Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Donauhof - Hotel garni 4 stars

Donaugasse 298, 3610 Weissenkirchen in der Wachau, Austria

#3 of 12 hotels in Weissenkirchen in der Wachau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 288 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No aircon,no refrigerator with such a price.Maybe the average price of the accommodations in Wachau Valley are more expensive than other regions.

    It is easy to find the hotel,as it is by the main road along Donau River.The staff is nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could be more pleasent if some additional mirrors are mounted, either at the entrance or over the bad.

    This is one of the best places I've ever been to relex and enjoy nature at its best.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a lovely hotel set amongst lovely vineyards in the Wachau Valley. The Mother -daughter team were very gracious and you can tell this property is maintained with loving care and great attention to detail. The proprietor gave a recommendation for a local place to have dinner and it was so quaint with wonderful food. Loved our stay here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We appreciated the extra care and attention from Marlies and her mother during our stay--made our three days very pleasant. Marlies provided excellent advice about walking tours, local ferries and nearby restaurants The hotel was very comfortable and the village of Weissenkirchen is a great stopping place in the Wachau--don't miss the fortified church.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All perfect

    Great staff/owners- beautiful room - very comfortable bed with classy, quality bed linen. Lovely view of the river and vineyards. Top breakfast- homemade jams were a delight - mushroom omelette was one of the best. A lovely place to stay in a great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything about it.

    My favorite of all the places we stayed throughout Austria! The beds are extra comfortable, the place is impeccably clean and cozy, the owners are extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the area, and they take extra care to prepare a gourmet breakfast every day! Plus there is a self-serve wine bar where you simply write down what you drink. Overall just wonderful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. No hot breakfast option of bacon or sausage. The omelette looked lovely but no good if you can't eat eggs. No facility to make toast, no croissants! Very much geared towards German guests. There is supposed to be an area where you can have a glass of wine but it seemed to be closed and it was only just after 9pm.

    Lovely room which had everything we needed. Excellent restaurant just a few steps away across the road next to the Danube. Very nice friendly hosts.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a beautiful hotel with the best location on the Danube! Walks through the neighboring village, views of the vineyards, runs and cycling along the Danube...all of these things were a joy to do because we were staying at this property. Our hostess, Marlies went out of her way to make sure that I had everything I needed as I came down with a dental emergency while on holiday. The breakfasts in the morning were a dream...selections of all wonderful foods and we felt like we were treated like royalty! Wonderful, wonderful memories, and we couldn't have asked for anything better! Thank you!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that I really didn't like is that I couldn't stay longer. The only "real" negative is the busy road passing by outside, along the river. Why do cars exist? If they didn't, the hotel's parking lot could be a pretty garden, and the train would run more than 3 times a day... But I live in downtown Paris, and say that to myself 20 times a day.

    Our hostesses were kind, informative, intelligent, and very professional. The home-made Wachau apricot jam at breakfast may seem like a cliché, but it was truly remarkable. My friends were eating it with a spoon. The gastgarten at the Mang heuriger, just a long block away, was a real pleasure (if you don't know Austrian red wines, try the St. Laurent!).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Short walk to old-town, Weissenkirchen is a lovely place. Donauradweg is nearby, on the riverbank. Staff friendly and helpful. Large room with comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was absolutely perfect. The size of the room and its cleanliness is spot on. Beds are the most comfortable ones! Breakfast was great and the owner is the friendliest one you will ever meet. Always willing to help, but has the right balance when to talk to you and when to let you enjoy the beautiful area. There is absolutely nothing bad to say about this place. Even if you tried! Highly recommended!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am a light sleeper. When inquired, the hotel did tell me that it's next to the main road. However, the photos show a very narrow road, which should not be too loud. Later, I discovered that the photos present the driveway and not the road (which was very loud). This is a little misleading, especially with no air-condition, so windows must stay open.

    Nice and helpful staff, great breakfast, comfortable beds, clean rooms, homey feeling.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Room was very comfortable and we had a view of the Danube. Breakfast was outstanding. Filled us up for the whole day! Service was so warm and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we didn't like was that we didn't have time to stay longer

    Enjoyed everything from the room to the breakfast and the friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very well done, with an amazing selection for a small hotel. The owners were incredibly helpful with two special requests we had. Idyllic location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    --

    Everything was perfect. Very kind and helpful staff, making you feel at home. Very good location in Weissenkirchen, right across the street from the beach and an excellent fish restaurant, and a few minutes walk to the church and vineyards walking paths. Breakfast was delicious and of excellent quality.The hotel has a lot of character and charm. Strongly recommended. Will definitely go back.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV did not work but I didn't care!

    Everything was just amazing. Highlight - I lost my camera on a bus and with minimal information the owner/hostess managed to hunt down my camera. The kind of service with an extra mile. I'll be back

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room. Renovated perfectly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel. Very kind, welcoming owner. Room was clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not much

    food ,location, comfort

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room didn't have fridge

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice and helpful staff, ready to solve all your wishes. Wonderful breakfast. Quiet hotel with excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    Amazing breakfast. Charming hosts providing wonderful and personal service with lots of attention to detail.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Price of wines

    Great and wide breakfast, incl. sekt and typical mariland nectar!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super duper hosts Very helpful and caring Location of the hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon or fans

    Lovely friendly family run hotel, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit out of the way perhaps, so you have to do some planning. WELL worth it.

    Everything was wonderful. Very caring staff, made us feel at home.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff (mother and daughter) are very sweet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location, very well positioned, staff is greatly gentle. What else...?

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. Beds extremely confortable, amazing breakfasts and very nice staff (she gave us very good advice to visit the area)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too early check out

    Nice cosy rooms, free wi-fi, great view, super friendly staff, good food

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't use the garden after 6.30

    Location by the river Helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good for recharge energy, self drive heading for Salzkammergut after a long long flight.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is amazing!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room, excellent breakfast, Nice welcome. Amazing views.. Loved it.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything about the hotel was top quality...really lovely. Our room was large and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was a gourmet treat. The staff was friendly and helpful. We loved it here!

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The snack sortiment in the Weinstübl could be better.

    The hotel is very nice, the room is well equipped, good bed, good shower, etc. The location is also great as it is possible to do daily trips within all Wachau region.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom not up to 4star standard. Choice of television programmes in room extremely limited. No business or international news - this is certainly not 4 star.

    Good breakfast. Helpful staff. Good position.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Outstanding breakfast, great location, room was well-equipped. Firm mattresses, very comfortable bedding.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    very sweet and warm hotel, love the decoration and service! very nice experience.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Loved the area and room.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The place is beautiful, wonderful owner and staff. Highly recommend this place.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was absolutely amazing. Great breakfast, especially pate :)

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything!

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very limited tv in rooms - no international news or business channels Bathroom very ordinary

    Friendly and helpful owners Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing special.

    Location and price.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Pity about the weather - we were unlucky

    Everything!

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Browse Donauhof - Hotel garni traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: