Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Der Schmittenhof

Schmittenstraße 109, 5700 Zell am See, Austria

#44 of 51 hotels in Zell am See

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 535 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Nice hotel with clean and big rooms and with polite staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Realy nice hotel with polite staff. Room was nice and very clean, breakfast was excellent! Big advantage is Zell am see summer cards, I saved much much money with It (free cablecars, 1EUR bus, free entrance to many places).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit far from the city centre, strict dress code for dinner (maybe it is my fault, but I did not bring a shirt and jacket or suit in my motorbike topcase)

    Nice and comfy room, great bed and bedding. Good breakfast, but it was not extraordinary.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel, but too far from the center of the village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked this hotel based upon photos in their ad. When we got there, we were given small, dark rooms is an old building in the back parking lot. The wifi didn't even work back there. After a little struggle with the desk clerk, we were finally given good rooms in the nicer part of the hotel. However, I made the reservation for all 4 of us and before we had a chance to inform them that we would pay each room separately, they charged all 4 rooms to my card. Upon checkout the next morning, after some words with the manager, I was able to get him to credit my card back for the 4 rooms, then charge each room to each persons card separately.

    After a little struggle we were finally given rooms in the nice part of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    The place, the hotel facilities, free parking in front of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner is until 21:00 and in the reservation form was not mentioned that!! We arrived at 20:15 and the receptionist almost forget to tell us about the dinner although we had paid. When we asked about the spa, the answer was the same, until 21:00!! The funny thing was that even after 21:00 in the restaurant and in the SPA area there were people and nobody hurries them.....Expensive hotel out of season time!!

    The place, the hotel facilities, free parking in front of the hotel, the restaurant is fine...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    This is a lovely little hotel I'm happy to recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I noticed the linen on our bed was only changed once during our 7 night stay. For a trip into the town and back its a mission... its a good 20 min walk back UP HILL , the free busses stop running at 6pm and a taxi will outrageously charge you 12€ for a four min ride back up the hill to the hotel. Don't expect to get much help from the older of the two guys on reception and his 'cannot be bothered' attitude gets very boring very fast! One other point to note is this; Expect as a tourist to be charged considerably more for everything if you don't speak German... We noticed in bars 5€+ added to rounds of drinks, taxis charge whatever they fancy with a 7€ + sur charge on top.... Also, check your food bills in the mountain restaurants.... Such a shame that Austria is getting this reputation.

    Our room was in the main building- very quiet at night. The bed was nice and comfy. Location for the ski lifts is fabulous!! It is a very short walk to the lift and you can ski to the door of the hotel! The food was really very good and a good selection of veggie and fish options for us too as we don't eat meat. I was especially impressed by the daily selection of homemade cakes and bread. Josef the manager is lovely!!! he's a proper old school hotelier, His service staff were good too and really friendly. There is a good selection of wines and beers all very reasonably priced. The 'tiny spa' fabulous!! 3 saunas and a steam room- perfect to relax after a long day on the mountain!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Great value for money - we were very happy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Other guests could close the spaces for boots and skis. Possibly they believe they mums are working at the hotel and closing doors after them? Wifi could have been much better in our room; at very high quality at the reception.

    Excellent personnel at the restaurant - true professionals. Rooms very functional, clean and quiet. Very near to ski lifts, some 100+ meters by foot. Wine prices reasonable at the restaurant of the hotel - great wines. Breakfast and dinner of very nice quality.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent food and service in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing much!

    Excellent food and service in the restaurant. Very nice rooms and heated bathrooms. Close to the lifts and good storage for skis and skiing boots (heated). Good breakfast and good assortment in the bar. Most rooms have balcony and the hotel have its own parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    5.8
    Will never come here again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scam. Not fair.

    These guys are thieves. The charge you an extra 60€(!!) at the checkout. It only says in small letters in the booking. They say it's for "final cleaning". Say what? When I book I want the final price directly and nr pay 60 Euro at the checkout as a bonus. Scam. They should be ashamed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.4
    Average to poor hotel in a great location. Would stay there again if half the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was very small and very poorly decorated with an old worn bed. The bed side table the front of the draw would fall off. You could here very easily people walking up and down the corridor and closing doors and talking in there rooms. There was a leek in the shower so the whole of the bathroom floor would be wet. The food was average never amazing, but they ran out of soup and dessert if you got there after 7 and they said dinner was until 8 can’t imagine what it would be like at 8. Overall wasn’t impressed for the money.

    The sauna area was fantastic, great location for the slopes couldn’t of asked for a better spot.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    2.5
    bad bad
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    my booking was on fare 292 eur when i came to hotle i paid 392 eur service is not good and staff uncare and breakfast was bad plz replay me as soon for 100 eur why i paid more your staff sayeed amjad taken by 100 eur more kindly return our extra paid fare

    no breakfast was not good and bed also

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic time to spent here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We waited 2 hours to get our free summer card, and another 1 hour when leaving because settings on booking.com was not the same than the reality.

    Beautiful view, clean room, free wi-fi, free sauna. They give Zell am See Kaprun summer card: you can visit many places free with it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.1
    This isn't what it looks to be on booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our key was stuck on the outside door when we arrived - reception closed at 12md! There was no notification of this. No cafe, no restaurant, no help - and no coffee or tea in the room although there was an electric jug. We had travelled a long way so were very cross about this - we could have picked things up on our way if we had been notified. This is NOT a 4* hotel!!! It's not even a hotel - this may be just in the shoulder season but a notification would have helped!

    Good location near town

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    good value for money paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Uncomfy bed, hard and sagging mattresses

    Summer Card - free entry to many atractions including cable lifts, wild park, water falls,gorges, etc. Very tasty meal, friendly service. Short distance to cabin lift to Schmittenhohe.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Good value exellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault this accaommodation

    We were given free simmer carte which gave us discount on convenient bus service, free cable car and free boat trip , an unexpected added value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely zell am see
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi in room 409 is very weak . Poor lighting in kitchen . They told us that Laundry service 10 euro per machine which can handle 12 kilos of clothes but when collecting the clothes she told no it is 8 kilos and she take double the price! No private keys between the 2 bedroom apartment .

    Reception staff Amjad is a good arabic guy , he is helpful and informative guy and willing to help any time. Near Schmitten cable car Kapron and zell am see summer card(free)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.9
    Free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room with terrace, which we did not know that is shared with others + from terrace you do not have any view. The spa quite small and obsolete. We expected more from 4 star hotel.

    Free parking Delicious breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.6
    Everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location at the top of a hill. Traveling by bike was a tough way to end the day but that's really my problem, not the hotel's. If biking, someplace at lake-level might be easier.

    Everything was great. No real complaints.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.3
    The main course of the buffet dinner was not too good although the salads, soups and desserts were.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The standard room which we had booked was dark and narrow and being on the ground floor looked straight out on the radiators of parked cars. Worst of all, there was a large compressor (perhaps for the kitchen cold store) right outside the window which made a horrible noise. We had to pay Euros 20 a day to be up-graded to an acceptable room.

    Friendly staff Good breakfasts

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel with very good breakfast. Recommend.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking can be bigger but it is not so big problem. Bigger problem is Zell am See at self where last 5 years some things go to wrong way. I been in Zell am See a lot of time in past. We been in Velden two days before Zell am See and prices in Zell am See are much higher and some staff in restaurants and cafes are not friendly and in some places speak only German and Arabic not English. We got small menu in English with maybe 40 % of all offer. Than we look at Arabic menu with pictures and order from this menu. In one restaurant we didn't get bill when we paid. In one cafe place we paid 9,6 € for 2 tees - in price list was price 2.5€. When I wish to spoke with chef, staff give me back 4 € and said that something is wrong with computer or that price go up and in price list is not new one. We got bill in this cafeteria with price 9.6 € but on bill was no business code and no tax information. It was fake bill.

    Breakfast is great. Kind staff. Nicer room. It have spa but because of nice weather we didn't used. You get Zell am See card which give you a lot of free entrance and free use of cable car. Nice place for walking and sports around. I recommend this Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.1
    Hotel OK - resort now disappointing - it has lost it's Austrian feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was extremely noisy at night due to the inconsiderate behaviour of residents in a nearby property who seemed to think it acceptable to rev the engines of there cars between about midnight and 3am. It seems unfortunate that in Zell am see as a whole the presence of visitors and/or residents from countries somewhat further east is leading to an atmosphere where money seems more important than manners or consideration for others. The presence of car loads of boys/men in extremely noisy cars at night does little to impress. Would I go there again - definitely NOT. What a shame for such a once beautiful natural area.

    The hotel was clean and confortable and all the staff seem friendly and helpful. The linen was changed regularly and the room was cleaned to a high standard every morning including Sunday. There was a lift and the restaurant appeared to do a veried menu although we did not eat here for dinner preferring to go into town in the evenings. Breakfast was the usual Austrian style continental breakfast with sausage or bacon on alternate mornings. The hotel was very close to the local cable car station and to the bus stop for the local post bus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    4.2
    Beware booking.com do not state cleaning charges in pre-booking intel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disgusted that booking.com did not show the €60 cleaning charge before clicking to book. Only showed room rate. Was expecting a bill for €80 when checking out only to have a bill for €140. Booking.com needs to put this charge in the pre-booking Intel. I would not have booked it had I known.

    View from room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    3.3
    Very bad experience - Bad location and bad staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was bad. Property too far from station. The bus was shut on Sunday and the hotel receptionist still asked me to wait for the bus and wasted my time. I had to walk uphill to the property with very heavy bags for 3 kms. Very expensive and zero facilities. Reception shut at 7 pm so cannot ask any questions. Staff could not give any recommendations as to what to do in Zell am See. Very bad experience.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Small pillow. WC could be rearranged to not interfere with sink

    Very friendly staff! You could run on ski right to the Hotel; Quiet place at night (no bars/parties around)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    Great ski base
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little noisy with people stomping about in the corridors and other rooms but nothing the hotel or staff could do about it

    The sauna was a great place to relax after a day's skiing. The staff were all lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    3.8
    nice location but very weak service plus problems with the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They say the room is 17m2 big on booking pages . If fact it turned out to be not bigger than 12sq m. It was hard to move in the room, arround the bed which was quite big. There is a bed in the room and ca. 1 m space around the bed. And that is it. Nothing more. When we wanted to change the room to the one they sold us nobody from the management wanted to talk to us. Really sad story.

    food and location are good. Spa is very ok.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    10
    Great and quiet family hotel right next to ski slope!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The best value for money in the region! Comfortable and quiet family hotel right next to ski slope, home-made food is delicious: both for breakfast and dinner. Walking distance to main ski lifts.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    10
    I loved this hotel so I booked 2 times .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I loved this hotel so I booked 2 times .. All things was great and the staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    10
    best hotel in zell am see
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms

    Very quite hotel in a very romantic place, a big thanks to Amjad and the other staff for their support during our stay

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.5
    We had a very pleasant holiday at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok

    We had a very pleasant holiday at this hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    6.7
    It was located at the top of a steep hill and we we're on bicycles.... No mention of that in ad...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were cold unfriendly...

    Breakfast was good.....

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    The hotel manager was amazing, extremely friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel manager was amazing, extremely friendly and helpful! We were very impressed!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    No complaints about anything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    In a nutshell : everything!
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a nutshell : everything! Lovely location , great views , comfortable room and above all truly impressive management.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic ski holiday right next to the slopes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are all so friendly and welcoming. They make every effort to understand us even though we speak no German and want to make our stay special

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    The staff were cooperative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were cooperative... The stay was very pleasant.the skiing site is just 100m walk from this location...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.3
    Near to the cable care
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free coupons for various city sightseeing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location just under the cable car. Walkable to town and lake. Very friendly and helpful staff.Clean spacious room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    I enjoyed very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no small refrigator in the room

    Very good breakfast Nice view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.8
    Great location and close to cable car access
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    great location, free summer card for use of cable car, secure parking, great breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    A real leisure destination.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could b better

    The walk, boat ride, cable car, all wonderful things to do.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.3
    For sort staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relaxation

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.2
    Place near to lift, accommodation with our dog without...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Place near to lift, accommodation with our dog without problem, very friendly owner.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    2.9
    There is someone on the reception ( I think he is owner) he...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is someone on the reception ( I think he is owner) he was very bad man and he did not good deal with guest

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.2
    Calm stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dogs in the enterance, sensor of bathroom' lights

    Balcony And room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    5.0
    Needs more cleaing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very noisy while cleaning time

    Needs more cleaing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleaning fees for the apartment were not included in "Total Cost," which were higher than the cost of the we paid for the apartment for one night. Cleaning fees should be included in the cost summary on booking.com.

    Great location. Comfortable apartment. Bacon over, or under cooked. :)

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    9.2
    lovely apartment in good location for a 4 yr old addicted to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The information folder in the apartment included details of the restaurant but this was closed as off season. I was travelling alone with 2 young children so would have been helpful to have an up to date information folder.

    lovely apartment in good location for a 4 yr old addicted to skiing! great price

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    9.6
    It's situated in quite area at about 900 m above see...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    They had two buildings ( one for budget ) and we had to go to the other one for breakfast. But despite this everything was ok

    It's situated in quite area at about 900 m above see level. The sound of a river can be heard and slots seemd very closed.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    6.7
    Facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hook-trick on the cost. The place was selected on the basis of the cheap end of season price written in large writing but buried in the very small print was a 60 Euro cleaning charge. Lots of people have been caught. The Manager thinks the members of the public are stupid because they don't read the small print. It is in fact the Manager who is stupid because the public never go back again!

    Facilities

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    9.6
    This was the second year in a row we stayed here, like the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Check out was appalling, only 1 person on desk and were allowing people to check in on a Saturday morning at 9am whilst people were queueing to check out. Then 5 people decided to pay all individually, each one having a great discussion about the bill.

    This was the second year in a row we stayed here, like the close proximity to the slopes, the spa area and great food choices. The restaurant staff and cleaners were lovely.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    9.6
    staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    -

    staff. smiling and very helpfull food: a good and variable buffet Cleaning: a super friendly and smiling cleaning , who took pride in nesting our daughter's bed in a new way every day in all ways an outstanding stay at the hotel

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    7.1
    Friendly Staff ,good facilities and location !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleaning fee per Stay of 60Euro was too expensive as we only stayed for 1 x night and this fee was in the SMALL print , if you had a 7 x night stay then it is acceptable but I think this cost should be decreased for shorter stays !!!.

    Friendly Staff ,good facilities and location !!.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    6.7
    The staff of the hotel were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel decided to change the cards they accept for final payment without informing any of the people that had booked prior to this change. When attempting to settle the bill with and American Express i was told they no longer accepted this form of payment, despite having taken the 1/3 deposit of the AMEX card and the booking stating I wished to settle with that card. It was lucky I had another card with the amount of money required available. At the time of writing this review, the Booking.com page for this hotel still states AMEX is accepted. The "Jacuzzi" is a Bath tub with jacuzzi jets so not quite the same thing and the charge of €8 for 30 minutes is a little high in my opinion. The private ski bus that is mentioned in the blurb was not offered/explained and therefore we had to make our own arrangements to get to the ski lifts. The lights in the bathroom are on sensors, this means if you pop in to get something the light stays on for longer. I understand the energy saving side of this feature, however, when someone goes to the bathroom in the middle of the night the light and fan stay on for a considerable time afterwards. The car park and access ramp were not cleared of snow or salted which made getting in/out harder than it should have been.

    The staff of the hotel were very friendly and helpful.The food was nice and if something has run out then it is restocked, however, there was not much variety on offer - 1 meat, 1 fish and 1 vegetarian main course option. Whilst not quite Ski in/Ski out the hotel is within 50m of a run which brings you from the mountain or down to the Town. There is a Ski Bus stop approximately 30m away which runs every half hour. The Hotel is a 5 minute, uphill walk to one of the main ski lifts in the resort. The rooms were spacious and the balconies were nice. Overall it is a nice hotel with a few minor issues, although I'm not convinced it is a 4 star hotel.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    5.4
    Location is perfect for skiers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A lot of things... Internet, extra charged, slow or not working at all. Extra charge 80 euros for cleaning. Extra charge for using kitchen in apartment (with kitchen). Not even close to 4 stars hotel, more likely 2 stars hotel.

    Location is perfect for skiers.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    2.5
    Four stars hotel where nobody answers the phone during the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    How could I not like anything! I didn't even had the chance to stay in the hotel.It's a ghost hotel.There's nobody there.

    Four stars hotel where nobody answers the phone during the day and when you arrive at the evening there is no one in the house! And again nobody answers the phone! There is nothing right in this hotel. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    8.3
    The location is very good away from noise and on a calm area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was great but the balcony is touch the next apartment so it's a pit less private.. And the breakfast is 15€ ber each even if it's with different choices but it's a bit expensive..

    The location is very good away from noise and on a calm area.. It's in a good location to see the lake and the mountains and a private Parking and that's if you have a car if not it'll be hard for you a way from facilities..

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    8.8
    Zell am See is beautiful area for a week holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience

    Zell am See is beautiful area for a week holiday. Hotel is excellent though it would benefit from a separate bar and sitting area for bad weather days. A car is necessary, otherwise it is a long uphill walk from village to hotel

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.2
    Pleasant friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy neighbours, banging doors, unruly kids running about till late.

    Pleasant friendly staff. Knowledge of English was generally good . Food was excellent

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I was offered a room upgrade for 25 euros by email, but did not accept the offer, when I arrived at the hotel a day later I was told the hotel was fully booked, and I would have to stay in another local hotel that they had booked for me.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    5.8
    clean and nice balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I knew it was out of town but not half way ip a mountain. Kitchen was not well equipped and the owners seemed to want money for everything.

    clean and nice balcony.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    5.4
    Location and cleanliness of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Despite indicating that a cleaning charge was applicable only when self-catering facilities used, this was levied anyway, a rip-off. Unhelpful staff, no help with baggage on arrival and unfriendly at breakfast. Definitely this should not be promoted by booking.com

    Location and cleanliness of hotel.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    8.3
    Both brekfasts and dinners offered great variety of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Check what kind of room you book, as the economy rooms are located in a next door building and are small and simply furnished. From the booking.com reservation it wasnt clear.

    Both brekfasts and dinners offered great variety of delicious food. Very nice spa area with 4 saunas and resting area, free of charge, weekday only. Nice decorations. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    8.8
    Great access to ski lift and ski slopes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Far from the city You have to pay for internet (3€ per stay) Waiters don't speak english

    Great access to ski lift and ski slopes Big breakfast Three choices of menu for dinner

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    7.5
    - very friendly staff, ready to help you
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - no coffee or tea machine in the room, if you want just hot water at the bar you have to paid as you would order tea (3 EUR), this is not necessary for 4 star hotel - the waiter broke the cork when opening bottle of wine and did not bring a new bottle and just continued to dig the cork, he was very friendly, but wine knowledge was rather poor - after payment I checked the bill later at home and the final bill was 200 EUR higher, I got it back, but that was a bitter end of my stay - for me the bed was too soft

    - very friendly staff, ready to help you - free gluhwine after visiting the apres ski refreshement almost every day - this is how they make you special, thumbs up - we have traveled with small kids and they were running and shouting around without any problems, thank you -tiny, but nice spa area (it is a pitty that there is no room for pool) - rich bufet breakfest and 4 course dinner

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    8.8
    Hotel offer free snacks during 4-5pm, and we only found out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wish bathroom had bath tub in the room. No night bus coming back to hotel

    Hotel offer free snacks during 4-5pm, and we only found out on our last day... Too bad. Will stay again at his hotel. It has nice wellness center but u need to pay fo jacuzzi bath tub which is really only for one person. Convenient to ski lift if you are skiing at Zell am see

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    10
    Literally 5 minutes walk to slopes, really friendly staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to come home!

    Literally 5 minutes walk to slopes, really friendly staff who could speak English, amazing food -3 choices every night plus great options of appetisers and salad buffet each night. Really nice saunas and steam room and relaxation area, don't forget your flip flops! We hired a skilocker at intersport (€7/day) but heated boot room and ski room at hotel

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    9.6
    Very professional services and friendly staff, quiet at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very professional services and friendly staff, quiet at night, close to the slope, rich breakfast, tasty dinners, any problem resolved in minutes, can fully recommend

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    10
    The reception staff couldn't have been more helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had a self catering apartment and, as seems usual in Austria, the kitchen didn't have some basic things like washing up liquid. When you arrive on a Saturday afternoon and the shops are closed until Monday, that is awkward. However, they had some things like dishwasher tablets and cloths that I have missed in other places.

    The reception staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The hotel is very close to the base station of the Schmitten so very good for skiers.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Light entring through the curtains

    Location Good value of money

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    8.3
    Location and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Public transportation

    Location and view

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very basic room and poor breakfast parking lot was closed and had to leave the car on public road there is no service whatsoever

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    10
    We liked the spa, friendly staff, excellent location, thank...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We liked the spa, friendly staff, excellent location, thank you for everything!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    8.8
    Nice bar and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice bar and restaurant. Rooms were nice, well appointed

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    10
    Excellent service from the whole team!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent service from the whole team! Couldn't ask for anymore!

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.2
    Every things ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff only to afternoon they work

    Every things ,

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: