Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Weißes Kreuz 4 stars

Römerstraße 5, 6900 Bregenz, Austria

#8 of 22 hotels in Bregenz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 525 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    Ideal location for summer opera
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I went to Bregenz to see the summer opera festival. This hotel was perfect for this and it was located within a few minutes from the main attractive places. The room was clean and the staffs were kind.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in a great location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet in our room had been around the block a few times, but really, I'm digging to come up with a complaint.

    The staff were extremely helpful. The location is perfect. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. We were completely satisfied.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    It is a delicate hotel, and everything is neat and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a delicate hotel, and everything is neat and comfortable . The front desk is so kind and warm. The location is also great, quite near Bregenz hafen. Bregenz festival stage is nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    The hotel was nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioner did not work in the room and it was very hot that evening (late May), so the windows had to be opened and there was some street noise from that.

    The hotel was nice and clean. The hotel was in a good location near the center of town/pedestrain area and the pier. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Very nice older hotel in the middle of Bregenz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice older hotel in the middle of Bregenz. Easy walking distance from the train station and Lake Constance. We had an excellent dinner in the attached restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.8
    Definitely a good hotel, would not hesitate to stay again despite some tiny inconveniences.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although there are many small lamps everywhere, the room is gloomy. Strange modernist soap dispensers in the bathroom, one of them not working. You should enter the user name and password given for the WIFI each time you want to connect.

    Really kind, polite and helpful staff. Pleasant clean room with a comfortable bed and quality furniture. Convenient location to get quickly on foot to the train station, the lake and the old town. Good breakfast offered in a pleasant atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.9
    Efficient property but needs refurbishment.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor is quite old and dated. Standard rooms very small. Heating too hot Hotel restaurant extremely expensive

    Very good desk and work space with ample power points. Helpful front desk staff recommending the best room for optimal Wifi signal Good sized bathroom

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Extremely enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very caring,friendly and helpful staff and owning family. Property was excellently maintained. Food was of extremely high quality and location of the hotel was ideal for all of Bregenz attractions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.6
    We did not realize we were getting a suite, but we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was warm, and we could not figure out how to lower or turn off the heat, but we opened windows to make it more comfortable.

    We did not realize we were getting a suite, but we were pleasantly surprised by the space and comfort provided in all three rooms. The breakfast was vert good. The staff was most helpful and friendly. The location was great for touring Bregenz and the rest of Vorarlberg. The views of the upper city and the mountain were beautiful from our windows.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.9
    Good option for Bregenz
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't effective at my desk or bed; air conditioning was confusing (or not working); check-in wasn't so helpful (I started in English, he continued in fast German); hotel restaurant not open at the weekend (but that allowed us to find the outstanding Restaurant Füxl within a few minutes walk)

    Good location for exploring Bregenz; breakfast and the serving staff were great; comfortable bed; onsite sauna was small but relaxing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    Very friendly and accommodating staff.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and accommodating staff. Arrived to find our room had been upgraded to a beautiful suite. No problems arranging a late check out. Excellent restaurant in the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    8.8
    Great stay in Bregenz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The connecting rooms were spacious and the beds slept very well. Great shower. I forgot some of my belongings and Markus was so kind to send it to my next holiday adress. Thank you very much.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    8.8
    Bregenz is charming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar is very smoky but does do a nice cocktail.

    excellent location for Christmas markets, opera festival...parking right across the street...we were in town for the Krampuslauft...not to be missed!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    9.2
    Quiet, comfortable, well appointed hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was extremely helpful when we checked in. He provided a map, checked the route of the Krampus parade online, and indicated the route of the parade on the map for us. The location of the hotel was excellent for access to the Christmas market and the Krampus parade. The parking garage is directly across the street from Hotel Weißes Kreuz and costs €18 per day. However, we found street parking that cost nothing from noon on Saturday until midnight on Sunday. The wifi worked flawlessly, even on the 4th floor. My husband took advantage of the little espresso machine in the hotel room. I was pleasantly surprised by the high quality to price ratio, and I recommend Hotel Weißes Kreuz.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Close to downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No locked bicycle storage

    Close to downtown

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    On our way to Prague .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our way to Prague ... my wife had a medical emergency... the staff could not have been more helpful and kind.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.8
    There is only soap in bathing set
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathing set

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Street is in cusp of nice area, but bright lights from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street is in cusp of nice area, but bright lights from business across the street is out of place for an “alt Stadt” Hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Highly recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Very friendly staff, very clean, good location, very good rate, what else do you need?

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    It's beyond our expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean and spacey room, comfortable bed, excellent location, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Will definitely recommend to friends and would book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly concierge and staff. Received an upgrade . Room was spacious and comfortable. Great location too!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent vacation
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff was very helpful and extremely nice. They did their best to make us feel welcome and at home. My dog was also pampered.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.2
    No car park, had to pay extra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car park, had to pay extra.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    10
    Nice staff, very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice staff, very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    8.3
    good hotel in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    single bed room and bathroom pretty tiny

    very friendly and helpful staff, centrally located

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.2
    Good location, Very comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No secure car parking (or cycle parking). need to use multistorey opposite, (or bike rack at back at back of hotel)

    Good location, Very comfortable beds

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    9.6
    It is an authentic, yet modernised hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Parking was a bit of a challenge. The price of the breakfast was higher than what we are used to in similar category hotels.

    It is an authentic, yet modernised hotel. We are a family with 2 kids, they provided 2 really nice rooms, connected to one another. The rooms were lovely and clean, the bathrooms are contemporary. The stuff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in the heart of the town, walking distance to the lake, shopping street and the theatre.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.2
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Little bit complicated for return after midnigt, have no more reception.

    Good location. Hotel provides parking (have to pay). We went bike riding along the city and the location was great.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    9.2
    The staff were very friendly and super helpful.
    • Solo traveller

    The staff were very friendly and super helpful. I stayed there with my small dog and they took care of him in those short times when I couldn't take him with me (groceries shopping mostly).

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    7.5
    The room was at the back (so not at the street side) and was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bit more cereals (both choice/variety and bigger portions than these trendy small glasses) for breakfast would be nice. The bathroom door did not close well

    The room was at the back (so not at the street side) and was quiet enough for me. Breakfast could be held outside.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    5.4
    Right in the city, close to everywhere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It looks more like 3 star hotel, very small room, poor breakfast - not worth 14 Euro, car park for another 12 Euro - eventhough the owner owns the hotel and the car park, not worth the money

    Right in the city, close to everywhere

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    9.2
    I love room 404.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I prefer a foam pillow There was a pool?

    I love room 404.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    8.3
    Wifi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi... Computer and phone could not be connected at the same time.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    10
    I loved the rich furnishings and style of this lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I loved the rich furnishings and style of this lovely hotel. Very comfortable room with separate toilet & shower and super bed.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    Location is the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Old wooden floors are a bit noisy.

    Location is the best. It was very clean inside the rooms. Staff is very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    5.0
    The restaurant is nice, had both dinner and breakfast and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quite noisy and pillows way too high!

    The restaurant is nice, had both dinner and breakfast and enjoyed both.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    10
    Extremely friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Extremely friendly staff. True value for money. I would recommand this place to anyone!

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    8.8
    It was great to stay in a family owned historic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    NA

    It was great to stay in a family owned historic location. Very helpful owners.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    9.6
    The staff were extremely helpful, the location was great and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff were extremely helpful, the location was great and the breakfast was nice.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Pricy

    Location

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.8
    Location was terrific.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Location was terrific. It was very thoughtful to provide us with blankets for the festival

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    8.3
    A good place to stay, if you are going to Bregenz festspiele...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A good place to stay, if you are going to Bregenz festspiele opera. A bit expensive during the opera festival.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    7.5
    Close to the center and the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing.

    Close to the center and the lake.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    7.5
    taking care as very much pesonalized
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the ambience- the staff and all

    taking care as very much pesonalized

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    7.9
    - Close to the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Design is a bit dated - Wifi disconnects all the time, and every time one has to login with a password.

    - Close to the center - Helpful staff

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: