Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bergland Hotel 3 stars

Rupertgasse 15, Schallmoos, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

#14 of 110 hotels in Salzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1012 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable and relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing significant - this is a fine family hotel.

    Very good location, friendly and helpful owner. Large room and en-suite. Good breakfast and easy walk to railway station (15-20 minutes) and old town, but away from the tourist hordes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC - but we were provided a fan which did the trick.

    We were greeted warmly by the receptionist who provided a city map and gave tips of where to dine/ drink and where to visit. We had a junior suite - it was extremely clean. We really enjoyed the bath robes too. Staff were excellent - we had an issue with our tv and the receptionist was up in 2 mins to fix same.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.3
    Modern rooms that were very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room got quite warm at night since we could not keep the windows open due to noise from the street. The mattress was also very firm and I woke up with a stiff back. The rain shower did not work in our room. Lastly, the breakfast didn’t feel like good value compared to other hotels we have stayed at so I would recommend going elsewhere.

    Modern rooms that were very clean. Location was good, just a short walk to a pedestrian only area that takes you down to the river and main part of town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Very nicely decorated hotel with a personal style and touch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nicely decorated hotel with a personal style and touch. Great breakfast, especially the yoghurt. Walking distance to the city center, parking space available and not on a main street.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended! The family who runs this put their heart and thought in to make it the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, I forgot to ask an extra pillow, it was a bit small and soft. It is quite a walk from the train station in a rainy day like when I was there.

    A perfect little place that gives you the best restfuul time. The building and interior are so charming with personal and historical touch, the owner/staff are super friendly and helpful. The terrace, lobby and breakfast place are so lovely and cosy but perfecly clean and neat. Everything in the room is just want you want a nice stay to have. I have a single room which is tiny but comes with desk, chair, hot water kettle, and good selections of tea! I love the bathroom, it is spacious, clean has space to put your stuffs and the hot shower runs consistently. Everything is super clean! I did not have breakfast but it smelt great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    A perfect location for exploring Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We very much enjoyed our stay at the Bergland Hotel. We found a parking place right in front of the hotel and were warmly greeted by Monica, who checked us in and gave us tips for eating, drinking and shopping in the area. The location was excellent. We were able to walk everywhere in the New Town and Old Town area, and only needed to drive when we went out of the city. The room was very comfortable and there was a very lovely outdoor terrace on the second level (first floor). We had breakfast in the hotel on two occasions and were very satisfied with the quality and selection of the buffet-style food options. All of the staff were helpful and friendly. We were within a short walking distance to a grocery store (Billa);, a biergarten (Dei Weiss); and restaurants, shops and bakeries (on Linzergasse). It is also within a short walking distance (10-15 minutes) to the "Sound of Music" Panorama bus tour depot. The hotel has an elevator, but I'm not sure if entry into the hotel is wheelchair accessible. Would we stay there again? Absolutely!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly, family run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi in the rooms is a bit hit and miss. It was very warm when were there but the windows open fully to allow in the cooler evening breeze. Aircon would be a nice feature.

    Very friendly, family run hotel. Reasonable walking distance to the town and parking available out front. Nice breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    A lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was really nice both at check-in and check-out. They provided us with a map of the city and offered some good recommendations on where to have dinner. The room was big and extremely clean. Since we arrived by car a private parking with very reasonable rates was well appreciated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    I couldn't buy a prepaid card for internet on Sunday and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't buy a prepaid card for internet on Sunday and it's also impossible in the next small town like St. Wolfgang on Monday. The receptionist kindly check on internet and tell me where to buy in Bad Ischl.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Very nice hotel, clean, comfortable, well-located; a good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was quite satisfactory; value "good" in my opinion but perhaps not "excellent" for the reasons I have given; but in fairness this may reflect Salzburg. I cannot compare with other properties in that city.

    Easywalk, 15-20 minutes, from the historic old town, even less to quaint shopping and café areas. A very pleasant biergarten is only 2 blocks away; good dinner solution. The room was very clean and well kept. No air conditioning but open windows and a fan worked fairly well for nighttime comfort; the days were quite warm. Breakfast is 9.5 Euros, parking was very convenient (next to the front door) though 8 Euros nightly. In some comparable places these two items are free, but perhaps not Salzburg, which is, of course, touristy. Staff very nice, and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    This hotel was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing I wished we'd had was a ledge or shelf in the shower to put our shampoos etc. on. If this is the only bad thing about a property, its a good sign!

    This hotel was great! When we checked in, the owners (who run the front desk and are a really cute couple!) gave us a listing of all of their restaurant recommendations, categorized by area of town, distance from the hotel and their rating. We tried two of their recommendations and they lived up to the hype in the guide. The hotel itself was also very nice. The room was spacious and the bathrooms had been recently updated, including a rain shower head. I was a bit surprised that there was not air conditioning, but the room came with a fan and with the windows open, we were never too hot. There is also a nice terrace that you can have a drink on in the evening. The hotel's location is about a 15-20 minute walk from the old part of town but there are plenty of bars, restaurants and shops within a 5-10 minute walk. Ideal if you want to be close to the action, but not in the middle of it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Large, clean rooms, but no coffee in the room, no AC and traffic noiser than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel advertises that it is on a quiet street. We did not find this to be true. It is located at the corner of 2 streets, one was very busy with tractors and trucks going down it until late. There is no air conditioning and we had a corner room on the 2 streets. We had to leave our windows open since it was warm and no AC. It was noisy until past 11 at night and then starting around 6am. We also were not happy that they do not provide coffee in the room. They give a hot pot and a selection of teas. We thought they forgot the instant coffee so asked for some. We were told it would cost 2.80 Euros per cup!!! We thought it poor service not to provide instant coffee when almost every hotel does. Our advice - think twice before staying here in the summer as it has no AC and, if you do stay here, bring your own coffee if you like a cup in the morning while you are getting dressed.

    Room was nice size, clean and comfortable. Staff was helpful, friendly and very nice. Breakfast was decent. This is a nice place, but has some drawbacks. On a noisy street, no AC and no coffee in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Lovely Salzburg Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really friendly and comfortable place. I will try and stay here whenever I visit Salzburg. Nice terrace, good location and very relaxing atmosphere. The staff will do anything to help you, too, and there is a real personal touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Excellent location with inviting atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street my room faced was a little noisy and I wanted the window open to cool the room.

    Close to train station and city center. Clean room, comfy bed, good breakfast. They even let me drop my luggage early before check in and leave it after I checked out so I could explore Salzburg more.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Comfy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fridge took awhile to cool my drinks.

    I like the bed it's very comfy. The bathroom is spacious, especially shower. Very clean. Nice balcony where you can hang out. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    Good location near to the old town and to the centrum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs reconstruction. There was mold in the shower cabinet and the door couldn ´t be closed properly. In the bedroom on the ceiling in the corner near the window there were signs of leaking. Breakfast wasn’t tasty, once we also found rotten tomato on the tray.

    Good location near to the old town and to the centrum. Good working wifi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Very good location. Exceptionally kind and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally - the hotel is overpriced, in my opinion. The breakfast is only cold offerings.

    Location-close to the city centre and yet not in the crowded centre, just a short walk. Staff - exceptionally helpful and kind. They gave us very good recommendations where to have dinner. Room was ok, clealiness- perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice & Ruth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Such a large room, has nothing to put your luggages, hotel charges parking fee in front of the parking lot, they didint give any permision to use parking lot after checked out. even if short time!!! ıt's ruth.

    Night shift ladies and & waitress of breakfast saloon was great and cheerfull. size of the rooms very convinient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable cozy hotel in ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast could have had more options, and the bread was a bit dry.

    Everything. Very friendly staff, good quiet location (ideal for light sleepers like me), comfortable bed, nice terrace, easy check-in/out process, walkable distance to main sights. Train station is a 10 min walk and 15 min to the river/city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Cute little hotel with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi didn’t work. Not in our room or in the lobby. The staff said this was temporary.

    Cute little hotel with great staff. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable. The hotel had a cute little terrace. Location was good. 10-15 min walk downtown. The breakfast was ok but not great. It was a cold breakfast with bread, toppings, fruits, yogurt, cereal and hard boiled eggs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    The room was large, clean, and well appointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Surprised to see a fee for parking as our guidebook indicated it was free. But it was good to have a space so we walk about Salzburg and not worry about the car.

    The room was large, clean, and well appointed. We slept well as it was quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was good but not terrific. The staff/owners were very friendly and helpful. Good neighborhood.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Walking distance to downtown, but in a quiet area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking distance to downtown, but in a quiet area...at least while we were there. Staff was GREAT, VERY friendly and helpful as far as suggesting places to eat etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    A friendly boutique hotel off the beaten path in Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little out of the centre, and there was no possibility to leave luggage at the hotel the day we were checking out

    The staff were great, very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Cosy, friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to correct the receptionist about charging us for parking as we had pre-booked for free parking before the hotel had changed their policy.

    The hotel accommodated my request for a room on the the top floor and away from the lift.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was clean and new, the breakfast was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cold outside and the location was not the best to walk to the centerz and the internet connection in the hotel was terrible :(

    The hotel was clean and new, the breakfast was very sufficient. The free parking place availability is absolutely a plus!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Book it!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great except maybe the room was too warm but nothing an open window could not fix. I also missed more egg options-they only had a hard boiled egg available.

    Super nice hotel with a feel of a boutique! The whole hotel was cosy and nicely decorated. Room was beautiful, cosy, spacious and clean. Staff was wonderful- helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.3
    Lovely family hotel in a lovely Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really there's nothing that I didn't like or that I would ameliorate in this structure. Perhaps, I think it would be better to provide the rooms' minibar with free bottles of water (at least two) for the guests as it already happens in most european hotels. Apart from that I honestly have nothing to complain about.

    The room assigned to us was a junior suite, which is a very spacious, cozy, comfortable and luminous room, provided with an extra sofa, and a separate room for the wardrobe. Heating and wifi worked just fine. What we appreciated was the closeness to the downtown, city center, approximately 10 minute by foot from the hotel. Nearby there are also quite a few restaurants, although the majority of them are of asian (Pakistani) cuisine (or a fusion of asian and european) rather than local, except for the pricey Die Weisse. The owners are also really nice people, very well educated and keen to give out information in a very fluent english. The hotel also provides the option of having breakfast in the structure (although we didn't pay extra for it). Nevertheless, we had breakfast on the following day of our arrival. Breakfast is rather small but variegated, offering anything from pastries and cakes to the customary ham, eggs, and cheese.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    We would stay here again and again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was wonderful!!

    We would stay here again and again! What a lovely staff and the accommodations are clean, roomy, and comfortable!! Thank you for the wonderful stay!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Travel in such beautiful city whilst meeting so nice hoster...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Travel in such beautiful city whilst meeting so nice hoster what could you expect more! Plus the very 'personal' breakfast I love it and will call again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.8
    Average at best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The Internet didn’t work at all and the staff wasn’t willing to help fix the problem - the breakfast was weak and lame for the price - the temperature couldn’t be controlled and it got too hot

    The location the close to town

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely property, amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just as a note after 9pm no staff will be available.

    15-20 mins waking from downtown and major attractions. Staff was really friendly and helpful. I got the big room and it was spacious, clean and really confortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice staff and very kind for them to help me about the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location a bit far from town centre and train station.

    Nice staff and very kind for them to help me about the traffic. Room is big and clean. Also comfortable. Restaurant around the hotel is also good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Two nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit smaller than expected. So much fruit tea. Where is the English breakfast!

    Good breakfast. The location was an easy walk to restaurants transport and shops.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    The staff were all very helpful with directions and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were all very helpful with directions and suggestions, and more than happy to hold our luggage when we weren't leaving until later in the day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    3.3
    No coffee, no milk, no towels, clogged drains. Sad experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feel cheated. Don't trust the property. They said the credit card will be pre authorised and they went ahead and debited my card and refused to cancel. My entire economics of the trip went for a toss. They dint even check with me just charged my card. Which is not fair. Booking.com should refuse such properties in future. This was my first bad experience with booking.com.

    Nothing was good. The owners are rude and unfriendly, cleanliness is bad, facilities are so so sorry. The dust bins of the previous guests were not cleaned. No early check in allowed, no towels in the single room, the drains in my friends room was clogged.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    2.5
    Little gem of a boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I enjoyed the home like atmosphere, staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast excellent served in a cozy room, they even make their own yogurt...Very nicely decorated with good art displayed everywhere. Lcation was great, close to everything but in a quiet, residential area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Comfortable, quiet, clean and friendly hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing was bad on my visit - All very good

    Bed was lovely and soft and I just sank into it, room was very clean - great, especially after a very long drive. The hotel even upgraded me from single to double room FOC, which was fantastic - THX U

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.0
    Too expensive for services offered to the business traveler.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighborhood too far from the music festival, breakfast just ok. Staff could be more open minded to solo travelers. Room very hot and stuffy. Reception closes at 9 pm. Not good for business traveler. I asked to change rooms due to construction noise and they did not accommodate me. It is a hotel but family run and felt too much like a pension. I felt I had little independence and the service was not professional enough in a way that made me feel welcome on my vacation.

    Room decor, common terrace

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    A very good option for a smooth stay in Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows are needing an upgrade.

    Family-run small hotel with extremely nice and helpful staff. Free parking in a private setting. Located in a quiet area within walking-distance to the historic centre. Very good breakfast options. Recently renovated room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Good choice for Salzburg especially for self-drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some rooms facing the street are not quiet at all. But the other rooms are very nice and with stylish decorations. The lady to welcome us when we check in is very nice and helpful.

    For the breakfast, not much variety of food can be chosen.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.6
    My single room was expectedly small, but very comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My single room was expectedly small, but very comfortable and well laid out to maximize the space. The location was great, only about a ten to fifteen minute walk from center and the river. Salzburg was lovely and I hope to get back for a longer visit soon!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.9
    Value proposition
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was approximately 15 minute walk to the old town.

    Good Value. Breakfast was good European offering with cheeses, cold meats etc. Quite neighborhood. Provides parking free, but limited spaces.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.1
    Attractive hotel in a quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a double and single room, the double was good but the single room was very small and very hot.

    The decor was great and very comfy beds. Polite and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.2
    Wonderfully quiet hotel a moment's walk from the old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air conditioning in the room would have made the nights more comfortable.

    Wonderfully quiet hotel a moment's walk from the old town, with restaurants a 5 minute walk away. The staff are helpful and pleasant. Fast, reliable WiFi is provided for free.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant family-owned hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there in a very hot week in July. The room was a bit warm and, as in the case in many hotels in this area of Europe, we had only a heavy duvet as bed cover. Could have used something lighter and perhaps a fan.

    Small, family-owned hotel in quiet neighborhood. The decor is a pleasant mix of modern and antiques. The bathroom had a great shower and large vanity. Owner and staff were very helpful. Nice cold breakfast buffet with homemade breads and pastries (no cooked foods.) About a 10 minute walk to the old town. Nice beer garden/restaurant nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Nice host, Free Parking and good BF
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    We arrived after 7 pm and the parking in front of the hotel was full but we parked on street just across from the hotel for free after 7 pm and before 9 am. In the morning, the host offered to move our car for us so we could go on touring the city. That was nice of her. And after checked out, we forgot our stuff there in closets in our room as it was a separate closet by each side of the bed. We realized that on the way to Konigsee and the host tried to contact us via booking.com too. We just had to come back to the hotel before heading on to Wien. So, everything worked out just fine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Cute little boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quite hot as there was no aircon - just one fan to try circulate air at night.

    Room was nice and spacious, modern bathroom and comfortable bed. Location was about 15 mins walk down to the river so suited us well. Only a 15 minute walk to the train station. The receptionist provided us with a restaurant guide as well as a map which she explained - this was great! Breakfast had a nice variety

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    We were looking for a hotel that offers free parking - and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were looking for a hotel that offers free parking - and this one was it! Private parking is safe and it's very close to the hotel. The room was spacious and very clean. Hosts are very friendly. The hotel is close to the center of city. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    Close to centre .. great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked breakfast included in the price.

    Amazing double room.. short walk into centre of Salzburg. Staff were extremely helpful. Room had lots of space and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    The owner was very kind, educated and knowledgeable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    The owner was very kind, educated and knowledgeable. We loved the clacical music was playing in the hotel. T and cafe was in hotel room. It was well decorated room Well worth the money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    Good location, very helpfull staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotels fault but it was 30 degrees and they do not have air con, they gave us a fan but at night it was crazy hot. Any other time it would have been fine

    Good location, very helpfull staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    5.0
    Very average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guy at the reception was rude. We said when the room didn't meet the expectation, he asked us to leave. Which we thought was rude.

    Location was amazing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Very conveniently located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there during very hot weather and there was no air conditioning. There was an electric fan however.

    Very conveniently located. Easy 15 minute walk into the centre along mostly pedestrianised route. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.1
    Good for staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was extra fee and we couldnt this information neither booking.com nor hotel lobby. You have to ask the time and price..

    Polite and helpfull staf for check in and visit the city, clean room and bed. It was same far between main station and old city center (15-20 min. with walk)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful smaller hotel family run and friendly!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All was great!

    Great hotel. Came to town by train and would suggest you take a taxi. It's a 10 min. walk but the first time it's going to be hard to find. Love this hotel. Very nice breakfast. Nice neighborhood and not far from center of town. Excellent!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.2
    Comfy and Cozy little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little difficult to find the hotel.

    The Faculty and Staff were very nice and helpful. My daughter enjoyed playing on the piano that was next to the reception.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel, very quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of aircon.

    Very comfortable and well appointed room. The staff were lovely and very helpful and spoke excellent English. Aircon would have been welcome but there was at least a fan.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.2
    A Jewel in the Heart of Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Though I had reserved a single room, I had not expected a twin bed. As hotel was totally booked, I could not buy a larger one.

    Welcoming, informative staff. Nice outside terrace - good for chatting with other guests and dining/wining. Well located. Quiet room. Breakfast was adequate. Terrace Snack selections - such as the cheese board/bread - were outstanding! Hope to stay here again. Central location, so that much of historic Salzburg is within walking distance. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.6
    Clean, quiet and comfortable - great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clean, quiet and comfortable room. Very professional and friendly staff who gave us good information about Salzburg and restaurant recommendations. Plus they were quite happy to simply make pleasant conversation about travel. Easy walk to everything.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    The hotel is in a quiet area still by walking distance to the city center, so we could reach everything by foot. Spacious and clean room. The staff is nice and friendly, slow down when entering, as everybody gets the full attention and guide to the hotel and the happenings in the city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    We stayed here for 4 nights and loved it. It is a small hotel with very friendly, knowledgeable owner and staff who manage the reception desk. The rooms and bathrooms are modern and very pleasant. It is located a bit outside the central zone in a quiet residential neighbourhood next to Kapuzinerberg hill and convenient for 150 bus. 12 minutes walk to the main train station and same to Mirabell Gardens. However, it should not deter anyone. 3 very good restaurants where locals go are very close to the hotel and convenient for having dinner after a tiring day. A large Billa supermarket just round the corner. 5 minutes walk to Linzer Gasse- a charming pedestrian shopping street, which we liked better than more famous one in the old town. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could me more selection with the in room tea and coffee making facilities.

    The hotel is modern, stylish and clean. The junior suite was spacious. The staff were friendly and really helpful advising on good local restaurants and things to see.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Top marks for this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    An exceptionally well run hotel. The owners were very informative, helpful and friendly providing a top service. Rooms are spacious, tastefully decorated and quiet at night. The hotel is cosy, all the staff relaxed and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Exceeded expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't find anything we didn't like.

    Our host was charming, cultured, and very welcoming and attentive. Staff person Barbara' service was above and beyond our expectations. The breakfast each day was fresh and delicious. Great location - not in the busy and noisy areas of town. A delightful walk to the old town and train station. Super recommendations for restaurants. Attention to detail superb - original art very pleasing and intriguing. Would return in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place! Clean room Very nice and helpful staff You can buy Salzburgcard at the reception Not very central but a walking distance from center (~10 min walk)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.6
    The room was spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was spacious. The room and bathroom were nice and modern. We got an excellent discount rate through booking.com. The location is a nice little walk to the center of everything....shops, restaurants, tourist attractions and also not a far walk from the train station. We didn't use public transportation at all but we were glad to get our exercise in with the walking. The staff were extremely helpful!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.2
    Lovely charming hotel with excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff here were incredibly friendly and helpful - made us feel very welcome. The hotel and rooms were charming and comfortable. Good value and highly recommend

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    The warm & informative welcome by the receptionist on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature of bar fridge was not cold enough & couldn't be adjusted.

    The warm & informative welcome by the receptionist on duty on our arrival & the overall responsiveness by all staff & management to all our requests. The provision of bathrobes for our use were an unexpected bonus for a three star hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.2
    Quiet, friendly, homely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smaller family hotel. True to descriptions. 10 mins walk from train station and easy to find. Friendly staff and helpful recommendations for restaurants. Also away from main tourist hotels.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.3
    A very nice place and an excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was convenient, quiet and safe, but it was not very atmospheric. It was a few blocks away from more historic architecture and tourist areas. The immediate block had some nondescript apartment buildings.

    The room was a nice size and very nicely decorated and very clean with a very comfortable heating system. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was very good and a reasonable price with a cozy atmosphere. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was within easy walking distance of the tourist areas, but was itself quite quiet. In the immediate location were two very nice restaurants (maybe more, but we only tried two).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    A beautiful hotel that makes you feel like home!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great! One of the best hotels I have visited! Friendly, clean, helpful staff, tasty breakfast. Thank you very much for your hospitality!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and Spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had some difficulties with WiFi connection initially but was sorted.

    Very friendly and helpful reception. Our room was large and bed extremely comfortable. Facilities were very clean and modern. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    9.2
    Perfect relaxed atmosphere and locality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    all was good !!

    The friendly reception. The clean room. The perfect locality-not to close to buzz of city but close enough to walk leisurely to the old city and places of interest

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    10
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent. Behind the plain looking entrance is a little gem. From the first greeting to hearty handshake goodbye. Felt like a second home. The room was spacious clean and a contrast of modern furniture with interesting touches from the past. Facilities were all close to hand and town was only short walk from the main plaza. The owners made us feel welcome and more than willing to help. Lovely continental breakfast with more on offer than we could possibly want. When I return to Salzburg it will be my first choice to book here again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    10
    Lovely family run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were very friendly and helpful. I loved the style of the decor and the bed linen was beautiful. Breakfast was a real treat. I would love to stay there again as it was in a great location.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Bergland Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: