Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novum Hotel Cristall Wien Messe 3 stars

Franzensbrückenstraße 9, 02. Leopoldstadt, 1020 Vienna, Austria

#301 of 316 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1812 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is expensive, we paid 15€ for an overnight parking. But generally parking in this area looks difficult. Extremely hot in the summer and you can't open a window because of the train.

    Nice and spacious rooms, interior and 'antique' furniture. Available parking lot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the amenities offered in the information book were not available; i.e.laundry and stamps.

    Very close to a major metro station. Very nice place to stay. Very large and comfortable room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I don't want to emphasize anything, because all was OK having in mind price range.

    Hygiene was good. Hotel isn't in center but is really close to famous Prater, and it is also on walking distance from St.Stefan cathedral (less then half hour walking). It is nice to have a parking by hotel. It is extra charged, but anyway nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was expensive

    Hotel was very cosy and comfortable. Our triple room was huge and spacious .Having the toilet separated from bathroom is definitely a big bonus.Wi-FI connection was also excellent.Soft comfortable beds.Hotel is within 10 min walking from city centre.Few supermarkets,pharmacy and pizza restaurants within metres from hotel.Overall our stay in this hotel was very pleasant ,we feel almost like at home.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not very clean, hair on the bed, a candle in the bathroom. The waiter does not do their job!

    Parking behung the hotel and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad smell in the room; Uncomfortable and deformed mattress; A bathroom was quite tiny; The radiator in the room didn't work (but there was mini A/C for heating - old and very noisy); Be prepared to be surrounded by noise (because of long and narrow hallway and inner yard), also if your room is on ground floor you can hear trams; Male-receptionist who works in hospitality do not really realize what hospitality is.

    Quite spacious room with bathroom (and a radiator inside); Wifi; Possibility to add a breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist wasn't as professional and the room wasn't ready by the check in time and had to wait for 30min and didn't get an apology for it. We traveled all night and arrived tired in the morning and waiting for the room was disappointing. Most lights in the room weren't working, and the WiFi was quite bad.

    The cleanliness was positive, the room was very spacious and the bathroom had a big bathtub.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi has not been working in the Anex building, appartment 16. So in case you need to be connected on the Internet you will have to chose a different property. Also after contacting the reception twice, nothing was resolved. The rooms are supposed to be non smoking however the previous residents must have been smoking as we could not clear the air, even after having the windows open 3 days. The (cynical) highlight of our stay was the breakfast at 6,90€ per person, which can be booked directly at the venue. However the staff working in the breakfast room took all the pleasure of our morning. Very unfriendly, no interaction at all and when they ran out of bread at 09:40 they simply lifted their shoulders and made it clear that it wAs not their problem. So spend a little bit more and skip this hotel would be my advise, believe me I am normally not critical however this stay is one to forget fast. A shame as Vienna itself was lovely.

    Probably the only good point is the location of the venue. Close to stop 8 of the Hop on Hop off bus. But that is and would be the only positive point.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is exactly what I needed. Perfect for freelancers working in the area. Room was cleaned daily and I've found the staff very friendly and polite. I've booked my next work week with them again since the location is perfect to what I need.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking proposed me smoking room or not and i chose it. But they don't have. You propose me high floor as well ans it's 3 floors building and you can see nothing

    Propre

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 206 was really noisy. I could hear the people in the next room and as people passed along the corridor. Not exactly central but an easy enough walk to the sights.

    Comfortable bed, clean room. Staff were relatively helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel doesn't deserve three stars. The pictures on the ad give the impression of a big and antique hotel. But it is not. It's a remodelling hotel. Very noisy.due to the staff working from 7 AM.

    Room clean and correct but for a 2 stars.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not very nice.. the ventilator was not working and the bath and sink were in a separate room than the flush.

    Beds were comfortable and the room was a good value for money!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no fridge in the room some fixing is needed in the bathroom

    location is great...next to railway station and you can walk to the centre..helpful staff..very close to 2 supermarkets where you can find good food stuff...clean and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located within 5minutes walk from Prater park and next to the railways, so is a bit noisy but very comfortable with nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some mantance was needed here and there.

    Good value for money hotel. Clean and comfortable. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Provided printing facilities free of charge.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low quality soap (this is used as Shampoo too) that's difficult to water out. Noisy from people walking&talking, watching TV nearby too. Only Austria (German-speaking) TV channels available that I couldn't understand but I expect to have some ENG channels.

    Easy to go to anywhere in Vienna with nearby tram stop, train station and bus stop. Easy for finding fresh foods and etc. in nearby supermarkets. Staffs are kind and serve us with service-mind.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unseasonably warm weather meant the room was over heated. We opened the window over night, but it was quite noisy. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room. The outside of the hotel was slightly off putting. Some of the lit letters In the hotel name were not working, and there was graffiti on the wall.

    Lovely big room, comfy beds, good breakfast, helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bedroom had two separate beds, although we warned for one double sized. Room was very cold, they provided us an additional heater then The hotel doesn't give you water, doesn't sell you water, even doesn't help you for changing your bills to coins to get from vending machine. You need to wait until next morning for a bottle of water.

    Great Location; street tram station is just a few steps and Pretestern metro hub is 3-4 min. walking distance Historic center is only 10-15 min. by public transport Reasonable cleanliness The guy at reception was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The glass protection for the shower wasn't watertight, so a lot came out on the bathroom floor while showering. Not a big problem but makes showering difficult.

    Very nice interior, awesome beds (very comfortable). Also very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet is separate from the bath tub and there is an echo so not very romantic. The train is right behind the hotel so if you are not used to traffic this could be disturbing

    Good parking, close to public transportation and Prater (thus close to the prater Christmas market)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are oke, but not excellent A kettle for some tea would be nice.

    Near the trainstation/metro Separate toitlet in the room. A good hotel for a citytrip

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an issue with locking room doors, they wouldn’t lock properly, you had to try several times etc. and you had no way of knowing if the room was actually locked if you were inside. Cleaning staff would enter the room every morning around 8am without knocking. The bed was tiny and uncomfortable, I almost fell of it a few times as it’s super narrow. One night the room filled up with cigarette smoke due to someone smoking next door, the staff couldn’t do anything as it was past midnight and they were not allowed to knock on the doors. Overall not a good stay.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room was not air conditioned, which was not explicitly mentioned while booking. Fortunately, at 4 deg outside, it was still tolerable in the room. During harsher winter, it may be difficult.

    Easy access by surface rail as well metro. I could plan by 7am flight using surface train option instead of cab. S7 starts at 5:30am. Station is just 8 min walk. Nearby grocery shops, easily pick something for a dinner. Nearby restaurants too. Morning breakfast was exceptionally good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great, friendly warm welcoming staff at the reception desk, clean and comfortable room and facilities , good wifi access, perfect spot for your short trips to Austrian capital 😊

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was having a breakfast and my wife who never takes breakfast was a sitting with me at the table keeping me a company. The girl in charge came to ask how many persons actually have breakfast. We told her that I am the only one of both of us that is having breakfast and that my wife doesn't . She raised an eyebrow an come with the manager who explained us that it doesn't matter whether my wife eats or not, once she is in the restaurant with me at the table she will have to pay one person breakfast. To avoid arguments in front of the other people around I have just agreed to pay for an additional breakfast which we never had. It was not about 6.99 euro, but it was just not fair.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the bed wasn't a one mattress double bed, i preferred a real double bed.

    the place was very clean, the room was comfy, and the staff very cooperative and multilingual. Very good heating, outside it was 5 Cº and we were very in a safe warm environment.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy corridor at night, I could hear everyone walking on the floor - very noisy surface. There were guys talking loud and the door to the room are not isolated at all so it seemed like they are standing beside me.

    Really nice welcome and warm staff. The location is good and safe. The room was ok, clean. Nothing special, but for the price was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and windows must be closed cause noise from the street is unbearable if you want to sleep so for summer no reccomendations for this hotel. Not so good breakfast. Shower would be a better choice for a hotel room,don't know how many ppl take a bath in a hotel no matter how clean it looks?!

    Close to Prater,wc separeted from toilet,spacios rooms,comfortable beds,clean room,staff very polite and nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On arrival I was given a key to a room, and found a couple in my bed. wow! then the next day my key was invalidated when I tried to enter my room. In the system I was moved to another room. That's a first!

    good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the day of my check out, the cleaning lady broke into my room. I was completely in shock and told her I had requested a late check out and she left. However, few minutes later she breaks in to my room again without knocking. I had never seen this in my life. Completely absurd, unacceptable! Also, when I checked in, I was told the reservation included breakfast. However, at check out they wanted to charge me. It was not about the price itself, but the poor management. They finally accepted not to charge, which was the least after all the incident with my room being invaded.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room faced a busy street so it was a tiny but noisy in the evening, but at night it was okay.

    The room was big with two large windows. The toilet was separated from the bath. Like in a different room. That was kinda nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are much smaller than what they appear to be on the Booking. Com. The ceiling fan in the bathroom is not working, the bathroom is too small and we could hear people from the next room.

    Hotel is very close to Prater and close to city center. The hotel staff was nice and helpfull

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is near railway station therefore you can meet a groups of homeless on your way from the subway to hotel.

    Small cozy hotel near the Prater Park, russian language stuff. The best choice to stayin' on the vacation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot... The staff was like sorry-cant-do-anything. The room was extremely small unlike what was shown in website. The room was located to the farthest corner. The used glasses were not cleaned on the next day. The towels were not changed.

    Only good thing about this hotel was that it was close to a metro station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In any room is very noisy at night. Either because of the nearby trains in the rooms at the rear of the building, or because of the nearby trams in the rooms of the front of the hotel. Mattresses are too soft. In the bathroom there is no forced draft. Not all rooms have air conditioning.

    Easy to find.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The last day of my stay and before the check out time, the housekeeper entered the room while I was sleeping. Probably she thought I have left the room already but if I wasn't alone, or in case of having a shower, it could end up to be a really uncomfortable experience.

    Clean room, central location, polite staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    It's location is really good, next to the Ferris Wheel park, and close to the city center. You can either walk or take the subway to the touristic places. There are grocery stores nearby if you need. Staff is nice and helpful, and rooms are clean. They clean the rooms everyday. The best thing was breakfast, they have reallly good breakfast!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Big problem with Wi-Fi, it was working good only at the reception. On the 3rd floor, where I was living for 4 days, it was only one signal available near to entrance, while near to the desk and bed it was unavailable at all. When I address the issue to receptionist, he advised that the Wi-Fi matter does not related to hotel, by to the provider company, and there is nothing possible to do to improve the situation. Therefore I had every time to go downstairs and sit at reception in order to send some important messages on my work or stand near to the door in my room to get at least this one signal of Wi-Fi. Another one bad thing is that the room (304) is situated just near to the lift and there is no any kind of noise isolation in the room. I had been awaking due to this noisy several times during the nights and early mornings so could not feel good in the mornings. Every time when some door is opened/closed it heard in room 304.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    several main disappointments: 1. the apartment we got was NOT what was in the picture. --it was still clean and ok. if understood correctly, they renovated part of the hotel and the pictures where of the renovation. we were placed in a not-renovated apartment. 2. the description said the room had wifi and we were only able to connect from within our room (we were able to connect in the lobby). 3. the hotel is directly next to both a train and tram railway. at one point (around 10pm and throughout a 1.5hr time period, i counted trains/trams passing every 15-20mins). 4. lastly, i noticed at least two 'sex shops' near this hotel which made me question the area in which the hotel is located.

    -the saving quality of this location is that its within a 5 minute walk to Prater Park. with 3 younger children, we greatly appreciated that is the main reason we choose this hotel. -food: there are two grocery stores right next to this hotel. and mcdonalds is within a 5min walk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about

    Very near to the Prater station and amusement park . Just a 5 minutes walk. Super location. The hotel inside was fabulous and clean , though looks shabby on the outside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom did not have a electric fan . The shower glass was completly usless because all wather drained over the bathtube! One of the chairs was very dirty. (I took a pic) Unfortunatly it rained, so the floor tiles in the back garden became very slepery, and dangerous.

    Realy confortable beds and shests !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sink in the toilet bathroom was excessively tiny, so washing your hands was quite an adventure. The double bed actually consisted of two independent beds put together, so my partner and I struggled not to fall in between when the beds distanced from one another.... :(

    The room was cosy, sufficiently furnished with nice pieces.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ac in the summer, so it would have been nice to have a fan of sorts in 100° weather. The tub didn't drain well so you stood in a bath while taking a shower.

    The room was large and the bed was comfy! Wifi is good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Horrible wi-fi, they definitely need to do something about it!

    Good location, near metro and tram station. Lot of shops, markets and fast food in neighbour.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - in my room the hair drier didn't work. The hotel didn't solve the problem and I stayed with wet hair for 3 days :-( - I gave to the receptionists 3 books and they lost them. They costed more then 100,00 Euros. The hotel didn't do nothin to refund me

    - Metro station is 5 minutes walk - The lady who manages the breakfast is very kind

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is situated in 5 min from Prater. The big surprise was the baby cot (requested by mail, but hotel didn't reply). Parking is available in near street for free (was exception at the time we were being here), anyway hotel's parking is coast 15 euros.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't like in the picture it was a very small room without air conditioning.Inside the hotel it was a lot of noise all night .I would say that is more a bordel not a hotel. The mattress has a hole in the middle. I never recommend this hotel !

    Nothing !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was noisy, we could hear the S-bahn during the night. Also, one of the roof lights was making a lot of electric noise, which is why we only used the lamps on the nightstands.

    The room was clean, the bed was big for the two of us and there was as many wardrobes as a traveler can need. Also, their crew were very nice and the reception actually works 24h (we arrived ate the hotel almost midnight). In sum, its a great place if you only gonna stay for a few nights and will use the room only for sleeping.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and Russian TV channels

    Very nice hotel, close to the center, near the Prater, 3 grocery stores near. We were pleasantly surprised by the Russian-speaking receptionist Nikita and Alexei. They were very attentive to our requests, provided a spacious room, told and showed all the sights of Vienna and how to get there. Thanks to the best receptionists Nikita and Alexei for help and attention!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well situated, close to Praterstern Metro hub, which directly connected to airport by S7 train. Nice hotel, I got small (single) but very comfortable, clean room, well equipped. WiFi is reasonably fast, important during business trip

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Their wifi was not working at all. The internet provider company, presumably located somewhere in Germany, was unable to fix the wifi issue for a number of days. I'm assuming the hotel couldn't really do anything about that and was suffering as well. So I had to spend an extra $60 to get my own internet / cellular data accommodations in order to keep my travel plans. Wasn't too happy about this and wasn't offered any special coupons or -20% discounts.

    The shower was excellent and the gummy bears they put on your pillow was cute, plus the housekeeping service was good and they never disrupted anything.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning in the room (the temperature outside was over 30 degrees).

    Excellent location within 5 minutes' walk of Praterstern, a lot of cafes and restaurants nearby, city centre easily accesible by U-Bahn.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On arival I realized that I was allocated to a part of hotel without a lift. My room was on the second floor so I had to carry my suitcase (20 kg)! If I had knew about it I would have not booked this hotel. The information about rooms should be ammended so that one can expect the situation. Also there was no air-conditioning which was horrible because the hit wave up to 36C in Vienna during my stay.

    Very friendly staff. Great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No lift or porters ;-( in Building 2.

    Location and patio inside - very nice. Not very high level of noice. Market - shop close to the hotel. Prater lunapark very close. Wine Zweigelt halbtrocken 2015 good and cheap. Puntingamer beer also. Good beer nearby (but not on the banks of Dunaube) - ask for "beerstube".

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This used to be my regular place 20 years ago, because of its location (near Nordbahnhof) and value. 20 years after, I found the room nicely renovated in bathroom area, updated furniture/TV, but the value still remains.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Since all the Vienna hotels were so pricey and it was the last minute, I wanted to try Novum hotel but it was the worst decision I've made. I've booked a standart room and chose 1 large double bed for the bed preference. When I got to the hotel, I saw that they joined 2 single beds together which they weren't attached at all and which were also too uncomfortable. When I told this to the receptionist, she made me wait for 15 minutes because she was not usually working there and covering up for someone. The hotel owners were on a vacation and they just didn't contact me with them and they also couldn't help me about the situation since they didn't have any double beds at ALL. Other than this situation, the rooms, especially bathroom is very small. It's close to the railway therefore you hear a lot of noise in the early hours. I didn't feel safe in my room, didn't see any security in the reception. Anyone could have come inside the hotel and walk around. I don't recommend anyone to stay here, try to pay a little more if you can and stay at a better hotel.

    There was nothing good about this property.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walking distance from city centre. Metro station 2 minutes away, tram in front of the hotel. Clean room, staff really helpful. Value for money and I highly recommend for tourists visiting Vienna for a few days.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff during the afternoon. We pay for a room with wi fi connection, but the wi fi doesn't working, we explain this for the staff, and they said "nothing I can do". The bathroom was very bad and the air conditioning was broken.

    The staff at night was nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wish we could have the bicycles available as when Mrs. Rosenberg was the owner of the hotel. It was super to have bicycles . We visited even Schoenbrun and all the city of Viena by bike. It would be super to have the bikes available once again as before. We are sure that many people would appreciate it also.

    Everything was O.K. Super location , very good breakfast though for an extra fee , as well as for the parking. Daniel and Nikita are very helpful as well as Ms. Almeida whom we saw at the reception for the first time. Stana during breakfast is very nice and is attentive to every need. The rooms are very clean and quiet especially the one we always get with a view to the inner courtyard.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was surrounded by wall on 3 sides, i could not sleep on my side or my stomach (even tough i am shorter than 180) and there were some (easily) removable stains next to the bed on the (plastic) wall. The WiFi is almost unusable if you require rapid interactions (there are a spikes of internet connectivity when you can download with 2-3 megabytes then blackouts for seconds)

    The reception was excellent. The breakfast was good. If you don't mind a bit of walking then the center is in walking distance (20-30 min).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NA

    My friends and i do a weekend trip to a European City each year and chose Vienna this year. Don't let the Facade of the building deceive you as the rooms are completely functional. The two bedrooms had more than adequate space with 2 single beds in each room and a large bathroom and separate toilet. We only paid £25.00 a night each which included breakfast so don't expect the Ritz. We were more than impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms, all towels and bedding were changed daily. The breakfast was continental and was more than satisfying. we were approx 10-15 mins from the train station and another 5-10 mins walk to the main part of town. If you don't mind walking then the price and location of the hotel is superb. The staff were incredibly friendly and informative. My German is very basic and they were willing to help me fill in the gaps by speaking English. Added bonus, there is an Aldi next door. I highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All perfect. Well connected to the center, staff really friendly (for sure the best at Wien) , we recommend it for young people,as it has most of the things needed as internet, laundry room, kitchen, cocktails / bar/shoots, etc. Big clean room with TV, Wi-Fi, satellite, light everywhere, perfect.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn`t liked two things. The hotel is located on a main boulevard and it was very noisy, the second thing was in the bathroom there wasn`t a canal on the floor for the water and when we took a shower everything was in water.

    Our stay in the hotel was great, the room was cleaned every day, the towels were changed after the third night, the room was nice and the service was on a good level. Location of the hotel is perfect there is U-train, S-train very close and the center of the town is 15 - 20 min on foot.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - wifi password could have been included to the onboard docs

    - helpful front office - English speakers - quick check-in and check-out - possibility to store luggages after check-out for few hours more - very easy to commute to the hotel (3 lines of u-bahn) - quite big rooms and comfy beds

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room smelled faintly like cigarettes, not a huge problem but slightly bothersome.

    Great deal for a place pretty close to the city center, easy to get to by public transit. Clean and nice, staff were pleasant and helpful. Close walk to the Hundertwasserhaus.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The noise. I was given a room facing the main road instead of one facing the yard, which was what I had originally requested on booking. Windows are not double glazed and cars run frantically all day and all night long. Mattress was saggy as well.

    delicious breakfast. Near Praterstern station so it is convenient for public transport: schnellbahn, metro, train, tram. Staff was decent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff could be more knowledgable and friendly. Wifi did not connect in our room and when told staff told us that they cannot do anything.

    The room was big enough, it was great. We had the balcony, and the view of prater was amazing. Hotel's location is nearly perfect for its money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is a bit small, with a bit old interiors, shower is available but no bathtub.

    Very short walking distance to metro and light train station, and Prater.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing it didn't have was a kettle, but that was the only fault that was there!

    The staff there were amazing, no problems at all, they were helpful, very friendly and polite and helped me book my train ticket. Cannot recommend them enough! It was in a good place in Vienna, just a 5 minute trip on the underground to get there and literally 2 minutes to walk the rest. Room was comfortable, spacious, and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist in the first day - day shift (check in) - was pretty unpolite - short and fast answers, no smile, no patience, no welcome. The heating and the warm water was defect - when we arrived in the room was very cold and the heating was not functioning for other some hours. After the first day was no TV cable.

    One of the receptionist was very helpful and polite. When the heating broke we received an additional heating.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smelling of cigarettes. There was a small tv, but no tv signal. WiFi was with very poor signal. After 22:00 it vanished completely. I asked the recepcionist to leave part of my buggage for a while, and there was no place to put it. So, it was placed on the floor.

    Very comfortable location!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel really needs renovation and refreshment; old-fashioned and just old furniture and bathroom; we had a problem with heating and hot water during one evening (it could have been more help from the staff)

    very good location (walking distance from the city center); comfortable and big room; very good price!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    non-existant WI-FI !!! I was in Vienna over the winter holidays and wanted to skype with friends and family so bad! Have I known the advertised wi fi is a BIG FAT lie, I wouldn't have picked this hotel! Worst thing is all the front desk staff will lie to you over and over again, saying it's a temporary problem, and you should be patient. The only spot in the hotel with working wifi is the front desk area. Of course, when all guests go there to chat with their friends and family, the speed of the internet drops drastically. Not to mention it looks and sounds like Babel. For a clear image of what a 'wifi party' at the front desk area looks like, see picture attached. Complaining about it gets you nowhere, so better avoid this place. Also, some nights the room was cold.

    The location is good- very close to the Prater and within walking distance of Stephanzplatz (I am a walking enthusiast, but I think anyone can find the distance doable). There is a supermarket nearby and some restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reseptionist who checked in was very rude. The room was dirty especially the bath tube. The water wasnt running out of the tune and it pooled in.

    Very near to metro station

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Novum Hotel Cristall Wien Messe traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: