Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Serviced-Appartements-Josefstadt 3 stars

Alser Straße 29/Kochgasse 36, 08. Josefstadt, 1080 Vienna, Austria

#347 of 834 Holiday rentals in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 254 apartment reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Got the keys through an automated system and only had to check-in/ register at reception the next day. Reception very kind and helpful: coffee machine was not working but got replaced on my request quickly. Apartment is just 2 tram (43-44) stops from Schottentor (trams, U-Bahn), appr. 10 minutes walk. Close to the apartment couple of shops (Billa, BIPA etc.). Apartment was clean and had all necessary kitchen supplies.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was slow at the beginning but the owner fixed it the next day and was very good

    The location is amazing close to public transportation and city center just walking distance The apartment was clean and beds were comfortable The owner is really friendly and helpful I would definitely stay again next time

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    I have been in this apartment house 7-8 times so far and I really like it. Clean apartments, equipped with the necessary kitchen stuff, very friendly and flexible host, good location and transport connections.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of accessories, example: There were no soap in toilet No detergent for wash dishes No towel in Kitchen to dry dishes Nice but very creaking floor in main rooms Price was litle bit higher (christmas season)

    Very good location in city, near to Rathaus and Votiv Kirche Pretty Apartment with old city tone Nice view to living street (Deluxe appartment) Good and comfortable bed Owner was fine and help us if we need anything.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is only one bathroom. The 5-th bed was not made when we arrived, but that was quickly fixed, so no really o problem.

    Beds very comfortable. Very good location, easy walk to Rathaus Platz and the city center. Very easy to check in and out. Clean and warm at the arrival. The property has no parking, but we found one on one street very close.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cannot remember

    The bed was very comfortable and large The dish washer was big and xtra useful !!! The heat is more than enough - you may feel pampered. TAXI cars are lined up just in front of the entrance at ANY time. The garge is x-large and plenty of spare places in a breezy walk through an inner park - 3 min walk. We bought from shoes. to musical instruments in 2 min walk. The people are super welcoming at every moment. The ascensor was large silent, modern and easy to operate. The owner is a WONDERFUL host, and his son helps him allthe way. NIce people to know. and have a good travelling relation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Key holder there only up to 12 pm after that we struggle to find out what to do Than kindly one othe guest come out and give information to get in touch with this No And our booking ref different to them so we have a bet of struggle .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Big transparent window in the bathroom (without any curtains) into hallway, impossible to take a shower at the evening, difficult also during the day. But this is a problem of only several appartments and manager have promissed to solve this problem. Only CNN in English, all other channels in German.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were some hiccups with getting the keys from the apartment.

    Excellent location close to the center and Medical University of Vienna. There are grocery stores around and good access to public transport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had a late flight and would have preferred to stay longer but since the apartment had been rebooked this was not possible but I was able to store my luggage till I left for the airport.

    The apartments were located near excellent transport so it was easy to move around and the one we had was spacious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really, maybe just the need for a few pans in the kitchen and a fan in the bathroom.

    Great location, very quiet but with a good amount of food options nearby. Public transport was very close too and the rooms were spacious and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    old furniture, but otherwise good accomodation for short stays

    Convenient location in close proximity to the medical university, good public transport connections around, clean rooms and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A bit far from subway, but there is a lot of transport around, including bus to Wien Hbf railway terminal. There probably nobody at the doorphone after 23h. If you share the room with somebody, it might be a deal (if you don't have local cellphone to make cheap calls).

    Very nice apartments to feel like at home!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a limited variety of cooking/kitchen utensils.

    The location of the apartments are good. There is a taxi stop just outside the apartments front door, a tram line 50m away and U-Bahn Train services 650m away. A Spar, Billa and other grocery stores are just around the corner. The Alser Cafe just outside the apartment block is a bonus if you don't want to cook yourself a meal. The apartments are spacious. Bedroom, seperate bathroom, kitchen and living room area. As we did not know which location would be the best to stay for our visit to Vienna these apartments worked perfectly fine due to being able to public transport quickly and explore the town further.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    warning! The apartment is dirty, the floor is filthy There were stains on the couch, the walls scruffy. No courteous service! We asked for another small towel and we had to add money. From 12:00 there is no one in the reception and you can not leave luggage after 14:00 in case your flight is at night.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place could use a renovation at some point No proper receptionist on arrival, dealt with kind cleaning lady who rang owner

    Comfortable place, great location with plenty of space and nice bed

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed...It was comfortable, it's just that it was basically two twin beds placed side by side, they kept sliding apart. Would have preferred a queen bed.

    The location is fantastic, short way from the Vienna English Theater and Haydyn Kino. Pretty much in the middle of everything. The host is pretty amazing, very friendly, helpful guy. The apartment itself is really nice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish they provide more utensil to prepare food.

    Very clean, in the centre of shopping and attractions. Hop on hop off stop is only 1 block away (approximate 200m). I stayed in family room and my family love it. Few halal restaurant nearby so I have no problem to find food

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The internet connection was not excellent.

    Spacious room, very clean, comfortable bed, quiet yet central location, helpful and friendly staff, good additional facilities, like kitchenette with microwave.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi didn't work, heating was not adjustable except in the kitchen with one radiator so on one night was very cold, I had arranged to leave luggage with reception but no one was there even though it said they would open 45 minutes before, so had to talk suitcase and leave at the railway station instead.

    Location was great, apartment nice and spacious, well equipped kitchen, very comfortable bed. Cafes and supermarkets are within a 1 minute walk, transport also very close by

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't get information the check in is automatic and we didn't seen anybody to explain informations about room and check out do to that we need to call them , room has a bad smelling

    Location is really good , they helped us for late check out and luggage service so we are thankful for that

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi was down for almost the whole time of my stay. There was a notice on the door of the reception it would be impossible to fix it on the weekend, but the notice was still there during the week. In addition there was a notice in the room the cooking facility was broken down and would be fixed soon. However, the notice obviously was there already for quite some time. The reception itself was only open for one hour /day on the weekend.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation was excellent! We got it at the last minute and quite late in the evening in spite of that our host was very kind to accept our reservation. The location s also very good - it took us just about 15 minutes from the Museum quarter there. Next time when we come to Vienna we will stay here for sure.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    reception only opened for a few hours during weekend, had some problems, for example liquid soap not refilled in the bathroom. Major issue: wifi not working for the whole weekend, and no discount offered

    spacious, good location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If you do not want to walk and want to use public transportation to go to Stephanplatz, you have to change transportation 3 time, tram and two U-bahns, although tram station is just in front of the apartment. Reception time is for couple of hours, so after that you have to contact them via e-mail, phone or ringbell. I could not find fan and iron.

    Apartment was clean, comfortable with living room and bedroom. It is walking distance to the city center, 10 min to Rathaus. It is in street with supermarkets. Staff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staffs are helpful and friendly - allowing us to store our baggages for a while after we checked out; giving us travelling recommendations. The location is close to the tram station, quite a lot of restaurants and supermarkets.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not in very clean and good condition. Room was stuffy and had a bad smell. It says serviced, but it's really not the case. The only thing they do is change towels every other day. Building and other tenants seemed dodgy. Reception is only open 4 hours a day. Worst of all, manager kept yelling passport at us and one day broke into our flat while my wife was in the shower! Needless to say, not something we will repeat...

    Size of room Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking under the building is a drama - to park your car you need to stop it on a one-way road on a pavement (blocking pedestrians) to not block traffic - cars and busses, call reception, get inside the building to unlock the key to the garage from postbox, open the door to garage and then park on a tiny space. This same procedure is when you leave. Old fashioned apartment.

    Not far from the city center, big, spacious, clean apartment with coffee machine and comfy bed. Quite close to the old town. Taxis and shops under the buildng.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was on-going construction on the entire 1st floor. This made it impossible for our children to get their naps when we arrived there. Also, it was so hot in our room due to no AC, and while they did supply one fan, it wasn't enough for two rooms. It would have been more welcoming for the windows to have already been open and the fan running before we got there. Instead, we arrived to a hot room that NEVER cooled off. We were miserable. There was also NO PRIVACY due to having our windows open. People walking down the hall could see directly into our windows. They also did not stock the room with enough toilet paper. The coffee machine did not work either.

    It had an elevator in the building

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Poor Internet connection, no reception after 12:00pm, very noisy at night if you keep the window open (problem solved however if you close the windows), no AC (hot in summer).

    Good location, within walking distance (30 min) of main touristic attractions (Hofburg, Museum Quartier). Tram stops right in front of the building and can take you to touristic attractions in a couple of minutes.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 21 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Location Apartment service ( complimentary) cleaned once a week .. Garbage empty daily .. Freash towels twice a week Nice staff Spacious

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    expensive parking in public garages

    accommodation met my expectations

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    noisy street, dark apartement, communication about keys and payment

    clean area, location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy trams at night but maybe part of atmosphere of being in a good location?

    Spacious good location comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is just perfect, spacious apartments with great room service, fantastic staff..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It didnt have cleaning service (3 nights) and we didn't see anyone from the personel).

    Very comfortable and very closed to the center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, 2 mins from the tram station. The owner of the apartments was super friendly. Loved everything about that place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs some renovation.

    The location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location and friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room is a little noisy

    the location is good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    NO English channels on TV set

    Location next to all public transport

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleanliness, location and host.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It takes 8 minutes by walk from metro station

    The apartment is fully-equipped for what you need Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect location, friendly service, cozy room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In apartment was bad smell (something fried) but was fixed by open window.

    Great place near city center. Apartment was big and clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very lovely appartment. easy to get from the u-bahn. very close to centrum. nice that could arrive 8.30pm

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed, cleaning

    Location and staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the district is very good and near city center

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely spacious flats.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wi-fi worked only in the kitchen area

    location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The carpet was not so clean. There were no spices in the kitchen (salt, sugar)

    When we've asked for children bed, it was immediately given also with children seat.Very comfortable place and flat. Wide room.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was worried about rolling out of the comfortable, extra long but quite narrow twin sized bed, but I didn't. Kitchen could have been a bit better supplied with more basics like cutting board, dish rack for drying dishes, etc.

    Super quiet despite central location. Very comfortable apartment.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Super location - just steps from the street car and bus - and so only minutes to the first district, heart of the city. On-site personnel were very friendly and helpful, and there was a washer and dryer.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really big and nice apartments, comfortable beds, good kitchen and coffee machine. The staff is also cool. The location is also good, just 3 tram stations far from Schottentor (U2 line), and 2 stops far from the pubs area and line U6.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Although property is non-smoking, there occasionally (2x in 9 days) was a strong smell of cigarette smoke in the hallway. Also, as other reviews have noted, when you first arrive (if after reception hours), you have to ring the bell to be let in and to get pin code for a lockbox that has the key to your assigned apartment. When I first arrived and rang the bell, no one answered. I rang again within a couple of minutes and they did answer right away that time -- so keep trying if you don't get a response.

    The apartment was comfortable and generally quiet,in a neighborhood that is both nice and interesting. Two grocery stores are very close and there are a number of different restaurants/cafes within walking distance. It is only a 25 minute walk into the center of Vienna from the apartment (and there are trams close by that will get you even closer). Laundry room was convenient and both machines available when I needed them. The decor is tasteful and muted, though a bit worn. Staff are very nice. As others have noted, the address on booking.com website isn't really correct -- you enter at Kochgasse 36, which is around the corner.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was very friendly. The apartment was as we expected. The flat is not new, but very clean and with a good space. The location is good, in the university area. Not in the city center, but with a tram stop just in front of it.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The fact that the apartment was so close to the 43/44 tram line meant that you hardly had to carry the suitcases which was great. Also the apartments are situated in a old building so you had the typical Viennese main entrance and stairwell as well as the elegant high ceilings which gave us a real taste of Viennese living! Plus excellent bakery in the Langergasse!

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was positive.

    The apartment is very close to the city centre and is equipped with everything you would need for a few day visit. The landlord is very friendly and helpful. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept on during holidays.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, 10 min walk to centre or 3min tram journey. Shops, cafes and tram outside the door. Very warm and comfortable appartment. Couldn't be more happy with it. Would definitely return and recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    There were some bugs in the bathroom

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No AC it will be very hot in summer

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Fantastic location. Clean and spacious apartment we had there.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi should be improved, no breakfast, reception should be opened longer, bigger beds requerd

    Not noisy, nice staff

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location; Stuff; No problem with prolonged check-out

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Browse Serviced-Appartements-Josefstadt traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: