Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ambassador 5 stars

Kärntner Straße 22, 01. Innere Stadt, 1010 Vienna, Austria

#166 of 316 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1536 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Good facilities,Spesious stylish rooms, very comforatable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good facilities,Spesious stylish rooms, very comforatable beds, satellite TV. Lovely breakfast, friendly staff. Excellent location with a walking distance to all sighseeings. Hotel has two exit options, one is to shopping street and the other is to a lovely square.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    A very good location, good staffs & clean. walking distance to tram station and shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location with very classic european style room! Staffs are very nice and helpful. It is just in the center of the Vienna - culture, shopping, and very near to supermarket & subway station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    2.9
    When u want to change ur room u needed to wait until late...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When u want to change ur room u needed to wait until late night the staff didn’t have permission to change ur room they must send email to manager I wait for two nights for manager to come and change my room Because of a bad smell from toilet

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    4.6
    They apparently only do single beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this on the understanding that the room contained a double bed. I specifically checked both booking.com and their website to make sure it wasn’t just two singles pushed together. On arrival we discovered that it was indeed 2 single beds pushed together - with single bedding. It was quite literally 2 single beds made up separately placed next to each other. On mentioning this we were told that all rooms in the hotel were like this and they did not have any double bedding. We were told twice that we would be able to speak to a manager, only to later be told that the relevant person would not be present until after our stay had finished and there was nothing they could do. Though the room was a good size, the furniture was scuffed and the decor was tired in places. Though it markets itself as a five star, it has more in common with three star locations. When you book this you are paying almost purely for the location. There is nothing about the room or the service that justifies the cost.

    The shower was good and the room was a reasonable size. The location was also good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel in adequate condition. Very convenient for tourism and business.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The absence of the lift straight to the corridor. Needed to go via stairs a bit. For the fully healthy guy is OK but if you do have problems...

    Location, staff, restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.4
    Superb location, otherwise 👎. Would not recommend it to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with City View - Top Floor
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, the accommodation and the service. Old minimal furniture, old mattresses. When I made the reservation, I paid for a room with certain descriptions and a balcony with a nice city view. None of that was true on arrival. I complained and requested to change to the described room. The manager refused to meet me or acknowledge the problem. Unprofessional.

    The location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    quiet and nice
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with City View - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    i booked the most expensive room suit and the largest in the hotel and paid for it , but they gave me the less expensive and smaller suit claiming that the one i booked is already booked by another person , but they did'nt pay me back the room rate difference(!

    quietness and location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Big bathroom, good cleaning service, nice location and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big bathroom, good cleaning service, nice location and good sound isolation. Friendly personnel. As per experience, one of the best proposals to stay in Vienna

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel, average service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    'Double bed' was 2 singles pushed together with separate duvets. No coffee machine or kettle in room and bar staff were grumpy when I ordered at the bar to take one back to my room (maybe that thought I should have ordered room service). No crib in my room when we got there despite request, although this was rectified quickly. The shower was cramped! In general the service seemed a notch below what I would expect from an establishment of the standard Hotel Ambassador claim they are.

    Lovely room with nice chandeliers. Excellent location. The reception staff were lovely and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.8
    Terrible matresses
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses are very unconfortable. Every time I stay at this hotel,I get a back ache. They should invest some money into the confort of the beds. This hotel has the worst beds

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Most enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Initially, only 2 hangers were supplied, but more supplied upon request. The electrics were a bit strange - the electric plugs took a little time to work out and the lights in the bathroom kept switching themselves off.

    The room was large and very comfortable. The location was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Overall loved it! Especially the location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise from the street below my room. Bath shower was fitted on the wrong wall so bathroom was wet after each shower

    The locations was amazing! Very generous room size for Europe including large bathroom. Also made accomodations for late checkout! A winner!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant location, excellent hotel overall, would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities such as ironing board, tea making all on request..ie payment. Breakfast very poor value although substantial. Breakfast coffee serve yourself from a machine...not good for a quality hotel.

    Room spacious and location perfect for Opera and a short walk to most major attractions. Staff very attentive and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Suitable for my travel needs at the time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have liked a kettle in the room. Long distance travellers like me need a "cuppa" at odd hours!

    Room was very comfortable and roomy. Staff were helpful and considerate. Hotel position was good, close to shops etc. Suitable for all types of travellers

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    Location very good. Room nice but a bit tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    reception was not that helpful when I enquired about transfer to Bratislava - told us to catch a taxi outside and pay 120 Euros. I sourced a really great service online that cost 71 Euros ! There didn't seem to be any management about at all. The bar/lounge area is too formal, bright and not very comfy. Not sure what they can do about this but don't expect a great atmosphere. BBC World was not available on the TV although was indicated on TV list in room

    Room was spacious and comfortable. Bathrooms are small. Air conditionning good and facilities all worked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Couldn't ask for more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were given a superb room, quiet and very comfortable. The desk staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The Ambassador is located in the heart of Vienna, convenient to restaurants, galleries etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    3.8
    Very bad expirence no worth , only great location but zero facilities and zero services
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no bell desk , no lobby area no drinking water no tea coffee cartels. Nothing facilities only great location As per my view this is ** property as per there zero facilities and services

    There was zero facilities nothing like

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking , the puplic parking far a way , you should but a valet for the hotel gusts

    Location, bathroom with washer room space , two entrance one of them on st Stephan platz

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful four nights in a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All facilities were excellent. My wife did complain that the pillows were too soft!

    Top location and excellent staff. Perfect for seeing all the main sites that Vienna has to offer. The hotel and staff made this a very enjoyable trip. Would stay again if I ever decide to return to this wonderful city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    This is a supremely well placed hotel, right in the middle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    This is a supremely well placed hotel, right in the middle of Vienna city, but surprisingly quiet. Rooms always a very good size, and a lift system which is the quite the best in the world in my view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    WiFi worked great, location couldn’t be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi worked great, location couldn’t be better. My room was large and big bathroom. High ceilings. Nice lobby. Some of the furniture abit old but a good stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice large size room, good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaning staff come in without knock on the door! The door between our room and the neighbour room was open! Bathroom is too small, was difficult to enter the shower.

    Nice large size room, good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    4.6
    Very bad beds , stuff said the hotel was fully booked when i...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad beds , stuff said the hotel was fully booked when i asked to make my reservation longer by one day . Due to my parent spending over 200 nights at the hotel i was expecting them to treat us better but that apparently did not count when the staff girl told us we had to check out ( on booking there were at least 10 rooms available for reservation ) short story long , this was probably our last stay there , manager also seemed not the smartest person.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is very favourable. We stayed in this hotel earlier. The price is high, as the hotel is not very modern, but at the same time it reserves its historical feeling.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    6.7
    Nice location , old rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The less expensive rooms are dated. With cracks in the paint. Leaky shower. And the worst is the sound proofing ( lack of) . One can hear the couple next door, do absolutely everything. And I mean everything..... No coffee making service in the room .

    Great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    6.7
    The hotel was full of a cigarette smoke coming from the bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was full of a cigarette smoke coming from the bar. To fight the smoke the staff was using different sprays which have made the smell and air quality even worse. A 5 star hotel that cannot deal with the cigarette smoke is a rather poor deal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.5
    Smooth & pleasurable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Vienna, has some of the best patisserie in the world, some should be available in the hotel itself!

    The hotel was properly warm! It has a very central location, which is very convenient too.All amenities were not placed in the room,but easily available when we asked for them e.g. there was no hot water kettle in the room,but quickly given to us at the reception,once we asked for it. The staff were very friendly and helpful. All you had to do was express what you wanted and it was quickly done for you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel has NO room card for entry. If you let the key on the reception desk, everyone could ask for your key without asking him for ID . It’s not safe. They bring my car in the morning from their garage without number plate.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful traditional decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Smoking in lower bar area, leaves hallways smelling of smoke in the evening, however, our room was not impacted by this.

    Beautiful traditional decor. Friendly Staff. Large and clean room with a view. Can't beat the location. Central to all the must see's of Vienna - Stephansplatz, Albertina, Operahouse, main shopping streets, etc. Strassebahn and U-Bahn stops are few minutes away if you want to head into other districts. Great restaurant too! We plan on staying at this hotel, again. Exceptional value!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    WE ENJOYED A VERY PLEASANT STAY AND I CAN RECOMMEND THE HOTEL AT ANY TIME
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes cigarette smell in the corridors from the coffee shop

    There cannot be a better location for somebody who likes to visit Vienna and be in the middle of the downtown walking zone which provides high end stores of all kinds. Clubs , restaurants for every budget are within minutes of walking and the traffic silenced Inner city invites for romantic strolls into the past and it's culture. The Imperial Winterpalace (Hofburg) and the Opera house are only minutes away... the famous Ringstrasse will Lead you around the Innercity, taking you to the parliament, Burgtheatre and the most famous Museums like Albertina, and Arthistorical - and Naturemuseums... two Undergroundstations away you will find the State of an Art Kunsthalle which provides huge exhibition places for arts from all over the world a d us at the same time a meeting place for every age group interested in Arts and Clubbings. The Imperial Treasures and the Church Treasures can be viewed at the Hofburg and lead you back to the way of life at former centuries of the Austrian nobility. The beds in the Ambassador where especially comfortable and the rooms well heated. We enjoyed staying in a room in which long before Josephine Baker resided. That speaks for the Hotels worldwide reckognition as one of the leading houses. A little draw back was the smoke that crawled up from the coffee shop into the corridors. The staff from the chambermaids to the reception was friendly, helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.8
    Elegant and comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was spotty and the phone in the room didn't work.

    The breakfast was very good. And the bar/lounge was a very nice place to relax and work in the evenings. Wonderful view, room size and super comfortable big bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.1
    Very good location and nice classic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    House keeping is not impressive. If you are in the first or second floor, even if nonsmoking room, you will get smoke in your room from the indoor smoking area/lobby in the center between the rooms and without proper ventilation.

    Very good location and nice classic building

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.5
    Location was excellent and the room was very quiet,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are several rooms located right next to the hotel bar, which is a smoking zone. This is absolutely not acceptable, as the smoke gets into the guest rooms. We asked to change rooms but the hotel was at capacity because of New Year’s Eve. The internet was very slow. Not ok in this day and age. Also the hotel breakfast is absurdly expensive (€25 per person) given the quality of the food. You can go across the street and get breakfast for two at one of the best bakeries/pastry shops in the city for half that price.

    Location was excellent and the room was very quiet, especially given the central location of the hotel. We stayed over New Year’s Eve, there were people celebrating outside on the Kärntnerstrasse and there was a stage with live music on the Neuer Markt. We couldn’t hear any of it with the windows closed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel in very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit stiff and not so comfortable.

    Beautiful hotel with very spacious room for the price compared to other property in Europe. Very convenient location. Helpful staffs

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    4.6
    Complaints where not acted on
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Pay For View Despite asking 4 times for housekeeping to take away dirty cups and glasses + rubbish, they didn't

    Not a lot.... For a 5 star hotel it was more like a 3 star...!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.3
    Did not meet the expectations of a 5 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no toilet paper, we were told it would be brought up immediately -3 phone calls later it was brought to us. There were major delays in ironing my partner's shirt because it was misplaced by the hotel -they did apologise for this, toiletries were not replenished in the room each day, no swipe card to access room so we had a manuel key - this meant that housekeeping couldnt tell if you were in or out of room and we were disturbed in the room.No english subtitles for the tv, we requested a double bed but got 2 single beds pushed together instead.

    the location was great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything just perfect.

    Excellent hotel. Perfect location and staff is extremely helpful. Can't recommend higher. Will always stay in this hotel when visiting Vienna . Thank you for memorable stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    4.6
    A smokers delight, non smokers stay away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. We HATED the fact there was smoking in the bar. It was at the base of an atrium, so all the smoke wafted up in to the floors and rooms above. 2. No tea or coffee making facilities in the room 3. You could hear every word next room people said. This due to interconnecting door which were paper thin and not sound proof

    Location was terrific. The rest was not good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location, pleasant staff, rooms are spacious except bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was bit loud during the morning hours due to early street works if window are left open.

    The overall atmosphere and friendliness and competence of the staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel allows smoking in public areas. It didn’t bother me much as I was in and out but I can see some people not enjoying the smell of smoke.

    The beauty of the room with high ceilings. Nive view of a lively street.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    6.3
    Location and large room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Smoking permitted in the lobby! Due to the fact the the ceiling is about 3 stories high the smoke was noticeable throughout the building. If you are a non smoker it was impossible to use the lobby.

    Location and large room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did't like the make up of the room - no evening service, not so clean as expected and not enough acessoires like cosmetics.

    Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Mini relaxing vacations in very friendly atmosphere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were no cockscrew in the room, but we asked it in the bar and they provided it, only asking to return it as its the only one for the hotel) It would be really nice if in the room we can find kettle in the room (but if not room service will help)

    Thank you to the hotel and staff for the pleasant stay. We enjoyed every day and you made our small vacations event better. For breakfast you can choose buffet, continental or just coffer and some sandwich (depending on how hungry you are and how much you want to spend). WE also had dinner at the hotel. It was very tasty. The dishes are really big, we even have to leave the desert for the breakfast, so it was really good. The hotel situated in the pedestrian street in 7 minutes walking from every point in the city (Opera, shops and walking areas, which is all around). Also there are a lot of good restaurants around if you want to try something new. We really like it!!! Thank you!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    its a very good property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with City View - Top Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the apartment was really good and they have very minimum kithchen ware but the location is very good, this is very prime location in vienna very close by to all the important land marks and to reach the tours starting point also

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    5.0
    ridiculously overpriced for the service you get;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with City View - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    ridiculously overpriced for the service you get; Our room for $500 did not even have a queen or king size bed, but 2 single beds put together which was super uncomfortable. To get to the room we had to walk miles in a corridor and change elevators.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    Vienna was beautiful and this was perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was terrible. It was two singles pushed together and hard as a rock. Completely opposite if rest if hotel.

    Location was great in the heart of the city. Nice big rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    It’s a great hotel in the ideal location. I praise everything about it. But when I wanted to make a change because my daughter came with me, booking company said that was impossible. So I called myself and there was no problem. Booking company dropped the ball.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.4
    Really disappointed guys!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is NOT a five star hotel. The premises and rooms are outdated, beds and pillows are of a poor quality, no coffee/tea/bottled water in the room, and our double room consisted of two single beds pushed together. Overall really poor IMO 4 star hotel, NO WHERE NEAR A FIVE STAR HOTEL.

    The location of the hotel is very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    5.0
    Didn't have any too expensive at 25.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Air con above bed husband didn't sleep for five nights it kept coming on and even the hotel couldn't stop it. It meant he had not get a nights full sleep.

    Didn't have any too expensive at 25.00 euros.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    מלון מעולה... מבחינתנו מקבל ציון מצוין... מעבר ל-5 כוכבים.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    We loved and enjoyed the Ambassador Hotel very much (We stay ther for 10-night). The hotel is great. And the location is excellent. Located between 2 streets. On one side is the Kartner pedestrian mall and on the other the Neuer Markt str. On both sides of the Karntner pedestrian mall there are 2 big metro stations (Karlplatz and Stephansplatz) with shops and every thing . Next to the hotel on Neuer Markt Str. There is a large supermarket in which you can buy everything .. including all kinds of Mozart chocolate which is much cheaper there than in all other stores. When we arrived at the hotel we were informed that they had upgraded the room to a suite. We were very happy. We received the 301 suite on the 3rd floor. We hade 2 very comfortable and spacious rooms - a living room and a bedroom. Features a large, spacious bathroom and a separate toilet including bidet. Everything in the hotel is brilliant and polished. The peple at the receptionists are very nice, patient and welcoming. Each question was answered immediately with detailed explanations. Breakfast is very rich and tasty and had everything. The persons in charge of the dining room and the staff are very friendly. In conclusion - The Ambassador hoterl is a great hotel and we give them more then 5 stars. When we return to Vienna again, it is clear that we will stay in this hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    UNBELIEVABLY GOOD HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One young waiter at dinner was untrained and did not have a clue what to do !

    Staff excellent (except one untrained waiter) Very good value. Very posh 4 star hotel ,at three star prices. Could not be more central

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.9
    The stay was excellent in room No. 422
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Insecurity, the room key can be given to anybody, without checking who is the guest / who is assigned to the room

    The Location was excellent , it is in the most famous shopping street and the room was very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel, great city, had a great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear some street noise late at night.

    The hotel was fantastic. The staff were very helpful and very pleasant. Hotel location was perfect for sightseeing. Would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    6.3
    Good location but it felt like this was once a grand hotel that was past its prime.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed with the leaking washbasin, lack of kettle, poor quality towels, slow WiFi and the fact that people were smoking in the lounge (frequently)

    Great location and dual aspect, spacious room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture is old classic fashion

    Everything .. the location is great just in the middle of the most important tourist area.. few steps from STEPHANPLATZ.. very clean place..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.7
    Superb location, hotel could do with some refurb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some areas of the hotel look old and tired, particularly the bar, which doesn't feel welcoming or homey at all.

    It was located in a great location in central vienna so walking to Spanish Riding School, Concert hall etc very easy. Staff were generally friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.1
    Wonderful area, bright and spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The toilet was not in the bathroom, but in a windowless storage room.

    The room was the largest I ever saw. The room had four windows and a small living room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    They prepared food for my baby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, my room 506 was at 4 floor, is not available with the elevator, we have to take the stairs, is a bit problem if you have baby...

    They prepared food for my baby. Very clean hotel. Location is great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.8
    A Grand Hotel Starting to Wear Down...
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All is fine, but tiny details... like small bathroom in my room or lack of a coffee maker take away from the overall experience.

    Perfectly located, but this hotel used to see better times.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.1
    Generously sized rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No coffee or tea, nor a kettle in the rooms. No turn down service. These basics I expect from a 5 star establishment.

    Generously sized rooms. Excellent location. Typical Viennese decor which has a lot of charm.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Old imperial luxury in the heart of Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wi-fi could use work. That is it!

    When we walked into the room, we thought at first there must have been a mistake... it was far nicer and more spacious than the photos suggested. Nicely decorated in period-style (Biedermeier) furniture and etc. Great huge bathroom with comfy tub for two (and two sinks!). Bed was comfy and many amenities included (robes, slippers, excellent soaps [rare at a hotel and we are picky)]. Lovely seating area for having your breakfast and paper (delivered). Well insulated from all sounds, even busy street. Whole hotel well maintained. Excellent common lounge space in centre of hotel with rooms ringed around above it... reminiscent of the Grand Budapest Hotel (for fans), from regal but slightly shabby seating, chandeliers, etc. And staff was just as eager to please as in the film! On that, the staff were superb in every location - front desk, door, bar, restaurant. Special thanks to Mr. Simon, "Milan", and the bartender who even in busy hours always had time to enquire on your day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location it's basically in the heart of Vienna.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room bedding wasn't great , the mattress needs to be replaced

    Great location it's basically in the heart of Vienna. The breakfast area is really nice ! Staffs are helpful and speaks good English.Overall a great place to stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smooking area/ lounch should be vantilated better.. ın the bathroom shampoo and stuff are very poor.. and not good quality

    Staff was great both in hoesekeeping and reception... Breakfast was very good, you could find everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.8
    Good luxury city centre hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking allowed in hotel lounge/bar area!!!!!!! No tea or coffee facilities in room or late night food provisions (ie.after 2230). Cost of breakfast 25 Euros (good but very expensive)

    Beds, large & comfortable.Spacious rooms with good. Light high ceilinged room with windows which open fully. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    Perfect hotel in a perfect location (if you get the right room)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is absolutely perfect on the main shopping boulevard , Few minutes from most attractions. Pay attention to the room you get, we were a group of seven, in three different rooms. One didn't have good wifi reception, the second room was on the fifth floor, while the elevator only get to the fourth floor and than you have to take the stairs (we asked to change this room and they immediately agree and moved us to the second floor). The third room was a business room and was perfect!!! (Very spacious, and clean) I read many comments here about smoke odor everywhere, but we had non of it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.9
    A hotel with smoke!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole hotel stinks of smoke since people can smoke in the main bar area which affect all level since the hotel is an open built and the rooms hallway surounds the main large bar and relaxation loppy. This is a really bad drawback and it lets the hotel down. Its discusting and not the right these days. The recepetion area its very dated. This could be such a great hotel if it was modernised on a few matters.

    Great Dinning arear with beautyful Terrassa over looking the square to dine outside and have breakfast. Rooms are spacious and in an older vienese style.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    5.4
    No lift to room,dirty corridors
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were placed on the 5th floor and the lift only went to the 4th floor.We were only advised of this by the receptionist when we were getting into the lift up to our room.There was in excess of 20 steps and no porter offered to either carry up our luggage or bring down our luggage on check out.If you are given a room on the 5th floor refuse it and request a room on a different floor. On check out we were not even asked did we have a good stay or thanked for staying in the hotel.In addition the fifth floor always had dirty trays in the corridor every night and every morning .

    Location was good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    3.3
    worst stay ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was the first one to check in, that day and was given the worse room. In fact when I had asked for a room change though they had rooms but pretended as if they were fully sold out and denied shifting me.Then I had checked on bookings.com which had also showed me rooms avail and on saying this to the receptionist she then changed her statement saying they are fully booked and they do have a few rooms but are not allowed to shift the guest. Surprised to hear 5star property has such rules cause I have stayed in many other prop. but haven't heard from any. My suggestion please stay in Do & Co way better prop than this.

    frankly speaking nothing!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful hotel, great location but stinks of cigarette smoke.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was severly hindered by its policy to allow smoking. Not just within certain rooms but within the bar area. This meant the whole hotel smelt of stale cigerettes from the point of stepping into the hotel. And despite our room being non smoking early morning and evening we could still smell the smoke in our room. With most of Europe having a no smoking policy I feel that this was not necessary. And would prevent me from booking again.

    Beautiful hotel wonderful location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.2
    First class Hotel in excellent situation in centre of Vienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is no Airport Shuttle. You list this on your website as a feature.

    Excellent situation, Room absolutely first class with superb attention to cleanliness. Restaurant very good, and staff very helpful. We would certainly return to this hotel for our next visit to Vienna.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.5
    we liked the location and size of the room and the spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The girl at the reseption was probably in a bad mood this week.

    we liked the location and size of the room and the spacious bathroom. Everything is at walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Being able to look out over Vienna from the little balcony...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment with City View - Top Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overheated (but this seems to be pretty common in Vienna). Smokers (again, all but unavoidable in Vienna).

    Being able to look out over Vienna from the little balcony outside our suite. All the better because the weather in Vienna was nice. This is the only hotel in Vienna my wife will stay at. We've been coming here every year or two for 12 years now.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    5.0
    Worst experience in a 5 star hotel!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst experience ever in a 5 star hotel. There is no one helping with the luggage, at the reception desk they are not when you need .

    Next to city center

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    10
    Owsome!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The comfort, the cleanliness, in fact everything about the hotel. However, if complimentary tea/coffee & breakfast were included, it would have been a nice gesture on their part. Thanks.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    7.5
    very friendly and professional restaurant stuff- all our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Personal on Reception not friendly. rooms was cleaned not as 5* Hotel. Found used packet with snake near Minibar locker During Check-out we "almost" was charged for Minibar we didn't use. Rooms arrangement during some of stay days was late afternoon. Luggage was not delivered to the rooms

    very friendly and professional restaurant stuff- all our requests were done immediately.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Ambassador traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: