Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien 4 stars

Landstraßer Hauptstraße 28, 03. Landstraße, 1030 Vienna, Austria

#158 of 316 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1807 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.0
    Characterful hotel in a good location near Wien Mitte...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Characterful hotel in a good location near Wien Mitte Station where the trains from the airport arrive. Walked from the station to the hotel, no need for a taxi. Breakfast was good, a decent choice and an attractive outdoor area to eat in. Rooms are a good size.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It got a bit hot and the AC was not that good. As there were people chatting in the courtyard, opening windows was no option, either. But we made do with the AC.

    Great location. Comfy bed, nice-smelling shower gel, great bathroom, great restaurant. Nice staff!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    Vienna style look hotel with very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A lot of noise at night from alley. Housekeeping will start vacuum cleaning the corridors at 6 a.m. without any consideration of the guests of the hotel sleeping at that time. The double bed was too small for two people. Staff might have been friendlier.

    Very good location close to city centre, Stadtpark, CAT station and subway hub. The area is full of cafes and restaurants. The hotel has stylish and classy Vienna style look.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Overall very good just the nagging problem with housekeeping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a word “housekeeping”. Large fixed shower gel provided, but no shampoo conditioner etc in room and minimum teabags/milk etc. Repeated requests for more of same eventually led to shampoo but nothing else. Not good enough for 4* hotel

    Very pleasant quiet location tucked away in the Biedermeier Passageway. Superb breakfast taken in the leafy garden. Good sized rooms - peaceful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    A great place in the center of Wien, and super-comfy inner...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A great place in the center of Wien, and super-comfy inner garden to enjoy a breakfast or dinner! A sauna in the evening was not crowded and a nice compliment after a long day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Really nice hotel in a great location near the CAT rail station for fast train to Vienna Airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything worked well with nothing that I did not like.

    Located near city centre rail station for City Airport Train to Vienna Airport. Hotel was nice and quiet with good self service breakfast and chef for cooked items. Air conditioning great. I will certainly be coming back on future Vienna trips.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location near public transport hub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is quite a walking distance from city center

    Good location near public transport hub. Breakfast selection consist of various varieties. We get to use the spa to freshen up before our flight home because we have to check out prior to our flight departure time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel with cosy and comfort rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice hotel with cosy and comfort rooms. Very nice and clean bathroom. View from the window was amazing. Location is also very close to the historical center of the city, one of city parks and in just 3-6 mins walk of subway. E.g., it took for us around 20-30 mins to get to Vienna Zoo. Breakfast is really very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Situation in a lovely little alley not far from the CAT station .Convenient when arriving by plane. The breakfast was excellent, great choice of food and in good weather it is lovely to be able to have it in the garden. Very spacious and confortable rooms including bathroom. May be some of the towels could be softer? The hotel is not right in the center but to me it's a good thing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.4
    The shower gel at the tub ran out, in three days, nobody checked and refilled it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not friendly. The front desk staff did not smile when I checked in... but he chatted friendly with the Americans who checked in before me.

    Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    The very nice environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The service at the breakfast is far from what you expect. Egg corner is very nice, if the queue would have been shorter. But the person making eggs is often totally unvisible and when she appears, it is a long queue. Resume, forget to use the egg corner. To little number of staff working at the breakfast. The don't have the time to clean tables, even when those are needed and guests can not find a place to sit. They don't have the time to refill food. One morning, I had been waiting a long time for a thermos of coffee, waitress just brought over a used one from the other table with the comment " it's cooked today". Oherwise, whats served, is fresh and nice! We were also trying to get a dinner, the place was almost empty, only to other couples were sitting there waiting for food. Waitress says another waiter will come. After ten minutes waiting, we left and had a good dinner across the alley.

    The very nice environment. From main street, you turn in to an old narrow alley, the hotel is in both sides. Inside, the hotel is old fashion with style. Also the rooms have nice old fashion furniture. The hotel is like a green quiet oas in the middle of Vienna, no traffic in the alley.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    Spacious respite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy at night from alley and always smelled lots of smoking Would request room on inner courtyard next time No tour guide books Nice gym but not much air flow

    Outdoor dining area was lovely Breakfasts were very good Fun staff Large room and beautiful big bathroom Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    Liked the hotel. In a nice quarter of Vienna. Everything was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The toilett was in an own cabin in the room but had no washing basin. The beds have very hard mattresses. It's better than to soft ones but these ones are definitely to hard. We had a room in the 1st floor atop of the kitchen, so there were kitchen noises and smells. The room didn't get much daylight either.

    The hotel is a nice old building. The inner courtyard contains little shops and bars. Everything is really really clean in the hotel and the rooms. The breakfast is above average. You can choose from a variety of breads and toppings. They have front cooking for omlettes/eggs - so you can get them freshly made. Staff was nice. The hotel is in the mainstreet of the quarter "Landstraße", which has a lot of shops and cafes. Its 10 minutes by foot to the nearest public transport station and 2-3 stations from there to the city central.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    It's near Wien Mitte station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionists (European people) seemed unfriendly to us, although the person who looked like a manager (Asian) was very kind and polite.

    It's near Wien Mitte station. Very convenient for tourists because we have a direct train to the airport and some U bahns from the station. The room rate was very reasonable, compared to the size of our room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice old-fashioned place with a good restaurant
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no view from my window but as it was a one-night stay it wasn't a problem for me but should be kept in mind.

    Friendly staff both in the hotel and the restaurant. I checked in late and was hungry. Most of the kitchens are already closed at this hour. They got me a delicious goulash soup and let me enjoy it without hurry though the place was already closed. The rooms have a vintage look — very stylish and classy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Just what I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, I couldn't really pick anything. Everything was perfectly fine and fulfilled our expectation

    Located close to tram line 0, there are many restaurants and cafes in its vicinity. Staff was young but polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    The location is very good.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rooms are small, but adequate. The shower/WC room is very crammed, shower-door does not open fully.

    The location is very good. Bus and tram stops are 1min walk away. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Room was clean and had a small fridge, which was very convenient to store drinks. I would consider this Hotel again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is very nice and close to Metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The shower in room 220. It was tiny, no room for a woman to shave legs. The shower doors leaked all over floor. The doors are dangerous. If you happen to lean on one, you would fall out.

    Staff was friendly and helpful with our language. Lounge area nice. Variety of spaces for dining was nice. Food was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    Located on a lane off the main road with a lovely outside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The property deports to be air-conditioned but in fact the air-conditioning is on only part of the time, at management's discretion, and cannot be controlled by the guests.

    Located on a lane off the main road with a lovely outside seating area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Great Location and Quality
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great! Easy walk to see all that Vienna has to offer. When you retire from a long day of sightseeing there is a great place to have a drink and relax. The food at the restaurant was very good. I would recommend this place to friends and family.

    Nice little hideaway form the busyness of the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    A quiet hotel in a great location with a nice cosy balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The interior and the rooms are a little dated. The air conditioning was loud and barely able to keep the room cool while there was almost 30 degrees outside. The water was leaking out to the bathroom floor while you had a shower. The free wifi is quite slow and you have to pay extra for higher speeds.

    I loved having breakfast in the morning on the cosy balcony. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The area is really quiet and next to a main train station. Easy access from the airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel in a nice location with good WiFi - Skip breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the last day I met a client for breakfast. We were both disappointed that the hot selection was actually cold. Certainly not worth 16 euros.

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location! The hotel itself is in a very pretty and quiet street. The area is full of cafes and restaurants. The subway and train station is no more than 5 minutes walk. From here you can get direct trains to airport or get U-Bahn and in 2-3 stops be in the very center of all sightseeing attractions. The room was big enough. The beds are very comfy. High standard of cleanliness. Very good breakfast and really attentive staff! Will stay again for sure :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    Really quite sleap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Between 8 and 10 am cleaning lady three time entered room without giving any signal before - although first time we clearly stated that we will leave after 10 am.

    Really quite sleap. Near center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Venice nice staff, comfy environment and great location!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sorry, but the "scrambled eggs" had nothing to do with real scrambled eggs...the worst I've ever tried.

    Venice nice staff, comfy environment and great location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is extremely old and looks dirty. The personnel is not motivated and not happy at all.

    The only good thing about this hotel is it’s location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Location of hotel is a plus point.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet: Design for the opening of shower door could be better. It's difficult to keep the toilet floor dry after showering. To maximise the use of space, a sliding shower door will be good.

    Location of hotel is a plus point.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Had a Nice Stay in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a nice location you can reach some city sight seeing by walk. The rooms were clean and comfortable. It was a perfect and comfortable stay for us after a long journey It is a value for money for hotel for us

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Last minute booking but we could get the rooms we wanted. Very quickly and easily moved into another room when we had a problem with our door locking - the staff were very helpful. Spacious room and very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel for a stay in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is in a great location a short walk from Wien Mitte station. It is very quiet, with comfortable rooms. The staff are excellent and very helpful. We did not have breakfast at the hotel as wanted to experience local life.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the physical arrangement ma\de it not possible for taxis to collect or drop off, this caused unnecessary delays

    bed ok for myself ,but my wife found the bed rather hard and the bathroom rather small

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.9
    no experience with breakfast as we had breakfast elsewhere,...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    generally all good

    no experience with breakfast as we had breakfast elsewhere, we had lunch in one of their affiliated restaurants, yes true authentic Austrian food so certainly worth a try.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.4
    Great location. Hotel a bit tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom small with a wonky shower and nowhere to hang clothes Pot of coffee on every breakfast table - usually lukewarm. Freshly made would be nicer

    Great Location Comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.9
    Perfect if you want a nice hotel close to the city center with some good deals about price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very cold when I checked-in, shower was leaking water everywhere and after a quick shower the toilet floor was totally wet (which I found irritating).

    Perfect position close to the city center, few minutes walking from StephanPlatz and the ring. Super nice breakfast :D

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.6
    The staff at the reception desk at 1:00 in the morning was...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If the floors didn't squeak so much. There's probably not much the hotel can do about that.

    The staff at the reception desk at 1:00 in the morning was extremely helpful and friendly at check in. Kudos to the hotel for hiring such professional staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    great location to centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    none

    staff very friendly and all spoke good English, breakfast was excellent with a range to suit all needsl. also the hotel arrange a free two hour tour around the old part of Vienna

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.5
    The staff are kind and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel would have to be refurbished and need facelift.

    The staff are kind and helpful. You can park in the underground garage, though it's a little expensive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    9.2
    Old Biedermeier cum Mercure, nice vienese atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms on the small size, bed against the wall and not very comfortable pillows, limited charging points for electronics

    Typical mercure, well located, convenient, well maintained given its age.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.6
    I was home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bartender at the bar could have a bit more accommodating , they had no after dinner drink (of the sort of Ammaretto) I had to drink Tallisker, not that I dislike Tallisker ;-)

    I liked the ‘Bistro’ better than the restaurant. More cosy and fun. The restaurant is a bit boring. Also the Bistro has a better choice of food. I loved my room and the bed was superb. The curtains made it really dark (just as I like it) at night . A good selection for breakfast . The staff will really go the distance to make your stay memorable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.8
    Very good location, freindly stuff, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was on the top floor with very low ceiling. We barely entered the shower space... I've been to the hotel many times and the other rooms are very comfortable

    Very good location, freindly stuff, clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.2
    short stay in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - the hotel is very large, sometimes you have the feeling you get lost - waiting line for breakfast

    - friendly staff - nice breakfast buffet - perfect location, easy to reach by metro

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.1
    All in all, the hotel left a good impression.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were disappointing. We had two suites on the 3d floor at a rather high price. While being rather spacious, they are inconveniently designed and uncomfortable. Corridor was long and had stairs, making it difficult to carry suitcases. Because the roof was sloping, the cielings were sloping too, and we had to incline all the time, including in the bath. Blankets we very narrow. It was cold in the rooms, and it took us a while to warm them up with the AC.

    All in all, the hotel left a good impression. Conveniently located in a 5 minute walk from metro and CAT station Landstrasse/Mitte. Friendly and professional personnel at the reception. Stable free wifi. Excellent, tasty and diverse breakfast. Decoration and furniture in the Biedermieier style are quite stylish and tasteful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    4.2
    Breakfast was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a Superior Suite, but when we got to the room, it seemed to look like a Classic Double Room, not a Superior Suite. After we came back to the reception we've been told that "Superior Suite is not available at the moment due to an accident, so you've been downgraded, and you would be charged for a normal room, not a Superior Suite". Okay, but ten minutes ago we've already been charged for the suite (!) and no one told us the suite was not avalible! So what would have happened if we never asked? Of course we got the difference (50€) back as a refund (just a receipt at the moment, still haven't seen the money in our account), but this situation was pretty uncomfortable for us, since no member of the staff even seemed to be apologetic or confused about it. There were also a couple of uncomfortable things in our room: there was only one working power outlet we've been told by the staff that this is because of hotel being busy (?), and instead of a normal fitting bed size duvet we had two extremely narrow ones. We're really disappointed by the service in this should-be-4-stars hotel.

    Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.1
    Nice place. Excellent food at the restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed mattress wasn't comfortable but ok.

    Its a nice building. In a central location but hidden as well which is nice. Restaurant was excellent!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    5.8
    Nice place, bad cleaning. Noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear people speaking in the room next to you. The cleaning was not donne properly. We found mens underwear in the bathroom and under the furniture in the room our kid foud a flesh disk and a spinner.

    Excellent breakfest. Nice stylish furnishing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    Good stay, especially because of staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was slightly outdated, mattress was super hard and uncomfortable. Generally some small tweaks seems necessary, but the hotel really has potential.

    The staff was very nice, both at desk and at breakfast. Rooms were comfy, breakfast was nice, location seemed good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.8
    This is a nice hotel and not too far away from Wien Mitte...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was slightly higher than what I feel it was worth.

    This is a nice hotel and not too far away from Wien Mitte which is why I chose it. The people at the front desk were very nice and helpful and it was easy to check in and out. Breakfast and even the restaurant were great. Disregard the grousing from other people saying that it's a pain to drag your luggage on the cobblestones. No big deal.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    6.3
    Great stuff and location. Needs refurbishment.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel in general, but especially rooms needs refurbishment. I gave bad score for cleanliness as I found funghi at the bathtube. Should not be there.

    I like stuff, location and breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel, very clean, the staff was very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel, very clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The resturant looked lovely although we chose to eat out in the city. Walking distance to public transportation - including multiple trains to the airport and main train station. Walking to the main sights is definitely do-able, Probably 30-40 minutes.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Perfect Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Almost Nothing.

    We loved this hotel. The location is perfect, very close (about 5 Minutes Walk) to Wien Mitte station which has direct S-Bahn connection to the Airport and it situated in Vienna City centre, so you can walk to most of the attractions by foot. The entrance of the hotel is hidden in a historical alleyway, it was so beautiful and magical. The staffs are friendly and patient. We originally booked 2 double bed rooms for 3 adults and 1 child, surprisingly they upgraded one of our room to a family suite. We were very happy about this arrangement. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    5.0
    This hotel is max 3 star hotel, not for...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is max 3 star hotel, not for business/customers at all! Bathroom was poor, terrible shower! and terrible matresses in the bed. Convenient location but for low budget travelling!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.9
    a good hotel but have a very smaal case
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very small room no place for luggage long walk to reach reception on un even road for pulling bags. hard to pull bags in the couridors to the room due to presence of steps you need to climb.

    location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice, good located hotel in Vienna
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice, good located hotel in the Centre of Vienna. Close to CAT station ( quick train to the Airport ). Tasty breakfast. Classic good Mercure standard.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bar area was cold and had no atmosphere

    This hotel is in a great location, just a short walk from the U bahn station and about 15 to 20 mins from the centre of Vienna. The breakfast is excellent, plentiful and varied , with freshly cooked fried eggs or omelettes to order. The room décor was a little dated , but spotlessly clean and had the most comfortable bed of our whole trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Excellent stay and would stay again should I return to Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Did not know that we could pre-book breakfast the day before and it would be cheaper. We were not told about this when we checked in.

    Excellent staff, very friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent and enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Communication between staff shifts. When we arrived we were not told that if we pre-booked breakfast the day before with reception it would be cheaper. It was disappointing to find this out when we paid our invoice but hasn't deterred us from staying again should we return to Vienna

    The bed was very comfy. The room was bright and quiet. Staff were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel signage on main road cannot be easily identified as Mercure in other cities, need to improve. The old pebble small street leads to hotel is unexpected for such a chain hotel. We book private airport transfer, however, the car is unable to drop us on the main road so we have to carry our heavy luggages on this pebble small street in the rain to reach hotel entrance, even it's not that far but too troublesome.

    Large & comfortable room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    Good and quiet location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms furniture and equipment (especially bathroom) is "little bit" worn. Breakfast is good, but not european 4* hotel standard.

    Good and quiet location. Comfortable bed. Polite and good trained staff (as usual in Austria).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.4
    -The bed was comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very bad services. Most of the personnel was bored and unwilling to do their job properly, to the point of rudeness (with the exception of some very kind and helpful receptionists during the night shifts, when I was searching for extra towels and trying to fix my non-working room key-card...). Some indicative examples: -I had booked a double room; the lady on the reception took way too much time to check us in (she claimed that there was sth wrong with the system), to a SINGLE room, with only one set of towels, pillows, etc.. Then I had to search for extra towels and pillows in the night, when I realized the room was lacking them. I had to do the same process when I realized that the second key-card for the room was not working. -When I asked for a separate invoice for my company for a part of the whole stay, the one receptionist told me that it was impossible and that I should have initially asked it when I checked in; however, when I had checked in, another receptionist had told me that "we should take care of this at the check out, because we do not have time right now". Eventually, a third receptionist partially satisfied my request. So, the initial receptionist was just BORED of satisfying my (I guess very trivial) request. -The room/towels were not properly cleaned/changed.

    -The bed was comfortable. -Some of the employees (during the night shift) were very kind and helpful, when compensating for the inadequacy of the provided services.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Offers comfortable rooms and good location. Feel local Wien atmosphere. Very close to Wien Mitte station and walking distance to Belvedere. Early check was available, the room was ready.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.7
    Location is good if you don't mind walking 20 minutes to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No body helps with the luggage, no elevator in the parking, room a bit old fashioned and gloomy but clean.

    Location is good if you don't mind walking 20 minutes to reach the center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Nice and quiet location just 200 metres from the train...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and quiet location just 200 metres from the train station. The room was spacious and had all amenities needed for a comfortable stay - smart TV, fridge, kettle. The staff were friendly and unobtrusive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    Old style bedroom, but quiet big and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old style bedroom, but quiet big and spacious. Nice and clean bathroom. Unfortunately located on the street side, I guess the bedrooms on the inner court are probably better. It was really silent though.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    Not possible to have a drink outside after 10 pm unless you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not possible to have a drink outside after 10 pm unless you go yourself to taking your tea, just impossible in such an hotel !!! And the no more lights after 10.30 pm while you are having a tea , we were really angry about that, this has to change in summer with so many touristes!!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel in an old-fashioned style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast - good variety, but not at a 4 star quality. Over all a little too expensive.

    Nice hotel in an old-fashioned style. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast and location perfect for access to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms have character but possibly the bathrooms could be modernised slightly

    Excellent breakfast and location perfect for access to public transport to all areas of Vienna

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel at a convenient location if you use Vienna Mitte station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My first impression about this hotel was spoiled at the reception when checking in. The staff was polite, however, the policy of the hotel seems over-commercial. At the moment of checking-in, when you are tired and all you want is get in the room you have booked, they provide you with a numer of offers. First, they offer you a special offer for breakfast. Then there comes offer to become a meber (come on, how can I decide to become a member at this point in time, if I haven't even seen my room?), then there is an offer for a meal in the restaurant. A bit too much. Then they explain that they reserve more money from your card in case you damage something or use extra services. I would recommend the hotel to shorten the amount of information given at the check-in. Wifi worked well, but logging in was again in a special procedure and therefore longer than usually. The room was quite dark. Walk to the city center is a bit too long, better use metro for getting around the city. The closest metro station is short walk away.

    Huge, comfortable and clean standard room. I loved the design of the room and the hotel. Nice area. Close to Vienna Mitte station, which is very convenient for travelling to Vienna airport (I used cheap S7 train instead of CAT to get to the airport) and metro use.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    Near to the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not easy to access the hotel from the main street, especially if you have luggage. The pathway leading to the hotel is long and bumpy. Expect to loose the wheels of your luggage. The first room that we were offered was on the 1st floor. It was nice but with inefficient A/C so we changed it with another one on the 2nd floor. The water pressure in the shower was weak and the tub's sink was partially blocked. Guests have to walk long ways to reach from the lifts to to the rooms. Blankets are very thin and uncomfortable.

    Being near to the train station. Staff were friendly and informative. Room was of average size comparing to Vienna. As it was our anniversary, the hotel showed a nice gesture by placing a free bottle of Champaign, although we don't consume alcohol but it was a nice thing of them.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.9
    Viennise style! Location is superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant. Breakfast is boring, for 5 days we used the restaurant for brekkie. Should have wide selection Fresh fruits . The waitress is not so attentive. COFFEE is not hot at all. So disappointing!

    Location is very good. Accessible to everywhere. U-Bahn, Bus, Drugstore, supermarket , cofffeshop and etc . Enjoyable walk to the Centre .. it was easy with kids .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.3
    It was a quiet hotel in the middle of Vienna in a historical...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    In general, there could have been a better, warmer personal relationship between the staff of the hotel and guests. My impression was that there was some staff shortage.

    It was a quiet hotel in the middle of Vienna in a historical building which kept its authentic atmosphere. We had to walk only for 5 minutes to the equally excellent Vienna public transport system. It was the ideal combination of a refuge while being at the same time connected to the local neighborhood. Infrastructure around the hotel was excellent regarding restaurants, coffee shops, shopping opportunities, parks, museums and culture.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful biedermeyer hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - sauna was switched of ealier than stated in the hotel information

    + very good breakfast + nice restaurant terrace in a beautiful backyard with many plants and trees + loveley situated in several old buildings separated by a small, private alley with restaurant / café + centrally located, tram and underground station in walking-distance + Biedermeyer stile furniture and interior very classy + nice sauna-area

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Greate nights at vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great place, with great location 5 min walking from wien mitte with all the transportation that needed. The staff was very nice and kind and we had a great time. The place located in a nice passage with restaurants and coffe places. the hotel also have it's own reataurant and bar with very good atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel for great stay in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was clean and friendly. The room was spacious, well decorated and furnished, clean and bright. The bed was sizable and comfortable the bathroom was cleaned well each day and everything provided for. It was well located to the centre of the city and key points of transportation to travel throughout the city. The breakfast is not cheap (16 euros) but is an excellent spread of cereal, fruit, cold cuts, cheeses, bread, juices and yogurts. The courtyard where breakfast is served is beautiful. The hotel is quiet and the staff friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel for great stay in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was clean and friendly. The room was spacious, well decorated and furnished, clean and bright. The bed was sizable and comfortable The bathroom was cleaned well each day and everything provided for. It was well located to the centre of the city and key points of transportation to travel throughout the city. The breakfast is not cheap (16 euros) but is an excellent spread of cereal, fruit, cold cuts, cheeses, bread, juices and yogurts. The courtyard where breakfast is served is beautiful. The hotel is quiet and the staff friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning was not up to much and it was very hot when we visited in late May.

    Hotel was excellent very clean, comfort beds and we had a large room. Very good restaurant attached and breakfast very varied to suit all. Easy walking distance to public transport or into city centre about 15 mins.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: