Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel City Central 4 stars

Taborstraße 8 A, 02. Leopoldstadt, 1020 Vienna, Austria

#114 of 316 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2755 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Great hospitality, curtious and informative staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great hospitality, curtious and informative staff. Delicious breakfast until 11 am. Perfect location for walking into City Center as well as public transportation

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    The room was ok, could have been a bit bigger.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was ok, could have been a bit bigger. The breakfast was very excellent. Everyone from the staff was kind and helpful. We never forget the reception for his help.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Very good Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is located very near to city center. It is very easy to use public transport from Schwedenplatz. Hotel was very clean with good breakfast(coffee was really good). And I can recommend family rooms for families with children.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    An ideal location. We would return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind

    A good location and very close to station. Staff were very helpful. Provided very good recommendations to 2 local restaurants Nothing comes to m

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    If you are on a budget this is good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe bed could be updated..was quite soft.

    Good value for money. A very small single room but that’s ok. Clean and was quiet the night I was there. Good breakfast. Very close to Kings Cross station. Suited my needs well and I really like having blankets and sheets - not a doona.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in 5th floor ( roof ) so we can't see the street but very good room

    Excellent location in the center of vienna , reception man Mr Ahmed very nice thanks for him , excellent breakfast , good aircondition.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Friendly staff nothing too much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff nothing too much trouble. Bed comfy,room and bathroom all you need. Breakfast was excellent ladies working in rhat area were wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Very clean, great staff, good location (not great for my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from the train station, breakfast tables can take a while to be cleared during breakfast, no restaurant at the hotel (lots of options provided however).

    Very clean, great staff, good location (not great for my circumstances - far from the train station), breakfast is wonderful, comfortable bed and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel and city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    Position of hotel is excellent. We could walk to most areas and the u=bahn was yards away to visit sights further afield. Breakfast was superb and staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Perfect family getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast, quiet rooms and comfortable. Within walking distance to Vienna city center. Children loved it. We would definitely return for our next stay in Vienna.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    This was our first time in Vienna, made all the more pleasant by staying in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious, clean, comfortable room. A very good choice for breakfast, with food of excellent quality. All the staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. The hotel is in a great location for access to city centre, attractions and transport links. The hotel is also on a fairly quiet side street, so not noisy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    The breakfast was very good, the staff very kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall image and design of the hotel is very old-fashioned, the room was small and with old furniture and appliances, the bathroom was basic. We felt like in a trip back in the '90s. Given the price of the room we were expecting better design of the room, with more up-to-date facilities. Initially we had to change the room, as it was not the one we booked from booking.com. The staff however, very kindly allowed us to change into a little better room, more spacious and with more light.

    The breakfast was very good, the staff very kind and helpful. The location is good, walking distance to the most important spots in the city center. Even if at the beginning we wanted to cancel the booking, by the end of the stay we got more used and all in all it was a comfortable stay. But we will not be back; perhaps it is not our style of hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    City Central is in an excellent position close to many restaurants, cafes and the main sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee should be provided in each room.

    This hotel is located in a prime position for easy access to the major tourist areas. The Hop on Hop off buses stop within 100 meters of the hotel and there is also a tram that runs right past the front door. The Twin City boat service to Bratislava is only a short walk away. The rooms are well furnished and the breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    A lovely well priced hotel in a super location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely breakfast, and the omelettes made to order were a very nice bonus. Super location- stones throw from Schwedenplatz U bahn; nice staff, well appointed single room with comfy bed, excellent selection of TV channels, and aircon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To look at widening of lift for parking

    Staff were excellent very knowledgeable polite always willing to help very good water pressure for showed bed wad comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    All in all an enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting ice for drinks was a bit of a hassle.

    Exceptional breakfast buffet. Excellent location for walking access to city sights. Good proximity to train station from airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    The location was ideal for everything that we wanted to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was ideal for everything that we wanted to do. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the breakfast excellent and the room quiet with very comfortable beds. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Excellent location - just a short walk from Schwedenplatz...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing.

    Excellent location - just a short walk from Schwedenplatz for the metro and trams, but equally just a leisurely walk into the very centre of the city. Very good breakfast and comfortable dining room - always with plenty of spare tables. Friendly and helpful staff at reception.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.5
    Overall happy with our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with redecorating. Room small dark and hot, air conditioning fixed at 17 degrees.

    Excellent location, excellent breakfast, very clean, very good reception.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    Great location, but average hotel - expected better.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Service was often poor. Could not provide all the services they claimed. Messed us around. Hotel is a bit shabby with low quality fittings and furnishings.

    Great location! Breakfast was also very good and the catering staff were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    About 10-minute walk to the city center, easy to get...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    About 10-minute walk to the city center, easy to get everywhere (on foot or by metro). Very friendly and helpful staff, they received a package for me which arrived at the hotel before I did. Good breakfast. A very pleasant stay, would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Pretty cozy, which I hear is a quality the Viennese value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was a leaking pipe somewhere that created a dripping noise at night. It didn't bother me, but it kept my sister awake. Also, the desk recommended their sister hotel's dining room, at the Hotel Stefanie down the street, where the food wasn't good! (the only bland meal we had in Vienna, where most food is delicious.)

    They do indeed have the best Fruhstruck in Vienna. So delicious!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    If you come to Vienna, City Central hotel is the place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Your staff was great and the breakfast buffet was superb! The location of the Hotel and very close to the center of Vienna. You can easily walk to the Schweden Place, catch ground transportation and even walk to the center of town. The Danube river is not far from the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We were on the front which could get a little noisy with trams, workmen, church bells etc. even with double glazing...but that's not the hotel's fault. Slight moan;- breakfast room was too hot even for me and I'm a bit nesh.

    Everything! We arrived by boat so super easy to get to. Staff very professional. Customer service exceptional. Rooms and hotel spotless. Beds comfortable. Shower strong. Had an old-fashioned feel but in a back-in-time sort of way . Breakfast undescribably good!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Oh vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean excellent breakfast and dinner at the sister hotel was well worth it. Hotel is 8 min walk from stephenplatz all an all an excellent place to stay while in vienna

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    Location and breakfast are excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just to set expectations. The hotel is a bit small. Small lift and room was also on the small side even though they are just right and comfy so the size wont really matter!

    Location and breakfast are excellent. Breakfast area is very nice! The extra in the room make if very comfy. Def book a room here for my next visit!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    The staff shouted after us one evening, when we had some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff shouted after us one evening, when we had some wine and beer in the lounge. As we went to our rooms, they did not see, that we had placed the bill (correcly signed and with room number) on the desk, so they maybe thought, that we would not pay? The same happened, when we left the hotel. Five of us were going to Denmark og one person was going to Germany and he stayed some hours longer and should check out later for one of the couples, but they thought his wife was leaving without paying for the stay, so they shouted again. Impolite behavier to shout at the guests!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too dark, I mean the colors

    The hotel was very nice and very clean. Just that the furniture was outdated. But maybe is the style of the hotel. Amazing breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    City central hotel was perfect for our two nights stay in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    City central hotel was perfect for our two nights stay in Vienna. The staff very friendly and always ready to help. The room was very cosy and clean and the breakfast was perfect. Just 3 minutes walking distance from the nearest metro station. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.4
    Not good value for our money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bed for kid. Even if we ask by booking. No late chack out. Dirty plates at breakfast. Smelly salama at brekfast. Dirty shits on bed... old room. Old beds, not comfortable. Wery small bed...!!!

    It was near UBahn. Near center. Full of good restaurats around us. Nice guys at reception.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast very nice :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No daily restaurant in the hotel. The waiters in the restaurant in the hotel Stefanie are not friendly.

    Breakfast very nice :) Reception very friendly and offering help. Staff during breakfast is also very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Excellent would not hesitate to recommend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything we did not like.

    Excellent all round. Our room was comfortable & spotlessly clean. Breakfast was spectacular, everything catered for. The staff were very frendly & helpful. Couldn’t fault the hotel at all. Perfect for city centre & transport hubs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.1
    Walls so thin we couldn’t sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite it being a four star hotel, the walls were very thin you could easily hear through them, fact that was very bothering as we couldn’t sleep well due to the noise made by our neighbours whenever they went to the bathroom. In fact, the noise was so loud at one point we were scared somebody might have broken into our room. Breakfast lacked vegan options.

    Good location and overall cleanliness.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    5.0
    The property is ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pre authorisation was taken by the Hotel the same day i booked from my debit card. Then you have to pay in the hotel the same value they charge in the pre authorisation. After your stay the cancellation takes more than 2 weeks for the amount to be returned in your account. This is not fair.

    The property is ok. Its in the city center.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    Our short holiday in Vienna was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The furniture is a bit old and with small damages. The walls are very thin. If you have a loud neighbour or you are a light sleeper, resting properly can be difficult.

    We really loved the breakfast. It had great variety of food (both fresh and cooked).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Quiet, comfortable, clean, outstanding breakfast, U-bahn close, pleasant walk into Centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    We had stayed here before. This is surely the best value hotel close to the city centre. The walk from the Airport Bus Terminus is about 8 minutes. The main U-bahn is a major crossing point and is less than a 5 minute walk. Total time from bedroom to the central cathedral square (short walk + U-bahn) is about 13 minutes. Can take either of the U-bahns to say the Opera. Transport tickets are extraordinarily cheap. Rooms overlooking the central (back) area are very very quiet. Breakfast is so good that it deserves 6* !! Staff are all extremely helpful and polite, including the cleaning staff. We'll of course stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    Kind staff. A traditional, rational and clean hotel with a great breakfast. Close to the city center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking!

    Kind and friendly staff. A traditional, rational and clean hotel with a great breakfast. Close to the city center. Favorable price during the period in which the stay was realized. All in all, the best offer in the center of Vienna.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    Not the first time that I check in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the first time that I check in this hotel. It is always one of my first options on my many trips to Vienna. Cozy, quiet place near the city center, with a great breakfast. Looking forward to my next trip to Vienna. :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Really great !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed wasn't the one I love but as usually I use very special bed, I can't blame anyone here :) The water in bathroom changes temperature by itself during shower so you have adjust it from time to time- quite frustrating but it happens in hotels ( big infra). I couldn't turn off the heater in bathroom and it was little bit too hot in my room however I haven't communicated that to anyone during my stay- I'm sure that this would be sorted out then.

    Great service, great communication, everyone far too kind. Very good breakfast. All of my requests were fulfilled. Location was perfect to me.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Old style traditional hotel like in the good old times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent!

    Old style traditional hotel like in the good old times. Excellent breakfast in a very nice restaurant. Great location,next to the river, on a quiet street.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    Thanks. Shall return if I travel to Vienna again in the future. Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    That the items served at the breakfast never change. Having been there for five nights, it would make sense to, occasionally, find a new item. Overall - very good.

    Room was comfortable. Pillows were too soft for my liking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.2
    excellent location with everything within walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    walls are thin and could be noisy from neighbours eg you can hear them talking

    breakfast varied and good quality, staff very pleasant and helpful, comfortable beds. hop on bus tours opposite hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Great hotel and location with a very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel and location with a very friendly staff. My room and spacious bathroom on the 5th floor were great. I have to mention a very good, varied breakfast with a great choice of dishes. For every recommendation!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    simply wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is the second time I stayed here and again it proved to be the best choice. Everything from the room to the breakfast was simply perfect. Easily accessible by underground and located perfectly in close proximity to downtown this hotel has a charm you can find only in Vienna. Spacious room, cleanest bathroom, fantastic breakfast with Frizzante - here you fiund everything you want from a hotel. And a bottle of wine as a birthday present was a great surprise. It is fantastic place and highly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, breakfast, location and staff! Could not ask for more
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator a bit small as we were with a baby pram, but still we fit in there -2 adults and a pram.

    The hotel offers the best breakfast ever! Staff is very friendly, professional and helpful! I would stay at the hotel again next time we visit Vienna. Recommend it to families with small children/babies as well!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    Overall impression is good.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    During the booking process I've encountered some difficulties with the credit card verification.I put several credit cards from different banks and didn't work. For me was obvious that the problem is at the hotel. I've got the same answer from the banks.The clerk told me that he knows very well his job, and refused to help me when I told him what to do and follow the bank's instructions. I was lucky having a friend in the hotel and he put my room on his credit card.

    Good location, good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant enough because of the staff,but did not live up to expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very small especially the bathroom ,barely room to turn round.For a4star hotel I would expect tea and coffee facilities in the room and not have to ask for them.I would not say this is a 4star hotel more like 3star.

    Although th staff were very good,very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.2
    Place of choice to stay in Vienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The temperature control in the room could be improved.

    Some of the staff really went out of their way to make our stay "perfect"! They provided information, suggestions, and just good Austrian friendliness!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Well worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not find a fault with this hotel, staff or facilities.

    Very close to the public transport hub with the main shopping district only a short walk away. Staff were friendly and facilities were spotless. Breakfast was freshly made and provided in abundance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    6.3
    Other than the above, the stay was generally ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.We lost some items (clothes) we bought in Vienna kept in the room. It was taken out from our bags. 2.The toilet was smelly 3.The croissant was not so flaky.

    Location of the hotel was good. The restaurant and the front office staffs were very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.5
    almost satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is a little far away from the city centre.

    The staff are enthusiastic and helpful. I travelled in winter, and the heater in the room is hot! The breakfast is also good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    We booked a small room for one day as we had an early check...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a small room for one day as we had an early check out in apartments near by and needed somewhere to store our luggage. Perhaps a strange request but as a large group we didn’t want to spend our final day carrying luggage all around the city. The staff were very accommodating of this and friendly on arrival. The hotel seemed nice and the room was well laid out. Would certainly consider staying here for longer if I was visiting in a smaller group.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    I'm happy to come back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only one thing the view from the window was not good.

    Everything was perfect, great location and cozy hotel! The stuff is very friendly and nice, and the breakfast is fresh and tasty.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.9
    Lovely stylish hotel enhanced by the hardworking and lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor issues : TV could have been better sited in order for both occupants to view from individual beds which wasn't the case in our room. More sockets would have been useful. We were disappointed with the lack of restaurants in the vicinity.

    The layout of the room was well designed with a good deal of space between the beds.Ample storage and very nice bathroom with bath and shower. The breakfast was outstanding and staff had made a huge effort with Christmas decorations which was really lovely. All staff were exceptionally courteous,pleasant and accommodating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    6.7
    Small hotel warm and sparkly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having no lounge to sit in when coming back from xmas markets. Needs a bar for drinks. Not the same drinking in your room.

    Heating . the hotel was warm

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Holiday in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Everything was just as we were expecting.

    Breakfasts are amazing and the front desk staff are just brilliant. They helped our stay to go so much smoother. Use the underground, it's soo easy and just across the bridge.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.3
    Would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle in the room would have been good but not a big deal as tea and coffee facilities were available in reception.

    Staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and location was just a short walk to St.Stephens.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Simple rooms but quiet, convenient location and great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My request (by leaving the towels hanging on the holder) NOT to change the towels (I traveled alone and only stayed for two nights) was ignored despite the stated policy of the hotel.

    The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Despite the very central location, I slept very well because it was extremely quiet (my room looked on the winter garden and had no view whatsoever, but that's a small price to pay for me). Also, the breakfast was excellent and had convenient hours (6:30-11:00). Nice touch: a card and caraffe in the room encouraged guests to drink the tap water (which is indeed very good in Vienna!) rather than trying to sell me overpriced bottled water.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.3
    Beds were very comfortable, good breakfast selection, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A/C in the room was quite noisy

    Beds were very comfortable, good breakfast selection, very friendly and helpful service, located just a short walk to the centre

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    We went to see the tennis but through the helpful staff managed to see the best of Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    The breakfast was excellent and always looked fresh. The staff were extremely helpful, polite and friendly. The hotel was comfortable,clean and easy location for touring Vienna.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    The choice at breakfast was great and the hotel was within...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room with a double bed but they were just 2 singles pushed together. Also we had 2 single duvets (1 each) but they were very heavy and too warm even for October!

    The choice at breakfast was great and the hotel was within easy walking distance from shops, bars, restaurants and transport. The staff were excellent, very warm and friendly. We loved our stay here :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.5
    Traditional feel and brilliant breakfast close to the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a bit weak and temperature fluctuated. Not much else, but some visitors might think it dated (just traditional Austrian to me).

    The reception staff and the breakfast quality/choice were all first rate. There is genuine old Austrian style about the place and it was perfectly located for walking access to the city whilst quiet overnight.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel doesn't have a gym or a bar. For these you have to use the sister hotel a few doors away or a local gym nearby.

    Location was excellent. Across the bridge from the inner city and attractions. Nice walk to the museum quarter. Few metres walk to the inter city high speed catamaran to Bratislava.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.8
    Altogether a very enjiyable stay and I'd go again and recimmend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much. Room a little musty smelling but plenty big enough fot 2 people. Bathroom very clean.

    The reception staff were very helpful and polite and efficient. Breakfast excellent with so much choice and soft lighting relaxing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room sound isolation is very poor. if you are a light sleeper, take earplugs.

    Good value for money hotel. Great location, very friendly and helpful staff, and wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Comfort and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no kettle or toaster.

    The apartment is really spacious and felt like a home from home. Some people might think it's a bit indulgent for one night but we liked the privacy and freedom to relax in comfort.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.8
    A very good, friendly hotel in Vienna close to public transport links and the City centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no electric kettle provided in the room. It would have been much more convenient if we could have made our own mug of tea or coffee in the room rather than have to go down to the reception area. An example why? If you have been out all day sight-seeing, etc; when you get back to the hotel and you take a bath or shower, why would you have to change clothing in order to get a lift / elevator down to the reception for a tea / coffee and then have to take it back up via the lift to your room to drink.

    The hotel was situated in a good location close to Schwedenplatz tram and metro stations. Comfortable room and a decent breakfast included.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    3.8
    Only good location, tea facilities in the room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Passive smoking! (every morning from 5 a.m. smoke in the "no smoking'' room!), ants in the wardrobe and bathroom, grey towels, very little room, narrow bed, unhappy staff with artificial smiles.

    Only good location, tea facilities in the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.9
    Fine for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Funny smell in our room (a sort of garlic/mold smell almost) and the property is a bit dated. Nothing terribly wrong with the place, I thought it was a good value for a night or two, but it probably wouldn't be my first choice on a return visit to Vienna.

    Breakfast was nice, hotel is right across the river from Schwedenplatz so it's pretty easy to get around either by walking or public transit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    Reasonable hotel in good location, rooms not very sound-proof
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room/floor was non-smoking but the hotel still smells of cigarette smoke a lot and I could smell it in my room so I didn't love this. I'm not sure if it comes through the vents or from the lobby. The staff were lovely but smoking frequently just outside the lobby door on the street and the smoke all comes straight back into the hotel. The rooms are not at all sound-proofed and you can hear doors closing, people in the corridor and moving around their rooms. Take ear-plugs if you're a light sleeper! The cleaners banged on the door at 7.30am on Saturday to clean the room - I was up anyway but it was a bit early on a weekend for that and you could hear them making their way up the corridor to each of the rooms! Overall, it was a reasonable hotel in a good location if you're on a budget, but it felt more dormitory than hotel experience. It was fine for me on my own but I might have been a bit disappointed traveling with others.

    The room was small but clean, a little dated but the bed was comfortable, and it had a good shower. Breakfast was extensive and very good, the staff were friendly and accommodating. Great location close to the subway, handy to some fun bars and restaurants, and there is a Hop On/Hop Off bus stop across the road. The Sofitel "das-Loft" roofbar around the corner has a fabulous view of the city and great ambience if you want to splash out on a cocktail or meal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast was great and was what attracted us to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was great and was what attracted us to the property. We were only in Vienna for a short stay (to catch a flight) and hopped on the hop-on hop-off bus that has a stop directly outside so worked out perfectly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.3
    The staff were extremely helpful, the breakfast was lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many restaurants in the area.

    The staff were extremely helpful, the breakfast was lovely with lots of choice. Lovely hotel and a few minutes walk from the trains and hop on hop off buses.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.8
    Location was good , breakfast good and the staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds and pillows.

    Breakfast was very good and fresh , nice staff , bathroom fine but the beds were pretty uncomfortable and so were the pillows . Beds were narrow and hard . I would want a different bed if i ever came back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Fabulous hotel with great staff, fantastic breakfast, convenient to all facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This is an excellent hotel. Very convenient to city centre, bus, tram and restaurants. The staff and facilities were very good. All staff were helpful and pleasant. Marco at reception stood out in particular. He gave us detailed and exemplary written guide to getting to Schonbrunn and Belvedere Palaces and helped us book cheaper bus tickets to Budapest. We hope to return to Vienna and will return to the Hotel City Central. They made our visit most enjoyable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Would highly recommend this hotel. Staff, location, cleanliness, breakfast - all fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was pretty poor in our room

    The staff could not have been more helpful!! The rooms were super clean and our little balcony had a very delightful view of the old building of Vienna.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel City Central traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: