Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bergwald

Bergwald 439, 6236 Alpbach, Austria

#3 of 19 B&Bs and Inns in Alpbach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 103 B&B reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    10

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wonderful stay at Bergwald. The guest house is exactly as you would imagine. Built in a traditional wooden style (by Katarina, the owner’s father) the house feels immediately inviting, warm and cosy. A real alpine retreat. The rooms were immaculate and the beds were extremely comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic, perfect for a day of skiing and we all looked forward to the sauna and infrared treatment after a long day on the mountain. I couldn’t recommend Bergwald enough. We felt well looked after by Katarina who couldn’t do enough for us and made us feel very welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    You are requested not to bring in your own food or drink unless you have rented an apartment.

    Brilliant hosts, breakfast buffet had everything we could want and sauna was a fantastic bonus. We would also highly recommend the half board option at Rossmoos; fantastic value and great food. We have traveled a lot and never holidayed in the same place twice, but we will be back here!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was nothing that could have been done better and that we didn't like.

    There was a warm welcome every morning from Katharina and nothing was too much trouble for her. There was a very large choice of food for breakfast each morning, cereals, juices, fruit and eggs cooked to order. The soft boiled eggs and scrambled eggs were cooked to perfection. We also had little treats each morning, such as small chocolates and a box of chocolates left in the room. The bad stube (sauna) and relaxation area was a welcome facility after a day's skiing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I did not want to leave. Everything else was fabulous.

    The location was wonderfully situated up on the hillside. A car is required and not directly in the town, but this makes the views and ambiance even better. The Sauna was great and was actually the deciding factor between this and returning to another B&B we had used previously. (also wonderful, must be something in the water in Alpbach)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was great.

    The hotel is great and extremely comfortable! The sauna is a plus and very convenient after a long skiing day (which begins with a great breakfast at the hotel!). Katharina is a wonderful host, very kind and helpful! We hope to be back soon!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That we had to leave after 4 days, due to work ;)

    Our stay was more than good, it was a warm bath and welcome every morning thanks to our hostess Katharina. She is the best and is very well spoken in English. we fully enjoyed the Bad Stube and the massage lounge chair. Thanks agian for the pleasant stay. Best regards, Jeroen

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Note: None of the below qualifies as "did not like" - just setting expectations for future visitors to this fabulous and loving place. None of this was a surprise for us so please do not read this as criticism of any sort, because it is not!!! :) a. the property is a bit further from the village (about 10-15 mins walk) and as this is a small village, don't expect taxis to be hanging around (need to be called in) - worked well for us as we were happy to walk in the snow and enjoy the falling flakes but dragging any luggage would have been a deal breaker :-). b. There are no stores close to the property (again, not an issue for us but more of an awareness thing) in case you are planning to walk and need to get essentials from a store. There is a great restaurant at Rosmoos just down the road in case you seek good dinner! c. It is a B&B, and hence the bathrooms are not equipped with a full set of toiletries - there is good liquid soap available, but don't expect shampoo, conditioner, lotion etc.

    A really lovely B&B, with nice large rooms, comfy bed, and views in abundance... but most of all, Katherine is an inspiration! She is so warm and welcoming, responsive and just plain hardworking beyond words. She was delightful to communicate with over phone and email when our flight got routed to Munich, helped us checkin after 5pm making sure we were comfortable, and helped us get a cab when we needed one the next day. We had a 2 room suite, and the views from the kitchen were spectacular!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Katharina was an excellent hostess and very welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. We were even given a complementary room upgrade. The B&B is in a lovely setting with excellent views and very nice accommodation. Excellent choice of breakfast options to.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    A magical place. Wonderful views across the Alpbach valley to distant mountains. Katerina was the perfect host - nothing too much trouble, she was warm, welcoming and entertaining! Our room was bright and comfortable with a balcony full of flowers. Marvellous walking from challenging to more gentle through wonderful scenery, wild flowers and rushing streams. The sense of history and a precious community life added to our enjoyment. Peace, tranquillity and comfort - we returned refreshed and renewed. Huge thanks to Katerina and best wishes to all the Moser family! A treasure.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Katherina is a wonderful-wonderful host and her place, Bergwald is the stuff of dreams! Due to travel related issues, we arrived way past the check-in time but Katherina was extremely kind to wait for us. Not only that, she gave us a room upgrade to the fantastic 'Tirol' suite! What a pleasant surprise after a long journey :) :) Throughout our stay, Katherina was so caring and extended the most amazing hospitality. Our conversations with her over breakfast gave us an insight and appreciation of the local culture and life in Alpbach. The breakfast she prepared was so delicious with lots of variety - our days literally stated on a high! She also gave us great tips on what to do and see in and around the area. About the property - Bergwald has some of the best views one could hope for. Pictures can't possibly do justice to the views from its balconies and the beautiful accommodation. Our room was so spacious with a separate kitchen and living area. We wish we had more time to use all of the facilities available - which were plenty by the way (outdoor deck, spa, massage etc.) Katherina recommends a restaurant run by her family called Rossmos (not sure I am spelling it correctly) which is a 3 minute walk from the property. Please heed her recommendation as we had two amazing dinners there with some of the best dishes and desserts! Words are not enough to describe how amazing our stay was - many thanks Katherina! We will surely be returning :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The owner Katarina Moser was very friendly, speaks excellent English and was most helpful in every way. The breakfasts are very comprehensive, (beautiful scrambled eggs). View from the room's balcony is superb, looking down on the village. Good evening meal venue 5 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Directions are tough. Alpbach's "hotels/B&Bs" are numbered oddly and follow no logical order. A small map with the winding roads, where the church is and other landmarks/houses would go a long way in helping people find this property. BUT, the trouble was worth it.

    EVERYTHING was great. Probably the best view of Alpbach and the surrounding area money can buy. Katarina was great. Would definitely come back!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a wonderful place to stay in Tirol. It is located in a beautiful village Alpbach and has the best view to the Alps and village. The owner of the hotel - Katharina is very kind and attentive. The breakfast is deal, You should definitely try the pie! The rooms are very nice in Tirol style with very comfortable bed. It was the most comfortable night I spent during a holiday by car. And when You wake up in the morning and open the curtains You will be amazed by the view that is waiting for You there. Hope to be back here again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Maybe the pillows a little bit harder. I can't think of something else.

    The owner of the property, Katarine Moser was very friendly and helpfull. She learned about my daughter, she's vegetarian, and nothing was a problem. She even bought extra fruit and vegetables for her.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lovely retreat to recover from a day's skiing :) The room was clean and cosy with balcony offering great views of Alpbach. Katharina made us feel very welcome - and breakfast set us up for the day well with a great selection. It was good to have somewhere to store our wet ski stuff so it was all dry for the morning. The sauna was also a pleasant surprise with massaging chair to ease aching bodies.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing breakfast, large bed, mountain view, sauna facilities, wonderful attention from Katharina, the owner. She went extra mile to make my stay relaxing and pleasant...

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A wonderful B&B perched above the village centre at the edge of the forest, with amazing views over the valleys, mountains and the village. Totally quiet and high enough to be above the clouds which often drift down in the valley. We spent a most enjoyable week at Bergwald, skiing during the day, relaxing in the beautiful sauna afterwards. The building is very charming, in old traditional style with cosy rooms and huge balconies in front of them. Ours had great views. The host, Katarina, serves delicious and varied breakfast and treats you like a family visitor. Super friendly and so helpful. For dinner you can walk to the neighbouring restaurant Rossmoos, where we tried delicious fish and game dishes in a charming, all wooden dining room or try one of the many places in Alpbach and Inneralpbach. We can highly recommend Bergwald

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything about this charming hotel fit our needs while on a ski vacation to Alpbach. The room was spotless, cozy and well-equipped. The hotel was located on the hillside overlooking the beautiful and scenic village. The personal touches provided by the hostess, Katarina, were thoughtful and above all it was Katarina that rounded out our stay with her attentiveness to our room needs and her attention to providing us with whatever comforts we needed. Each morning we dined on fresh cooked eggs, and a variety of goodies to start our day. Everything was perfect!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I used Bergwald apartments four years ago for the first time and since then I come back to the same place every year. My wife and I really enjoy fantastic hospitality, good comfort and beautiful view. We will definitely come back again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Gracious host, she helped us with our trips, which made the stay even more enjoyable. Very good homemade cake for breakfast. Definitely a relaxing holiday.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect !

    Kathrina went an extra mile and made sure we are comfortable in our room. From the start of our trip she was extremely helpful. She gave us a choice between 2 rooms. Every morning she prepared delicious breakfast for us and helped us with our daily excursions. Bergwald is at an excellent location and overlooks the mountains. We wish we could stay there longer !

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect location, very friendly owner ( Katarina ) . Everything was great and pleasant . We received small gifts daily ( either in the room or on the breakfast ) . Katarina she really knows how to make you feel like home and to enjoy the holiday. We will come back in winter on the same location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Absolutely gorgeous property on the outskirts of the village with the most helpful and attentive host anyone could wish for. The room was spacious and comfortable, the bathroom well equipped and the view from the balcony to die for. Breakfast was varied, plentiful and delicious (especially the homemade cake!!).

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast, panorama,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service, high confort, beautiful view over the mountains.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunnng scenery.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator no porter caused problems in moving luggage Location was great Katerina the lone person to attend deserves thanks

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing worth mentioning

    Superb friendly & helpful owner, amazing location with views, small touches like chocolates each night on your pillow

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    squeaky clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The property was high above town with a beautiful view. The owner is a gracious, wonderful woman.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Globalisan kizarolag pozitivan tudunk nyilatkozni. For us it was perfect !

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could have done with our own transport to the ski lifts or a possibility for the Bergwald to offer at a reasonable price.

    Quintessential Austrian experience with fabulous new wellbeing area.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just returned from a 3 day stay at Haus Berwald. Everything was perfect and beyond expectations. Lovely breakfast, comfortable room and spotlessly clean. Loved the new sauna. Great location for walking direct from Haus but if skiing you would benefit from a car like we did. Great mini break!

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Fabulous spa and excellant boot room.Real care and attention to detail marks out the Bergwald as special eg the flowers on Valentines day were a lovely surprise!

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing-but do make sure you rent a car. Cheap to rent and easy to drive around.

    It was a home away from home. We are from the US but live in Dubai. We just came back from spending Christmas there and it was everything we could ask for. Very romantic and relaxing. Katharina was a great host and very helpful with anything we needed.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    What i didn't like was having to leave such a beautiful place, wish we could have stayed longer but we will be back.

    Just come back from a wonderful stay at Bergwald. The house is in a perfect location quiet and peaceful just above the town with stunning views. Katharina is the perfect host, a lovely lady who is always looking after her guests and making them feel at home. The house is spotless with a beautiful new sauna, we can't fault Bergwald and highly recommend it.

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing. It was really lovely. the location is away from the main village but we enjoyed the peace and tranquility as well as the fantastic, ever changing view from our balcony.

    Katharina, our host was extremely helpful. We were in the process of selling our house in Australia and had to urgently sign and scan back documents, which Katharina arranged for us. She also helped us to arrange transport to Munich. We are very grateful for the extra service. The house itself is really lovely, spotlessly clean, and at this time of the year, decorated beautifully and tastefully for Christmas. Thank -you for a great time!

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Katharina was superb! The air is the freshest we'eve breathed and the water of the purest variety. A definite highlight of a three week tour through Europe. We will certainly be back!

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    couldnt stand up in the shower but having a bath after our hikes was even better

    beautiful setting, wonderful view. excellent host, couldnt of asked for more.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The Alpbach valley is beautiful and Gasthaus Bergwald is the perfect place to stay so as to explore the area. The rooms are very good with balconies giving great views. Katharina is the perfect host, always there to answer your questions and gives great advice.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Not a complaint but a suggestion: Alpbach in general doesn't offer much to pedestrians, so if you plan on staying for a long period best to come by car

    - Fantastic view over the village of Alpbach with the Alp peaks in the background - Katharina is a fantastic hostess and really goes the extra mile to ensure you enjoy your stay. In our case my wife caught the flu and didn't have any medicine, but Katharina provided some from her own medicine cabinet - The nicest sauna I have ever seen. Beautifully done with a door leading to the backyard where you can cool down in the snow - The half board option at the Rossmoos: fantastic food and great value for the asking price If you are looking for a magical stay in a winter wonderland with a fantastic view you can't really do much better than this.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    We were so happy there! Everything was perfect! Mrs. Katharina Moser is very professional and always looking after the guests. Nice breakfast. The apartment was very good, clean and new.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great atmosphere created by the owner - Mrs Katharina Moser, Delicious breakfasts, Well-equipped spa center, Clean and tidy rooms with beautiful view for entire valley.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Exceptional location, beautiful views of the valley, very pleasant and nice lady Katharina, background saunas and massage chair, Christmas surprise with a gift, the possibility of renting sledges.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A lovely stay and a wonderful host. Excellent rooms, great breakfast and facilities. Katarina makes you feel a really special guest.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Fantastic host - nothing too much trouble Great family room - with separate room for children Beautiful location Relaxing sauna

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our bed was very squeaky and did disturb our sleep.

    Bergwald has a breathtaking location and is run to highest standards.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing place for a staying above the nice village Alpbach. Great romantic place for a relax. Fully recomended :-).

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautiful room with fantastic views and very comfy bed. Very warm, helpful owner Katharina.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is lovely, you need a car but its a beautiful spot, the host was wonderful, heart and soul of the place

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything about it.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Quiet location in a particular region. Pension clean well equipped and with a friendly staff who made our stay enjoyable.

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: