Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Apartment Auwirt 3 stars

Salzburger Straße 42, 5400 Hallein, Austria

#3 of 5 hotels in Hallein

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 297 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Exceptionally nice and friendly owner. Great communication before arrival. Beautiful location. Very clean rooms. Comfortable beds. Exceptional breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is far from Salzburg city center, so without private car, the transportation could be a problem.

    The breakfast was perfect, they have almost everything; muslis, yoghurts, breads, milk, honeys, marmelades, eggs, cakes, olives, butters everything. The room was very clean and hot enough. They have parking area for your private car and the owner of hotel was very nice and friendly. Helped us almost for everything.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing except possibly have a couple more choices at the bar for those that don't drink beer?

    Margaret was such a joy to be around. So friendly and professional. This place was one of our favorites on our recent trip. It has the "authentic German Gasthaus" feel that we loved. All of my family that was with me would definitely recommend staying here. We will go out of our way to stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small single room. Breakfast looked big but there were a lot of condiments that few if any people would use that made the spread look much bigger.

    That it was outside of the central city and had recently been refurbished. There was one staff member who was always there who could only be described as a credit to the pension. Always willing to help and a welcoming smile.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant's menu should have more variety and there should be less food seasoning in soups.

    Owner's genuine hospitality;excellent position to organize trips to nearby attractions;Waitress was really nice to us

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was an overall great "pitstop/overnight" experience. The apartment was specious, clean, and very comfy. The Staff was super friendly and very caring for our needs. Definitely recommend it and definitely coming back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This hotel is located outside a town and on a highway. If you are travelling by car it is ideally located for visiting Salzburg (30 minutes), Berchtesgaden (25 minutes) and Hallstatt (just over an hour). The hotel is outside of town so access to the road is great. It has a good restaurant and there are others within 10 minutes. It is clean and well furnished. Breakfast is included and is extensive and very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar and restaurant closed too early.

    The staff was very very friendly. Tha owner gave us all the information we needed.The location was good for what we wanted to visit: Salzburg, Hallstat and Eagle's nest. The room was comfortable, big and clean. Breakfrst was delicous and custommade cofee too. We enjoyed our stay. For our baby it was taken care of with baby cot and high chair.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's stairs kind of apartment Slight small good for 4 people but good enough

    On site restaurant-was able to have a nice dinner with quality dinner after a long day of travelling Extremely friendly and helpful girl at the desk-gave us hot water when we asked for some for our room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wish we could have stayed longer

    Our stay near Salzburg was the highlight of our months travel, primarily because of the warmth and hospitality of Margaret at Gasthaus Auwirt. Firstly, outstanding breakfasts with over and above on allergy requests (getting in extra foods we didn't ask for). The warm greetings every morning made our family feel like we were staying with friends. Each day, Margaret helped us plan our itinerary, suggesting wonderful local attractions we could not have discovered without her. We are two weeks home and still longing to be back in that wonderful region among such kind people! The rooms were clean and sleek, very modern, warm and comfortable. Bus is right outside and walking up Alps or along river right from Gasthaus. A most wonderful part of our travel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Margaret was such a great hostess. Her organic (bio) breakfast was delicious. When we asked about the honey which we loved at the breakfast, she just bought a jar for us. Margaret was very warm and our stay was like we are at home. Definitely would come back if in the area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were travelling to Salzburg by car for short family city break. We booked their Deluxe Apartment which was excellent option for family of four. Apartment was clean and with balcony overlooking green fields and mountains in the distance. Breakfast was great, only thing I was missing were some scrambled eggs. :) There is a lot of green space around property for kids to run and even small playground. Parking was easy, wi-fi was working perfectly. I would recommend Auwirt to all families travelling by car. There is also a bus stop directly in front of the property.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can not think of any negative things.

    A fantastic staff who work and toil hard to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The breakfast served can not be compared with anything else at all, it is outstanding, fruit, smoothies, a lot is homemade, everything you can imagine. The location is quiet yet close to highways and other transportation.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly staff and truly cared. Exceptional service at check-in, dinner at their restaurant and at breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was really good!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great: accomodation, braekfast, kidness of the owner, ...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff was extremely friendly and very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, noise from the street

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meal was pretty average.

    Good value for money, friendly receptionist, room quite comfortable i.e. adequate. Very good on-site parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean & Modern 2 story Apartment with a small kitchen , quiet and good for group of friends or family to spend time apart from busy old town .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff were friendly and cheerful. Very accommodating and helpful in making our stay excellent. The breakfast was superb as was the dinner. Overall excellent.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The towels need to be improved.

    The beds were comfortable. The owners are so friendly and helpful! We took the bus into Salzburg and back for 2€ each with a form from the hotel. There was good parking for our car.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    dust in the closet and drawers, which slightly spoils the overall impression

    a peaceful place with comfortable surroundings and visits to Salzburg, friendly owners

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi was spasmodic.

    Excellent location to explore Salzburg, a short bus trip away (avoid the traffic & parking hell of that city at all cost!). New, well designed and spacious apartments. Hallein is central to exploring the operetta country behind lovely Salzbug.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wi-fi was very finicky; we had to go down the hall to get it to work. No AC (as in most of Europe) and cross ventilation in some rooms is minimal, so can take a bit to get room cool.

    Staff very helpful and patient. Being outside the city was a plus for us (YMMV). Rooms were quite spacious.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was off season ,, so it was low key .. but te reception was great and I was treated as a friend. Other friends were dropping in, and it was nice! I was made to feel part of the family. Greeted by a lovely breakfast too!

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    too expensive for this location

    clean room , nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room size & washroom size for family room

    Location , Courtesy of staff , Peace

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had such a lovely time during our week-end trip. The family always greeted us by name and were very helpful with local activities.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nice breakfast. Comfortable beds.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    need more variety for breakfast. road loud if windows open.

    Family run. Very acccomodating. Great food.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Margaret the host would do anything to help. Nothing was much trouble for her! The food served for breakfast and dinner at night was excellent!

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: