Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Austria hotel reviews
  3. Vienna (state) hotel reviews
  4. Vienna hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien

Reviews of Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Kärntner Straße 32-34 / Eingang Führichgasse 1, 01. Innere Stadt, 1010 Vienna, Austria

#111 of 327 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 3176 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    5.4
    Great stay but very poor hotel experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately the room 333 had absolutely no sound insulation and communicated with a room next door, 332. We could therefore hear every sigh, every sneeze, every word and breath of the people in the next door room - as they could us for sure. So with strictly no privacy it was like sharing a room with strangers or being in a dormitory. That does not make for a good hotel experience. It was frankly astonishing for a hotel with the name "Astoria" attached to it. There was also the massive building site outside that started work at 6.00am each morning with noisy machines - well, that is excusable and beyond the control of the hotel owners but having absolutely no privacy in your own room - well that is inexcusable and for that reason this hotel would only be worth a 1 star if I were to rate it. VERY DISAPPOINTING!

    The location was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    7.5
    The position was very well situated to get to all the sights...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service from some staff members was very poor. They put drinks from another room on our bill and the girl at the desk tried to send me to the bar to work it out. ‘It wasn’t her problem’ They also recommended a restaurant that when we got there needed a booking. I would have thought they could have either suggested we make one or they could have offered to make one for us! We made a booking for the next night Plachuttas ,and it was a very good suggestion.

    The position was very well situated to get to all the sights and activities we had planned

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    8.3
    Satisfactory
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very well situated, it is better do not have a car, parking is very expensive (45 EUR/day) in a public parking place nearby (Opera). Rooms are big, the furnishing is a little bit outdated, not so warm in the rooms. The personnel were very kind, polite and helpfull.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    9.2
    Really a wonderful stay, would definitely come back, but would need an end of corridor room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only issue at this hotel was the fact that the walls are literally paper-thin, so you can hear people in the neighbouring rooms as if they are in the room with you. The first night the poeple next door had their TV on all night long, it eventually went off at around 6.30am, a complete nightmare. The hotel are aware of this problem, as they keep ear protectors on reception. Not sure what they can do about this without major structural alterations, but it is a problem.

    Beds superb, room very clean, bathroom very nice, breakfast one of the best I have ever come across in a European hotel. Reception staff and door staff superb, so polite and pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed it very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My only complaint is the cleaners making noise every day at about 630 am getting ready to work. and staff in the internal yard also early in the morning being noisy.

    Great breakfast in very nice restaurant. Very nice large room - comfortable space, big bathroom with all the stuff you need.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and great situation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I appreciate the hotel is very old, but it would have been nice to have a cosy bar area to relax in. Lounge area is by reception and a small bar area upstairs by the breakfast room. We did not use this. This is not a criticism as we were extremely satisfied with the hotel, very central.

    Reception staff were extremely helpful. Breakfast had a lot of choice. Bed and pillows very comfortable and no street noise.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    10
    A great exprience!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very comfortable hotel. I loved the cosy bed and big enough bathroom. Impecably clean and quiet rooms. The breakfast was wonderful, with great variety of food. The best of all is the hotel's position - right in the centre, just steps away from Albertina Museum and The opera, and a short minutes walk from Stephan's Cathedral. It was an amazing experience. Esp. because of the helpful staff. I highly reccomend it.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    10
    Classical Vienna Hotel, with real value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very kind and helpful, they have 24 hours reception. I was able to get my room earlier, out of the check in period. The location is just perfect, in the real city center, next to the biggest shopping street, called Kartner Strasse. The room was so quiet, comfortable, with classical furniture, very comfortable bed, and extremely clean bedding. The room itself was so silent, there were no noise from outside. Surprisingly the elevator working in very silent mood, there is no flapping doors, or machine noise. The breakfast was wonderful, fresh juice and fruit, good coffee and fresh baked pastry. I am sure, I will come back...

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    8.3
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good value for money in a perfect location for access to Ubahn’s, trams and tourist buses, 2 mins from the opera house and right off one of the main shopping streets. Our room was clean and comfortable, I wouldn’t say spacious but perfectly adequate. All the staff very helpful, informative, warm and friendly. Excellent value for money in a great location.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    8.8
    Good and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the fixtures are rickety. The tap does not close properly for instance, the water keeps leaking.

    It is a renovated property and is great value for money. It is neat.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    7.1
    The position of the hotel was very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was too warm and by open windows to noisy, which is understandable as the hotel is in the center. The water in the shower took time to change from cold to hot.

    The position of the hotel was very central. The staff was very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    9.6
    Located centrally and very accessible to most tourist attractions and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing worth mentioning.

    Bathroom is spacious and very clean. The bedroom overall is comfortable. WiFi is excellent. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is centrally located, closed to opera house and St. Stephen’s Cathedral.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    9.6
    A very lovely location and hotel with some very minor problems. The staff were so nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a dividing door between our room and another and you could hear everything in that other room very clearly. The bathroom water when having a shower would run hot and cold. Also I thought the breakfast compared to other hotels was slightly expensive.

    The room was very clean and spacious and the bathroom was very large and clean also. It was situated in the heart of Vienna and I don’t think you could get an hotel more central.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    6.7
    Veryr good location and services, no parking, higher price.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking in front of the hotel. Very expensive hotel. I do like solution with two doors into the room and standard keys which is difficult to use in small place of doors. Room was quiet if you do not open the window. Outside is A/C machine and it is noisy.

    The staff was really nice and kind. Location was perfect, only if you go by car there is no option to park there but there are few parking houses around. Breakfast was really nice and a lot of choice. Room was clean and bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    10
    Couple staying one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Location was excellent, the rooms were comfortable, spacious, airy, comfortable bed and pillows, products were plentiful, breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location. It's a 5-minute walk from Karlsplatz U-Bahn station and a 7-minute walk from Hofburg Palace. Astoria is situated on Vienna’s most popular street for shopping which runs between St. Stephen’s Cathedral and the State Opera. Small room but very rich in tradition.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    10
    the stay was very enjoyable. I would recommend the hotel to anyone and would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the only small point is that the bar was very small and perhaps a larger bar area would improve the hotel, but overall, I could not fault the hotel in any way.

    the staff were very helpful and friendly. the room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were great. the location was very central and it was my birthday while we were there- on sunday 4 november. the hotel gave me and my husband a free glass of prosecco on the morning of my birthday and left a full bottle of presecco in an ice bucket in our room. We thought that was a lovely touch which we appreciated very much

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely large bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Work going on over road and noisy from 7am but you need to get up early to explore.

    Lovely large bathroom. All toiletries included. Excellent staff. Case taken to room. Comfy bed. Excellent location. Right in the heart of Vienna.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    8.8
    Content
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a bit dark and the lights either made it harshly bright or far too dark.

    Loved the location and the staff. Bath was lovely. Liked the water kettle in the room for tea at the end of the day.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    8.3
    I will come back if I can be offered a softer bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When I complaied of a bed that was too hard for me, the hotel staff were unable to help me. The wake-up system failed me Sunday morning, even though I was correctly registered.

    Generally very friendly and professional staff. Location superb.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    9.2
    Recommend highly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Location is excellent. Wonderful bathroom and comfortable room. Breakfast was somewhat hectic as there were too many guests and not enough staff. Pleasant, efficient and courteous staff. Overall recommend highly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    7.1
    Great location but very noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was 209 - no air-conditioning so one had to leave the window open. It was so noisy the whole night that we couldn't sleep for the two nights we spent there.

    The staff at the reception who are very friendly and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    10
    Unbelievable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Any

    This hotel is located in a historical building. It seems very old but provided good effectiveness. The staffs were polite and professional. I mixed up my check in and check out date. However, the manger adjusted my booking in an very efficient manner. Most important thing is he did it without charging me extra fee. To me, it is very unbelievable. Cause in Vienna, everything has a price.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    8.3
    Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room lacked air conditioning, noisy opposite casino, staff rude - a porter and two ladies not realising I could understand a little German made fun of and insulted us at check out of second stay. I also observed they did this about other non speaking guests during both stays - not cool and we ignored. Breakfast helpings were under scrutiny by staff during first stay and I provided feedback. As non big eaters it felt awkward being watched and having our plate plus crockery taken away without finishing. During our second stay this did not occur which made us feel more comfortable and was pleasing.

    Location, hotel style and architecture, spacious room were great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    6.3
    Great location, beautiful large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A lot of noise from the street and no air conditioning, which is ok when it’s not hot. But it was hot...the fan was not working properly. Small lobby.

    Great location, beautiful large room. Good bedding.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    9.2
    Great location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I asked for a king sized bed but they joined two small size beds next to each other

    The location couldn’t be any better. It’s directly in the center of Vienna. Opera house, museums, shopping center, The Cathedral all are just few minutes away.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    6.7
    Great location and services but without air-conditioned rooms I would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air-conditioning so overall the stay was very uncomfortable, we were there during warm days, not even in heatwave that hit Europe and it was nearly impossible to stay in the room to even get dressed property without sweating...after the shower and drying your hair as quickly as possible, you would need another shower!

    Location was perfect, close to everything including Opera House, the staff was excellent, speaking in different languages, very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    8.3
    It would have been a perfect hotel if rooms were air conditioned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Lack of air condition in the rooms. This made our stay at this otherwise perfect hotel very uncomfortable during the hot weather spell

    Huge, high ceiling rooms with the beautiful art deco decor; excellent breakfast; comfortable beds; prime location in the very center of Vienna.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been better. Hot dishes weren't particularly hot or appetizing. No aircon - quite hot at night.

    Great location. Nice old fashioned hotel with character.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    6.3
    Traditional hotel in great location - a shame about the room and breakfast could have been better
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cooked breakfast items unappetising - fresh egg options would have been helpful. Fresh juice choice limited. Also room was too small and lack of air-conditioning was very poor. The fan provided was too noisy to leave on - difficult to sleep.

    Nice appearance to outside and traditional panelling and atmospheric inside of hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    9.6
    The room was huge and really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air con although there was a fan, it was still very warm.

    The room was huge and really nice. The staff were friendly and spoke excellent English. Breakfast was expensive but nice. The location was perfect, right in the centre. The hotel itself is very grand and the lobby is gorgeous.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    5.8
    location aint all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    ridiculous room with no air conditioning in 29 degree heat despite website promises shower so small had to leave door open so could move arms negligible breakfast offerings. not even fresh melon

    location isn’t everything. but is only thing to recommend this hotel gracious staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception desk is great with info and provides tram ticket.s On hot days free lemonade is super, specially when they charge tap water in some restaurants.

    Breakfast is to expensive for the quality. Pastries in Vienna are well known but in hotel really bad quality and no choice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    8.8
    Location is perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very hot and no air conditioning other than a small ventilator. Windows opening up onto courtyard don’t do much for cooling up.

    Location is perfect. Staff very friendly. Comfortable bed. Quiet room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    6.7
    staff at front desk pleasant and efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the first room we had reserved had no air conditioning and we could not sleep well because we could not leave the windows open for the noise. We had to pay an extra 30 euro a night for an air conditioned room. Linen was not changed for 3 days and the amenities were not replenished

    staff at front desk pleasant and efficient

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    7.5
    Good breakfast, excellent location in city centre.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    no air conditioning in our room (air conditioning in some rooms), and window access partially obstructed. Not comfortable space to sit and relax in

    Good breakfast, excellent location in city centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    5.0
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy. Can hear everything if you face the street. Construction going on on a property opposite. No air conditioning. Shower was broken, although they did fix it promptly. I felt the facilities were basic for the price.

    Location. Very central

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    10
    The staff were very kind and helpul!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very kind and helpul!! They did everything to help us responding to our extra requests. Thank you very much Bettina the Front Office Manager!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    10
    We had a nice stay after we moved to an air-conditioned rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some floors are not air-conditioned which is contrary to booking. In summer these rooms are very high even at night. The lifts are also small. Toilet and bath are in different locations.

    Staff are excellent. Rooms are clean and spacious. Location is the optimal. Towels are clean and nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent hotel in the middle of old Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing Although the room was strangely, unnaturally warm, however we couldn’t find a heat source to turn off, so must just be amazingly well insulated.

    Room was gorgeous - excellent facilities and so close to the centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    8.3
    Great location, noise was na issue but overall had a great time, just not enough sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The noise from the street and the working of the hotel was very loud. We asked to move room after our first night and this was facilitated but the early morning (5:30am rubbish collection) was very bad.

    Location for site seeing was great and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    7.5
    Loved it - would definitely come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small lift - difficult with a lot of luggage

    Everything!!! The reception staff were amazing - so helpful with suggestions and directions. The breakfast room was nice, with a good buffet selection. The rooms are large, light and airy. The location is fantastic, close to shops, restaurants, the Vienna Opera House, the Sacher Hotel (to try the original Sacher torte), and the Spanish Riding School. We loved this place and would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    10
    Awesome hotel in the heart of Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lifts are old fashioned and could be upgraded. But they work just fine so no major issue.

    Everything. The location is PERFECT. the room and bathroom and are huge. The man who welcomes you at the door is great. The reception staff were friendly. It was a great hotel and would definitely stay again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    8.8
    Perfect place for long weekend in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    not air conditioning. Because of the hot weather we had to sleep with noisy electrical fan on and the windows open, and the noise from the street sometimes was disturbing.

    Perfect location, nice room and good value for money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    7.5
    Weekend in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive breakfast (17,- EUR! per person). In the room was extremly hot otherwise outside was normal temeprature about 25 C. Room with the "balcony". I saw a lot of balconies but this was the smallest one in the world. Maybe half square meter. not possible to put chair there or something. Recommend don´t offer it as balcony... :-) Minibar in the room is not classic minibar but small bar fridge with the glass door and extremly light so you can not sleep in the night becasue the cooler lights up. Try to turn off and it only start flash like on discoteque :-)

    Very good position of the hotel. Parking house 2min. walk. Discount for parking from the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    8.3
    Staff were all very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was quite small and it was unbearably hot so we did not sleep well. There was a fan but this was ineffective in such warm weather.

    Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good. Location was very convenient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    9.6
    The perfect hotel for exploring Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The classic style of the hotel is great and its perfectly situated to explore the city, the bed is very comfortable. Large sized bathroom. Particularly enjoyed the ample choice of breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    5.0
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No airconditioning and the staff at the front desk (I wasnt able to get his name because his name tag only says trainee ie tall, lanky boy). I asked if i can be transferred rooms he said it was fully booked but when I checked booking.com, there were a lot of rooms available. When I told him about it, he just said - you can book at another hotel and I’ll refund you....

    The location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    10
    An elegant, beautiful place to stay in the middle of Vienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Heavy douvets.

    An elegant, beautiful place to stay in the middle of Vienna. Very quiet hotel, although it lays in the middle of the city. Close to the Opera and the Museumsqiartier. The staff was polite and always eager to help. The rooms and bathrooms were tastefully decorated and very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    10
    The bell person was so very nice, polite and pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had nothing minus.

    The location is nothing but convenient. The staffs are kind and pleasant especially the responsible bell person. Also the interiors are classic with wide hallways, still the facilities convenient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    10
    Fantastic place to stay in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely brilliant in every way. Anyone booking to stay here will not be disappointed. Fantastic!

    Location, quality and size of room. Breakfast and staff, all wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    10
    A fabulous stay in an equally fabulous hotel and city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A beautiful hotel with excellent interiors, the old style lift was a particular favourite of ours, along with the beautiful balcony our room had. The rooms are spotless. The staff on the front desk are lovely. The location is great for visiting the museum quarter, as well as being just around the corner from a main shopping area with plenty of restaurants and cafes. It also has close links to the underground and trams for getting around Vienna.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    10
    Perfect location, so close to everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit hot without aircon but it was the hottest day of the year in Vienna with 34 degrees.

    Perfect location, so close to everything! Staff super friendly and we got a free upgrade with a bottle of Prosecco for our honeymoon. Walking tour starts around the corner which we can recommend doing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    9.2
    The hotel itself is really beautiful and exudes a classic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As many reviewers mention, the hotel does not have air condition, which is something I wish I had known before checking in. Staying there in early August during very hot days was very uncomfortable, and we changed rooms mid-way through our stay because I couldn't sleep at night our room was so hot. The second room we got, which was facing the front of the building to the street, was better because there was more air flowing into the room. If you stay here during the summer, be aware that there's no A/C and ask for the coolest room they have when you check in (which we didn't do).

    The hotel itself is really beautiful and exudes a classic Austrian place. I liked all of the character it had, how the rooms were decorated with tall ceilings, and the bathroom was very nice. In addition the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s old building without AC during the summer it’s so hot and the furniture needs to be changed

    Location was more than perfect and i like the bathroom huge and new

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    5.8
    Very hot & switched hotels after one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lack of air conditioning for the price we paid was unacceptable. They did have a fan, but we were there at the beginning of August & it was so hot. We were sticky all night long & were on the side where all of the outside buildings air conditioning units were pumping hot air up towards our room that even opening the windows didn't help. If you are to make your hotel comfortable year round, you will need to install air conditioning. The hotel did allow us to move to their sister hotel around the corner which was just slightly better.

    Location was great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    9.6
    Vienna summer
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Super location, close to everything. there's a buffet styLe restaurant next door as well perfect for schnitzel aa well. Went during the heat aave, they had a fan provided. Very comfortable bed, clean , and spacious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    10
    Location, front reception, room size and building style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air con ... room too hot. Too much scrutiny by Breakfast staff ... policed what everyone ate and cleared plates before people finished. Very uncomfortable.

    Location, front reception, room size and building style.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location. Clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    However the room was too small. Also there was a fan in the room but it was too hot in there in August. In my opinion they should have a/c since the temperature reaches 34-35c. The wi-fi sometimes was very poor.

    The hotel was very good in a central location just a few minutes from the karlsplatz. The staff was polite and professional.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    9.2
    Great Location in Inner Ring of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of air conditioning in all but 7 Executive rooms, especially during hot Summer months.

    Stayed three nights 7/29 - 8/1/18. Loved the location of the hotel in the inner ring of the city right off the main pedestrian street, easy walking to several attractions and public transportation. Good restaurants and coffee shops nearby. Clean room with comfortable beds. First two nights were in an Executive room without air conditioning and it was very hot even with fans and difficult to sleep. Third night we were able to change to one of the seven air conditioned Executive rooms and it made a tremendous difference in our comfort level. Staff was wonderful, spoke English, provided directions to points of interest and even helped with online airline check-in. Computer available in lobby and Wi-fi worked in our room. Would stay here again, but in warm months only if we could book one of the air conditioned Executive rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of air conditioning made the room very hot in summer, despite the fan. Very noisy with the windows open.

    Very clean, helpful staff and amazing location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    7.9
    Ok stay, no air con
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air con - we were in Vienna when temp was approx 35 degrees and after whole day of sightseeing we couldn’t relax at the hotel as it was way too hot. Fan provided in the room wasn’t enough.

    Great location, nice traditional feel of the hotel, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    7.9
    Great, but not in hot summer time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Air conditioning at all! It's OK for all season except summer, when the temperature exceeds 35 C. It was inpossible to sleep in a room even with the windows wide open.

    Great location just in the city center. 10 min walk from the main attractions. Nice breakfast and cosy interior.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    8.3
    Nice, well equipped hotel in the centre of Vienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lack of air conditioning was a real issue and it was almost impossible to sleep due to the heat even though a fan was provided. I appreciate that Europe is in the midst of a heatwave so I wouldn’t be put of staying again just a little wary of booking in the warmer months.

    Nice, well equipped hotel in the centre of Vienna. Helpful staff and interesting period features in the building itself.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    7.5
    The staff were super friendly and went out of their way to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was very hot and the portable fans provided did not really make any difference

    The staff were super friendly and went out of their way to provide help, and I could not have asked for a better located hotel ....

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    8.3
    Good - woukd return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a classic room which was a little small. If we returned we’d book a comfort room. Vienna was very hot and it wasn’t easy to keep cool, even with a good fan.

    Good comfortable hotel in the best of locations. Reception staff so helpful. Beds very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of air conditioning in our room. There was a fan in the room though.

    Excellent location. Big room. Balcony...although not really big enough to sit out on.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Expired juice in minibar ! Had worms in it !!! And only 8 rooms with AC, out of their 188 or so rooms ! You should be really lucky to upgrade and pay the difference in money !

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    8.3
    Initially disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn't appreciate being told we had been upgraded at no expense to what was fully known to be one of the hottest rooms in the hotel (during a heatwave) and we especially didn't appreciate being told by another porter on our arrival that the hotel had no air-conditioned rooms- which was blatantly incorrect. A hotel of this rating should have air-conditioning in all rooms.

    The upgraded room with air-conditioning (which we paid for) was excellent A big thank you to Solomon (porter) who was most helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    5.0
    Don't be fooled by the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air-conditioning, and we paid extra for the balcony, only to find out that it is so tiny that it's basically pointless!!

    The location is the only thing the hotel has!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2018

    10
    super good staffs, super good location close to city centre,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    nothing should be complained.

    super good staffs, super good location close to city centre, super good service. everything is perfect. super recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2018

    7.9
    The Hotel is in the heart of Vienna (Inner Wien) and to get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel is in the heart of Vienna (Inner Wien) and to get to the main the attractions are within easy walking distance. Reception staff were kind and helpful. Good and comfortable hotel with lots of food nearby to choose from.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2018

    8.8
    A beautiful hotel with the best location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No AC in the rooms... it was too hot. There was a fan but not enough

    A beautiful hotel with the best location. Close to everything. The staff at the hotel were super and very helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    9.6
    Very quaint hotel with lots of history and close to all the action
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no air conditioning which for most of the yr would be ok but it was very hot days when I was there. The water pressure in bathroom was not the best but not a major issue

    The history of the hotel, boutique, huge bathroom with awesome lighting. Close to all the sights of the city

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    7.5
    Location and value for money, hotel style and construction.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was worse than expected, specifically the bread was old and not fresh. Complained about it and the chef gave false info. Unfortunately I know how it works. He was then blaming the cook for not preparing fresh bread on the side. Bad for him that I was around so I heard them argue. How can breakfast be good if bread is old and from overnight. This spoils the buffet whatever other choices you have because normally bread is the most important item on a breakfast buffet.

    Location and value for money, hotel style and construction. Staff were nice and friendly. Hotel manager was by chance around when waiting for the lift. A very nice lady who saw me with my luggage so stopped to call the lift and open it for me. She was so nice that I didn’t want to complain about the breakfast bread that was served old from overnight. But in general it was a good stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: