Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sonne Lienz 3 stars

Südtiroler Platz 8, 9900 Lienz, Austria

#36 of 42 hotels in Lienz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 878 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.2
    Good value, pleasant staff and hostess.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good sized room, plenty of space for luggage to be out of the way and good sitting area leaving plenty of movement room if someone was at the desk. Beds good. Views to the mountains. Central location so easy access to local restaurants. Good breakfast. English speaking staff. Hostess well-travelled and showed an interest in her guests. Good value for money and stayed an extra night.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking spaces were a little small so it could be difficult to open and close car doors.

    Very helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. Nice room and very nice rooftop deck.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    We were cycling on Drauradweg with our dog in a trailer.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were cycling on Drauradweg with our dog in a trailer. The hotel provided a parking space for our bicycles. The dog was not allowed into the breakfast room. There was a park on the other side of river Isel about 150 m from the hotel which was good for walking with dog.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.3
    A lot about enjoying a place is how you’re greeted on arrival
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It had been raining and we arrived looking wet and bedraggled, we were offered no help in drying our things, boots jackets, gloves. We found the next day there was a ski room and perhaps this was on? Also I had been looking forward to coming back to a place I had been before - but the manager showed no sign of welcome or nice your back, even through I am sure Booking.com would have advised them.

    Right in the middle of things, easy to walk anywhere

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.1
    Nice, clean hotel, quiet location, central to the town and not far from the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the morning, the drains in the bath gurgled alarmingly due to someone in higher floors draining their bath water. There was a slight sewer smell in my bathroom when this happened. Too bad this happened as it added the only negative note to my stay there.

    The hotel was centrally located and quiet. It was not far from the train station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    Underground secure parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar to unwind in the evening. Roof top terrace is a good idea but the view is spoiled by overgrown plants.

    Underground secure parking. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable, welcoming, biker friendly hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Modern hotel in the centre of a pretty town, friendly and welcoming staff, great value and importantly for a biker, free, secure bike parking in the hotel's underground parking area. Breakfast was very good too. All boxes ticked for me!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.0
    Overpriced, faded hotel in town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very disappointed for the price, did not compare well to any other hotels on our trip. Hotel has seen better days and obviously hasn't been updated in some time. Trading off proximity to the Grossglockner in a town with not much to offer. Faded and actually pretty basic.

    Staff were friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location for our 24 hrs in Lienz. Staff gave good recommendation for lunch (Cafe Genusswerk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable and tidy room; nice deep bathtub; delicious and varied breakfast; view of piazza and Dolomiti from our 2nd floor spacious room; fantastic 360 degree view of Lienz and mtns from roof top terrace.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Location, parking and rooftop terasse, big room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was worn out, bed was not good for my back.

    Location, parking and rooftop terasse, big room. Breakfast was good, fresh orange juice was a positive suprice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Great base for exploring Lienz!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice, cozy hotel in walking distance to the train station. Also in close proximity to restaurants and trail heads. The well sorted breakfast buffet gets you ready for an awesome day in Lienz.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.4
    Come in the season
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe it was out of season, but we didn’t know that the Resturant wasn’t in function, and no bar. The room was very dusty, and our room was not very clean, with hair in the sink etc. They had restoration of a room on the same flat, so it was noyssy with drilling and so on. Think it could have bin nice to notice about the resturant closed, and about the noys. Overall think it’s about 2 stars and not 3.

    God location. Nice wiwe to the mountain zettersfeld

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    6.7
    Perfect for a quick break in town.
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parks are for a fee of 9euro per day unless you're lucky and you park it in one of the 3 places available outside. Probably 70% of the guests come by car...

    Location's perfect for a quick stop in town, basically within the city center

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.3
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived late Friday afternoon. When we inquired about parking, the lady at the desk told us we could now park out in front of the hotel for free. I guess the weekend free parking did not begin for another hour, so we did get a parking ticket. We could have easily paid to park for that short time, but we were weary from driving and did not think to to look at the posted hours, since we trusted in what we had beed told.

    Great location! Clean and comfortable. Satisfactory breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Summer holiday at East Tyrol/Lienz- Petr and Elisabeth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - old furniture at double room - very lazy elevator

    - superb hotel´s location near the centre of Lienz - great underground garage (plus extra fee was payed) - enormous hotel clean double room with balcony (4th floor), minibar, TV, wlan, etc. - excellent, rich breakfast (cold and hot offer, etc.)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Great parking for motorbikes and free
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving

    A very nice hotel in the middle of the town. The sat nav took us right to the door but we wasn’t sure where the car park was. It turned out to be right in front of the hotel where you go down a ramp. They have a parking area in the underground garage just for motorbikes and push bikes. There is a lift which takes you up into the hotel. Check in was quick and easy and our room was facing the square in the front of the hotel. The room was modern and comfortable with air con and a mini bar. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very nice and had a bath tub so it was great to have a soak after riding 300 miles on the bike. There is a rooftop seating area with nice views of the town and a good place to sit and chill. Breakfast was very nice and there was a good choice which would suit most people. Within a few minutes walk are plenty of bars, restaurants and shops. So plenty of places to eat and chill with a drink. When we went to check out the next morning we was told parking for motorbikes is free. I had already paid for parking when I booked the hotel but after she added up what we had had out of the mini bar, we owed them 50 cents lol At least they told us. I never give it a thought when I booked the parking. This is another hotel we would be happy to go back to with friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.3
    Central location, close to everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inefficient bathroom. Something was leaking, there was water on the floor, I wiped it three times. Very light shower curtain, cluing to the body. DON'T buy cheap shower curtain (or study physics).

    Central location, close to everywhere. Very nice staff, good breakfast except for coffee, average. Nice, spacey room. Quick check-in-out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Aguntum, 2AD Roman sight - a must and a great hotel to overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't of stayed another night! Had to move on to my next location and adventure!

    Beds were very comfortable!!!! Very nice breakfast, quite area. close to many attractions and if you are an outdoorsmen/women biking walking mountain climbs and more all in the valley area of liens. The check-in was painless and very friendly staff. Nice roof balcony for outdoor evening drinks and views Car parking directly in front of hotel too! Had a nice Chinese meal 10 minute walk from Hotel and the food was real good!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    Absolut perfect stay in the centre of small town if practicability is more important then style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything fine

    Somehow stuck in the 80th but all looks as if it is brand new! Super location, easy parking in the centre of town, spacious room, clean bathrom, super friendly people, good breakfast and a great roof terrace for a sundowner! I was there for bicycling and there was no discussion to take the bike with me in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    Central and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air conditioning and we did encounter a couple of hot nights. We found out later we could have asked for a fan! We slept with the window open all night and we found that quite refreshing. Restaurants are very close by and there can be some noise but it settles by 11-00pm. At least it did on the nights we stayed!

    Breakfast was included and was excellent. Fresh squeezed orange juice, hot dishes (eggs and bacon) a good selection of fruits, cereals and yogurts. Plenty of bread, cheeses, tomatoes and other vegetables. A selection of seeds to sprinkle on cereal etc. We liked the fact that the station is about 300 metres away. We loved the push bikes which have gears and are in excellent condition. Charge is five euro for half a day or eight euro for the whole day. The bike track follows the river all the way to Slovenia! Very picturesque!! We are glad we spent three nights in Lienz. It is a beautiful town and very clean. The setting with the high mountains, some with snow in June (summer) is quite majestic. The green valleys are very pretty and the powerful river running through the town (the river Drau) is very nice. There is a lovely sheltered and shaded park along side the river. Lienz is well worth a visit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On site restaurant was closed.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Very welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Efficient sraff very welcoming ans accomodating

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel in the city center, perfect english spoken at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel in the city center, perfect english spoken at the reception, smiling and helpful people, free parking place! Super!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Nice hotel in the center of Lienz
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some people doing noise in the road during the night.

    Near to center. Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Centrally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was closed.

    Centrally located. Views from the room were amazing. Parking for the motorbikes was excellent and free.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Big choice for breakfast;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My bath was not cleaned and I was not left with the means to do it myself

    Big choice for breakfast; only wanted fruit though.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Convenience to station and city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nithing

    Convenience to station and city centre. Clean, comfortable and quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.8
    Needs refurbishment - urgently
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture from the 1970s, the corridor on the 4th floor needs urgent maintenance and painting. Coffee at breakfast is terrible.

    Its location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Great place to stay in Lienz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Central location of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    very helpful, professional and polite staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very helpful, professional and polite staff. two thumbs up

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    No restaurant in the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant in the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    Bar and Restaurant .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar and Restaurant ....

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    A very convenient and comfortable hotel set in the centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very convenient and comfortable hotel set in the centre of town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Very pleasant staff, very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very pleasant staff, very clean and comfortable. I would defiantly stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Lienz holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, staff extremely helpful and polite. Easy to find in Lienz.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Cozy and close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little dated for the price, but otherwise great!

    Good location, helpful staff, lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Hotel sonne
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Middle of town ideal for everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    A good quality centrally located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit stuffy.

    Central location hotel with good facilities. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    6.7
    The staff was extremely friendly, location was excellent,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely friendly, location was excellent, bike rental was perfect and affordable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    9.2
    Friendly reception staff, warm and comfortable room, central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked breakfast to start from 6.30 rather than 7.00

    Friendly reception staff, warm and comfortable room, central location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    7.1
    nice hotel, nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    waxing room should have been alot better

    location is very good. clean and nice hotell

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    9.6
    welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    welcoming Flexibility Real orange juice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    10
    Right in the middle of everything, undercover secure parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Right in the middle of everything, undercover secure parking for vehicle. Restaurants and shops a 2 minute walk away. Brilliant.. Nice quiet location as well.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    7.5
    The location was good and very handy that they had their own...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Although the location in the centre of the old town was good, it was not so easy to find it by car. better signs would be appreciated. The hotel is rather old and soon needing a renovation, but otherwise OK.

    The location was good and very handy that they had their own garage under the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    6.3
    Duck feather bedding!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Duck feather bedding!

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    7.5
    Bar was not open but staff helped with alternative...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bar was not open but staff helped with alternative arrangements

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    7.9
    Convenient central Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slightly bland, characterless hotel.

    Convenient central Location. Friendly helpful staff Nice view from the roof

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    8.8
    Very comfortable bed, awesome view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Couldn't turn down/off heat.

    Very comfortable bed, awesome view! Breakfast was included and it was fabulous. Great night's sleep.

There are also 41 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: