Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Erzherzog Rainer 4 stars

Wiedner Hauptstr. 27-29, 04. Wieden, 1040 Vienna, Austria

#76 of 316 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3413 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Delightful - sorry to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in September with temperatures in the high 20's and the single bedrooms were rather hot, although the fans provided did help. However we learned that the hotel will have airconditioning fitted during Jan - March 2019 so this will no longer be a problem. This is my third visit and I definately hope to return.

    The general character of the hotel is charming Viennese - not that of an anonymous international hotel. Excellent breakfast with a wide range of choices. Charming and very helpful staff. Kettle provided in your room on request. Very comfortable bed and efficient shower. Close to public transport. Very easy journey from the airport - one stop train to the Hauptbanhof & one stop on the Ubahn.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    It was very memorable visit to Vienna and the hotel was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wearher was a bit too warm, even in the evening when I opened the windows. The fan helped. But weather was not your fault though.

    Breakfasts were excellent! Staff members were kind, professional and helpful (when asked for directions and activities). Rooms have been clean always. Room decorations were classy. Public transportations were very convenient. I have nothing but praise of your hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    Strongly recommend the hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room didn't had air conditioning, only a fan and during summer it gets really hot, a fan it's not enough especially if you travel with kids.

    Excellent breakfast! Big variety of food. The croissants with Nutella were delicious; The hotel is at 3 min walking distance to the metro station(and even less to the tram station) and you can go by foot to the city center and to many tourist attractions.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    We would have liked a double/queen bed without the two...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would have liked a double/queen bed without the two single mattresses joined together. We didn't appreciate it and probably wouldn't stay again because of it

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    An excellent stay, really enjoyed it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Double bed in our room was against the wall so not easy for one of us to get in and out. Room 505.

    Staff were excellent, gave us lots of info of things to do in Vienna without us asking. Booked us on a Vienna Sightseeing trip to the Wachau valley that we requested with the minimum of fuss and we got a discount by booking through the hotel. All the staff were unfailingly polite and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Highly recommend this property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Highly recommend this property. Excellent location - 10 minute walk to Ringstrasse. Close to Karlsplatz station & Hop on/hop off bus tour starting point. Friendly helpful staff. Excellent restaurant serving delicious Austrian cuisine. Breakfast choices very good. Great value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms can get hot in the summer (no air conditioning).

    I have stayed at this hotel many times and it is always an excellent stay; very pleasant staff, comfortable rooms. Within walking distance to the centre of town and close to public transport.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the summer the rooms can get very hot (no air conditioning).

    I have stayed at this hotel many times and it is always a great experience. Very friendly staff. The hotel is cosy and atmospheric.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.9
    Wien is great and I enjoyed the trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very hot and the fan in the room was overpowered. I guess it would be a perfect spot for the winter, I would recommend it in the summer if you like the sauna feeling or they upgrade the hotel with AC.

    Very close to the tram station WLB adn the Underground Metro UB. Stylish building, clean and nice personnel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room was very hot despite the open window, but the staff told us they will install AC till the next summer. The coffee at the breakfast was the weak side. Anyway, the hotel is excellent one.

    The staff was very helpful, kind and very informative. We enjoyed at their restaurant. Their plum strudel is great, not less then many famous café houses . The breakfast was very good. All the hotel is very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast is great, the turtle ancient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was surprised by the lack of airconditioning, having a room on the west during a heatwave was unpleasant. For future trips I will read the description better as I did not expect a hotel without airco. Honestly, it was a surprise by my own doing but something to be aware of.

    The breakfast is great, the turtle ancient. Close to the friendliest staff I have encountered in Vienna.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Classy hotel,luxurious breakfast,metro,close city center,very kind and helpful personel.I recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - noise from the constructions site and from the main street - the bread delivery man is throwing the crates and shutting the truck doors each morning at 4:30!

    - clean and tidy - excellent breakfast - spacious room - classy hotel - great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-condition in the room. Fan was not enough and very noisy. Front rooms are very noisy. Courtyard rooms are better.

    Breakfast was very good. Location is very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    - friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - no air conditioning (during a hot summer this is a bit of a problem)

    - friendly and helpful staff - great location (nice neighborhood), next to public transport, and not far away from the city center - tea set available in the room (ask service) - nice atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    Lokation is awesome - 10-15minutes walk from Opera and Karlsplatz, one metro stop from Stefanplatz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was tooo hot in the room and just noisy ventilator...

    Lokation is awesome - 10-15minutes walk from Operahouse and Karlsplatz, one metro stop from Stefanplatz and Hauptbahnhof, can easily reach all sightseeings within 20 min by metro; quite, safe district, several supermarkerts within 2-5min walk; very friendly stuff; very good breakfasts, the only inconvinience that in our room on fifth flour there was no conditioning and room's window was to inner yard in front of other windows. There is a lift, interior is good! It took us 40mins to get here from airport by public transport - very convinient!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    Classy ambience and decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning is missing, but that goes the same for almost every austrian hotels I guess.

    Classy ambience and decor. Breakfast was more beautiful than delicious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    There was no air condition in our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air condition in our room. The temperature was too high (>33 sometimes) in Vienna during our staying. The room during the nights was extremely warm. Bad sleep!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    My fourth time to this hotel. Every time it is great. Friendly staff, great location close to metro and tram and walking distance from opera and it's surrounding. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    we had a fantastic time and look forward to when we can return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Will be even better when the air conditioning installed.

    Everything about the hotel. It was our second visit back and was as excellent as our first visit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.0
    The staff are professional and decoration is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed at the hotel at August but all rooms at the hotel do not have airconditoners! My room is provided fan only.

    The staff are professional and decoration is nice. The restaurant is also good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    In cooler times, this hotel would be ideal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Understand you can hardly be responsible for the horrible heat wave throughout Europe, but a true air conditioning would have made this hotel a 5 ***** star establishment.

    Elegant breakfasts every morning (3). Very pleasant staff! Especially Wolfgang, who took such good care with our dinners.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    Really pleasant hotel in a great location. would recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really only the fact that it didn't have air-conditioning. We knew it hadn't and accepted it, but the fan provided, which was powerful, was necessary all night long as temperatures of 35c in Vienna were a bit too hot!

    As others have said - great breakfast! Friendly staff, clean hotel. Good size room. Great location - 15 minutes and you're in the midst of the sights!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    average!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no aircon , noisy with trams thundering past ,unfortunately very hot when we stayed and had to have windows open . also during our stay the bar / restaurant was closed for holidays. very odd as this is peak time. If we had known , we what have booked elsewhere.

    bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.9
    The location was good , breakfast very good , great value...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of air conditioning made it a little uncomfortable during hot summer days. Also the construction outside made it pretty noisy.

    The location was good , breakfast very good , great value for money. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Old style Austrian hotel with old style elevator close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old style Austrian hotel with old style elevator close to city center. Breakfast was great, even sparkling wine was available (in case you drink alcohol for breakfast).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Perfect base for experiencing Vienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfort levels would be vastly improved with air-conditioning.

    Lovely olde worlde hotel full of character (rather than one of the formulaic chain hotels), with a great location - convenient yet quiet, fantastic breakfast and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No aircon. Would expect to have one in a 4 star hotel. No kettle or self-service tea and coffee unless you request it.

    Room was spacious and comfortable. Good bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and a very hot room so had to have the fan going whenever we were in there. Very noisy. Shower over bath was on side wall instead of at the end so water splattered everywhere.

    Great location. Beautiful building with amazing history. Loved the tortoise. Fantastic breakfast. Comfortable bed. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    As expected
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Excellent breakfast. Very friendly and helpful personnel. My room was placed directly next to the lights that illuminated the hotel, so not so confortably when going to sleep. Good position. Fair price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.0
    All in all we had a wonderful stay in this hotel and a great time in few days in beautiful Vienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms did not have air conditioning, although a fan was provided and no fan in the bathroom. However it was a hot weekend while we were there.

    Very friendly and informative staff. Also very central for seeing Vienna.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    The croissant is fantastic, all the breads are delicious.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The WiFi can be improved.

    The croissant is fantastic, all the breads are delicious. Also, the servers are helpful and nice. :) Perfect location to the TU where our conference is located at. Further, it is walkable to Winter Palace.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was really awesome, variety - so many kind of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there is not air codintation, only small ventilator. The room is really hot and the view from room was to the street with public transport. (Noisy). Furniture is old and scratched.

    Breakfast was really awesome, variety - so many kind of cheese, fruits, breads, desserts. Hotel is close to city center, two station to Stepahnplatz by subway or you can just walk there. Personal was really kind and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air condition

    Very nice hotel. Good location, two minutes from metro station and 10 minutes from the opera. Excellent breakfast. The room was clean. The staff was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Vienna is a beautiful city and our stay was made more enjoyable by the quality of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    An elegant and slightly old fashioned hotel. It has up to date facilities but retains character. Breakfast is very good and all the staff very friendly. We had a front room overlooking the street but it was not too noisy. Would benefit from air-con but fans available in rooms Well placed for U-train and trams into historic centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Great Vienna holiday in beautiful hotel with friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to add air conditioning in bedrooms.

    Central hotel location 10 mins walk from Vienna Opera house. Rooms on 5th floor are newly refurbished so Well presented & updated - NB no air conditioning hence room gets far too warm. Breakfast offers a good selection of fresh fruits, bread, bacon scrambled eggs & cooked meats. Tea & coffee selection are very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.3
    High price for inadequate service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minus: No air-condition, only loud fan - room and corridors were very hot and humid, heavy air. Room should be "quiet", but it was not possible to open windows during night - it was above loud main street. And obvious noise from corridor. So very bad sleep there. Facility clean but old-fashioned style.

    Plus: great restaurant in the hotel. Close to U-bahn.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent comfortable hotel in a good location with great breakfast , nice bar .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Vienna was very hot and humid whilst we stayed , the rooms do not have air con however you are provided with a good fan ,I know its not hot all the time but air conditioning would be more comfortable

    Location about a 7 minute walk to Karlsplatz , round the corner from the nearest underground station , tram and bus stop 1 minute walk .A number of very good restaurants very close to the hotel . , cleanliness ,the hotel is kept spotless at all times . the staff so helpful and welcoming .. Breakfast were really good . We would definitely stay again at this hotel .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    The staff were very nice, in general, the hotel was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot, with no air conditioning. It had a small portable fan, but there were very limited places to connect it.

    The staff were very nice, in general, the hotel was very clean, and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    One night only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed one night only.Hotel is close to transport into the old city.There is no air con, a fan is provided but with warmer weather the room was hot and stuffy.Excellent breakfast and the staff and other facilities provided were also good.They provide an airport transfer service but we booked online ourselves and it was a lot cheaper

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay. Three days of calmness and the city centre just 10 minutes walking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In 21st century it might sound odd to have a real key but I understand this part of the charme plus you cannot lock the door and forget your card inside...

    Very quite room. Staff very friendly and professional

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small, so it felt cramped. Staff were not necessarily knowledgeable about navigating around the city - city does not have proper signs towards places of interest, easy to get a bit lost - the locals themselves are not aware of their own city too.

    Breakfast was great. Staff were warm and friendly. Hotel is well maintained. Location is fantastic- heart of the city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant, excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Needs air-conditioning as the rooms are small and become stuffy. We would not stay there in the middle of summer!

    The staff were great; helpful, friendly, and nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean but without air-conditioning. The breakfast selection was good and the service was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Without a second thought, I'll be booking for future stays with my family and friends!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful location for transportation, sight seeing, shopping streets and restaurants with the bonus of "quiet" and no street noise. Restaurant is great, good wines and good traditional food. In my experience, prices are reasonable compared to similar accommodations across Germany. Breakfast had a wide selection of foods. Staff were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Relaxing, indulgent, cultured stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from road outside including trams was not a problem for us but it was noisey. Need to shut windows at night and use fan in hot weather.

    Hotel was very helpful for example you could have tea making facilities, razors, buy bus tickets, order cabs

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.0
    Well situated hotel, pleasant helpful staff but no air conditioning, so too hot at night for me
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The biggest problem was the absence of air conditioning which we did not think we would need in May. I was uncomfortably hot at night even with the window wide open. We live in northern Europe and are used to cool bedrooms.

    The Hotel is very well situated and is a historic building. The staff are very helpful and professional and the reception staff arranged tickets for tours and gave us Vienna Cards. Our room was quite small and dark although comfortable. Breakfast was good with a wide variety.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    The soft boiled eggs were fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The soft boiled eggs were fabulous! The entire breakfast and the breakfast room was very enjoyable, best on my entire 25 day trip. Waiter actually cut up my food in the restaurant the day I broke my arm, very accomodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    I would come back to this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There are no air conditioners in the rooms, but the hotel provide fans. This is an old building and I assume there is no way to install ACs without impacting the surface of the building or something like that. That was not a problem for us in May, but if it gets really hot outside, this could be the issue for someone.

    Great hotel with amazing staff! Great location within walking distance from Opera and Karlskirche, just about 10 minutes walking. The rooms are comfy and cozy with good wooden furniture and very comfy beds. The hotel also provides kettle and tea/coffe per request. They have amazing breakfasts with lots of good options and sparkling wine! Also, there is a nice traditional restaurant where we had most of our dinners after long walks around the city. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone and I would definitely come back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.9
    A bit overpriced due to its central location, some refurbishment would be necessary.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are small and narrow. There was no air conditioning in the room (at least I could not find any trace of it), which was not a problem due to the nice warm weather, but I imagine during summer the rooms can be hot. No kettle and tea in the rooms. The WiFi was reliable but a bit slow. The furniture was worn and stained. The room keys are very heavy, so you want to leave them at the reception, but them someone else could ask and get them and open your room. Small problems, but these should not exist in a 4* hotel.

    The breakfast is fresh and tasty. Everything is clean. Enough place in the wardrobe. Plenty of power outlets for your chargers. Traditional keys for locking the room (meaning the power is always on in the room, unlike in card-locked rooms). The service personnel is polite, helpful and do their job well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.. Everything perfect

    Everything perfect. Close to public transport, very nice location. Nice staff. Couldn't expect more than this. Once sentence to describe "Value for money".

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful location wonderful food wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I didn't like

    Breakfast was amazing. I was leaving before the restaurant opened on my last day. so they packed food for me to take. Staff were incredibly helpful and helped me plan my time to the fullest

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Excellent staying !
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to reproach .

    Very clean and confortable room, very good breakfast, the hotel is situated near to the center of the town. I strongly recommend it !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Friendly helpful staff- cute older building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful staff- cute older building. Restaurant attached. Great breakfast, easy to access transportation or walk to sites. Turtle in the lobby we had fun checking in each day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.1
    close proximity to major subway line,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom is too small, with tiny shower, like in a tourist class hotel, not a four-star hotel! Breakfast - no apple juice, carbonated water in a neutral bottle, instead of a brand. Bread rolls could have been of better quality. No air conditioning.

    close proximity to major subway line, quiet neighborhood

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    Location is very good, and this time I got a room facing the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is very good, and this time I got a room facing the more quiet side street. The personnel is casual and quite friendly. The rooms are comfortable, the beds are good. I often return to this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent service and a cosey relaxing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The breakfast was excellent. Like the selection. Also the staff are very helpful AND we stayed over Easter and we found chocolate easter bunnies on our pillow on the Sunfay. Thank you for a lovely time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    I hope to be back for my holidays in Vienna
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The number of plugs in the room is a bit short. One near the bed and one in the bathroom. The one near the table was very well hidden.

    This is a quite fine hotel in Vienna center, very near Karlplatz and the Technical University of Vienna. Other attractions, such as the Theater an der Wien or the Nashmarkt are very, very near. The State Opera (Wiener Staatsoper), Saint Stephan Cathedral or the Mozart House are also at walking distance. Well communicated through Karlplatz Metro station, buses and tram. Rooms a very clean and comfortable, in an oldy style, but not cluncky at all. Minibar and international TV available too. Breakfast is really good, with a wide selection and variety of high quality. The restaurant is fine, "Goulash Trio" is fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    the bed was so comfy, near a train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the shower was too hot and the breakfast buffet is not that good.

    the bed was so comfy, near a train station. the staff was very friendly and allowed us to print our tickets.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Overall it is a good Hotel, very clean and in a excellent...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The walls are very thin. I could ear a neighbour snoring during the night, especially if the door of the bathroom was open. Moreover, the bathroom had no window and there was no automatic fan, so it needed a long time to lose the smell.

    Overall it is a good Hotel, very clean and in a excellent position. My room was spacious and relatively cheap. The breakfast was abundant and varied (except the coffee could be better).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    The breakfasts was just delicious –sparkling wine included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is disappointing to find to twin beds pulled together in a double bed bedroom in a four star hotel.

    The breakfasts was just delicious –sparkling wine included. The hotel is a bit old fashioned, but definitely comfortable. I also appreciate the late check out and breakfast until 10:30.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast was excellent, everything was fresh, daily and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have forgotten to unblock my reservation fee in my bank account. I had to e-mail them to make it correct

    Breakfast was excellent, everything was fresh, daily and have high quality

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.8
    Satisfying stay in the center of Vienna
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    While cleaning the room, they never add to the kettle set neither sugar or a teabag. During the breakfast as I was alone waiters just ignored my presence, they were slow at cleaning my table and never offered me a tea or coffee, focusing their attention on couples and companies.

    The single room was small though very cozy and quiet. I liked the bed and the choice of pillows (I'm very picky about it). On request I have got for free an electric kettle, tea, sugar and coffee. The breakfast was excellent - you find there a good choice of cheeses, tasty bread and pastries, fresh melons and pineapples, as well as vegetables. If you need to buy food - just around the corner there are two nice supermarkets, and in fifteen minutes you will reach the very center. It's a very calm and beautiful neighborhood.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    Desk staff friendly, helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Desk staff friendly, helpful. Abundant and high quality breakfast. Hotel room fine--- clean, modern, well-lit, beds firm. Only downside is location--- hotel was on bus line but a few blocks from subway and it is a long walk to Opera House, Albertina and other prime tourist areas.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.5
    Very good breakfast and friendly staff, but the facilities were no what I expect from a 4-star hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The matress in my room was not comfortable and worn out in the middle. The toilet was in a separate room so I had to open doors with unwashed hands after using the toilet to get to the bath. Additionally, the toilet was too close to the wall such that I had to sit in an awkward rotated position. Even though there was a sign in the bathroom saying that towels that keep hanging on the racks will not be washed (which I highly encourage), the towels were replaced every day. I think the best system would be to have one special spot to put the towels, if one wants them replaced. That should of course not be the floor, because the bathrug lies there by default and why should the staff have to bend down to pick them up? Finally, in a 4-star hotel, I would have liked some comfortable place to sit down besides a normal chair. This is also a required criteria for a 4-star hotel and was not met in my room.

    Very friendly staff, the breakfast was great with a very wide selection. I additionally, liked the ambiente of the foyer and restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.5
    We were given a room with the bed against the wall.
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room with the bed against the wall. Maybe good for children, but not for adults. The tv was also inconveniently placed on the wall.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee facilities not in the rooms as standard but you can ask for them at the front desk and they are provided free of charge. I had to keep asking for more milk and teabags though on a daily basis. No temperature control in the rooms. Provided with two single duvets, rather than one double.

    Location was good, rooms were comfortable, hotel was tidy and clean, good selection for breakfast. Would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    It is always perfect in Hotel Erzherzog Rainer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have nothing to complain.

    It is always perfect in Hotel Erzherzog Rainer. We were given a nice bright room, quite large and well heated at the time of our arrival. Breakfasts are always abundant. And furthermore, Erzherzog Rainer Hotel has got a special charming atmosphere that cannot be easily found elsewhere..... And it is situated nearly in the centre of Vienna so many sights are in the walking distance from the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent staff who are courteous and friendly and went the extra mile to be helpful. Excellent breakfast buffet of hot and cold food beautifully presented and we enjoyed the table linen and flowers. Lovely welcoming atmosphere - love the turtle 🐢. Restaurant well appointed, sparkling clean and such attention to detail in service was a pleasure to behold. Our room 117 was super clean and very comfortable. The hotel is well located for walking in the centre and close to u bahn, trams, busses and 10 minute walk from Hauptbahnhof. We will be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant 1 night stay but nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Problem: 1. WiFi was horribly slow (at least on the 1st floor where we stayed), took almost 15-20 mins to be able to login to their network and it repeatedly threw the connection (I have never experienced this with the same tablet in other hotels before). Needed to be improved. Not big flaws but worth mentioning: 2. Standard double room was OK but a little small (we were offered a higher class room (with view to a quieter street) for +15 Euros but we didn't take the offer as it was just a 1-night stay and finally there was not too much noise coming from the street so we could sleep quite well). 3. Bathroom was a little cramped (unusually narrow bathtub, had to be careful while having shower not to fall or hit something) 4. Breakfast was OK but not outstanding (since it is a 4-star hotel we expected a little wider selection than having got used to even in cheaper 3-star hotels) 5. Tea and coffee making facilities (eg. kettle) are not present in the room by default unless asked for at the reception (not a big problem but in other 3 star hotels, we had this before so this was a little odd that it must be asked for separately) 6. There is no Air Conditioning so take it into consideration when booking a room here in a much warmer part of the year (In this cold March day we spent here it didn't count). 7. Expect to carry your luggage up via a few steps (3-5) before reaching the lift after leaving the reception.

    1. Location is fine, 1 U-Bahn station (Taubstummengasse) from the Hauptbahnhof railway station + 5-10 minutes walk. City Centre is very close. 2. Receptionists were nice, we arrived much earlier (11am) than the official 2pm check-in time and although our room was not ready yet they could store our luggage while we were going to the City Centre for a few hours. 3. Matresses were comfortable but the small pillow was too soft / too empty to my liking. 4. We liked the provided soap in the bathroom which has 99% of natural ingredients.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Everything a good hotel should be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's a very well managed hotel. Everything is very clean and smart; the staff are all friendly and helpful. It is a hotel with character and history.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    Perfect breakfast and centre location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room size, it was quite small. View from the window, we have paid for the room 75 EUR but we have view at roof at internal yard.

    Perfect breakfast and centre location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice staff, basic room meeting the requirements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Single room beds are rather small; walls are not soundproof so I basically heard every single word in the neighbor room. I had a room close to the lights outside the building which were turned on from 05:00 CET to 23:00 CET - as the curtains were not fully darkening the room, it was a bit bright in the room in the morning and evening hours. Not excellent for sleeping.

    Nice staff, basic room meeting the requirements. Good breakfast, good price, very central location. Really a good place to stay I would return to in future again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice and clean hotel with professional staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower and bath in the room was small, and I kept burning myself on the super hot towel dryer, which also occupied space in the shower.

    Breakfast was well cooked and nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Really nice, I am definitely coming back when in Vienna
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Air condition in breakfast room.. I didn't see the sense of air conditioning in the room where people are eating, food was geting cold and dry immediately and it was too cold to sit there. That's the only negative thing. Everything else was great!

    Very clean, really nice staff, it is in the quiet street, the breakfast is fantastic and huge. I really loved it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    Very nice hotel just outside historic centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double bed was 2 singles put together.

    Excellent breakfast, very friendly and accommodating staff. One main street to follow so relatively quick & easy to get to the historic centre of Vienna.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    4 star with old Vienna spirit and excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My first choice hotel when I stay in Vienna short term. Excellent location, real 4 star amenities, atmosphere and service. Just make sure not to go for the cheapest rooms as some of them are very small. Usually if there is availability the upgrade is very reasonable.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: