Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Berggasthof Bärnstatt 3 stars

Hinterstein 17, 6351 Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser, Austria

Review score

Based on 261 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 19

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our stay was too short.

    We have stayed here before and it is our favorite in the area. It is in the country, but just a short walk or ride to the Hintersteinersee or the village of Scheffau. Regional transportation cards come with the room so one can travel to other locations for free. It is comfortable, quiet, friendly, and absolutely a beautiful setting.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very poor. The staff was unfriendly and unprofessional. When we try to pay by Visa debit card the receptionist took our bank card in another room and started to dictate the bank details from the card to somebody over the phone without notifying us. This could be class as stilling the bank details. Not happy at all!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually we checked-in at late night and leave early morning, so we could not enjoy the hotel for while . But its a good choice if you want to stay away from the city. Great enviorment and fresh air in morning, and the breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Location up on a mountainside near a lake, what's not to like? Food was superb and location very quiet with cows eating in the meadows. Great place to walk or bike.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit hot and dry for us inside the apartment.

    Excellent playground for our daughter. Fantastic view from the apartment n1. Spacious apartment with two hobs. Very peaceful surroundings.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it was really lovely

    A terrific little hidden gem of a hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful; the typical tirolean food was delicious and there was lots of it. We would really like to return next year.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Few mosquitoes in my room which kept me up at night, it could be the summer

    This guesthouse is situated about 5 mins away from Hintersteinersee, it also happens to be along stage 2 of the Eagle's walk in Tirol. The staff was very welcoming and the place was kept very clean. Restaurant's food was also good, love the almond baked 'hintersteinersee' fish! (clarified: fish not from the lake). Hot showers and a clean bed were a relief for my wife and I after a long day's trek.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost no one in the staff could speak english but it worked anyway.

    Extremely nice, I really enjoyed the room and the food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast, very close to Eagle Trail walkway

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit poor

    Staff was very kind

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We spent 6 days in this guesthouse . Except the problem with snow chains during arrival (quite steep hill if snowing) was everything perfect - room was clean, friendly and helpful staff, tasty food. We appreciated the possibility to use a ski bus. Wonderful landscape around.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Bit far out of town. If it's snowing and you don't have 4 wheel drive it will be an adventure

    Room was clean, we had a fantastic view of the surrounding mountains and the staff was very personable.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room decoration is kind of too simple.

    Very nice hotel with a nice terrace restaurant with a beautiful mountain view. Room was big enough, breakfast was good. Close to the lake (15min. by walk).

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not enough reachable power plugs to charge the ever increasing number of devices we tend to bring

    Perfectly located for our plans and nice and quiet surroundings

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We really enjoyed the food, the chef is very good and proposed different meals every day. Staff is very nice and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room a little cramped.

    Good breakfast. Kind staff.Quite distant location.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms are very tidy, location superb, staff friendly and tasty, local breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Loved everything!

    Location was great, staff helpful and cheerful. Hands down favorite hotel for our group (age range from 16 to 70).

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 19

Guests also reviewed these properties: