Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Das Opernring Hotel 4 stars

Opernring 11, 01. Innere Stadt, 1010 Vienna, Austria

#62 of 316 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1533 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.3
    Value for money hotel at a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms at the street side are a bit noisy, although the windows are pretty sound proof.

    Comfortable hotel at a very good location next to the Opera building and walking distance to most attractions. Value for money, but nothing special.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    We were in an excellent location, where we felt comfortable and very welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No fresh milk to make a coffee in the room. Lack of access to English language television programmes. However, perhaps we should have been at the opera!

    The staff were wonderful and supportive and the whole experience was excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Hotel with old charm in the excellent location to explore Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lobby, no toilets on the ground floor, poor lights for reading

    Excellent location (5-minutes walk to MuseumQuartier, KHM..., 2-minutes walk to the main street, Albertina, Sacher hotel) and breakfast, friendly stuff. Recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location, lovely hotel, fantastic suite room with a view, very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all was great

    Fantastic hotel with traditional Austrian theme, upgraded to a suite room for my girlfriends birthday which was amazing on the part of the hotel, really nice staff. Lovely breakfast with good choice of options. Room had a balcony looking out towards the opera which was a stunning view. Very clean hotel too definitely would recommend. Perfect location too close to all the main sights!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    I arrived early in the morning, at 08.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I arrived early in the morning, at 08.00 o'clock. The receptionist was a wonderful guy whose name was Yigal Altschuler. He checked me in just an hour later without any additinal payment. I did not have to wait until 14.00. The room was magnificent and I paid just 82USD for a night. A super price for such a downtown place. Everything is in walking distance. The room was spacious and clean, with a balcony to the street side with a view to opera building.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfectly located, huge rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One bin for that size room is inadequate. Coffee was undrinkable.

    Huge room with ample ameneties and amazing location. Tram, metro and bus stops a few steps away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    A good hotel in an ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was all good.

    The room was large and spacious, looking out on to the street you could see the Opera House. Very quiet even with a lot of traffic

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellently located property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is opposite the State Opera and this is centrally located. Rooms have an air of past regalia and this was a bonus for us. Lift is small, so if you have luggage and there are two people, then it will be a bit stiff. Breakfast was good, not to exhaustive, neither too bare. Coffee was good and so is the view out of the large windows.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.1
    Location of the hotel is excellent, right across from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel itself appears to be going along other, non-hotel apartments. So - there are regular folks living there, which makes it a bit awkward. The room itself is spacious and clean. However, it would say it is kinda' worn out and whoever decorated it didn't spend too much time thinking about creating an atmosphere. It's not that bad that you wanna run out and sleep on the streets instead - but it's not a room that's extremely inviting. Beds were comfortable though.

    Location of the hotel is excellent, right across from the State Opera. Easy to get to the Inner Stadt.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location. However staff needs to be more engaging
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested them for making us cheese mushroom omelette as they only had scrambled eggs but they refused. Same breakfast menu for 4 days. No change.

    Location was perfect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Excellent location for cultural activities and sights. Close to many restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the desk staff not as friendly or funny as Harald. You really have to be dressed properly to go to the Staatsoper or the Volksoper. If not, you get treated with disdain.

    Harald at the front desk was a real source of information and helpfulness. Excellent range at breakfast; overflow to lounge provided very convenient additional space. Within short walking distance of the Staatsoper, and many trams.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Staff has improved my room without additional payment, give...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff has improved my room without additional payment, give me a lot of useful information about all interesting places. Moreover- very comfortable location;)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel perfectly located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very avarage and no fruit selection. No down pillows available at the hotel

    People at the front desck were amazing The location of the hotel can not be better

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location in Vienna!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff members were really friendly, the room was clean and comfortable with much-needed air conditioning, and the breakfast was lovely. Location was perfect for our stay in Vienna!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant place to stay in Vienna. Would love to come back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was usual...choice could have been better.

    The location, location and location. It is across the road from Opera and city center is walking distance. Lots of cafes and restaurants around. Hop on & hop off buses stop, Vienna walking tour stops are nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wonderful location. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I was upgraded at check-in to a bigger room with balcony and nice view of the Opera house. Good breakfast. I've really enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    The location was brilliant, within easy reach of everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was the road noise, as we were on the mezzanine level, right on the Ringstrasse. It wasn’t unbearable, nor could it be helped, but it was somewhat noticeable, as any property in a major city would be, especially being on the first floor. Please note that it was not a major issue at all and came with its benefits, such as having a great view of the Ringstrasse and Opera House.

    The location was brilliant, within easy reach of everything - Trains, Trams, the Hop On Hop Off Buses and most of the top sights were within easy walking distance. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were plentiful. Our room was simple, comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Value for money stay in Vienna
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It missed a lampshade for better light in the evening and ventilation I had to rely on ac and ac was small for the room Would have been great if hotel had a bar where you can socialize with others

    They upgraded me to junior suite which was very large room and comfortable Location is great few steps from the opera Breakfast was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Absolute City Center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decorations are a bit outdated, but the location and the price compensate it.

    Definitely the location, it's about 2 minutes from the Opera and the Hofburg. But everything else is in walking distance. The room is big, nice bathroom and comfy bed. They have very good staff, helpful, professional and nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our welcome wasn't brilliant. A huge queue with only one person behind the reception desk. Unbelievably slow and not even an apology for the wait or an acknowledgment to other waiting - it was almost out the door. Having been up since 3am we really just wanted to put our bags down and change. Our room wasn't ready so I was told 'toilets on floor 3'. I wasn't shown the lift (which is a very old fashioned lift behind a door, not a modern lift), so I walked the 6 flights of stairs to the toilets (which should really be on a lower floor). We were asked for our passports and weren't given a map or any information about local attractions. When we returned to see if our room was ready later, the queue was long again and carried on well behind us with a big group. Whilst being seen, the person behind the desk shh-ed the group behind very loudly which was very uncomfortable and quite rude. We were asked for passports again and flung a map which by this point was completely pointless as we had already been out in search of our own. The same could be said at breakfast which was overseen by a person that could have been another guest in very casual clothes and not really a smile or any conversation. Breakfast was quite poor compared to other European destinations we had been this year including Helsinki, Stockholm and Prague. A very small selection, a bowl of peppers and a bowl of tomatoes, a few slices of ham and yoghurts in pots. The croissants were lovely though, the best part about breakfast. Luckily I got a bit of a deal booking this hotel as I would have felt a little 'robbed' had I paid much more.

    Fantastic location. Walking distance to everything, the cathedral, Hofburg, Spanish Riding School, market, main shopping street, restaurants and cafes. Underground station right outside which was super easy to use. Between a 40-50 minute walk from the main station with luggage if coming from the airport. Had we known, we would have tried to negotiate the underground from the main station on our first day, as its quite a walk in hot weather. Rooms were clean enough and spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Very good!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was a bit dark during the day, although there was plenty of sun outside. But this was probably because I asked a quiet room- not to the main street.

    Very good hotel, great location and excellent support from the reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    Excellent for long weekends in Wienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi.

    Continental breakfast, comfortable bed, helpful recepcionist (Harald) excellent location for city visit. Parking possibility in front of the hotel due to saturday early arrival. Weekend no parking fee in Wiena.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Perfect Hotel for A Wonderful Visit to Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, hotel staff- everyone, but special kudos to Harald, breakfast, large, very clean room with free water, tea,instant coffee, robe,slippers, quiet when windows closed even though we were on Opernring.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    A great stay with no hassles!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the coffee was not good, too bitter . There should change the roast or blend.

    The Opernring is a great 4 star hotel and met all the expectations of the standard. The location is excellent especially to get to the airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location and value - would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was helpful when asked, but not engaging or overly friendly

    Location, location, location - this hotel is yards from the Vienna Opera House and right on the trolley line. It is a great starting point for any touring. The included breakfast was good quality and had a large selection. The room as spacious and well appointed - it overlooks a busy street and the windows have been upgraded to minimize noise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Viennese charm, perfect location, beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful building with viennese charm, wonderful breakfast room with a view to the Opera. Helpful staff (thank you Harold) and perfect location for concerts, cafes and museums. ++++

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Amazing location/Old building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old building. There were maintenance works on the building’s facade and there was a scaffolding in front of our balcony, no possible to see the Opera.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Lovely old hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms, although big, could do with some more soft furnishings. Maybe a little couch and table.

    Lovely old hotel. Huge room. Very clean. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Characterful and comfy hotel on a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's interior is a tiny bit dated and due to the old but characterful building the available facilities are a tiny bit limited.

    Very kind and hospitable staff. Very good atmosphere in the hotel, stunning and tasty breakfast buffet. Nice comfy hotel on a superb location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    The room was very huge (almost suite like), complete with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    During the first night (Sunday night, Monday was a holiday), there's a club just beside the hotel that was playing excessively loud music. I have insomniac and even the slightest noise keeps me awake. It died down at about 2am which was not so bad. The other two nights it was extremely quiet so I had no problem with them.

    The room was very huge (almost suite like), complete with a fridge, a safe, some comfy seats and a very large bed. Even the bathroom was larger than I expected, with all toiletries included.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Perfect location, helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit noisy until midnight, music coming from somewhere but I had no trouble sleeping.

    Excellent location and very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was good, lots of choice and the WiFi perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too close to the coffee shop, Aida, where we couldn’t resist the Vienna Icecoffee every time we passed.

    Overall the hotel and service leaned towards the opulent side. I was expecting something a little more gritty. Pictures do not do the property justice. Harold and the weekend front-desk staff were exceptional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room maid service was mostly good, but when I asked for an extra towel,one maid gave it to me and 2 hours later it had been removed. Also I had to request a shower cap.

    Breakfast was very good. The hotel catered to my gluten free sensitivity.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.3
    Good place to sleep
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit old as well as the furniture. The reception could be refurbished to make it nicer since it is the first impression you get when you arrive at the hotel. Also, the keys are old fashion and have to be given to the receptionist every time you go out. The reception is open 24h/7 though.

    The location and the the fact that the the Roman and facilities in general were very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Classical hotel in the center of Vienna with amazingly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    A really kind receptionist lady told us, that they changed our double bed room to a junior suite. Wow! Every receptionist is unbelievably kind, and helpful. The suite is clean, nice, comfy, and it has everything. The hotel is near U-Bahn, tram, and the Opera, and just a minute away from everything. The breakfast is great, and you can listen to classical music while eating it. The hotel is traditional, feels like Vienna itself. I absolutely recommend this hotel to people who love culture, and the classical style of Vienna.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Location is great, breakfast is good, staff is very polite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a renovation of the facade of the hotel going on. We were woke up by the workers one morning. There is no real lobby in the hotel, it's more like an entrance of a building with receptionist. I would say its more like a three star hotel.

    Location is great, breakfast is good, staff is very polite and helpful. Receptionist (I think Herbert) gave us a really good tips what and when to visit certain sights.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Hotel location is great, just accross the opera building and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel location is great, just accross the opera building and 2 min walking distance to city center.. Breakfast is very good, you can find everything you need.. especially very friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.3
    Incredible location, great staff - poor WiFi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - WiFi was horrible. Although my room was in full range of 2 of the Hotel's WiFi Networks, these would constantly break (every ~10 minutes). No LAN Connection to substitute WiFi either. Frustrating if you have to work from your Hotel room. - This is an old Hotel with character, the rooms are not necessarily soundproof. For those of you who are sensitive to noise maybe ask for a room on a higher Level and not one on the same floor as the breakfast lounge (I wasn't bothered).

    - The Hotel has amazing staff and outstanding location. - I was upgraded at check-in to a bigger room with balcony where I could see the Opera House. It was a lovely room with bathroom amenities, sparkling water, kettle, tea and welcome chocolate. - The room heater/radiator was extremely effective - I had to turn it higher than normal as it was -12'C outside. - I would definitely recommend this Hotel for travellers/couples who want to explore Vienna. If I come to Vienna again as a Tourist this Hotel will be my first choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    I feel very happy to stay there!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free Wi-fi is available, but a little slow.

    The staffs told me the way to the museums. They also kept my luggages for some hours after check-out. They were very kind!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.3
    Great position
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The furniture was outdated, toiletries not replaced daily, not really a 4 star hotel in terms of facilities; very noisy during breakfast for the rooms on the 3rd floor, near the breakfast room.

    We got upgraded to a Junior Suite - very big room, nice balcony with view to the Opera, comfortable beds, very good breakfast, position;

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.5
    The location is absolutely perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast deserves a decent coffee.

    The location is absolutely perfect. Tip: ask for a quiet room since it is on a busy street and there is a nightclub. We made this request and were satisfied!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    2.9
    Stay away
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a horrible smell. Sofa in the room looks like it has been gathering body fluids for at least a few decades. I don’t even understand how this hotel ended up getting 4 stars.

    Location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.9
    Very confortable room, quite large, and good bathroom.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I do not have a real "bone"...just consider if you like a cooked breakfast: scrambled eggs should be less "solid"... and the fried speck less salty

    Very confortable room, quite large, and good bathroom. I slept well! Breakfast is on the third floor, and you see the Opera House surroundings. Good selection of fresh breads and croissants; I would suggest to make the scrambled eggs less "solid"... and the fried speck less salty, but all the rest is enjoyable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    I liked the staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the staff very friendly. From the window the view was lovely to the opera. The location of the hotel is very convenient nearby attractions and railway station! Next time I will book a room in this hotel!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Location is the highest benefit of this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was located just above the entrance to the nightclub, making quite a noise all night long (Saturday). Be aware of it if you are light sleeper.

    Location is the highest benefit of this hotel. My room was clean and of fair size.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.9
    great location in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It says the toilette and the drinking water is free that i expect they refill everyday but not. so that makes you feel that's not very consistent. There was huge noise from outside on 27th night until 4am. May be like other guests said there is a night club.

    The manager Harold is very friendly and helpful full of smiles. While other staff are so routine. Location is excellent. you can see that they try to take care of the guest in many ways to strive for 4 stars like slippers, wardrobe design, big room . Breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    The staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the nightclub and street. It disturbed our sleep which was a shame...

    The staff were great. Breakfast buffet was lovely, croissants were the best!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    3.8
    Live a tireless challenge trying to sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you wish to live an endless party night in your own room, please book in Das Operring. MO4 room is a false-double-bedroom situated right on top of the only -apparently- real nightclub in the rather quiet city of Vienna, where you will get the chance to review Beyoncé’s last hits or maybe find yourself waking up 6:00 AM dancing to the hardly-ever-played “DES-PA-CI-TO”. Anyway, just try not to explain the hotel personnel why they should advice their noisy neighbours from the Platzhirsch club to keep the party inside or maybe even check the rooms would be soundproof. The guy from the reception will just stare at you in silence and finally offer you a cookie.

    If you happen to call it “vintage” instead of simply “old”, then it will be a classic for you.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    December 2017 trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say about the property... One thing to note though (not related to the property)...when walking around Vienna, beware of the guys in costume/coats selling tickets to 'classic music/opera/ballet show all-in-one'...I didn't go for it, but upon internet searching a few people have commented about being left disappointed after going along...

    Property is well located. Walking distance to most things in and around the old city area. Military museum and Belvedere around 30-40min walk (depending on your enthusiasm). Staff very friendly and helpful. Harald was working reception most of the time we were there and is very helpful for directions and advice. Second time staying. Would stay again if back in town and it's managed the same.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable and would highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very firm. Only complaint, but it could just be me:)

    Breakfast/coffee was fantastic. Amazingly friendly and helpful staff. Location was perfect for touring Vienna.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Great location, clean but dated hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is quite dated, seems to be in need of renovation, but that is probably why the price is low

    Excellent location close to the Opera, the staff and cleanliness were good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Fantastic, would really recommend this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a little warm, internet signal could be better.

    Nice tea, croissants were very good, staff was very nice, rooms clean, and the gummy bears at the desk were fantastic. PS, there was no option for "travelling with a colleague", so I clicked "friend".

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    A totally enjoyable stay in the heart of Vienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I have a little gripe with was the shower. The shower head was on the wall opposite the shower screen which made showering a little awkward and leaked water on the floor if not positioned properly.

    A really friendly, clean and perfectly situated hotel in Vienna. It’s bang opposite the state opera house and so close to all the major sights. Harold on reception was a real gem, so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very basic & there is a nightclub in the basement which can be heard if you have a room on the mezzanine floor.

    Great staff, great location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.8
    Great location, wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was mediocre at best: specifically, the offerings while decent were very average. I understand that you get what you pay for but at the very least, the meats could have been a bit better than sandwich lunch meat stuck together and it would have been nice to maybe offer a few custom items made to order offered by the waitstaff. My biggest issue was the general noise level in the breakfast room from the very diligent, uber efficient bus boy who could benefit from learning to quietly stack dishes to the constant drone of the two coffee/espresso machines.

    The location was excellent and the staff simply amazing (helpful, friendly and fun). I always love a well preserved old building but since it seems common in Europe to maintain an old exterior but gut or modernize the inside, I was not surprised this had been done to this hotel--although the rooms and dining room were nicely preserved. While there were a few less than perfect aspects of our stay (see below), for the price and especially for the superb location, it was a good experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Perfect place for a short Vienna visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets in the corridors had a little smell of chemicals.

    Breakfast dining room with a great view over the boulevard and the opera theatre. Fantastic location and very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Excellent location and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The location is the best one I have ever seen, Just opposite to the opera and there are trams and metro Just on the right. The staff is very kindly and give very detailed guidance to this city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff was great. The room was spotless and had turn of the century charm. It’s a quaint hotel in a fabulous location. I am definitely staying there again!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    The location was the selling point, but the rest was underwhelming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is quite outdated. It's also within an actual apartment building, from what I understood, so the layout is a bit odd (like, there is a short staircase to get to the elevator, which means you have to drag your suitcase up the stairs before you can enter the elevator). I asked for a quiet room and was given one that faced the internal "well" of the building, so no view at all...And that would have been fine, except that at 11 PM both Friday and Saturday night, I heard thumping techno music and could not sleep well because of that. The thumping and music went on until past 2 AM. Far from quiet. In addition, the breakfast buffet was underwhelming, as compared to some of the other places I've stayed in Vienna.

    The location is fantastic. On Opernring, in the heart of the city, walking distance to everything. The champagne at breakfast is also a nice touch, as was the free bottle of water in the room (always welcome). The front desk staff were super friendly and helpful, which made the experience better.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    Good location near the Opera House.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in a room right next to the breakfast area. It get a bit noisy. The hotel is in an old building. Some parts need some renovation

    Good location near the Opera House. Good breakfast and very nice staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    Great stay, staff and location. Only bad thing is the bedroom lighting wasn't that bright.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing I could say bad is that the lighting in the bedroom was quite dull, with some darker corners.

    We got upgraded to a Junior Suite which was brilliant, spacious and great bathroom - with bath and shower. Breakfast was good, staff were great. Good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.1
    Bed was comfortable, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is a club under the hotel so in the first floor, where we lived, we could hear sounds at night/morning. If you switch on the aircondition, you will not hear it. Walls in the room were a bit dirty. Room was a bit outdated. You could find the dust in some places in the bathroom.

    Bed was comfortable, clean. Breakfast was tasty. Location is perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.8
    Walk to just about everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was iffy, some noise from street level, but it is right on the main transport routes

    Location fantastic, staff especially Harold were excellent. Good breakfast at reasonable hours.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Nice centrally located hotel at fair price
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't manage to open the window.

    Very central location, big room, big shower. You can park the car up to 15 minutes in front of the hotel to check-in and unload the luggage, and then you're directed to Kaertner Strasses (Opera House) garage at special rate 24 EUR/day. Close by foot, a little bit complicated to reach by car.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    Reception was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was excellent! We did last minute booking and was given a room early in the morning! Extremely helpful and nice hotel staff!!! Very spacious room and good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    6.3
    Overpaid as for 4 star hotel in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor lighting in the room (despite the fact one of the bed side lights was out of order), no carpet on the floor making the room feeling unpleasant and in general dark. The bathroom: 1. hairdryer - the main body where the hot air comes out - smashed - broken, 2. shower head - whichever direction twisted still water spreading on the floor (whilst the shower screen over the bathtub in place), 3. toilet seat cover - one plug/fitting missing, exposing a little hole, 4. the bottom part of the bathroom door the paint has gone - probably due to dampness, 5. a hand-wash basin chipped at the very front place. I was also not happy about the quality of the juice served at the breakfast - multivitamin like tasted slightly fermented. I mentioned to staff about this and I was apologised and served a fresh one straight from the new box - which tasted differently - very good. Staff at the reception friendly, but the appearance not very professional with funky pinkish colour glasses and no smart shirt as for 4 star hotel was quite strange experience.

    Great location, by the Opera, close to underground station and very short distance to main tourist attractions. Spacious room with a balcony. Clean bathroom and linen, comfortable beds. Very tasty breakfast, especially coffee was good, but disappointed by quality of multivitamin juice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Great Hotel in the Heart of the City
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room overlooks the ring road and it could be very noisy with the traffic and sirens outside. While it didn't bother me, it's something to note if you are sensitive about noise.

    Staff were very friendly and extremely accomodating. My room was upgraded to a Junior Suite- very spacious and the bed was quite comfortable (neither very hard nor soft). Breakfast was delicious with an assortment of croissants and rolls, fresh fruit and veggies, plus cereal, eggs, sausages, and more. Air conditioning worked very well. This hotel is close to a lot of the museums and parks and quite close to the subway as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.1
    Noisy location and poor wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was rubbish - so much so that most of the time my iPad connected to the stronger signal from the adjacent Meridien. The room unfortunately looked out onto the Ring which sounds nice but the traffic noise was bad - especially as the air con was not working so if you closed the (albeit good) double glazed window it was a bit stuffy. Better to try a hotel on a quieter street - and one that has real wifi.

    Spacious clean room and good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    My wife is delighted with the hotel and staff.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    My wife is delighted with the hotel and staff. Room was perfect with very good sound isolation so you cannot hear anything from outside. She had in the room everything she needed. Best regards to manager Harold and all staff and thank you for everything.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.6
    Would stay again . Best location !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower tub feels a bit unstable

    Front desk person called Yigal Alstschuler is an absolute gem . Very friendly and knows all the places to go . Just wonderful !!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Great location and best staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although we were really early Mr Schubert at the reception moved heaven and hell to get our room ready. We got a small upgrade as well, just great! The staff is very friendly helpful and flexible. Great experience!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit noisy due to the nightclub in the basement of the hotel which we were unaware of prior to arrival.

    Harald on reception was fantastic and helpful. The breakfast was great with lots of choice. The hotel location was superb. The room was fine, great view of the opera house.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    10
    The hotel is just perfect with the value paid, especially the breakfast with Frizzenet bubble wine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should be another light bulb at or close to the mirror in the bathroom to provide a bit more lightness.

    I like the staffs's attitude as they are ready to help and answer any question i have. This is super!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    10
    hotel is in excellent location, the rooms are very classy...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    hotel is in excellent location, the rooms are very classy and the staff is super helpful. they upgraded my room to a junior suite just because it was my birthday!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel, perfect location, lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The style of the room is minimalist

    - On the day of checkout, I woke up one hour too late for breakfast but the receptionist reopened the restaurant and brought me a breakfast selection platter - Location

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Das Opernring Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: