Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Pfeifer zum Kirchenwirt 4 stars

Kirchplatz 9, Mariatrost, 8044 Graz, Austria

#29 of 46 hotels in Graz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 472 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Good location and easy access into town. The bells at 7am from the Basilica were not intrusive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not able to put drinks onto our room bill.

    Staff wee very helpfull and have a good level of english. They even allowed my to try out my rusty german on them. I asked for a single room and had one ofthe suites. The rooms for my friends were quite large as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.8
    Clean, comfortable room, outside of Graz but direct tram...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor Internet connection, practically unsable. Wasn't able to not even open a web page to check the e-mail on my laptop. Ended up sharing the 4G connection from my mobile.

    Clean, comfortable room, outside of Graz but direct tram line from the property to city centre. Excellent breakfast, excellent espresso coffee. Nice & helpful staff at the reception. Very good restaurant on premises. Free parking on-site, which was good for us as we travelled by car. The place is surrounded by beautiful hills which made a nice view from our room's window in the morning.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    This is essentially a mountain chalet, I kid you not.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The tram line 1 was not operating for the time being, I had to take the substitute bus and later change once.

    This is essentially a mountain chalet, I kid you not. So the vistas and air were amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.5
    Need to revisit when I'm traveling for leasure and not business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately I was traveling on business so I needed something more centrally located to the town center

    If you are looking for a great escape from the norm this is the place

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.3
    Fine hotel right next to a church.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. No air conditioning - was hot on top floor. Blinds couldn't be fully opened.

    Liked surrounding. Quiet and peaceful. Excellent breakfast. Easy to get into the city. Linked restaurant was open late for a good pint of beer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel with a great atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    Very warm weekend and the hotel provided fans to help. Also I got in late after the had kitchen closed and they helped by ordering pizza for me. Also, they sent me an email advising me on this. Due to flight delays, I got delayed from my original schedule.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    4.6
    Way under expectations. Expensive for what it offers.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is way under our expectations and too expensive for what it offers. It is OK for a sleepover, but the location is almost in the contryside, there is no elevator and the breakfast buffet was beyond basic - few salamis and cheese, that is it. Also, the hotel is between a church and cemetery. I am not superstitious, but having breakfast with a view of a graveyard is just tasteless and bizarre. Wi-fi was slow.

    It was clean and up-to-date. Free parking.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    The location of the hotel, which is perched on top of a hill...
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The location of the hotel, which is perched on top of a hill, allows for a spectacular and panoramic view of the mountains in this region of Styria. The atmosphere in the hotel, both inside and out, is welcoming and the staff are hospitable. In addition, the breakfast which the hotel provides is exceptional in terms of quality and quantity. The breakfast meats (various sausages, bacon) and eggs were warm and delicious. There was a variety of seeded breads (pumpkin, sunflower and poppy seeds) as well, which were fresh and with nice texture. Further, the espresso had a rich taste and aroma. Finally, the room itself was well furnished and its bathroom was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    Perfect arrangement for late guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect arrangement for late guests. We were late because of traffic jam but the reception called us (we were still abroad) to let us know about keys. This was very kind of them.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful location, close to Graz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful location, close to Graz.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's rather located far from city center of Graz, but in a lovely area

    Very good hotel, spacious rooms, fine breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    4.2
    Dissapointing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is situated at the graveyard! Ghostly!

    We didn't like the hotel at all! What a spooky place!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    3.8
    too expensive for what it offers
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location of the hotel - right next to the cemetery ( and the room was at this side), far away from the city center

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel, stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel and location. Very comfortable room. Wonderful selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.3
    Really nice traditional hotel on a hil close to Graz.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nice traditional hotel on a hil close to Graz. Fantastic place, relaxing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.9
    Dificult for Lugguages carried because no elevator
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dificult for Lugguages carried because no elevator

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    Cosy old hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator : ) It's very old building.

    Architecture. Staff friendliness.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.9
    silence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    mattresses, coffee

    silence

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.5
    Next to Maria Trost, near running and hiking trails, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Next to Maria Trost, near running and hiking trails, nice views, good regional restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    3.3
    The restaurant was closed at Sunday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was closed at Sunday! There was no info about that before the booking was done.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.9
    Great stay - Graz suburb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely picturesque location outside the city of Graz. Family owned, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful stay behind the famous church
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was extra comfy, the staff are super friendly, very accommodating and helpful! The view spectacular from the hotel!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    7.5
    Room with a fantastic view over the landscape.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room with a fantastic view over the landscape..the Basilique or church next door you must visit !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    7.5
    restaurant, very dog friendly , location
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    stairs and bit far to city center but good public transport connection

    restaurant, very dog friendly , location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    9.6
    Very Good Hotel
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    9.2
    Quiet location, fresh air, big room, nice breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you come from the town by tram, you need to go up a steep hill to the hotel.

    Quiet location, fresh air, big room, nice breakfast, excellent for a leisure trip, pleasant restaurant in front. Town can be reached by tram in about 25 min, no need to go by car.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    9.2
    Good location to Graz, out of the City, but accessible to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately no lift to top floors for luggage, etc, which could be a problem for more elderly people. However, staff were more than willing to help with luggage.

    Good location to Graz, out of the City, but accessible to the centre by tram. Staff were very attentive and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    7.5
    Nice staff and accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    At the very end of municipal bus/tram services. Difficult to find once in the area. Steep hill with 143 steps once it's located. No visible signage and even the locals didn't know.

    Nice staff and accommodation.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    10
    Beds were extremely comfortable, our room was like a small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only fault would be no tea or coffee facilities in the room but as it was always available downstairs not an issue.

    Beds were extremely comfortable, our room was like a small apartment and spotless. The shower very powerful hot. The staff were absolutely lovely, very attentive especially with my elderly mother. Breakfasts were tasty, nothing was too much trouble. The evening meals were just gorgeous.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    10
    Quiet location away from city noise, but still close to him.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet location away from city noise, but still close to him. Friendly staff, quality breakfast and plentiful. Locatie linistita, departe de vacarmul orasului, dar totusi aproape de el. Personal amabil, mic-dejun de calitate si indestulator

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    7.5
    Unfortunately even if we asked for payment in cash and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately even if we asked for payment in cash and booking assure us that the card won't be used. The money have been blocked in my account for 11 days and the people from the hotel told me that will take time until they will release the money up to 14 days

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    9.6
    The views from the window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little far from town although there is a train nearby down the steep hill. Beautiful scenery on the way in however.

    The views from the window. Clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful location, great surroundings, staff, service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location was only just 'good' because this was a very short business trip (2 days) and business meeings were in Graz city (20 -30 mins away depending on traffic) But I would stay at the hotel again if on vacation. Mattress could have been better!

    Beautiful location, great surroundings, staff, service. Basilika next door is a beatiful old (Baroque) church/convent.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    10
    Great location, lovely room and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, lovely room and breakfast. Free wifi & parking. Close to regular tramstop into Graz centre

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    4.2
    Staf
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing for 4 star

    Staf

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    9.2
    Breakfast, Comfort, Really closer to tram
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast, Comfort, Really closer to tram

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    10
    Peaceful location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    none

    Peaceful location; easy public transport to the city center; excellent restaurant

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    lack of lift
    • Solo traveller

    lack of lift

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    4.2
    The Cemetary near to it !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing if you will compare it to all other 4 stars hotels

    The Cemetary near to it !

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    8.3
    Lovely location with great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!!

    Lovely location with great views. Comfortable beds, great evening meals and breakfast Very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    6.3
    Comfortable bed, decent breakfast, nice staf, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Small room, old furniture, looked outdated

    Comfortable bed, decent breakfast, nice staf, clean

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    7.5
    Friendly evening staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly evening staff

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    6.7
    Quiet and surrounded by a ncd vreenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Steep road from zram station to the jotel

    Quiet and surrounded by a ncd vreenery

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    9.2
    nice people, good food, nice area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    shower broken, bathroom fan broken generally needs refurbishment

    nice people, good food, nice area

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    7.9
    Location, food and atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    3 flights of stairs.

    Location, food and atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    7.5
    Easy access to Graz by tram.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Easy access to Graz by tram.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    5.4
    The restaurant was great;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No a/c. Mattresses are awful.

    The restaurant was great; service was wonderful. Desk staff was so welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    8.8
    groblje u blizini
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    groblje u blizini

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    7.9
    Very helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpfull staff.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Browse Hotel Pfeifer zum Kirchenwirt traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: