Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Falkensteiner Hotel & Asia Spa Leoben 4 stars

In der Au 1-3, 8700 Leoben, Austria

#3 of 6 hotels in Leoben

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 738 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe just the bacon at breakfast is a bit over cooked and the eggs quite dry and tasteless. Also while we were walking on the grounds one evening there’s a snake in the vicinity.

    I really like the hotel and the services it offers related to the spa next to it. Parking is very easy and the buffet breakfast options are delicious. I get the fresh honey from the hive and I can make my own pancakes. The staff are also very friendly and the place well maintained even if you can see that the building itself is not that new. I am very happy with the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Last year we could order according the menue other meals resp extras than listed. (just 4 main dishes this time) they all where ok - but i wanted to have a steak - because of a special event on this evening.

    The staff at reception and at restaurant was excellent and very polite. The pass-through to Asia Therme is very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    SPA complex is fantastic!!!!!! A lot of different saunas and baths! A hot salty water swimming pool outside is amazing! The mountains around! Fresh air! I will definitely come back and stay much longer!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff at reception was rude and unpolite for several times. They handled the guests in quite an unprofessional way. Marketing info wasn't the reality or the hotel didn't play a fair game with the quests.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Communication between Frontdesk and house keeping. Been waiting almost an hour in the Lobby for the room just to find out the room was actually ready all along. SPA Guests don't obey where the Nudist Zone ends.

    Room in good shape, well heated. SPA Supplies available.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a bad expierence in the restaurant. First we got the starter before our drinks arrived. Then we waited 30 min to get our soup and then an additional 45 min to get our main course! The staff walked by our table at least 10 times before they took the empty plates. Non of the staff walked in the kitchen with more than two plates. Every table around us was full with plates and where also complaining cause they had to wait even longer than us. It wasnt even that busy and with a little bit of organisation it would have worked easily. At the bar we got our drinks right away but the bar Lady was complaining about the other stuff using very bad words in front of us and several other guests that's very unprofessional!

    The hotel is very modern and nice. Reception lady's where also very friendly! The room was big and clean!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check out time could be at 12:00

    Nice and cosy hotel in the walking distance from the city center. Big aquatic center reachable through underground pass. Nice restaurant at the hotel. Nice view to the park from the room`s balcony.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit too expensive.

    Nice staff, Tchibo coffee machine in the room with two capsules is definitely a nice way to start a day without leaving your bed. Asia spa is very nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lady at the Bar was a bit overwhelmed and very busy. Dinner rather expensive.

    Very spacious rooms. Underground connection to Asia Spa. Friendly staff. Awesome breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful comfortable place to stay, every year we travel to Austria and we will always stay at the place it’s the best.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice hotel, near the city center, friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the spa was nice.. breackfast was nice..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful rooms, felt very comfy. Great Location with attached SPA. Close to the city center but still sort of remote with a calm outlook.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No english information booklets inside the room, only german.

    Well maintained surroundings, also nice on the inside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We enjoyed very much the sauna world

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Missing family friendly suites or rooms.

    Wonderful Spa and pools. Clean and comfortable room with beautiful garden view, spacious and nice bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is perfect in every way

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    CheckIn was slow.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is a great hotel, that manages to be both business and non-b

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent Restaurant. Access to SPA and Wellness from the Hotel. Centraly located.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant served buffet dinner, not to my liking.

    Helpful staff, well organized. Modern well functioning room. Nice bar.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leoben is a quiet place but that's the point

    Breakfast great. Funky bar. It is a good hotel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was excellent and breakfast too. Room was very nice and clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff friendliness varied greatly

    Very nice and clean rooms, spa place easily accessible, great location for local dinners and excursions around town

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dining facilities close too early for those arriving at the hotel mid evening.

    Spacious rooms and a comfortable bed. Excellent omelette at breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Even though it is advertised on hotel homepage that Vegans are welcome, the choices are very limited, or even non existent. There was soy milk for breakfast, but nothing exciting for breakfast (like vegan pancakes, spreads, hummus, Veggs,..) - 15 Euro for plain bread, 1 apple and soy milk was way too much. Lunch at Bistro - only thing was salat (the plastic package kind not something fancy) and fries. Dinner - Cook was nice and did his best - however it didn't apppear he ever read a vegan cook-book. It was ok, but expectations were set higher due to vegan advertising. The Spa was nice - even though I would have loved to sit outside as it was really warm and the sun was shining - the outside area is closed till mid may. The spa section appeared to have some deck chairs outside, however you can't enter with anyone younger than 16. In general it was ok - but I have spent a lot better Spa weekends somewhere else, where I didn't stay hungry and had to buy additional food in local supermarket

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Spa and sauna and massage will be closed very early and we could used after day hard working

    At 18 o'clock anywhere is closed and you can't do anything after 20:30 you could find anything for eat even in the hotel

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cleanliness was better in the past. Carpet on the 1st floor needs to be echanged soon! The standard coffee on breakfast in cans was already a few hours old at 7 am (!), but if you ask for a fresh cappuccino it is good.

    Been there again after a few years. Hotel is a little aged in between, but still a nice hotel with great spa. Friendly staff and rich breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Receptionist was very rude and unpolite. I was travelling eith my adult son and had received confirmation that we would have separate beds in our room. when asked receptionist coldly told that there is a double bed in the room. nothing can and WILL be done as its saturday. manager is not avaialble as its Saturday. And the end result was that the beds were separated but she just insisted not willing to help.

    Spa and outdoor olympic size pool are very nice.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    At the beginning I was not sure which building is the hotel, so I walked to the first spar building to ask. The front desk lady was not friendly, a bit impatient. But the front desk ladies in the hotel were very friendly.

    I stayed in the 3rd floor, with a big window showing very nice mountain view. I like the room decorations, the design and color of the furnitures, bathroom and restroom.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    I was under the impression that the pool belonged to the hotel and was disappointed to find that it is actually a public pool with free access to hotel guests. The pool area was very busy most of the time and not conducive to relaxation as I had hoped.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room looks clean but not fresh.

    Very nice location! Right in the city center. Beautiful view from the balcony. Just 30 min from RedBull Ring. Perfect food both dinner and breakfast for all tastes. Nice friendly staff. Wish to come back one day.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The location of the hotel is not very convenient. In general, there is not much you can do in the town of Leoben and there is not much you can do in the area either... The Asia Spa was nice but unless you want to have some water adventure, you have to make sure you go to the "Spa" part rather than the general swimming-pool-area (it can get really noisy there since it is open to the public at large, i.e. it is not the best place to take your afternoon nap). On the other hand, the "real" Spa part was ok - kids under the age of 16 are not even allowed in... it is really calm and relaxing in the Spa area. However, do not be surprised if you happen to see naked people around in the Spa area (it is not obligatory to be naked but most people were naked at the time of our visit). This includes naked people in the pools (i.e. not in the saunas only). I have to say that in general I had a good impression about the level of hygiene in the Spa area. I was not to keen on the bed and the pillows in the room. Although there was a notice in the room saying that one could request extra pillows, I think that the "basic" pillow should be of good quality too (without having to request the "extra" ones). Many of the staff were not able to or were not really willing to communicate in English. Nevertheless, this is something I have experienced in many Austrian hotels. As to the receptionists, one could see it is not their dream job. The services provided by them were ok but with the exception of one lady, one could see it was "simply their job" (no extra smile or anything like that).

    What I liked about the hotel, was its modern touch, new furniture and fittings in the room. I also liked the fact that the common-areas (the lobby, the restaurant etc) were really spacious and open. In general, the interior of the hotel was really nice (as to the exterior, I would say it is more functional and nice but this is not a major issue, I suppose). The food was also nice (although I prefer buffet-style dinners to "choose-your-meal-from-the-given-options" style). You had the possibility to choose from 3 or 4 main courses. Of course, there was a starter, some soup, a salad bar where you could mix your own salad, then you had the main course (of your choice) and a dessert (not multiple choice :), one choice only) to conclude your culinary experience. As suggested above, the food was nice but it was not something that I consider to be the "pulling element" of the hotel. Overall, I think it is a good hotel for business people and it could be a good hotel for those who like spending much time in wellness.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The A/C wasn't working properly , we had to switch rooms but still one of the rooms didn't work properly. The weather was so warm outside.

    Location is really nice ... The staff is helpful and nice. The spa is more than amazing

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The suit was good size. There was some spill on the wall in the bathroom.

    The spa is very good and relaxing. The hotel had a good location next to the city center. Visit the Gösser beer factory.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The restaurant closes at 9pm which is too early for those guests arriving mid evening.

    A very comfortable room and excellent omlettte at breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Price could be better

    Friendly Personel.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    on the pricey side.

    Exceptional hotel with great staff an facilities. Rooms were comfortable, clean and relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Sofa bed is not comfortable for kids.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    food in restaurant is a bit expensive

    staff were pleasent friendly & helpful

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Couple

    Too many empty spaces

    Spa area

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The restaurant is closed on Monday evening (at least after 9:30pm)

    The location is fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Parking isn`t free

    Fantastic SPA

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location not really easy to reach

    Fantastic choice for SPA holidays Incredible wellness center

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice hotel with lovely staff

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spa was shut, balcony over looked a flat roof. Staff rude. Bad breakfast. Coffee machine never worked. TV control never worked.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything but the staff - restaurant and house keeping

    Everything but the staff - restaurant and house keeping

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Browse Falkensteiner Hotel & Asia Spa Leoben traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: