Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Carlton Opera 3 stars

Schikanedergasse 4, 04. Wieden, 1040 Vienna, Austria

#250 of 316 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3309 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was below the standards I have been used to in similar hotels where an English cooked breakfast was on the menu. 5 days of bread rolls, boiled egg and coffee was not the breakfast I needed for a day of sightseeing/shopping.

    location close to city centre, restaurants and supermarket

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was all good my partner missed his bacon but we didnt leave the uk to go Vienna for fry ups!

    Location is fantastic in minutes youve walked to the Naschmarket & Wagner Apartments-wonderful room spacious as I like it with kitchenette and ensuite felt like a home from home!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    probably needs some up dating. not up to 3 star standard overall

    average breakfast [mundane, no changes or variation] i would rate this hotel at 2 star not 3. good location for easy walking access to attractions. would look for better accommodation in similar location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room needed a bit of upgrading, and the windows should have been washed (but since we couldn't open them, it was fine - we left the curtains closed, too, and besides, we spent all days outdoors, so no big deal for us

    We had an apartment in the annex - which was very spacious but a little spartan in terms of furnishings. Everything was available, from little breakfast nook to kitchenette, including dishwasher and washing machine. The bathroom was a little tight, but we liked that the toilet was separate. The sink was leaking a bit (we put a bucket underneath so no problem) and the air con in the toilet was very noisy. The room was very quiet though and we liked it for the proximity to downtown (Karlsplatz, Opera , and Naschmarket). Breakfast was actually included in our deal - and it was wonderful! Also, we had free wifi - very important these days

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice hotel. 10 min walk to the center. Quality meets the price - nothing special but clean and quite comfortable. The only thing was uncomfortable is our bed. It was with two separate mattresses. So if you are a couple its not good..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet is separate and if you want go to the shower you have to through the main room. Intimacy zero. The breakfast is really simple..

    Location is perfect, next to Karlsplatz

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not one thing ,Did I like about the carlton

    Would not recommend this hotel Booking.com thier rateing should only be a 1 or2 I was very disappointed with booking.com for giving a false ratting

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wanted to book two double rooms. The only option available on Booking.com was Double bedroom appointment and a one double room in the hotel . We were in the apartment, rest of the family was in the hotel. Ridiculous and it’s awful situation. Dragging the luggage alone the road for a dated apartment. We were only there for two nights I didn’t wanted an apartment. I wanted a double room with tea coffee available. It was an empty apartment, which I paid for the same price as a double room. Not worth the price I paid. I thought the apartment was same place as the hotel. It wasn’t it was down the road 10 minuets walk from the hotel. We had to come to the hotel for breakfast. Not convenient at all. Never going to book this hotel or need to think about using Booking.com again. These information need to be clarified on the website before booking.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Good staff, nice room and ample breakfast. Good central location close to transport links. Plenty of good restaurants and bars within easy walk of the hotel. Staff pleased to assist to make your stay enjoyable, you can leave bags with them after check out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to start. A set of steps from the street was difficult to negotiate with heavy luggage (impossible for the disabled). The temperature in bar fridge in my room was higher than the room temperature. At breakfast, much of the crockery was chipped or cracked. The hotel has a lot of potential but is in serious need of renovation, particularly the bathrooms where one could be scalded or frozen in the blink of an eye as the water temperature kept changing. Although I had a non smoking room, I found a cigarette butt in the shower when I returned to my room one afternoon, presumably left by a cleaner. The hotel seemed to be stuck in the past.

    The Art Deco decor was charming, especially the little lift surrounded by spiral staircase. My room was a decent size. There were decent restaurants nearby. The Beograd was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to very short stay I can't think of anything wrong. It would help having an information sheet (of breakfast times ect.) in the room.

    I had to catch a transfer flight from Vienna which got cancelled so I had to look for an affordable accommodation in Vienna. The listing of this hotel came up and I immediately booked it. I was surprised how near the centre this hotel was compared to the price w. The check in process was easy and quick, I explained I may have to leave early in the morning if I manage to book an early flight. The hotel is a very pleasant family run place, exquisitely clean and tidy, beautiful art nouveau lift. The room was very clean and spacious. Comfortable bed and sheets. I had to leave very early in the morning and the concierge happily arranged a very early check out and booked a taxi for me which arrived in 3 minutes. All in all, though short, my stay was very pleasant and helped turn an uncomfortable experience (having to stay in Vienna overnight due to flight cancellation) into a nice one.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit pricey for single room, one of the windows didn't have curtains to block out daylight, had to use an eyemask.

    The breakfast was fantastic, fresh fruits and amazing breads! Very good location, single bed was small but comfy, good air conditioning. Minibar handy. Indian restaurant around the corner had awesome food and service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice apartment of hotel with good location, clean, breakfast was included -it is important because most hotel is asking extra charge for this. Was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet was spotty to non-existent at times. Not serious, unless you really needed to get or do something important. Hotel staff tended to knock as they entered, couple of close calls :).

    Good location for getting to main sites we wanted to see. Old, but tasteful hotel, with an awesome elevator (100+ yo, but smooth and quiet), with wire screening, ascending and descending through a spiral staircase.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Old property needs repair at many places. I had booked an apartment with 2 rooms to manage easily with 14 and 8 year old. The AC of kids room didn't work and we lodged the complaint with the operator. To our surprise she told us that the AC can be fixed next day only as no technician is available for that day. The apartment was suffocating and it was difficult for the kids to manage without AC at night. To our surprise when we came back from city tour next night the AC wasn't fixed. The same operator put the blame on the guy who manages reception during the day and expressed helplessness to do anything for us. On my insistence she gave kids double bed room with AC to spend the night after lot of reluctance. Next day i came to know that the AC cant be fixed for another 3-4 days. On my push i was moved to another larger apartment but that was without AC but unlike the earlier one wasn't suffocating.

    Location is good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower needed a small repair (rubber on the door was missing, flexible tube had a little leakage). The breakfast room was pretty crowded. Although there was enough parking space around the hotel, there was not another license available and the costs for the garage were a little bit higher (EUR 18,-) than outside (EUR 10,-).

    Old beautiful hotel in a silent street close to the Naschmarkt and city centre. Big and quiet room. Breakfast with enough choice (bread, fruits, cheese,..). Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities have seen better times.The bathtub was clogged, the ac in the main sleeping room was very very loud and not possible to switch off...needs some minor repairments.

    The location and the atmosphere of the suites were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    can't think of anything.

    Carlton Opera is in an excellent location, a pleasant walk to the city centre or U stations. Room was great! Much better than expected. Would not hesitate to return there and would recommend highly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast basic - meat and cheeses with little taste., steps down into apartment were steep.

    Location excellent, apartment very quiet, facilities excellent, wifi good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    STAFF 1. Cold unfriendly lady (short haircut, thin eyebrows) at the reception. Both times we interracted on basic matthers. 2. A couple of times we waited for an elevator quite long. It appered to be full of cleaning staff for almost all the hotel floors. Also cleaning staff enters this very tiny elevator when the guests are inside. And then talks with the guests all the way. Never met such situations in other hotels.

    - Location is perfect. - Lovely Art Deco style. - Price vs quality is decent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    WIFI: very patchy, on and off, slow speed, I could not count on it, which was a problem an this was a business trip and I needed to work! SHOWER: very LOW pressure, and the temperature fluctuated a lot during the shower - Once I had to stop becasuse the water stopped running!!

    Location in the city, quiet room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds very comfy. Room wasn’t suitable for our needs and staff were very helpful and changed our apartment the following morning. Excellent service. This Hotel is in an excellent location for the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit basic but ok. The noise of rain dripping onto the canopy connecting the apartment and the hotel was a bit annoying in the middle of the night.

    Spacious apartment, great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    breakfast. Housekeeping did not check before entering the room if someone inside. They would just open our our room and come in without knocking.

    great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed. Twin beds kept moving apart not double at all.actually slipped between beds once on to the floor.

    Great value location staff cleanliness.good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe still a bit far away from the metro station if you are with big luggage.

    It’s quite and near a cathedral and Central Park. I am a museum fan so I can walk to all the museums within 20mins and I enjoy the walk very much! Many nice restaurants nearby! Near to metro station! Easy access from airport!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is like a five star hotel that's a bit rough around the edges. Bathroom looked amazing with a lovely bathtub and plentiful amenities. With an unfitting sewer lid. Room was quiet, beautiful, well equipped. Bed was comfy. Unfortunately while turning the blanket, I accidentally hit the bedside lamp and got smacked with a year's worth of dust. Also, pillows were a bit lousy. Wifi was useless. Not that I really mind in the days of global roaming data, but it's 2018, guys. A hotel without wifi is just not acceptable anymore. All in all though, a lovely stay.

    Building looks amazing, interior is classy and charming. Service was great and friendly in that Austrian kind of way. Everyone smiled and said hi. After a long day walking, we asked about the house sauna. The receptionist was kind enough to heat it up and we were lucky to enjoy a private sauna session. I usually have bad luck with hotel breakfasts. This time breakfast was better than I expected, gave us a nice start to the day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the shower is too weak and can be very hot but when making colder it is too cold . nothing between.

    good price as it is only a few minutes walk from Albertina. Although the hotel is very old it is real fun experience for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Safety-box did not function. TV had no signal. Poor wi-fi in the room.

    Good location not far from the center. Very quiet! Pleasant atmosphere and nice interior. Tee and coffe in the room. Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room there wasn’t any carpet on the floor or slippers and the internet wasn’t working properly.

    I liked the staff, they were friendly, the breakfast, the room was large and clean and is very close to the center of the city, 7 min walking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being at the place for second time the property failed totally what it was first time. I had no special expectations just to be as expected first time but it wasn’t. The room floor, cupboard in toilet and top of the mini bar were not clean as was before, had big dust formations so wasn’t from days ago cleaned, there was weird smell in bathroom that wasn’t there first time, mini bar fridge wasn’t working and light haven’t had light and the water cattle had wires exposed. It was really cold out like minus five and inside room wasn’t warm as used to be before although the rooms are small. There are two ladies at the reception extremely unwelcoming while the gentleman and other lady are extremely nice. If you try to print smth please use the university print shop very close.

    Gentlemen and one lady at reception are extremely nice and welcoming and try their best to help.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although not critical but part of furniture is a bit outdated; radiator was not easy to control (either fully on or fully off, nothing in between)

    Charming hotel in old style, interesting staircase + lift, with functional equipment; good breakfast; quick check-in; fairly working wifi

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room as well as the whole building was in poor condition. The bed was uncomfortable and the bathroom needed refurbishment. The breakfast was below average in Vienna.

    The location is very good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved the rooms with their high ceilings and the massive bathroom. There was also a quirky elegant elevator in the hotel. Breakfast was great with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decor (eg blinds) needs a little wok, but its an old buidling and thats part of the charm.

    Comfortable beds in a spacious apartment Helpful staff. Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast had a wide, but completely not tasty variety. Maybe it makes more sense to reduce breakfast to selection of hot omelet, grilled or fresh tomatoes, grilled mushrooms or vegetables, beakon + fresh bake + muesly for weight-watchers. Then i assume food will be fresh every morning and at the same time more cost-effective for hotel.

    Very clean, very good located, very calm. I also appreciated minor, yet very pleasant thing: heating lamp in the bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was literally not good at all. When I look the room and bathroom It does not reflected that I have booked the hotel in Vienna. The bath room was extremely small and conjusted that it was difficult to take bath. The amenities were very less.

    The staff was highly cooperative and polite. Breakfast was just ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast did not have scrambled egg or bacon, mediocre coffee machine.

    Nice old room, bathtub. Reception is manned 24 h. Close to Karlsplatz (5-10 min walk).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Décor a bit faded.

    Easy to get to and central. walkable from Karlsplatz. Some good bars and restuarants around. Room was comfortable and clean. Breakfasts fine without being opulent. A good base to Vienna from.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The rooms were different size and warm. We did not use restaurants near hotel. Good location and price. Unfortunately not enough cash machine to take money in this area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I stayed in a single room for 6 nights which was smaller than I anticipated. The bathroom especially was very compact, I often hit my head on the glass shelf situated above the wash basin when washing my face! The breakfast was reasonable, however some days (early) there were no boiled eggs prepared and certainly no variance in the breakfast i.e. scrambled eggs or fried eggs.

    Shower strength was excellent and water hot, most of the time. Staff pleasant and helpful. Location was good for central Vienna

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good area to stay, walking distance to city centre, good nightlife, close to market etc. Hotel in quiet street and comfortable,,,, not grand in any way but clean and decent value with a good continental breakfast,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very large hotel with so many stairs to get to room - not good for the elderly. Hotel is very old & although upgraded the apartment, floors were very dirty & breakfast was minimal.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very good. The only problem was heating in the room, the temperature was high and I could not find other way than to open the window.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance of the hotel needs renovation.

    The hotel is small but cosy with comfortable rooms. Near the centre. The staff helpful and polite. Rich breakfast unlike other hotels .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking through the garden to the breakfast room. It was a bit cold in the morning.

    Very good breakfasts. Spacey rooms. Well equipped. Silent area. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our apartment was spacious, clean, and in our favourite location in Vienna. We booked last minute and weren't really sure what we were going to get, but our expectations were exceeded! So much space, a great price, and the free breakfast was great! I loved that my daughter had her own room (we had a two-bedroom apartment). She was going through the apartment, getting excited about every amenity we had. We will definitely be staying here again next time we are in town. Very impressed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Awesome Breakfast which was included for free. The room was acceptable with a mini fridge. We booked a single bed but were provided 2 single beds which was a shame. We were able to push them together anyways. That was the only bummer about this hotel. Its close enough to things that we walked everywhere, but its not close by any means if you do not like or have trouble walking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Helpful staff, they allowed me to check in early, which was amazing after a 17 hour flight! The room was small, but had everything you need.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totally poor property, broken knob on bathroom door, hot water not warm enough, light besides bed didn't work, no handy electrical socket to charge my phone, poor breakfast (though bakery was tasty)

    Superb location, friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was malfunctioning. It was very cold. I asked assistance but the concierge replied very rudely that it was too late to find a technician and that I will be staying only two nights so they would probably not fix it.... The breakfast was suboptimal and the breakfast room too small to accommodate the guest. The room was unclean.

    Location and kitchen

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath room was bit dirty specially the bath, TV was only showing one channel, no Cable TV as advertised. Only boiled eggs . lots of cold meat. At reception when I wanted to get BIG BUS ticket ,she was quick to get the 5 Euro but to get info of her. I had to find out from the web site for Vienna. I had a picture of a bright building in my mind the picture must be 20 years old.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The only thing we could fault it on was that the shower screen did not meet the top of the bath and so it tended to flood the floor when you had a shower. We solved the problem by putting a towel in the gap. The towel got very wet but the floor didn't flood

    We stayed in the apartment part of the hotel which was great as there was three of us traveling together. It was very spacious, had a basic kitchen that was more than adequate to cater for ourselves when required. It was extremely quiet as it opened onto an internal courtyard. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was terrific being a short walk from the markets and a 20 minute walk from the centre of the city. It was extremely good value for money compared to other accommodation in the area

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of steps to apartment (1 flight down followed by 2 flights up).

    Very spacious apartment. Gracious staff. Washing machine with soap. Good coffee at breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel's is location is great. The staff was helpful and informative. I enjoyed my stay there. The city centre is at walking distance, there is a fantastic market nor far from the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt very strongly of cigarette smoke; whilst the smell did dissipate somewhat over two/three days it was still very present and quite off-putting for a non-smoker.

    The hotel was excellently located, right next to an U-bahn stop and within easy walking distance to the city centre. Breakfast was good, lots of variety and good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very good. Breakfast could be better. Perhaps something Austrian could be added.( Apfelstrudel for example)

    Location, beautiful building, clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Brilliant location, very central, clean hotel well maintained it has everything you need. Breakfast tasty with good selection of food. We stayed in one of the apartments. Beside a fridge and a washing machine which was a bonus there was even a dish washer! Brilliant!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The twin room was very poor quality compared to the double room my friend stayed in considering we paid the same amount for the rooms.

    Breakfast was reasonable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could serve hot foods. Front desk could be more engaging especially with parking. But good staff overall.

    Location great for parking garage and street cards. Good breakfast but no hot food. Nice kitchenette in apartment.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure in the shower and WC was almost non existent on several occasions. No complimentary tea/coffee/milk in the kitchen. Only warm hard boiled eggs as a "hot"option for breakfast.

    Good location for two metro lines, spacious two bedroom apartment with roof terrace on the 7th floor of annex. Quite varied and substantial breakfast options.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was in a different building without an elevator. It was an old apartment with squeaky floors, spider webs and dust rolls. Very uncomfortable toilet. The mirror in the shower had mould. The kitchen was poorly equipped and the furniture was old and worn-out. Finally, the whole apartment has cigarette smokes soaked in to the walls and it smelled terrible.

    Very good breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked a complimentary map of the area to orientate myself on arrival.

    The apartment was comfortable and allowed me to keep a few essentials in the kitchen when I didn't want to go looking for a meal. The lady that greeted me on arrival was also very welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not nice - no toaster and only hot item hard boiled eggs. Wouldn't bother with breakfast again here. Staff very kind but did not solve any problems e.g. Safe not working, couldn't operate tv - lovely chat about how receptionist operates her cable box and tv at home but that didn't actually help us.

    Very accommodating and moved us because of stairs and no lift which not ideal for someone with bad knee. spacious apartment and great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was average, no toaster, and breads were quite sweet. The room itself needed an update.

    The location was fine great markets just down the road.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A nice little hotel just off the main street leading to the Opera House. Our reservation clerk (more a concierge) Constantine, was an excellent source of top quality restaurants even upon our first night's arrival at 11:30 p.m. Within minutes we were having an excellent traditional Viennese midnight dinner at a cafe within walking distance from the hotel. Constantine's knowledge of the city was invaluable. A highly recommended hotel, this from seasoned travellers.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE TO HAVE A BAR TO GO TO AND A RESTAURANT FOR AN EVENING MEAL.

    IT WAS WARM, CLEAN JUST A BIT BASIC. BEDS WERE COMFY, BREAKFAST WAS GOOD.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually everything was fine, even though once I had to ask staff to replace milk in the breakfast buffet, cause it spoiled and they did not notice.

    I had a week long stay in Carlton Opera Hotel. The single economy room is quite small, but cozy, as I spent most of the time outside, I did not need more space. The breakfast buffet was included and offered a variety of dishes and even milk without lactose, which I especially appreciated. If you're not looking for a luxury hotel, this one will suit all your needs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were not fluent enough or knowledgable enough to answer questions. The actual room was in a building next to the main building which was inconvenient & not accurately represented.

    We appreciated the value, the breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking the stairs with heavy luggage. But was good exercising.

    Very old building but clean, loved the location, all the amenities, staff were very nice and the breakfast was very good and the price was excellent 😀

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff will 'recommend' that you get a taxi to the airport. It is but a short walk to the tube station and one or two stops takes you to CAT, the airport shuttle train which takes about twenty minutes. Faster and cheaper than a taxi. (Leaves at 6 and 36 mins past the hour). So, save your money.

    Excellent buffet breakfast, real espresso coffee. The proximity to Nachstmarket (a one minute walk) is ideal for shopping during the day and there are plenty of excellent restaurants ideal for lunch or supper. And there are some stand up wine bars where you can sample the local produce by the glass. It is also but a short walk to the opera house, galleries etc. I also like it's art deco theme.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    One thing that could have been better was that my room had no view from the windows except a wall. That was not a problem though.

    The location was excellent - a simple walk to the glorious city centre of beautiful Vienna. The staff were all friendly people who were helpful in every way. Breakfasts were tasty and my room was a home from home.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sll was fine.

    Wonderful staff who were always on hand to offer any assistance or advice. Taxi arranged for airport transfer and umbrellas offered for rainy days.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not the best.. but gives you essentials .. plus there is so much food to taste and enjoy outside.

    All you need while being in the center and close to everything . You can walk or have a choice of public transportation .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the hotel is not new, it is lack of electric socket.

    It is great design in the lobby, an elevator, chairs, lighting. The atmophere beautifully completes the total impression of the trip. The breakfast was included and it was good, big variety of meals.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Carlton Opera traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: