Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Edelweisshof 3 stars

Birnbaum 2, 9652 Birnbaum, Austria

#3 of 3 hotels in Birnbaum

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 332 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly proprietor. Comfortable room with stunning mountain view. Nice bar/restaurant serving an excellent and reasonably priced meal to our specification.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything other than an extra pillow could have been in the wardrobe.

    It's wifi is really good, it uses unifi mesh networking which gives really good signal all over the hotel. Other than that the room was good and simply decorated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Car is necessary due to the isolated position, but that's not a big issue (rather a strength of the place). Breakfast is rich although it could be better presented. Showers are a bit small. As you can read, the weak spots are negligible.

    We are a young Italian couple and we really had a good time here. Staff is very kind and available for every request. Room is tidy, comfortable and well equipped for Winter. Food is very typical and abundant, especially at dinner. Price is low for a romantic escape in Europe's most natural valley. Family-like environment with typical wooden forniture.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The New Year’s Eve party was no included (€35 for those who wanted to attend). The bed was a bit too squeaky (if one moved during the night for sure the othe would wake up).

    We really liked the location, in the middle of the mountains. We spent 9 days there and we did not get bored any single day! When we were there it snowed a lot (around 1,5 m of snow), hence, the environment was even more beautiful! We had breakfast and dinner included. While breakfast was a normal one (toast/white/brown bread, ham, cheese, jam, honey, coffee, tea, cereals, milk), diner was exceptional. (Pour les connoisseurs:)) three days we had three courses (soup, warm appetizer, second course and dessert. The remaining days we did not have the warm appetizers (probably because of the height number of tourists). Max, the host was really helpful with everybody, his English is very good! There is a small shop across the street, which is very helpful, as there is nothing else in the village. We did not find any other location to eat except ours. For the ski lovers you should know that there are two ski areas around 15 km away from the Pension (one before entering the village and one after you exit the village). Even if there are 15 km away, the road is difficult or rather adventurous (only “s” curves and very narrow but it is spectacular). All in all, the experience was a great one and we plan to come again during the summer as there are many walking trails around.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpfull staff. They offered us a meal, despite the restaurant being closed. The room was big and clean. The view from the balcony was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Host, hospitality, food ... This hotel is run by the Russians and has no Austrian charm and Austrian hospitality. BBQ evening is literally 1 small sausage and 1 hamburger and 7 roasted potatoes ??? Thanks, but never again.

    Nature and view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room style and furniture was a bit dated.

    Nice hotel and it was easy to find it. Very good for its money. The room was clean and cosy. Our room had a balcony with a perfect view on mountains. There is a big parking place on-site. The personal was friendly. We had dinner there and it was tasty and served in a nice way. First we booked only night but decided to stay one night more. Thanks Max&Nadia

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic hotel in a superb location. Very tranquil and stunning views. The host was very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. A lovely terrace where you can relax with a drink and have your meals. I would love to go back and stay a little longer next time.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was ok, nothing to complain about.

    Very good value for everything that was included (accommodation, breakfast, dinner), perfect for one or a few days holiday in the area. The room had a balcony available, the bathroom was clean, and the bed comfortable. Parking is available on-site.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly dated amenities and slow WiFi but nothing that should put you off.

    Great location (once you get there), very tasty meals and helpful staff. Free car parking in front of the house. We only stayed for a night but felt very cosy and would like to return in the future.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful aparthouse in the relaxed and small village. Peace and relaxed atmosphere would describe this. The route to the Birnbaum is kind of a adventurous.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Credit cards are not accepted. Although Paypal is.

    Nice hotel and room. Nice mountain view from the balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had no ventilation

    Awesome location and view, kind and friendly staff speaking German, Italian and English! International breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place to stay. Nice rooms and good Radler in the bar!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    stunning location and view, great staff and amazing value for money

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    everything

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beautiful location, excellent food (huge portions and it must have been Michelin starred), very nice staff, perfect place to stay!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast included. Everything very clean. Prices reasonable. Beautiful natural and rural scenery. Great wifi connection.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    humble owner, nice and pleasant staff, original dinner

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    in the middle of nowhere - which is good and bad

    super beautiful and cozy

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    alles

    niets

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WIFI signal very weak in the room

    Panorama, breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    in all the acces and pass hall was a very accentuated small of kitchen. we were having a beer in the resto and we had all out clothes smalling as we were the kitchen's Chefs.

    Great location, very clean, the staff was talking all english.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only cash payment possible, which was well announced via booking.com website though.

    A complete vegetarian dinner was prepared on request, many thanks! The location is very peaceful and quiet. Not suitable for party animals ;-) Perfect starting point for hiking!

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sometimes poor wifi signal. I'd move the table soccer to different room/floor (or completely get rid of it) because if somebody plays it in the evening, it disturbs other guests.

    We had a special offer from Booking, therefore price/quality ratio was great. Kind stuff, nice location, tasty meals...

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The food was very good and delicious especially the dinner.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Bed was cracking, walls are not stopping noise, interior is not so nice, smells what is made in a kitchen.

    Nice views, friendly stuff.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Browse Edelweisshof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: