Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of SPA Hotel Erzherzog Johann 4 stars

Kurhausplatz 62, 8990 Bad Aussee, Austria

#11 of 30 hotels in Bad Aussee

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 277 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    The hotel facilities are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a SPA hotel but the hairdryers in the rooms are weak. It is obligatory to be naked in the saunas which was fine for me but something to keep in mind. They are mixed (men and women) as well. The restaurant for dinner is rather expensive. We ate out. There was a marked difference between the two rooms we stayed in. One was lovely and spacious and modern. The other was much smaller and a little dated. Considering the prices, this was a little unfair.

    The hotel facilities are great. Lovely place. The rooms overlook a mountain. Great views. Clean and well maintained SPA area. An outside Jacuzzi pool. Great breakfast with good food and lots of choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel in the alps!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot tub could be a little bit hotter but that's me grasping art straws, this place was amazing!

    Great pool and sauna area. Friendly staff, spoke English. Very helpful and nice!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    The breakfast was AMAZING.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed in a room that is in the main building, on top of the reception. I found this room to be older fashioned then the ones I saw in the hotel pictures, which were more modern and without carpet. The bath also was not so good: high tub (difficult for an elderly to get in), we would end up wetting the bathroom - would be nice to have a regular shower The staff at the reception and spa could speak better english - which also isn't my native language, but we tourists use it to comunicate abroad :)

    The breakfast was AMAZING. Dinner was also very nice, but a little expensive. Be careful that restaurants in small cities in Austria close early (for ex, we tried to go to one but the kitchen closed at 19:30!!) The pool is very nice, although I thought it was too cold (could definitely be warmer). The hotel is well located in the middle of city, easy to walk. Also, it is a good location to stay to visit other cities (ex: Dachstein, Obertraun, Hallsttat..) - beautiful region!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.3
    Good getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the area of the hotel was very lovely and great getaway for me & my partner. unfortunately I have reached the hotel a bit late, but I found that they have put my ley room and welcoming letter in an envelope for me to collect, which send a great message of caring of their customers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Staff friendly and always with a smile.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine. We did not miss anything

    Staff friendly and always with a smile. Excellent location, in the center of Bad Aussee, from there you can make trips walking (Grundlsee, Toplitzsee) or by car to many beautiful places (Bad Ischl, Hallstatt, Altaussee Pool and whirpool in the 5h floor with great views and very well prepared with delicious dry fruits and different teas. Breakfast very nice, everything fresh and delicious. Dinner excellent in quality and presentation. Great idea the free small lunch, pastry, coffee and tea from 2 to 5 pm. Room big, beds very comfortable. Wifi worked well in all areas, also in our room. Parking big enough, althought some people write in their reviews that the places were very small, we did find them big enough. There is always the alternative of a parkplace very near and the hotel gives you a special parking ticket for it, free of charge.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    8.8
    The stuff was so friendly and understanding at the front...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stuff do not speak in English. Everything was written in german only ( menu, services, guide). It was really distressing.

    The stuff was so friendly and understanding at the front desk. Our Hungarian waiter in the restaurant was helpful to understand the menu. The location was fantastic, beautiful, a real treasure:) the wellness services were great, available snacks and hot tea.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    10
    The location, the staff, the spa everything was absolutely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. Not even 1 mistake

    The location, the staff, the spa everything was absolutely perfect. I loved this hotel and will definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    Very good breakfast and SPA
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast and SPA

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic view from the sauna and pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food after 21.00 hrs is NOT available

    Fantastic view from the sauna and pool

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    2.5
    bad servises
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything

    nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    4.6
    Unassuming
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exclusive Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra charge for a 9 Year old of 30 Euros, so that they put a sheet on the sofa.

    The pool. The hot tub was cold. The view was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    pamparing stay at bad aussee
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    wonderful restaurant and roof top pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Exclusive Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exclusive Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking lot not enough

    Everything great, especially swimming pool on 5th floor. Food good too. Sure let friends know this hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    8.8
    Spa, swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was averagae

    Spa, swimming pool

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.6
    Top location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top location ..worth for take a break with spa and top views of the town .Staff was so keen to help and funny

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    The best restaurant and spa I've been to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The best restaurant and spa I've been to. Super relaxing. Very tasty meals. Nice staff dressed in local wear. The hotel rooms are fantastic. Perfect location across from the pristine kurpark.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    7.9
    Customer service was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I booked bed & breakfast only, but was not told in advance that there would be a surcharge of €10 per night to have an a la carte dinner.

    Customer service was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    5.8
    Great location, good parking, large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The towels showed good signs of wear and one of them had stains. The restaurant had a limited choice of meals, particularly annoying on a Sunday when only two other restaurants were open (hence, limited options for dinner). The price is too high, possibly including access to wellness facilities, not necessarily needed for short stay guests (better use optionals!)

    Great location, good parking, large room.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.6
    The food was excellent, pool/sauna, the room was clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The wifi was weak in our room. It would be nice to have fans available in the summer.

    The food was excellent, pool/sauna, the room was clean and well-appointed.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    9.6
    I especially like the facilities, location and new swimming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I especially like the facilities, location and new swimming pool and the complementary beverages, fruit and yogurt in the pool/spa area.I'm glad I got the half board plan, which was reasonably priced and definitely worth it.It was my third time at the hotel and I'm looking forward to my next visit.The staff are very friendly and attentive. Prices are a little on the high side, but an occasional splurge is worth it!

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    10
    Very relaxing place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very relaxing place. Staff is kind with smiles. Excellent food and very nice spa areas. Great sleeping and the views are perfect.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2015

    9.2
    Excellent food (Half board)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent food (Half board)

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Guests also reviewed these properties: