Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Arenberg Boutique Hotel Zentrum 4 stars

Stubenring 2, 01. Innere Stadt, 1010 Vienna, Austria

#289 of 316 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1420 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stay away. My wife and I both have difficulty rationalizing our extremely poor experience with the mostly positive reviews of other patrons. The property does not accurately match the description. It claims to be a 4 star hotel but having just spent 25 days travelling Europe where we stayed in 3 and 4 star hotels, this might best be described as a 2 star - definitely the worst during our travels. The building photo gives the impression it is a proper hotel - in actuality it occupies parts of the 2nd and 3rd floor. Description claims staff is available until 11PM at night. When we checked in on Saturday at 5PM the only person available appeared to be there to water the plants - she did not really seem to understand what was going on. The property claims on-site parking - parking appeared to be two spots on the backside of the hotel. Property does have safety deposit boxes in the room but the key was not available when we checked in - staff the next morning stated we would need to pay a deposit for the key. Property claims to be a Best Western location - and the monogrammed towels indicated so (although I have never had Best Western monogrammed towels at any other Best Western I have been to) but if this is correct then Best Western should put it on their website, which is not the case. The room was dirty, the floor mats were dirty and worn. The mattress on the bed was too large for the bed frame - I had to keep getting up in the night to move the mattress back onto the frame. The room does have air conditioning but the remote was not available in the room - the available staff when we checked in eventually found the correct remote but only after a number of tries. The shampoo consisted of two packets (you know - the kind you get ketchup and mustard in).

    Not much. The breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was annoyed that they had put the room on my credit card two days before we arrived, especially as I was wanting to pay with my cash card. The amount was wrong too as I had changed my booking and was charged for two nights, instead of one. In the end this cost me more money with bank charges, etc. I have used Booking.com for years and this is the first time that a hotel has done this. Why not wait until you arrive before making you pay?

    The hotel was in a great location, within easy walking distance to the centre of town and restaurants and bars. The hotel is not very big though and our room was rather small but very clean. The reception staff were extremely helpful and the breakfast was more than adequate for our needs. They were happy to store our luggage for us as we had arrived early on the train and our rooms weren't ready.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a strange smell in the room - like if it was painted before that.

    The staff was friendly, the breakfast was very good, everything was quite comfortable. We arrived when the reception was already closed (they work until 15:30 or so), but I got very clear instructions how to enter, the key was left for us in a box on the wall, all easy. The location was good, 1,5 km from Sacher-cafe:))

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Key card stopped working & we had to contact the manager to access another card to get into building & our room. I would suggest using higher quality cards.

    Breakfast was very good. Location excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old rooms, needs some refurbish. The bed matress was larger than the bed and it was slipping, so it was very uncomfortable. The checkin process was a bit weird, but we managed to do it quite fast.

    Very close to city center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Orange juice was "kaput" after we ate, went back to room and threw up! We were told in an email from hotel that if we arrived after the doors were locked at 9 pm, parking was behind hotel...it was not. We finally discovered at 11:00 PM that parking garage was next door, underground!!! The email said parking was €28 per day. We stayed 2 days and we were charged €70.

    The location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the street. Don’t count on the parking-it has 2 parking only spaces in a small garage. Bathrooms could use a bit of update

    Great location! Feels like you’re in your living room. Nice and spacious rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody on reception. Keycards left in a box outside. We had asked for a twin room and got a double room and there was nobody on reception to do anything about it. Asked twice at breakfast next day but they didn't do anything. Went back to sort it at 5.30pm and reception was closed. Automatic button for main door only worked till 9.30pm and no instructions on how to get out after that time for people not familiar with Austrian doors. I requested gluten free bread and soya milk for breakfast. They ran out of bread on day 2 and had no soya milk on day 4. Leak in breakfast room ceiling and I nearly slipped on the puddle. I contacted Best Western before writing this review but only ever got an automatic acknowledgement.

    It was close to our conference venue.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff on site after 14:00 making checking in difficult . So called superior room so small and tatty we had to pay extra to upgrade. On one occasion room not serviced due to lack of staff. Numerous other faults during our stay.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel deserves maximum 2 stars: old-fashioned, small rooms, very stuffy, no things for the bathroom (no slippers, bathrobes, cotton buds, even no shower cap). No fridge in the room. The walls are made of carton, because from your room you can hear a slightest noise in the corridor. The only hot thing for breakfast is eggs, which you should order separately. Reception is closed from 16.00 till 7.00, so if you have any questions or problems you have to call them by phone. The staff speaks English with difficulties. For this price and announced 4 stars at booking we expected better conditions.

    Tv in the room was big

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next to no customer service, this was more like a hostel. Staff looked stressed. It was mainly 2 women but sometimes there was a man there who we guessed was the manager, he seemed to be talking in an angry tone to the staff.I asked for the bulb in our toilet to be replaced as it didnt work and it never was. No tea/coffee making facilities in room but there was a hot drinks machine in the dining room for use at any time as well as a fridge stocked with soft drinks, alcoholic drinks and snacks. On the 3rd day the drinks machine stopped working and although I brought this to the attention of the staff it was never mended. After 2 days of this I asked if they could leave hot water and coffee flasks out like they had at breakfast as the machine was broken and they said yes. This was never done. At breakfast time the dining room got crowded and one morning a couple came in and there was no room for them to sit down so they asked if they could use the coffee table in the foyer, they were told yes and they had to take the tablecloth off of it, this should have been anticipated by the staff. The front door didnt work and was propped open the whole time we were there. The water in the shower was never really hot.

    Room was small but had a quaint charm, lovely view of the grand building opposite. Fantastic location near tram stop and underground, walking distance to museums, sights. Comfy bed, made daily & clean towels as often as we wanted. Lots of choice for breakfast including cooked eggs. Clean bathroom with large shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No way to control the central heating and it was roasting. Had to leave early because it was so hot in the room we were sweating! Good location but on a main road so noisy and couldn’t open window to cool it down!

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was terrible, the bread was still slightly frozen and the eggs tasted awful. The second day we went out for breakfast. The picture on the website has flowers on the balcony and is really lovely but in reality there are no flowers and the building looks quite grey and inside is a bit gloomy. It would be helpful to have a bar and room service.

    The bed was really comfy and the location is good. The staff are lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny, couldn't avoid banging my head on the tv which had no English speaking channels, walls were scuffed and dirty, shower flooded bathroom floor, mold on bathroom wall, not allowed air con even thou room was very warm, no tea and coffee other than at breakfast, breakfast was cold meats and stale bread, staff was just as cold. How on earth this got 4 stars baffles me

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom smelled like unclean. Breakfast got messy with too many people eating at the same time. And difficult to find a seat and a place to actually eat.

    The bed was very comfty. Location was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather high price for a slightly tired looking hotel (and we had a big discount as booked last minute), rather on the cold side in rooms / dining room (but staff turned up heat no bother when asked), old plumbing so shower went a bit hot 'n' cold.

    Really great location (seconds from a handy tram line or a short walk to city centre), helpful staff, very comfy bed, huge selection of food for breakfast, vintage old-time styled rooms with high ceilings and lots damask etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was disorganised. In 3 days we did not get a clean table. Service was slow and the “order your eggs” service was only provided once.

    It was clean and well located

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really I reached in Vienna to stay two days. But I left Vienna the next day I reached because of the accommodation. It was a very small room where there is no space for easy movement. very old

    They gave me Room no. 24.Very narrow room. There was not enough space for easy movement. single bed. I never felt it is a room. it was jail for me. No tissue. No drinking water. very small room. bed one side and TV on another side. No lobby. reception is a small cabin.There was nobody to help to take luggage.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is perfect

    Very nice hotel, perfect location, excellent food, cosy rooms. Very close to Vienna Mitte station that goes to the airport and all around the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely close to famous Plachutta restaurant and easy walk to museum area. Extremely generous room size with double bed, sofa pull out. Most comfortable bed we experienced in Europe. Excellent value! Is a Best Western but many many steps above their North American properties—basically incomparable!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee machine spluttered a bit!

    The friendliness of the staff, the tradional Viennese decor, the beautifully heated room, the underfloor heating in the bathroom, the central location and nearness to the metro and other public transport. Oh and the delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel the entrance area and the corridor on the 2nd floor would benifit from a coat of paint as it looks a bit dull and uninviting on first impression

    The area/ location/ helpful staff Beautiful decor/great breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    some of the bread and rolls at breakfast were not as fresh as they could have been. There were over 100 channels on the TV and not 1 was English! very disappointing not even BBC world news.

    great location. nice clean spacious rooms, great decor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    service entering the room 3 times early in the morning without even knocking! on arrival, we were given an access to the occupied room, and choosing one king bed on the booking appeared to be only an option ;) 2-star hotel yes; 4-star..nope ...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little hit and miss. In general the stay was pleasant. However, they failed to service our room on one day which meant we needed to ask for fresh towels. We were advised that there was a hot drinks machine available for free use as no facilities in the room. The machine did not work for 3 days. We also had to assist a Russian couple get access to their room as reception was closed and the number for the hotel was defunct and they hadn’t received a communication to advise how to get the key. Fortunately we had received this communication and was able to assist them.

    Breakfast was comprehensive although on one day we weren’t able to get a fried egg, which was on the menu although they were serving boiled and omelettes. Was frustrating.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like showers and toilet. Firstly they are separated, toilete is small about 1 m2 and when you are in it you barely can close the door. The toilet and showers are old and they have bad smell from canalisation and they should be renovated as soon as posibble. I think when they solve thisproblem, they will be one of best places to stay in Wiena.

    The breakfest very good, the hotel is comfortable and it is with the walking distance (5 minutes) of the Stephanplatz the main square of Wiena. The reception staff was very friendly and willing to help in any situation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Advised beforehand our room would be ready upon arrival. Arrived later than projected time but still wasn't ready when we got there. Was told it would be 15 minutes so we sat and waited, it ended up being nearly 45 minutes.

    Though dated, this hotel was really clean and comfortable. In a central location and ideal for U Bhan links and open top bus rides. Nice restaurants close by too including Castelleto Restaurant which became a personal favourite. Hotel offers a great breakfast despite unusual layout, never spoilt for choice! Free coffee available throughout the day too which was a nice added extra. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevators were small, but since it’s an older building you can’t really complain about it. We never had to wait. We didn’t have any problems with them

    Good location, only a short walk to the Wien Mitte station. Also easy to access with the subway from the international (flix) bus station. Tram stop in front of the door and a short walk to the Stephansdom. Very big room, comfy beds. Tasty breakfast. I forgot her name, but the lady that helped us with the check in and out was very friendly and helpful. We’ll definitely stay here again if we make it back to Vienna!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived at night and once found it took a few minutes to figure out how to get inside. It wasn't very clear to ring up. Once inside it was just what i needed and the location was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The property has been advertised itself as a 4 star however it looks for me like the rating might have come from customer satisfaction survey (4 out of 6 points, placed on one of the reception wall) rather than official hotel rating. It is definitely not a 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    On arrival there was a bit of confusion with our booking. However, it was sorted out efficiently by the staff. It's a cosy hotel with an excellent breakfast, WIFI, free tea and coffee in the lounge area and a fridge to buy alcohol. The room itself was big with a comfortable bed and plenty of space. This is perfect for a short stay for the Christmas markets or a mini break. Thank you to the nice ladies on reception for making our stay with a 2 year old so nice and relaxing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small for 2 people and not clean, the beds didn't get made and there was no soap shower head kept falling off as well as the top of the tap

    Breakfast was really good with lots of choice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We would have appreciated a few more power outlets in the room. I only found two at the desk, both used already by the room's pre-installed equipment. 1-2 more at either nightstands would have been great.

    Breakfast was until 10 pm, officially. The staff however never made us felt unwelcome if we arrived at 9:50 - or even later! We ordered scrambled eggs after 10 once, and were served just as normal. (The waiters only let us know kindly, that if we want seconds, we should get them now since they will pack away). Room was comfortable and cozy. While not the best or biggest, it's definitely a great value for the money (especially if we take the excellent location in the city).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm - even with the heating turned right down

    The location was great right by a tram stop under a 10 minute walk to the CAT station. Room was clean and comfy good base for a city break.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    they didn't change our towels for several days. even one that was put on the floor in order to replace it, it was put back with the others(there was a mark of toothpaste so we are sure that it was the same).

    Great room. they have provide us with a room that met our request. excellent reservation service. great personnel in the reception and in the breakfast room. Spacious room, great breakfast, very good bed, the hotel is in a perfect place(10 min walking distance from St. Stephan square) near the metro station(5 min walking).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely hot. 28 degrees. We had the window open the first night as no one on reception after 9pm. The traffic was loud so did not sleep well. The receptionist the next morning said she would put a remote in the room for the air conditioning. She didn't! On returning that evening we asked for the remote and were told that guests stole them and we should open the window. Eventually, after a lot of huffing and puffing she did let us have a remote. The batteries were dead so we swapped with the TV remote. Still no luck. All we got was the same temperature air being moved round the room. This hotel does advertise individually controlled air conditioning.

    The breakfast was very good. Plenty of choice and fresh bread and fruit etc Comfy beds

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a bit off putting arriving in the dark and having to walk through what appeared a deserted building to get to the hotel but once we had done that it was fine! Always difficult arriving somewhere new in the dark!

    Breakfast was a well organised affair - plenty of variety.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The entrance lobby was shared with other businesses. There was an old fashioned lift or concrete stairs to the 2nd floor where the reception desk was located. The communal area constantly smelt of cigarette smoke. The staff also smoked on the balcony in full view of the breakfast diners. The safe in the room was not digital, the key did not work so we had to put our valuables in to the manager’s safe whilst he got a replacement safe for us, an unnessary hassle at the start of our stay. The room was old fashioned and shabby. No bath plug, had to request twice and then when the plug was eventually brought to the room, it didn’t fit, so we gave up! The breakfast bar was set up in the small hotel lobby and not presented as you would expect from a 4 star hotel. The coffee machine didn’t work and the chef could not cook scrambled eggs which were bright saffron yellow and didn’t taste of eggs. The waitress was apologetic about the cooking and said the chef was still learning! The hotel signage providing customer information was printed on A4 sheets of paper and stuck on the doors with sticky tape. I could go on, but in summary, this hotel does not deserve a 4 star rating and I would not have booked had I known the poor standards.

    Nothing. If we could have got our money refunded we would have checked out and found a proper 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaner left our door open and left rubber goloves and cleaning equipment in the room. Breakfast room too small and the hot water and coffee earns were placed in a dangerous location on a shelf behind a seat. Some serious health and safety issues, not what I expect from a Best Western Hotel

    Central location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It sometimes takes a vey long time for the hot water to run hot in the bathroom, but it usually does eventually.

    My second stay here was as good as the first. The location is excellent, the rooms very comfortable and clean, the breakfast is good quality, and the staff are very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely small and outdated. We were with friends and they had a wonderful room, but room 22 was not comfortable.

    The staff was excellent and could not have asked for a better location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location, the room was great frunished, coforrable, elegant and cozy. Breakfast was very nice. Hotel staff was really helpfull. Stat at this hotel was very good. I will come back here.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room had a faulty extractor fan, non working telephone, faulty shower and the plug for the sink had to forced open to drain the sink. Second room better.

    Breakfast was OK. Room was quiet

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This Hotel delivers exactly what is says, very good location , good staff, clean, comfortable facility and room, very good breakfast, overall great value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most lousy room I have stayed in a hotel in my professional traveling in 25 years. I requested the reception staff to kindly favour me and change me to a better room. But no success as the hotel was fully booked as per the receptionist. Will never stay this hotel for sure in future

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The management is cheap - no heating in the middle of Octobre, 2 and 3 day old bread served at breakfast, shameful really. And please get rid of the old carpets so that rooms can be cleaned properly

    the location, the building

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower screen inadequate so floor is flooded. Hotel is 2 floors of a large building, other floors are having building work so hammering and drilling can start at 7am! Old building which is lovely to look at but noisy e.g. Creaking floorboards and water pipes. Can hear people talking in the room next door. Coffee machine not replenished.

    Location - excellent Staff - very friendly and helpful Booking out - able to leave luggage after you've booked out

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The morning staff preparing the breakfast were not very friendly. I grabbed a drink from the minibar at night and it was free, but when I grabbed a water in the morning they wanted to charge me and they weren't willing to explain why. They also gave me a ham and swiss sandwich for my breakfast box and didn't even bother to ask if I can eat ham. I didn't realize it until I got to the airport and ended up throwing it away and buying breakfast at the airport. If I'm paying for breakfast, I would like to take advantage of it. I didn't plan on carrying rotted fruits and ham and swiss all the way to the airport. I also had to put the water back in the minibar because they were just rude and I wanted to leave.

    Very clean and comfy room. The receptionist was very nice and helpful. The property is very easy to access from the airport. Public transportation gets you 10 minutes walking distance close to the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were clearly bullied by large manager/owner. Not good!!

    Fantastic breakfast great location. Very old world ambience! Highly recommend. Helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first impression of a hotel located on the second and third floor of a building is surprising. But at the end is not a major inconvenience.

    The hotel location, only one underground stop from Stefansdom is convenient to reach Vienna centre . The very nice and big room with a large bed. Good and complete breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfest. Too many things so nothing was very fresh.

    I liked the location. The staff was very friendly. Old fashioned hotel, but we had a very comfortable big room. TV was not working.î

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish they would put little fridge in the room :)

    Distance from city center. Although like me being alone with bad sense of direction it was not super easy to find here but i hope most people will be fine :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room “cleaning” consisted of folding the bedding- nothing else was cleaned, it was grim. When we arrived, 2 used bars of soap were in the shower- they remained until we left. Staff also really rude and unfriendly.

    The location was great- really accessible and walking distance to lots of sights and transport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We wish there were better restaurants a few steps away when one is too tired to walk far or stray far from the hotel even with transportation, but that's not the fault of this wonderful hotel!

    The room was beautifully furnished, elegant and comfortable, with a lovely crystal chandelier. The bathroom was roomy and well appointed. Breakfast was delicious, with a nice variety of sweet and savory choices. The breakfast room was delightful, light and bright with a very pleasant and attentive staff. Staff at reception was helpful in calling taxis for us and planning a trip to the Vienna woods, concerts, etc. Even the hallways and corridors were inviting, hearkening back to a former century, in a good, nostalgic manner. I met the manager, who was welcoming and friendly (Perhaps he was the owner, I don't know.) The hotel had such a great view and windows that could be opened wide for fresh air. Going in and out of the hotel was easy, we enjoyed the building. We are planning to return to Vienna next year for a longer stay and are planning to return to Best Western Arenberg hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have preferred not to have had scaffolding outside the window - but room could not be changed. Some repair work still to be carried out above shower. TV only lasted 10 minutes before going off. Not exactly what was expected for a premier room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot of space for breakfast. Bit cramped. Also toilet and bathroom were very small. Not having someone available 24/7. After 9pm you could only phone someone if a problem. Definitely felt more like pensione rather than hotel.

    Good breakfast choice, friendly reception staff. Actual room was very nice. Quaint but nice. Bed very comfortable, warm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was flooding from day1 and despite telling them it was not fixed No soap no tissues. When asked they said they had run out of these items. Breakfast was not provided despite reservations on the counter Poor reception staff except for one day. Access to hotel in the night is a problem

    Nothing. Could improve in all aspects of hotel. You should Downgrade your star status

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room and bathroom very clean (Cleanest hotel I ever been) Breakfast lot of choice and plenty of it. Staff courteous friendly Excellent position Tram stops outside of hotel Very near to the centre

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing at all it was lovely . So very friendly could not do enough for you.Organised a Taxi back to airport for us.Gave us maps told us of the best places to vist.

    The hotel receptionist was brilliant such a nice lady.The breakfast was fabulous close to shops eating places .Ice cream place.Just brilliant a great place to stay.My friend & I had a twin room a little small but was okay .Spotless.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The accommodation is in a shared building. The reception stays open until 16.00 every day so if you arrive later than that, you are required to retrieve the keys from a safe outside the building and find your way (which is easy enough as clear instructions are sent via email 2 days before your arrival). It could be misleading, however, especially since you may be expecting hotel-style service. More so if you arrive late at night (we had to help some guests who had arrived late at night due to a delay in their travel and had not received these instructions it appeared). Breakfast is an odd selection of items, randomly thrown together in a buffet style in the main entrance hall of the acommodation. I would qualify this property as more of a B&B rather than a hotel.

    Lean operation. Good location; neat and clean rooms; friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no one available when we arrived at 1730 hours. It was horrible for 20 minutes. We were told all went home at 1600 hours. When we did find help, she was great but we were under great stress.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Besides excellent location this hotel offers breakfast as at the best Caribbean resort. The hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from City Express Train (CAT) and it takes just 15 minutes to get from/to airport. The room and bathroom are comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very small room, no place for relaxing armchairs. Bathroom would be probably better with standing shower then tub. Also, our room key got deactivated, we were lucky that sombody was still in the reception to fix it.

    Best breakfast - eggs - scrambled and boiled, cold cuts, cheeses, friuts, different breads and rolls, cakes, yogurts and jellies and more. Room small but clean. Staff very helpful. Perfect location! Close to trams, U-Bahn and just 10 min walk to Wien-Mitte (CAT or S7 to/from airport).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has NO parking. You have to pay to use public parking. This is not 5 star hotel. Believe me. The furniture in the room was old. There was terrible smell. Don't go there. Let me repeat - this is NOT 5 star hotel. This is a lie.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was sold as superior double: Air con didn't work, broken chair, shower didn't function properly, laminate flooring was lifting, light bulb in hall gone & asked twice for it to be replaced = nothing happened. No tea & coffee or water in room.....I could go on

    Location is good for access to Vienna city centre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Challenging to get in the hotel upon arrival as the hotel is on 3rd floor and the outside gate required buzzing in...the hotel staff did not speak English. Everything was okay overall, just delayed and frustrated for the first 20 minutes.

    Awesome location walking distance to airport CAT train and located in the city

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old. Plugs don't fit in sink. Lights not working. Thought is was back in time. No way a best western 4 star. Has now put me off using best western.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit "faulty towers" at breakfast. Room too small, and drinks dispensers/toasters were poor capacity. However, the food quality and quantity was good.

    Room 18 was spacious, and very well furnished. Comfortable large double bed. Bathroom good size with bath and shower. Road facing room had glazed shutters so no real problem with noise.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At 8 pm the Reception closes down but the young man who is there until then speaks virtually no English! The doors to the hotel automatically lock at 9 pm and this can be a bit disconcerting at first.

    This hotel is in an ideal location so easy to walk to the attractions and the subway. The breakfast is the best that we have EVER seen. Any minor issues were dealt with very quickly. The Receptionist' name is Violetta, she speaks many languages and is most helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Never more!!!! Beds and behavior of manager ( owner) Sunday morning on 3th of September I've booked standard two rooms via Booking.com in Best Western Hotel Pension Arenberg. It was booked from the night of 3th to 4th September. In preferences while I was booking, I choose two Double rooms. After my booking, the confirmation was sent on my e-mail, that I have booked 2 double or twin rooms. While I was travelling to Vienna, I had a phone call from reception , that they have only one double room left, if the other one can be twin room. With any problem I said yes. After we came to hotel we've got regural double room, although twin room was a big surprise for us. In the room was just one regual bed with standard size and one short and narrow extra-bed on wheels. ( and I am only 180cm - what If I am 190? )Subsequently I asked the reception for the room with regular both beds, what the receptionist dismissed with words that in the room are both beds standard and regular. After that, one older Russian couple get into this "conflict" and offered us their room with both regular beds. We couldn't accept this offer because we didn't want to let the older people who also paid for regular beds sleep on the small extra-bed. We asked reception to contact the director or owner of the hotel, we gave receptionist phone number and we left to city center because we didn't want to spend our time at hotel.After we left, I also contact booking.com phone support and said about my problem to solve it and what I asked for was refund the money or get the propriate room, because we were ready to leave this hotel and find another one. After that I got phone call from our hotel that I can get room with standard beds but only if I pay 39€ more, what I immidiately declined and booking.com was still trying to fix this problem afterwards, but hotel reception stop to communicate with them.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    I had asked for twin beds and was told that booking.com did not pass on this message to them. I have since learnt that this is the normal practice for your company so I will not be using this website again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only few downsides were...... 1. the breakfast area, cluttered & in the open reception area. 2. No communal bar / sitting area - for evening drink, (although you could sit out on your balcony). 3. Our door of our room literlly openened less then 2ft from the receptionists desk.

    The hotel was querky, based on the 2nd floor of a typical converted imperial building. The staff were fantastic, so helpful and very friendly who arranged day tours pick up cabs & gave tips on where to go and how to get there. The location was fantastic, 15 minute walk from St. Stephens Cathedral & the old city. The metro stopped outside the hotel & there were shops to pick up water & snacks for day trips. Or endless cafes and restauants to have a meal. The breakfast catered for all foodies - I follow a Keto diet, it was easy peasy 😊 Our room was a double superiour with air con & balcony 👌

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were building works going on to the exterior of the building close to our bedroom window. We would have liked some warning beforehand when we checked in and possibly a welcome drink or other gesture of concern from the management. Fortunately, the builders left about 19.00. We realise the hotel management had no direct control over this but we would have appreciated a warning beforehand.

    Free lemon flavoured water in reception area. Helpful reception staff. Little outside balcony in dining area that was very pleasant to sit out on for breakfast. Interesting late nineteenth/early twentieth century building. Pleasant neighbourhood.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was building work going on and drilling began quite early in the morning. There was scaffolding outside our window. Also the breakfast room was small and we felt a bit squashed.

    Very good location. Good breakfast and bed was comfortable. Excellent little hotel for a short break.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room in 3. floor (our first night in the hotel) was very small, unclean and noisy due the renovation in the building (we got better room from the second floor for the next 3 nights, thanks Sara!). There were a strange "control" of tables in the breakfast room. We are travelling a lot and have used several Best Western hotels in Europe, but in our opinion this hotel does not meet the normal Best Western standard and the 4 star hotel criterias.

    Sara in the reception was very friendly and helpful, special thanks for her! The breakfast was quite good.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Arenberg Boutique Hotel Zentrum traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: