Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Austria hotel reviews
  3. Vienna (state) hotel reviews
  4. Vienna hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Caroline

Reviews of Hotel Caroline This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Gudrunstraße 138, 10. Favoriten, 1100 Vienna, Austria

#83 of 327 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2967 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    9.5
    Excellent choice, great va
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed in the older part of the hotel as expected....the bedroom was dated

    Breakfast was excellent, public spaces were newly renovated, bathroom in room was brand new and very modern, room very large

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    9.6
    very nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Hotel is not far from the center just few minutes walking to the Keplerplats underground station from where its just 3 stops to the city center. Just in front of the door of the hotel there is a bus stop which will take you to the shopping street. The hotel itself is very comfortable, there are all needed facilities. Rooms a re cleaned very day. Breakfast is very good. Recommend this hotel for sure.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay, coming back at one poit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had the breakfast included. Maybe will be a better option to change a bit the schedule for the breakfast in the kitchen. Instead of 6 to 10 AM to 8 to 11 AM. Sometimes being so early the breakfast I did felt that I was missing out not being so early up.

    The bed was just wonderful. Nice big room with 2 bathrooms along with heated floors in it. Nice overview away from outside noisy street, with good insulation from the windows. I would surely return to this location.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    4.6
    Polite stuff, garage (14 € per day).
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was to small. It is in a part of the building which is not renovated. Everything inside is worn out till the point when even cleaning doesn't help. To be honest it was indicated that it was one bed room but I did not expect something like that.

    Polite stuff, garage (14 € per day).

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The size of room and especially of the bathroom.

    A nice hotel, clean and easy to find. But for three persons the room was small and the bathroom even smaller. The bathroom was uncomfortable even for a person, being so narrow. I understand that there is also a new part of the building where the room are bigger. If so, I would prefer to be mentioned when someone makes the reservation, that the room is small and for an extra fee, they could offer something bigger. Also, 2 big closets in the room are redundant. One closet and the chest of drawers are more than enough. The breakfast was more than OK, no complaints here.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel with attentive pro-active staff very near the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing that I didn't like. Some travellers may find that there aren't restaurants/cafes in the area that would cater for more varied needs but I didn't mind as I wanted to spend time in the city centre anyway.

    I have stayed in the area before in a different hotel and I found it extremely convenient as it is walking distance to the train station. This time I flew in from one place and needed to continue to another the next day from the train station. I made a trip to the city centre as well - a very short metro ride. The hotel is very nicely furbished, very clean and quiet. The staff were fantastic, very attentive and pro-active. The wifi was very reliable, I could complete some work in the evening - it was very handy.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    7.9
    Good stuff and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very cold in my room. Both radiators in bathroom and bedroom didn't`t work. I tried to turn it but nothing happened.

    Good stuff and breakfast

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    9.6
    OVER MY EXPECTATIONS
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NOT ENOUGH CAFE AND BARS CLOSE TO THE HOTEL.

    THE HOTEL WAS PERFECT.THE ROOM WAS BIG,MODERN AND VERY CLEAN..BETTER THAN I EXPECTED.WIFY WAS GOOD.ALSO FREE GYM.BREAKFAST WAS GOOD ENOUGH WITH A LOT OF CHOICES.IT WAS NOT AT THE CENTER BUT CLOSE TO BUS,METRO AND TRAM STATIONS.MY FIRST CHOICE IF I VISIT VIENNA AGAIN.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent mid price range hotel convenietly located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I cannot fault this hotel.

    This is an excellently refurbished hotel with a clean and modern look. The room was very big and comfortable and I cannot recall sleeping on a better bed. The breakfast was fantastic. We had to leave at 6 am on our last day and a package breakfast was made for us that lasted us the whole day on the train. The staff were friendly and helpful, letting me speak in my broken German while their grasp of English was much better. The hotel is close to the underground U1 ,which has access to the city centre, airport and the train station. There are many shops in the area where you pay 'normal' , non tourist prices.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    9.2
    Decent place to stay for reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You will get a neighbourhood next to the railway station and be prepared to some immigrant guys (who are quite peaceful though), one strip-club and some store with sexy outfits. Also we got only one towel for two persons in the room.

    Sauna in the room was great, pillows were superb, decent breakfast. But on top of that - friendly and helpful stuff! I would also mention that it's quite quiet during the night which gives you a great chance to sleep well! Really close to the railway station (roughly around 10 minutes by foot).

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is situated close to the main railway station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked a kettle in the room or a tea/coffee station somewhere in the hotel.( But this is no big deal)

    The hotel is situated close to the main railway station and also to the shopping area of the local people, It was extremely clean and the staff were professional and informative. Breakfast was a delight.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    4.2
    Too expensive for what is offered
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor and cheap furniture Quite simple interior for the given price Pictures from the hotel do not correspond to the reality

    Acceptable breakfast Communicative location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    7.1
    A big room not in the center with a breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    but the woman in the breakfast was rude and not polite. The hotel is not in a good and safe area.

    The room was O. K. for 3 people. The breakfast was O. K. The young man in the reception was very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    7.9
    Hotel Caroline
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit too far from the city centre unless you had a transport ticket. Not too many good places for an evening meal. Shame the hotel does not have a bar or restaurant.

    Excellent for the main station.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    10
    A fantastic hotel, one of the best accommodation experiences we've had so far.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel Caroline exceeded our expectations. - The staff was very friendly and helpful. - The room was clean, spacious, comfortable and well equipped. - The facilities met every need we had. - The breakfast was tasty and varied enough for us for a one week stay. - Bus station right in front of the door, metro and tram stations nearby.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    9.2
    Great reasonably priced hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some level of hot drinks making facilities within the room would have been nice but not a necessity. The beds were a little hard, but seems typical for most of the hotels we have been at in Europe.

    Staff were really helpful and friendly, breakfasts ran for a decent time and there was a good selection. The room was massive and very well decorated and kept. Location was good being only a couple tram stops to the main train station, also there was minimal noise from the street outside with the window closed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location - walking distance from subway and tram. A 15 minute walk from main train station. The hotel is on a busy street, but once you walk inside it is very pleasant, so I was surprised.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    7.5
    Nice room, shame about the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast wasn't great. Couldn't cater for the amount of guests so always running out of stuff, not enough seating, and selection was not great

    Room was lovely and very spacious. Although not in a great location, tube is nearby and town only 10 mins away on it. Staff very friendly and helpful with sorting out bikes.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    8.8
    Confortable and pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is not a luxury hotel in a prime location, but we thought that it was good balance between price and quality of service.

    The room was large and clean, beds were confortable. It was quiet at night with the windows closed. Breakfast was excellent with a good selection of bread, cheese, meats and cereals. Good quality of service. Good location : a 5 minute walk from the Keplerplatz metro station, one station away from the Hauptbanhof train station. Felt secure in this residential and light commercial neighborhood.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    8.8
    The staff was very attentive and the hotel room was top...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast offer was all the time the same and not very wide, so already on the 3rd day it was hard to combine it together in order not to eat the same again. Still the quality of food was OK, so this comment should be considered as a hint not criticism!

    The staff was very attentive and the hotel room was top clean and very big.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    8.8
    Good place to stay.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    It seems this region of Vienna is somewhat peculiar because often many policemen walked around in the evenings. However, nothing bad happened (maybe due to presence of policemen in streets).

    Location very close to subway station, not far from good restaurants. Kind staff, excellent cleanliness, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    10
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The neighbourhood lost it's luster, but hotel makes more than up for it.

    Very friendly and professional staff. Very clean. We asked for a quiet room and got a junior suit on floor with only one other room on it. Parking, even though in a seperate building behind the hotel, was easy and very secure. Great breakfast too. The location is in close walking distance to the subway which makes all major attractions easily accessable without having to use the car. Superp all around

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    9.2
    Our room for 3 persons had a big space with 3 single beds, a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a bit far to the center. It'll take 45 minutes to Stephan Catholic Church and take 25 minutes to Belvedere Palace on foot. But we just walked to the places. It didn't matter to us.

    Our room for 3 persons had a big space with 3 single beds, a big bathroom, and a separated entrance. The ceiling was high. It was so pleasant. Room's condition was good. And Breakfast was not bad.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    10
    Amazing!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The upgrade to a lux room was not expected at all and made the stay an excellent one!! The staff was amazing and cleanliness was impecibal!! Would definitely recommend to my family and friends!! Thank you!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    7.1
    A well maintained hotel in a decent location with a marvelous breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very nice with the exception of the AC. It was our understanding it was air conditioned and one would expect it for the price of the room. However, it didn't feel that way and we eventually learned that only some rooms were airconditioned. I would advise getting clarity on that issue before making any assumptions about the air conditioning.

    My wife and I were quite satisfied with the hotel. The room was spacious and the breakfast was outstanding! The price was acceptable, but I wouldn't call it a "great deal". Nonetheless, we might stay there again if there weren't more attractively-priced options.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    9.2
    Pleasent and quiet place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was two full size beds pushed together to make a queen, so any good movement would cause them to separate. That's about it for the down side.

    The locations was a few minutes from a tram stop. The room and bathroom where both good and there was a lovely elevator. The breakfast was the usual European breakfast, but it was good and served it's purpose. Also, a 12pm checkout time is a godsend!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    10
    A Family Visit Enroute University - The Hotel Was Perfect
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel Caroline is the ONLY hotel I choose in Vienna - especially after this visit which was with family. Our room (28) was for 3 people - two rooms plus bath, giving our 18 year old daughter privacy. Everything was superb. As always the staff at the front desk, in the breakfast room and housekeeping were friendly and professional.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    9.2
    Staying off the beaten path
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast room felt a bit like a school cafeteria

    Very cute and very spacious room with air conditioning, extremely friendly and helpful staff, right on or very near to several transit lines to the city centre, good breakfast selection

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable stay for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was okay but two of our friends in single rooms didn't have air conditioning like us, so complained of their rooms being very hot and stuffy. One room had the heater stuck on (in summer) so unfortunately they didn't have as comfortable sleep as us. Perfect stay for one night, but if I was staying longer I probably wouldn't choose this location.

    Our room was much bigger than expected with a separate bedroom and a lounge area. The bathroom was also very big too, good shower pressure. Very clean and simply decorated room. Blackout blinds. Good breakfast - the usual European spread of cereals, breads, meat, cheese, boiled eggs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    10
    very decent accommodation and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no comments

    The triple room was very large and spacious. Excellent breakfast. Good location form the Vienna central station. friendly staff. Clean room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    10
    Good staff, room, breakfast and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all

    Very very nice staff that are always willing to help with smile and good manner. Good location. Acceptable price includes tasty breakfast. Big and clean room with fridge and electric kettle. This was our second time staying here at Hotel Caroline and it didn't let us down. Strongly recommend!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's located in the area behind the Vienna hauptbahnhoff. Which is easy to reach from the station but when travelling by foot it's far from the center of Vienna (lot's of public transportation in the area though)

    Great breakfast, clean rooms(great interior) and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    9.6
    The room was realy good and big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was realy good and big. The breakfast could be better, but for the money you get pretty good. Parking can be also possible on the back side of hotel on the street (no need to pay additonal 14€ for parking for night). U-bahn is 4 min away of walking from the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    9.2
    It was above my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleaning can be improved.

    It was above my expectations. The room looks better in reality than in the photos. The room is very big and nice. You have a terrace on your floor if you want to smoke or have a fresh air. The breakfast is delicious. The parking spot is very near the hotel and the personal is really friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel for a one-night stay - clean rooms, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located close to the train station, so it worked well for us , arriving on a train from Innsbruck for the last night before flying out of Vienna. However, it is at least 30 min walking distance from most of Vienna attractions, so not great for longer stay.

    Nice hotel for a one-night stay - clean rooms, good breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff (quick and efficient check in, answering all our questions; we even got the breakfast earlier than it officially started, as we had to go the airport early).The elevator is big enough to fit the three suitcases and two people - a bonus for the travelers.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    10
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Comfortable beds, good bedroom size, great location, friendly staff, plenty food places around, supermarket a minute walk and main train station only 8 minutes walk.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    10
    The rooms were large, well appointed and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I really can't fault this Hotel.

    The rooms were large, well appointed and comfortable. The temperature in Vienna during our stay was up to 35C but the air conditioning was brilliant. Breakfast buffet was extensive and the dining room was great. We will definitely stay here again next time we visit Vienna.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    9.2
    The room was fantastic, more spacious and more luxurious...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Housekeeping tried to enter our room about 30 minutes before checkout, but this was a very minor fault.

    The room was fantastic, more spacious and more luxurious than expected. The front desk staff member was very polite and professional, and gave great advice on parking. Also, he kindly spoke very clearly to make it easier for me to practice my German :-) Breakfast was very nice, and the staff member responsible for our table was clearly enjoying her work, which made our start of the day even nicer. We liked the location, it was a more quiet part of town with easy access to city center by U-bahn in less than 10 minutes. When I get the chance to visit Vienna again, I will definitely stay here.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    9.6
    Very nice staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was ok

    Excellent rooms, spacious , large bathrooms, impeccably clean, modern new furniture, breakfast excellent, staff very helpfull, parking just near by. Metro stations near, five stops to center if Vienna. Long street, pedestrian only, just two corners away. Wi fi is OK

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    7.1
    close to Hbf Wien, Shopping avenue Favoriten.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    repeating sound like a motor causing vibration at the 4th floor.

    close to Hbf Wien, Shopping avenue Favoriten. cheap ethnic restaurants. close to 7/24 gas station and market.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    10
    A great Gym. Nice personal. Very close to Metro and city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -

    The Fitness Studio was just great better then every other hotels. The Personal was very nice and helpful. The Hotel was very close to the Metro and not far away from the city center (only 4 Metro-Station)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    10
    Wonderful and pleasant stay.. Would love to visit again.. Would recommend it to family and friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    Very friendly staff.. always welcoming with a smile.. Hotel was easily accessible with public transportation.. Metro and supermarket nearby.. Even had the option to leave the luggage in the cloak room after checkout and retrieve it later.. It helped us to use the last day of our trip effectively..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    9.2
    Great clean and spacious hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While the location is great for it's transport links the area around it is not the best. At times it was a bit noisy (out side, not in the room) it was also fairly congested. Also I sometimes struggled to find restaurants serving Traditional Austrian cuisine, but there are lots of good Turkish food stores.

    Hotel staff were super friendly and extremely helpful. Check-in and check-out were very quick and effortless. Hotel was cleaned everyday as expected and the beds were very comfortable. The triple room was very spacious, had a minibar and modern bathroom. There is a bus stop near the entrance, Vienna's main station is a 10-15 min walk and the U1 line Keplerplatz station is a 5 mins walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast is great, the rooms are clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The design of the rooms is very simple. I would prefer they've been cozier

    The breakfast is great, the rooms are clean and spacious. The staff is helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    6.3
    Horrific Wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wanted a place to stay for 1 night, where I could make onward travel plans, update my travel blog and relax. Unfortunately, the wifi was less than any good. Pages taking ages to load and often timing out. I tried to access the Booking.com page to make contact about the issue and after 20 minutes of hanging I gave up and was forced to used my mobile provider data to raise a concern. I also used my data for a hotspot on my laptop, to use an independent wifi speed checker and the score was a very poor 2-2.5%. Not fit for purpose. I got a response from the morning manager who brought up the issue on my check out. He clearly stated they DO NOT guarantee and speed over 2-3mbps and he does not know of any place in Vienna that does high speed internet. He asked if I was unhappy, I said yes it was not fit for purpose, but what could he do now I am leaving. From leaving Hotel Caroline, I walked two blocks to McDonalds, had breakfast and booked an onward train, a hotel and a flight, all in the space of 20 minutes - all which I could not do in Hotel Caroline! I wonder if the manager will reply to that?

    The purpose of my stay was waiting for a transfer the next day. Local to the main train station, they kindly upgraded me to a double as the single room I had booked was not available? The double was two singles pushed together however? Good location, comfortable room and free water was appreciated

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    10
    Very pleasant stay, good breakfast, modern location near train station, easy to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room interior/furniture a little bit worn and walls have scratch marks, should be repainted/cleaned. Two light bulbs out, but not a big deal because lots of quality light options

    Overall very nice location with modern and clean look as well as lots of in house fitness and wellness. Delicious fresh breakfast buffet until 10am. Location only 10-15 mins walk to Vienna central station or subway station 2-3 mins walk. Also bus stop directly in front of the entrance. Very friendly staff and good services and wifi.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    9.6
    Our room was upgraded without us asking;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No decent restaurants close to the hotel. However metro station (Keplerplatz - red line) is just five minutes away on foot and one can be in St. Stephenplatz in ten minutes.

    Our room was upgraded without us asking; We were allowed to take a much needed shower when returning for the luggage after we had already checked out (we had an evening flight).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    10
    Good staff, room, breakfast and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I could complain about.

    Staff are really friendly. Location is good. Five minutes walk from Keplerplatz (U1), there's a supermarket nearby. Room is big, clean and comfy, with proper breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    9.2
    Decent hotel nearby underground station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi wasnt that stable though. Especially at night.

    The shower was really good! More than enough furnitures with plenty of drawers to stuff all my things.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel & great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very small & the toilet was outside of the room, although this is my fault as I didn't read the small print.

    The staff were very helpful and let me store my bike in the garage. The breakfast was great and there is a communal computer, which is extremely useful when you've smashed your phone (like me! ).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    7.9
    An excellent base for a Vienna city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe a bit out of the centre of Vienna, but compensated by the five minute walk to U1, and only about 8 minutes to the main railway station, with its 15 minute connectivity to the airport.

    The staff make this hotel. Front desk, room cleanliness and breakfast staff were all excellent and made the basis for a very pleasant stay. Rooms were clean and tidy and quite spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    9.6
    Terrific place for nice price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rather poor and repetitive breakfast, internet connection could be better at least on the 2nd floor

    Exceptionally big room and bathroom, comfortable beds, quiet room and clean place in general

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    7.5
    Good location and decent facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited breakfast spread, were told there are only twin beds, missing curtains around the mirror area.

    Hotel located at convenient location, friendly staff; were very prompt in responding to my request of early checkin, spacious rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay, would definately stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not really a criticism because the breakfast was good but a hot breakfast buffet would have been nice - eggs, bacon sausages etc.

    Large spacious room, with sofa and large TV screen. Good breakfast, excellent staff, plenty of coffee on hand. Mini market nearby, Metro only a short walk away with only 3 or 4 stops to the centre St Stephens.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    7.5
    I can recommend this hotel. Good value for your money. Website photos are accurate.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good, offered a good selection to choose from. Although not direct downtown using public transportation is easy and gets you into the center in a few minutes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel close to shopping and restaurants, and reasonably close to train station,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cramped bathroom, and my room still had a CRT television.

    Good location close to shopping and restaurants and public trasportation Good breakfast. Property has been substantually upgraded since my last stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    8.8
    Very clean comfortable and high value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some hot dishes at breakfast like omelettes ,scrambled and fried eggs, waffles etc.

    Very comfortable and clean large rooms and bathrooms with all neccessory amenities. Stayed in the new block though I believe the old block is fine too. Breakfast was adequate and there was good variety of cold dishes. Reception was helpful and courteous. Area around hotel looks iffy but seems to be safe. If one does not plan to hang around the area then this hotel is great value for money and if you have trains to catch then this is even better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2018

    8.3
    Nice deal in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wi-fi could be better. We had no problems, but the neighborhood didn't seem very safe at night. Breakfast could have bacon, eggs and sausages.

    Tram and metro stations really close. The room was huge and very clean. Decent breakfast too. The staff were nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    10
    Great hospitality! True and honest three stars!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Chairs in the yard would not hurt. Sometimes it is pleasant to stay within premises, to smoke and read a good book. If you come for breakfast around 9 am, the breakfast room can bee too crowded and a bit noisy.

    Very friendly staff, nice breakfast. Very close from Kepplerpatz metro station. Got lot of help and advice from receptionists as from where to have good supper to how to get to Falco grave. Stayed at the double room by the rate of single. On the third day of stay discovered that the room is equipped with air conditioning. The fixtures are Vileroy & Bosch. Very comfortable place to stay and sleep after long Vienna walks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    9.2
    That will be our lasrt visit to vienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Vienna is not the Vienna we experienced a number of years ago. Felt it was really dirty , drunks around and many, many immigrants sitting in the squares allowing their children to run unattended everywhere.

    Great room and service the front desk was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    7.9
    spacious and quiet apartment
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi in room not working, had to stand at staircase to get connection. neighbourhood not the best in town

    good variety breakfast ; very spacious and quiet room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    8.3
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A reasonable walk to the Metro station.

    Had a room looking over the tram sheds and felt like a little boy playing with trains. Loved it. Staff were understanding very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was more than adequate in variety and presentation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    8.8
    Clean bright and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We felt the large reception area was somewhat wasted and it would have been useful to have a bar or cafe in that area. Even drinks vending machines would have been a good idea. The double room that I used had no AC so we had to have the windows open onto a noisy street.

    The hotel was bright and clean and spacious with spotless rooms which have more than ample storage space, including a small dressing room. Staff were exceptionally helpful, especially going to the trouble to provide gluten free rolls for my coeliac friend. A very good continental buffet breakfast is served between 6am and 10am. There is a lift up to the upstairs rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    9.2
    just right
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i can recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for place to stay in vienna. it covers all the basic needs one can have from a hotel and it does that really good. i highly recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    7.1
    Very comfortable and clean, but location is terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location could have been better. It is a good distance away from the center of Vienna and major attractions. I think you can get a better location for the price, so I won't be staying here again.

    Very large room, very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    10
    A great week made easier by Hotel Caroline.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I still yearn for a hot water pot in the room. But I travel with my own anyway.

    This was my fourth or fifth time at Hotel Caroline but my first staying in one of the new rooms -2E. Simply put - an amazing accommodation at a more than reasonable price. The dry sauna that is in the room was very relaxing at the end of long days. (I didn't even know it in the room when I booked it.) The gentlemen at the front desk are exactly that - gentlemen. They always assist me with my questions and requests. Many thanks to them!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel at city's centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the hotel is very good, Vienna's main railway station is just 1 km far. Rooms were very clean and beds were comfy. Breakfast was very good with variety of options.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    10
    Great hotel :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed 4 nights at hotel Caroline. The room was spacious, awesomely decorated and bright due to the fact that 2 out of 4 walls had really large windows. The bed was comfy, the bathroom was clean. All of these definitely created a nice and cozy atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    7.9
    Staffs are kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a peanut butter bread left in our fridge when we just checked in.

    Staffs are kind and helpful. Room is spacious enough. The hotel is near the public transportation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    8.3
    Great renovated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Located a bit away from attractions, restaurants, bars etc but short walk to metro station that can take you there in a couple stops.

    Generous room sizes in a recently renovated hotel. Good breakfast and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel, questionable neighborhood.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was in a dirty quarter, near an erotic shop.

    Good breakfast, good room, helpful folks at the reception. The location was close to the train station and trolley cars and subways, which are all good services in a great city. Vienna is our favorite city to visit. Everything in the hotel was fine, but adult shops in the neighborhood were not what we wanted to see.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    9.2
    Very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was too warm as it was an unusually warm spell for this time of year, and we understand the hotel's AC is set for the whole hotel

    Excellent service by staff. Proximity to U1 station so could get from hotel to centre of city in 20 minutes.. Good breakfasts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    10
    Enjoyed our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    none

    Cosy place around U1 and 5min walk to main railway station. Comfortable place with big and light rooms, good location and very good breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Good place for exploring City

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    9.6
    Stayed in the new part of the building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very basic

    Stayed in the new part of the building. Really enjoyed a spacious and modern room. City center can easily be reached by public transport. Very close to train/bus station with directions to airport and neighboring countries.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    7.9
    Convenient and comfy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was patchy and the wellness center was an extra 15 euros was a bit steep. I was under the impression it was all included when I booked the room.

    The bed was comfortable and the shower was powerful and had good temperature control. The room was quiet and relaxing. Great location if you are passing through Vienna Central station and need somewhere relatively inexpensive to stay the night. Excellent pizza restaurant next door.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: