Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Der Bär

Kirchbichl 9, 6352 Ellmau, Austria

#2 of 8 hotels in Ellmau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 73 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 8

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only (very minor) disappointment was the shower in our two bedroom suite with kitchen and living room. The bathroom was very large with a full tub but the shower was a corner unit and quite small. Another small annoyance was that WiFi in the suite was spotty and did not work sometimes but throughout the main hotel this was not a problem.

    This is a fantastic hotel! Breakfast was amazing with very attentive staff. The new outdoor heated pool and spas are incredible. You can ski from the front door of the hotel over to the Ellmau Gondola station and return via the Hausberg lift to the top of the Astberg and then down to the hotel. The breakfast buffet was beyond expectation with anything you could possible want plus more. We enjoyed the staff at the hotel bar for an after dinner beer and schnapps. We did not eat dinner at the hotel but it looked to be a very nice restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just a tiny cleaning issue.. Which I´m sure they would have sorted if I would have said something about it.. The issue wasn´t big enough to complain about, but it´s big enough not to give a perfect score.

    Exceptional service, friendly staff, close to the slopes, very good gym and sauna/pool area. All and all, I am very pleased with everything. If and when I go back to Ellmau, Hotel Der Bär is the place I will stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, even with the rain pouring down on us during our stay.

    Great hotel, very friendly staff, great kitchen, nice sauna area, and good price/quality. You are part of the der Bär family. The Maître D Robert has an excellent wine taste and offers a nice wine option for the evening dinner. Kitchen has stepped up to a higher level since our last stay, well done!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It rained, but that's not the hotel's fault...

    Everything was great. We got dinner in the restaurant and that was excellent as well. The head waiter in the restaurant could teach a class on quality customer service

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Top notch in all categories.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel with wonderful staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beds and pillows

    Food. Staff and Service. Location. Fire Place.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I liked everything.

    Location, Restaurant, Bar, Staff, Massage, Wellness Centre.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 8

Guests also reviewed these properties: