and at the same time very quiet. Helpful staff. Clean - we stayed for 3 nights and every day was cleaned and tidy! Nice breakfast. I highly recommend it!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    7.9
    Small hotel on the "gold shops" street in old town. Close walk to all the sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to find and the tiny street not really accessible for a taxi, so a little bag drag. Accomidations in a loft bedroom were only accessible after some stairs were climbed, and had tiny windows..

    The reception man, Siama was very helpful, and brought our bags up the stairs to our room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    10
    Perfect city hotel in Salzburg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is perfect for all the main tourist attraction. If you arrived by car you must park at the right place as there are many parking to choose from and the right one is the closest with hotel discount too. You can check with the hotel prior to your arrival, it is called Altstadt parkgarage B. The room is so convenient, well thought of in every details, there is enough space to put and hang your clothes in, the room is spacious. It's a perfect city hotel. The receptionist were very helpful and polite too. I donot remember his name but remeber that he's oroginally from Egypt and spoke very good english.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    9.2
    Lovely boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radiator heater only worked one night of the 4 we were there but we had the aircon on heating so radiator was not required.

    Great size room w lovely spa bath.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    9.6
    It is small, tasteful, and wonderfully located for every...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would have liked tea-making facilities in the room; and the Wifi was less than optimum.

    It is small, tasteful, and wonderfully located for every attraction in Salzburg.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    10
    Treasure in Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything about this hotel is fabulous starting with its location right off Residentzplatz. The rooms are extremely comfortable. The breakfast was also great. The staff of this hotel is extremely helpful and warm and the hotel owner Josef went out of his way to help us. He personally drove us to a spa and wellness facility and some local sightseeing. Thank you Josef, Saima and all the staff at Am Dom for making our trip memorable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    10
    VERY COOL HOTEL WITH PERFECT LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best location in Salzburg and close to all the sights. The lobby was very hip and beautiful. Hotel has an elevator. The huge whirlpool bathtub in the middle of the room was awesome. Cool furniture and super comfy bed. Loved this place and will definitely be back!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    8.3
    Located just off the Residenzplatz, the hotel is in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel's guest rooms are small. The lobby and breakfast area also are small. Of the four room categories, we were in the third highest and our room was, well, small. This isn't a complaint - it is a statement of fact. While smaller than we expected, we did like our room. However, if you prefer spacious rooms, this may not be the place for you. If you like a great location and a well-prepared room, this hotel is a good choice. Overall we were happy with Hotel Am Dom. My only real complaint is about the service we received at check-in. We arrived late because our train was delayed, but the woman manning the desk didn't provide an overview of hotel services or room amenities. As a result, we didn't know how to operate the heat (there were no instructions in the room) and we didn't located the hairdryer until our last day (it was in a hidden drawer under the sink).

    Located just off the Residenzplatz, the hotel is in a central position, making it easy to walk to many attractions. It is right on the edge of the old, pedestrian area of town, which is very nice. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom, though small, had good lighting and a good shower.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    Perfect boutique hotel with great service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a small boutique hotel so you don't get room service or a gym, but why would you need it in a city like Salzburg with so much to explore.

    Comfy beds, spotlessly clean, friendly staff, great location. This was our third stay at this hotel and it is consistently outstanding.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    6.7
    Central location in beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have expected more for the money: No hair conditioner. No bathrobes. Breakfast not included if booked via booking.com.

    Excellent location. Cute and modern/ stylish room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    10
    Good Place to Stay in Salzburg (old town center)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have no complaints.

    Breakfast buffet was good, staff extremely helpful and friendly. Gave excellent dinner recommendations as well as other local information. The location is a few feet from the main square in the old center. Very convenient.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    9.2
    Fab little place in the heart of the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Lovely room with private bathroom on the top floor. Clean, tidy, helpful staff, everything we needed. Location was fantastic and shops, city, buses, restaurants, bars and Christmas markets all in the door step. Would recommend!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.6
    Loved the Hotel dom!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More lighting. Was a little too dark for finding black clothes in the suitcase. A better bathroom vent.

    Location was #1. Personnel - great!! Very helpful. Facilities- Awesome!! Very clean & comfortable. Great food!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    Hidden Gem in Salzburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather was terrible;) Which has nothing to do with this place. This place is phenomenal.

    I liked EVERYTHING! Josef the owner was fabulous. He takes a lot of pride in his hotel and is a wonderful reference for things to do and see. This place is cozy and located in a fabulous spot in Salzburg. Walking distance to every place we wanted to go. There are no children and pets allowed here, so it was quiet. The decor is amazing and his staff is wonderful as well. Totally recommend this place! For what you pay vs what you get, this place is steal!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.6
    The location of the hotel is great, close to all the shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is great, close to all the shops. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The history of the hotel building was quite interesting. Hotel staff were very courteous and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    8.8
    Lovely boutique hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely boutique hotel in great location. Spacious room nicely combining contemporary furnishings within old building. Short walk from parking garage.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.2
    Perfect Location !!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed wasn't as comfortable as I had hoped, but nothing to make me not want to stay there again. Bedding and pillows were lovely.

    Perfect location. Convenient to everything. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.1
    Great location,clean and comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although we already paid the rate of the room for whole of our stay,the reception girl in graveyard shift put our luggage out of the room without my coordination in mistake and had very bad behavior in stead of apologizing.

    The boss and manager were so much kind and polite people & give us good city information.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    The location, the breakfast and the charm of a small hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, the breakfast and the charm of a small hotel. Everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Friendly and helpful staff members
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff members Great location in old town

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice boutique hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a deluxe room. It had a sofa and a bathtub in the room which was great but only two skylights for "windows".

    Great location!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    The location is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee making facility in the room

    The location is amazing! The staff super friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Love it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location and friendly staff. The hotel is so beautifully decorated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.4
    Not value for money hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon was not working during that time for the entire hotel so it was very hot during the afternoon. Facilities were just so-so. Not value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    Easy walking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of something . Maybe pump or anything is working almost the time.

    Easy walking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic room, very modern & spacious with sofa & fridge. Excellent location, great staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    I think I should have been warned that the windows in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think I should have been warned that the windows in the highest floors are quite small. I felt a little bit uncomfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: